Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8 L II USM Lens

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

87% Gold Award
The 24-70mm II follows its big brother, the EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM, in being a lens that's so good we've found it difficult to pick out any significant flaws. It's superbly sharp, even wide open, but manages to combine this with lovely bokeh.”

Read more of the review

Key Features

  • 24-70mm focal length
  • 38.4-112mm equivalent focal length on Canon APS-C cameras
  • F2.8 constant maximum aperture; F22 minimum
  • Ring-type ultrasonic-type AF motor with full-time manual focusing
  • 82mm filters
  • 0.38m/14.96" minimum focus
  • Canon EF mount for full frame, APS-H and APS-C DSLRs

Product Description

The EF 24-70mm f/2.8L II USM is Canon’s workhorse standard zoom for professional photographers. As befits this, it’s one of the finest lenses of its type, with outstanding optics, weatherproof construction and fast, silent focusing. It’s designed for use on full frame SLRs, but is equally at home on smaller sensor models. About the only possible criticism is the lack of image stabilization – Canon users who need this will have to settle for either the EF 24-70mm f/4L IS USM, EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM or Tamron 24-70mm F/1.28 Di VC USD.

Specs

Principal specifications
Lens type Zoom lens
Max Format size 35mm FF
Focal length 24–70 mm
Image stabilisation No
Lens mount Canon EF
Aperture
Maximum aperture F2.8
Minimum aperture F22.0
Aperture ring No
Number of diaphragm blades 9
Optics
Elements 18
Groups 13
Focus
Minimum focus 0.38 m (14.96)
Maximum magnification 0.21×
Autofocus Yes
Motor type Ring-type ultrasonic
Full time manual Yes
Focus method Internal
Distance scale Yes
DoF scale Yes
Physical
Weight 805 g (1.77 lb)
Diameter 89 mm (3.48)
Length 113 mm (4.45)
Materials Metal barrel, metal mount
Sealing Yes
Colour Black
Zoom method Rotary (extending)
Power zoom No
Zoom lock Yes
Filter thread 82 mm
Hood supplied Yes
Hood product code EW-88C
Tripod collar No
Optional accessories Soft Case LP1219

Reviews

DPReview Conclusion

Scoring is relative only to the other lenses in the same category at the time of review.

Score Breakdown
Poor Excellent
Optical Quality
Build Quality
Autofocus
Ergonomics and Handling
Value
Gold Award
Gold Award
87 %
Overall Score

The EF 24-70mm f/2.8L II USM is a near-flawless lens with optics that come very close to matching a set of top-quality primes. With fast, accurate autofocus and weathersealed construction, it's difficult to find any really serious faults at all.

Good For

Professional and serious enthusiast photographers looking for the best possible optics in an 'everyday' standard zoom lens.

Not So Good For

Photographers who shoot a lot at close focus distances.

User Reviews

4.67347 out of 5 stars
  • Erdil yilmaz, Dec 23, 2012 GMT:
    best zoom lens I have ever used

    sharp Problems: no problem

    Continue Reading

  • SHillphoto, Oct 11, 2012 GMT:
    Great lens

    So far very good, as good as the 70-200 2.8 MKII. I'll add mor info soon.

    Continue Reading

  • Kinematic Digit, Sep 17, 2012 GMT:
    Best Zoom Lens Canon has ever made!

    I'm going to summarize much of what I've written on my blog: http://frontallobbings.blogspot.ca/2012/09/this-one-goes-to-11-new-canon-ef-24.html The lens is a great improvement over the older version. Vignetting is almost completely gone, but the corner and edge performance is fantastic. I replaced three primes of mine for this lens, one of them being what I considered one of the best primes that Canon has produced in recent years, the EF 24mm F/1.4L II USM. Compared to that prime it is only ...

    Continue Reading

  • BozillaNZ, Dec 5, 2013 GMT:
    You can certainly shoot the moon!

    This is the sharpest lens I've ever used. Ever (including 70-200 IS II). It has good construction, smooth zoom with no creep, quick and silent focus, sharp wide open to the corners, lust color rendition like a prime L. The only downside is lack of IS but besides that point I'm giving it a 10/10. I am in the process of selling my 24L II after having this 24-70 II because it is sharper and has the same colors. A zoom that is sharper and has better rendition than prime? Yes it can be done. The ...

    Continue Reading

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

Canon 70-200 f4 at a wedding

I am shooting a wedding this weekend (7/26/14) with my 70-200 f4 and my Canon 6D. The wedding is outside at 4 pm.  Will I have any issues with it only being an f4? Thank you!!!

vchewens asked
1 month ago

ANSWERS

The Canon 70-200 f/4 is a good lens for wedding photography.  Being much lighter than the 70-200 f/2.8 can be a real plus if you are covering the entire day. Continue Reading

Beachcomber Joe answered
1 month ago

OP could be in Southern Hemisphere... :) Also, just a so so friend so that if they never talk to OP again, not a big loss... Continue Reading

1 month ago

That is what the reactions are all about. Some people, mostly photographers for obvious reasons, think that the photography is the single most important thing which takes place that day, and will spout all kinds of veiled and not so veiled accusations at the merest hint of something less than absolute, prize winning perfection. After having done that for years, they then wonder where all the Bridezillas have come from... That some other self styled 'photographers' seem to see a quick buck in taking a couple of snaps at some event or the other and thus ruin business and reputation for others is another aspect. Regards, Mike Continue Reading

