Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8 L II USM Lens

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

87% Gold Award
The 24-70mm II follows its big brother, the EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM, in being a lens that's so good we've found it difficult to pick out any significant flaws. It's superbly sharp, even wide open, but manages to combine this with lovely bokeh.”

Read more of the review

Key Features

  • 24-70mm focal length
  • 38.4-112mm equivalent focal length on Canon APS-C cameras
  • F2.8 constant maximum aperture; F22 minimum
  • Ring-type ultrasonic-type AF motor with full-time manual focusing
  • 82mm filters
  • 0.38m/14.96" minimum focus
  • Canon EF mount for full frame, APS-H and APS-C DSLRs

Product Description

The EF 24-70mm f/2.8L II USM is Canon’s workhorse standard zoom for professional photographers. As befits this, it’s one of the finest lenses of its type, with outstanding optics, weatherproof construction and fast, silent focusing. It’s designed for use on full frame SLRs, but is equally at home on smaller sensor models. About the only possible criticism is the lack of image stabilization – Canon users who need this will have to settle for either the EF 24-70mm f/4L IS USM, EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM or Tamron 24-70mm F/1.28 Di VC USD.

Specs

Principal specifications
Lens type Zoom lens
Max Format size 35mm FF
Focal length 24–70 mm
Image stabilisation No
Lens mount Canon EF
Aperture
Maximum aperture F2.8
Minimum aperture F22.0
Aperture ring No
Number of diaphragm blades 9
Optics
Elements 18
Groups 13
Focus
Minimum focus 0.38 m (14.96)
Maximum magnification 0.21×
Autofocus Yes
Motor type Ring-type ultrasonic
Full time manual Yes
Focus method Internal
Distance scale Yes
DoF scale Yes
Physical
Weight 805 g (1.77 lb)
Diameter 89 mm (3.48)
Length 113 mm (4.45)
Materials Metal barrel, metal mount
Sealing Yes
Colour Black
Zoom method Rotary (extending)
Power zoom No
Zoom lock Yes
Filter thread 82 mm
Hood supplied Yes
Hood product code EW-88C
Tripod collar No
Optional accessories Soft Case LP1219

Reviews

DPReview Conclusion

Scoring is relative only to the other lenses in the same category at the time of review.

Score Breakdown
Poor Excellent
Optical Quality
Build Quality
Autofocus
Ergonomics and Handling
Value
Gold Award
Gold Award
87 %
Overall Score

The EF 24-70mm f/2.8L II USM is a near-flawless lens with optics that come very close to matching a set of top-quality primes. With fast, accurate autofocus and weathersealed construction, it's difficult to find any really serious faults at all.

Good For

Professional and serious enthusiast photographers looking for the best possible optics in an 'everyday' standard zoom lens.

Not So Good For

Photographers who shoot a lot at close focus distances

User Reviews

4.67347 out of 5 stars
  • Erdil yilmaz, Dec 23, 2012 GMT:
    best zoom lens I have ever used

    sharp Problems: no problem

    Continue Reading

  • SHillphoto, Oct 11, 2012 GMT:
    Great lens

    So far very good, as good as the 70-200 2.8 MKII. I'll add mor info soon.

    Continue Reading

  • Kinematic Digit, Sep 17, 2012 GMT:
    Best Zoom Lens Canon has ever made!

    I'm going to summarize much of what I've written on my blog: http://frontallobbings.blogspot.ca/2012/09/this-one-goes-to-11-new-canon-ef-24.html The lens is a great improvement over the older version. Vignetting is almost completely gone, but the corner and edge performance is fantastic. I replaced three primes of mine for this lens, one of them being what I considered one of the best primes that Canon has produced in recent years, the EF 24mm F/1.4L II USM. Compared to that prime it is only ...

    Continue Reading

  • BozillaNZ, Dec 5, 2013 GMT:
    You can certainly shoot the moon!

