Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8 L II USM Lens

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

87% Gold Award
The 24-70mm II follows its big brother, the EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM, in being a lens that's so good we've found it difficult to pick out any significant flaws. It's superbly sharp, even wide open, but manages to combine this with lovely bokeh.”

Read more of the review

Key Features

  • 24-70mm focal length
  • 38.4-112mm equivalent focal length on Canon APS-C cameras
  • F2.8 constant maximum aperture; F22 minimum
  • Ring-type ultrasonic-type AF motor with full-time manual focusing
  • 82mm filters
  • 0.38m/14.96" minimum focus
  • Canon EF mount for full frame, APS-H and APS-C DSLRs

Product Description

The EF 24-70mm f/2.8L II USM is Canon’s workhorse standard zoom for professional photographers. As befits this, it’s one of the finest lenses of its type, with outstanding optics, weatherproof construction and fast, silent focusing. It’s designed for use on full frame SLRs, but is equally at home on smaller sensor models. About the only possible criticism is the lack of image stabilization – Canon users who need this will have to settle for either the EF 24-70mm f/4L IS USM, EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM or Tamron 24-70mm F/1.28 Di VC USD.

Specs

Principal specifications
Lens type Zoom lens
Max Format size 35mm FF
Focal length 24–70 mm
Image stabilisation No
Lens mount Canon EF
Aperture
Maximum aperture F2.8
Minimum aperture F22.0
Aperture ring No
Number of diaphragm blades 9
Optics
Elements 18
Groups 13
Focus
Minimum focus 0.38 m (14.96)
Maximum magnification 0.21×
Autofocus Yes
Motor type Ring-type ultrasonic
Full time manual Yes
Focus method Internal
Distance scale Yes
DoF scale Yes
Physical
Weight 805 g (1.77 lb)
Diameter 89 mm (3.48)
Length 113 mm (4.45)
Materials Metal barrel, metal mount
Sealing Yes
Colour Black
Zoom method Rotary (extending)
Power zoom No
Zoom lock Yes
Filter thread 82 mm
Hood supplied Yes
Hood product code EW-88C
Tripod collar No
Optional accessories Soft Case LP1219

Reviews

DPReview Conclusion

Scoring is relative only to the other lenses in the same category at the time of review.

Score Breakdown
Poor Excellent
Optical Quality
Build Quality
Autofocus
Ergonomics and Handling
Value
Gold Award
Gold Award
87 %
Overall Score

The EF 24-70mm f/2.8L II USM is a near-flawless lens with optics that come very close to matching a set of top-quality primes. With fast, accurate autofocus and weathersealed construction, it's difficult to find any really serious faults at all.

Good For

Professional and serious enthusiast photographers looking for the best possible optics in an 'everyday' standard zoom lens.

Not So Good For

User Reviews

4.67347 out of 5 stars
  • Erdil yilmaz, Dec 23, 2012 GMT:
    best zoom lens I have ever used

    sharp Problems: no problem

    Continue Reading

  • SHillphoto, Oct 11, 2012 GMT:
    Great lens

    So far very good, as good as the 70-200 2.8 MKII. I'll add mor info soon.

    Continue Reading

  • Kinematic Digit, Sep 17, 2012 GMT:
    Best Zoom Lens Canon has ever made!

    I'm going to summarize much of what I've written on my blog: http://frontallobbings.blogspot.ca/2012/09/this-one-goes-to-11-new-canon-ef-24.html The lens is a great improvement over the older version. Vignetting is almost completely gone, but the corner and edge performance is fantastic. I replaced three primes of mine for this lens, one of them being what I considered one of the best primes that Canon has produced in recent years, the EF 24mm F/1.4L II USM. Compared to that prime it is only ...

    Continue Reading

  • BozillaNZ, Dec 5, 2013 GMT:
    You can certainly shoot the moon!

    This is the sharpest lens I've ever used. Ever (including 70-200 IS II). It has good construction, smooth zoom with no creep, quick and silent focus, sharp wide open to the corners, lust color rendition like a prime L. The only downside is lack of IS but besides that point I'm giving it a 10/10. I am in the process of selling my 24L II after having this 24-70 II because it is sharper and has the same colors. A zoom that is sharper and has better rendition than prime? Yes it can be done. The ...

    Continue Reading

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

Canon 24-70 f/2.8 II softer than 24-105 f/4

I just paid a fortune for the 24-70 2.8 II as an upgrade to the 24-105, but after testing and testing I'm finding that the 24-105 is sharper. How is this possible? I've attached comparison pictures, both taken on 5DIII at ISO 5000, f4, 1/100th. This is a crop from 100%, dead centre of the frame, straight out of camera. I took them about 30 seconds apart and found that the 24-105 is sharper throughout the zoom range. Have I just got a bad copy?

Colinbrowne asked
7 days ago

ANSWERS

That's not right. As you say, you spent a fortune for the 24-70 f/2.8L II and it is about the sharpest lens around. I would consider doing the micro adjustment tweak. This is a phenomenal, if overpriced, lens. Love mine! Continue Reading

hotdog321 answered
6 days ago

Looks like missed focus. That's a trick target and might have confused things for one. For two, did you do micro focus adjustment? If that was done using manual focus 10x zoom and you did the focus without mistake, then something is VERY wrong and I'd send it back right away! Continue Reading

bronxbombers4 answered
6 days ago

There's variation in lenses, of course. But there is also a micro focus adjustment which you can perform. It looks like your 24-105 copy was a pretty good match with your 5DIII from the start. There certainly is nothing objectionable in that pair's sample image. Even after MFA, your returns on the investment may require a magnifying glass to notice. Continue Reading

6 days ago

QUESTION

Full Frame: F2.8 vs. F4?