Mike CH answered
1 month ago

QUESTION

Upgrading Kit-Lens to "L" Lens

:-)Hey Guys.. Need some advice here. I'm new as everybody says, I'm planning to sell my 7D kit-lens EFS 18-135mm f/3.5-5 IS this coming summer and hopefully buy the L series lens Canon has to offer and to maximise the 7D Body capability and of course for a everyday walk-around Lens. I know most of our readers here are pro or semi-pro and they know what they are talking about base from their experience. I red a lot of Lens review from the web but if possble I want the real word to comment on this. The new L lens "24-70mm f/2.8L II USM" got my attention, but the price is not reasonable on budget at this time cause I'm planning also to buy the nifty fifty 1.4 for video and for a telephoto lens, 70-200mm f/2.8L early next year for a schedule vacation. Thanks in advance.. and keep up the good reviews DPR..

ArchiDeos asked
1 year ago

ANSWERS

If you really, really think you need an L lens, look at the 24-105. However, I suspect you may be better off with one of the better quality EF-S lenses like the 15-85. Continue Reading

Philip Kendall answered
1 year ago

I suggest that you don't sell the 18-135 lens, and buy what you actually need.  If you need a 24-70, or a 24-105, or a 17-55, then that's what you should buy.  The 7D is not maximised by using it for "everyday walk-around" photography, regardless of the lens that you put on it.  For that purpose, you should be looking for a lens that offers convenience and IS, which you already have, and that's why Canon sells that lens as a kit lens. Continue Reading

ARShutterbug answered
1 year ago

The pro's viewpoint is something like this: If you need it, then buy it.  If you don't need it, or if it doesn't work well, then find a more optimal solution.  If you're serious about doing basketball, depending on the positions you're going to use, you should be looking at: 70-200 f/2.8 24-70 f/2.8 or 16-35 f/2.8 A flash or overhead strobe, depending on the regular lighting conditions The skills to use it all Basketball photography isn't compatible with the loose requirements for "walkaround" and "vacation."  You can have a sports kit that works as a "walkaround" kit, but if you try it in reverse, you don't even have a chance. Continue Reading

ARShutterbug answered
1 year ago

QUESTION

Sensor question about the 1D Mark II N

I will be photographing my first wedding in mid August this year and I have a question about what lenses to use. But first, here is what I plan to use: Primary Camera: Canon 1D Mark II N - Rokinon 14mm T3.1 - Canon 24-70mm F2.8L II Will these lenses work with my 1D? I see that the Rokinon and Canon are both designed for Crop and Full Frame cameras (according to LensRentals) and the Mark II N has a crop sensor of 1.3x. I chose these lenses not only for the price but also the fact that they have aperture rings. I've been using manual focus/aperture lenses for years so I feel like they will be easier to use than lenses that require you to change the aperture electronically. Also my extra/backup camera: Secondary Camera: Panasonic GH2 - Rokinon 7.5mm Fisheye - Voigtländer 17.5mm F0.95

JohnDoe57 asked
3 months ago

ANSWERS

The first problem I see is your idea that it's your wedding. Maybe that sounds like I'm joking to you, but I'm not. You seem to think that because you like wide angle and find it interesting that you are free to apply that to the wedding shoot. You're not. Wedding photography requires that you shoot what is needed by the client, ( paid or not ), and not what is liked by the photographer. So the very first step here is to ditch your views on wide angle. Throw them away, Forget wide angle as your preferred tool. No Flash . That's a huge problem IMO. Get one and learn to use it. Usually not useful in a church, but absolutely a must elsewhere. You could always borrow a flash from the dozens of Uncle Bobs, Aunt Janes and Cousin Mikeys who will be there with their own DSLRs and have flashes as well. :-) Seriously, no flash, apart from the huge photographic loss, is going to make you look like a twit. Tripod ? Stands ? Reflectors ? Not absolutely everyone uses reflectors or stands for ... Continue Reading

darklamp answered
3 months ago

Well, the 14mm is a strange choice for weddings, unless you're after some really creative close-ups with distant backgrounds. I use it for landscapes. I am a wedding photographer, but wouldn't use it for that as it's such a deliberate process to set it up. The 24-70 on the other hand is perfect for weddings. The 1DIIN is a 1.3 crop sensor so I'm not really sure why you'd use 14mm. Have you just purchased the camera? Continue Reading

artistguy answered
3 months ago

Well I chose the 14mm because I wanted the wide angle. It would be a 18mm on my 1D. Wasn't sure what to get. I love extreme wide angles and have seen some weddings shot that way. Should I get a less extreme wide? I bought the camera last December for $200 on eBay and have had some practice with it but only using that 50mm 1.8 plastic kit lens. Continue Reading

JohnDoe57 answered
3 months ago

Warranty Information

"A Product, when delivered to you in new condition in its original container, is warranted against defects in materials or workmanship as follows: for a period of one (1) year from the date of original purchase, defective parts or a defective Product returned to Canon, or its authorized service providers, and proven to be defective upon inspection, will be repaired with new or comparable rebuilt parts or exchanged for a refurbished Product, as determined by Canon or the authorized service provider n their sole discretion. Replaced parts and exchanged Products will become the property of Canon."

Go to Canon USA's warranty page for more information. DPReview GearShop is an authorized Canon dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.