    This is the sharpest lens I've ever used. Ever (including 70-200 IS II). It has good construction, smooth zoom with no creep, quick and silent focus, sharp wide open to the corners, lust color rendition like a prime L. The only downside is lack of IS but besides that point I'm giving it a 10/10. I am in the process of selling my 24L II after having this 24-70 II because it is sharper and has the same colors. A zoom that is sharper and has better rendition than prime? Yes it can be done. The ...

    Continue Reading

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

Perfect Range for Weddings

I wanted to get some other opinions but it seems to me that I would only need 2 lenses to cover the perfect range for wedding photography. I'm looking at the 24-70mm and 70-200mm and this is for my 1.6x crop T4i/650D. I don't plan to get a FF body anytime soon because I want to save up for the lenses first. I also plan to pair this with a 430EX II so I dont have to worry about the f/4 vs f/2.8... So I guess my question is "Is this a sufficient for beginner event/wedding photography? Am I missing anything?" I appreciate any and all advice!

bokehburger asked
8 months ago

ANSWERS

Canon 15-85 mm maybe? That is if you decide to remain on a crop body. Paired with a 70-200 or 70-300. 24 mm on a crop body is not wide enough. I would go either with the 10-22 paired with the 24-70 or the 15-85mm. You can also take a look at the 24-105mm f4. I prefer it to the 24-70 as a zoom lens ( on a FF body) because of the range. But you might find 70mm on crop long enough. I use the wide angles a lot in weddings. Also I use primes for candid shots: 50mm f1.4, 85 mm f1.8 and now looking to buy the 135mm f2 also. What you will also need is lights. I use 2-4 430ex flashes paired with wireless transmitters. I am looking to upgrade to the new 600 ex system so if you are now doing your investment look into it. Normally you can get away with not very bright lens if you use multiple flashes. But be aware that for a crop body the candid look is almos imposible to aquire with a f4 lens. So you will need primes. Rent some gear in the begining and see what suits you. Good luck. Continue Reading

Muresan Bogdan answered
8 months ago

bokehburger wrote: I wanted to get some other opinions but it seems to me that I would only need 2 lenses to cover the perfect range for wedding photography. I'm looking at the 24-70mm and 70-200mm and this is for my 1.6x crop T4i/650D. I don't plan to get a FF body anytime soon because I want to save up for the lenses first. I also plan to pair this with a 430EX II so I dont have to worry about the f/4 vs f/2.8... So I guess my question is "Is this a sufficient for beginner event/wedding photography? Am I missing anything?" I appreciate any and all advice! +1 to others that 24mm is not wide enough on 1.6x crop bodies.  You'll want to cover 17mm-20mm for group/family shots.  Maybe even wider for interior/exterior location shots. Since you're not going full frame, don't handicap yourself with full frame lenses like the 24-70L or 17-40/4L:    Choose one of the 17-50ish f/2.8 zooms (EF-S 17-55 f/2.8 IS USM, Sigma 17-50 f/2.8 EX DC OS HSM, Tamron 17-50 f/2.8 XR Di II VC) or even the ... Continue Reading

Lemming51 answered
8 months ago

I could be a mistake to buy expensive full frame lenses that are too long on your current camera. You could buy the lenses you need now and then sell them when you buy a full frame camera. Used lenses in high demand can be sold for a large percentage of their original price. If you buy used and then sell, the cost of owning lenses can be very low. Continue Reading

sssanti answered
8 months ago

QUESTION

Upgrading Kit-Lens to "L" Lens

:-)Hey Guys.. Need some advice here. I'm new as everybody says, I'm planning to sell my 7D kit-lens EFS 18-135mm f/3.5-5 IS this coming summer and hopefully buy the L series lens Canon has to offer and to maximise the 7D Body capability and of course for a everyday walk-around Lens. I know most of our readers here are pro or semi-pro and they know what they are talking about base from their experience. I red a lot of Lens review from the web but if possble I want the real word to comment on this. The new L lens "24-70mm f/2.8L II USM" got my attention, but the price is not reasonable on budget at this time cause I'm planning also to buy the nifty fifty 1.4 for video and for a telephoto lens, 70-200mm f/2.8L early next year for a schedule vacation. Thanks in advance.. and keep up the good reviews DPR..