This is about zooms: 16-35, 24-70, and 70-200. Canon is unique in offering both F2.8 and F4 versions. Nikon only has F2.8. Sony FE (the new A7 models) are only F4. But there are differences: 1) While the 70-200 has IS for both apertures, the F4 has for the 16-35 and the 24-70. For low light stills, IS may provide 2-4 F-stops more light with a slower shutter speed (although with more motion blur of a moving subject) while the F2.8 is just one F-stop faster. For low light stills, F4 IS would seem to be preferable. 2) F2.8 will produce a slightly shorter DOF. It is the same difference as using the same F2.8 lens on an APS-C (e.g. 7D) vs. full frame: F4 full-frame DOF = F2.8 APS-C DOF. Does that really matter, especially at lower focal lengths which generally have a long DOF? 3) A lens or camera isn't very useful unless you have it with you. The two 16-35s are about the same weight (the new Tamron 15-30 F2.8 VC is nearly double), the F4 24-70 IS is about 1/2 pound lighter, but the F4 ...

DavidNJ100 asked
25 days ago

ANSWERS

David, You have some good questions, but I'll just say this first: I'm never short of amazed how much money I see being spent on things that so often make so little difference and so often purely on the quest to have "the best". I have seen insane amounts of money spent on gear that first gets used only to take pictures of ducks and squirrels, and then ends up on Craigslist with the description "Mint condition! Only used three times!" I don't see this just every so often... I see it a LOT! Now, with that brief editorial out of the way, I'll address a few of your issues. First, the 70-200 lenses. Yes, you are correct that IS can help 2-4 stops for still subjects. You are also correct that moving subjects will blur at low shutter speeds. So what does that mean for you? Well, if you shoot still subjects and that extra stop of bokeh is not worth a cool thousand, then the f4 might be good for you. We actually own both the f2.8 and f4 IS versions. Wedding photographers probably end up ... Continue Reading

25 days ago

Answer: Review your own research, compare your needs to the data you have gathered, and make a decision. Continue Reading

Rick Knepper answered
25 days ago

Agreed, those are the three that we all want. As for the weight of the 70-200 2.8 IS II, it rarely comes off of my camera because I absolutely love shooting with it. The weight is only an excuse mostly for those that can't have it. Continue Reading

Blessed answered
25 days ago

QUESTION

Upgrading Kit-Lens to "L" Lens

:-)Hey Guys.. Need some advice here. I'm new as everybody says, I'm planning to sell my 7D kit-lens EFS 18-135mm f/3.5-5 IS this coming summer and hopefully buy the L series lens Canon has to offer and to maximise the 7D Body capability and of course for a everyday walk-around Lens. I know most of our readers here are pro or semi-pro and they know what they are talking about base from their experience. I red a lot of Lens review from the web but if possble I want the real word to comment on this. The new L lens "24-70mm f/2.8L II USM" got my attention, but the price is not reasonable on budget at this time cause I'm planning also to buy the nifty fifty 1.4 for video and for a telephoto lens, 70-200mm f/2.8L early next year for a schedule vacation. Thanks in advance.. and keep up the good reviews DPR..

ArchiDeos asked
1 year ago

ANSWERS

If you really, really think you need an L lens, look at the 24-105. However, I suspect you may be better off with one of the better quality EF-S lenses like the 15-85. Continue Reading

Philip Kendall answered
1 year ago

I suggest that you don't sell the 18-135 lens, and buy what you actually need.  If you need a 24-70, or a 24-105, or a 17-55, then that's what you should buy.  The 7D is not maximised by using it for "everyday walk-around" photography, regardless of the lens that you put on it.  For that purpose, you should be looking for a lens that offers convenience and IS, which you already have, and that's why Canon sells that lens as a kit lens. Continue Reading

ARShutterbug answered
1 year ago

The pro's viewpoint is something like this: If you need it, then buy it.  If you don't need it, or if it doesn't work well, then find a more optimal solution.  If you're serious about doing basketball, depending on the positions you're going to use, you should be looking at: 70-200 f/2.8 24-70 f/2.8 or 16-35 f/2.8 A flash or overhead strobe, depending on the regular lighting conditions The skills to use it all Basketball photography isn't compatible with the loose requirements for "walkaround" and "vacation."  You can have a sports kit that works as a "walkaround" kit, but if you try it in reverse, you don't even have a chance. Continue Reading

ARShutterbug answered
1 year ago

Warranty Information

"A Product, when delivered to you in new condition in its original container, is warranted against defects in materials or workmanship as follows: for a period of one (1) year from the date of original purchase, defective parts or a defective Product returned to Canon, or its authorized service providers, and proven to be defective upon inspection, will be repaired with new or comparable rebuilt parts or exchanged for a refurbished Product, as determined by Canon or the authorized service provider n their sole discretion. Replaced parts and exchanged Products will become the property of Canon."

Go to Canon USA's warranty page for more information. DPReview GearShop is an authorized Canon dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.