ArchiDeos asked
1 year ago

ANSWERS

If you really, really think you need an L lens, look at the 24-105. However, I suspect you may be better off with one of the better quality EF-S lenses like the 15-85. Continue Reading

Philip Kendall answered
1 year ago

I suggest that you don't sell the 18-135 lens, and buy what you actually need.  If you need a 24-70, or a 24-105, or a 17-55, then that's what you should buy.  The 7D is not maximised by using it for "everyday walk-around" photography, regardless of the lens that you put on it.  For that purpose, you should be looking for a lens that offers convenience and IS, which you already have, and that's why Canon sells that lens as a kit lens. Continue Reading

ARShutterbug answered
1 year ago

The pro's viewpoint is something like this: If you need it, then buy it.  If you don't need it, or if it doesn't work well, then find a more optimal solution.  If you're serious about doing basketball, depending on the positions you're going to use, you should be looking at: 70-200 f/2.8 24-70 f/2.8 or 16-35 f/2.8 A flash or overhead strobe, depending on the regular lighting conditions The skills to use it all Basketball photography isn't compatible with the loose requirements for "walkaround" and "vacation."  You can have a sports kit that works as a "walkaround" kit, but if you try it in reverse, you don't even have a chance. Continue Reading

ARShutterbug answered
1 year ago

QUESTION

Best lens for me

Hi everyone, im about to buy a new camera - D600 or D800. didnt decide yet :) i have doubts on which lens to buy ; i love street / urban photography - so a few quiestion : 1.how is the 24-70mm f/2.8 2. prime 35mm 1.8G 3. macro lens ? - i tough its ONLY for closeups photography but i understand it is very good for urban and portait photography what do u think ? i also like to photo with a great zoom -for example - shooting surfing from the beach - so i dont know which one to choose , the 70-200mm is quite big and expensive :( and i read that the 18-300mm is not that good, the pics isnt sharp. thank you, ben

bennave asked
5 months ago

ANSWERS

nikon 28mm 1.8g nikon 50mm 1.8g nikon 85mm 1.8g do not buy any other lenses for 1 year shoot 10,000 frames enjoy the bliss Continue Reading

JamesErik1971 answered
5 months ago

Very good, very expensive, very big and heavy. That's a DX lens. You have indicated you are getting an FX camera (Nikon FX cameras have 24mm X 36mm sensors. Nikon DX cameras have 16mm X 24mm sensors). DX lenses only cover the small sensors of DX cameras. When you put a DX lens on an FX camera you will get dark corners. Macro lenses are perfectly usable for normal photography. They are usually very sharp. There are lots of good macro lenses from Nikon (60mm and 105mm Micro Nikkors) and from other manufacturers (90mm Tamron, 150mm Sigma). But if you don't want to do closeups, you can get better portrait lenses for less money. Note that the 40mm and 85mm Micro Nikkors are DX lenses and will not cover an FX sensor. And besides that, it's not long enough. You'll want at least 400mm for surfing, depending on how far out the surfers are. That's another DX lens. The nearest FX equivalent is the 28-300. Also, if you're not familiar with DSLR cameras, be prepared for a long learning curve and ... Continue Reading

Leonard Migliore answered
5 months ago

The Nikon DF is a rumored camera. There are no solid facts about it, so it would be odd to recommend it. The D600 had significant issues with spraying oil inside the mirror box; the D610 is the same camera except for a redesigned shutter, which, I hope, doesn't spray oil. Almost the same camera. Continue Reading

Leonard Migliore answered
5 months ago

Warranty Information

"A Product, when delivered to you in new condition in its original container, is warranted against defects in materials or workmanship as follows: for a period of one (1) year from the date of original purchase, defective parts or a defective Product returned to Canon, or its authorized service providers, and proven to be defective upon inspection, will be repaired with new or comparable rebuilt parts or exchanged for a refurbished Product, as determined by Canon or the authorized service provider n their sole discretion. Replaced parts and exchanged Products will become the property of Canon."

Go to Canon USA's warranty page for more information. DPReview GearShop is an authorized Canon dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.