Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8 L IS II USM Lens

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

86% Gold Award
Its combination of exceptional optics and quirk-free design even manages to steal the crown of 'Best in Class.”

Read more of the review

Key Features

  • 70-200mm focal length
  • 112-320mm equivalent focal length on Canon APS-C cameras
  • F2.8 constant maximum aperture; F32 minimum
  • Ring-type ultrasonic-type AF motor with full-time manual focusing
  • Image stabilization, 4 stops
  • 77mm filters
  • 1.20m/47.24" minimum focus
  • Canon EF mount for full frame, APS-H and APS-C DSLRs

Product Description

The EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM is Canon’s professional fast telephoto zoom. It may look much the same as its predecessor on the outside, but internally it's been updated to give image quality that's quite simply the best in its class. Effective autofocus and image stabilization systems, plus full weather sealing, round off a compelling package.

Specs

Principal specifications
Lens type Zoom lens
Max Format size 35mm FF
Focal length 70–200 mm
Image stabilisation Yes (4 stops)
Lens mount Canon EF
Aperture
Maximum aperture F2.8
Minimum aperture F32.0
Aperture ring No
Number of diaphragm blades 8
Optics
Elements 23
Groups 19
Special elements / coatings Fluorite and UD lens elements
Focus
Minimum focus 1.20 m (47.24)
Maximum magnification 0.21×
Autofocus Yes
Motor type Ring-type ultrasonic
Full time manual Yes
Focus method Internal
Distance scale Yes
DoF scale Yes
Physical
Weight 1490 g (3.28 lb)
Diameter 89 mm (3.5)
Length 199 mm (7.83)
Materials Metal barrel, metal mount
Sealing Yes
Colour Grey and Black
Zoom method Rotary (internal)
Power zoom No
Zoom lock Unknown
Filter thread 77 mm
Hood supplied Yes
Hood product code ET-87
Tripod collar Yes
Optional accessories Soft Case LZ1326

Reviews

DPReview Conclusion

Scoring is relative only to the other lenses in the same category at the time of review.

Score Breakdown
Poor Excellent
Optical Quality
Build Quality
Autofocus
Image Stabilization
Ergonomics and Handling
Value
Gold Award
Gold Award
86 %
Overall Score

Canon's update to its professional fast telezoom may look much the same on the outside, but internally it's been updated to give image quality that's quite simply the best in its class. Effective autofocus and image stabilization systems, plus full weather sealing, round off a compelling package.

Good For

Professionals and advanced amateurs demanding the very finest image quality from a telephoto zoom

Not So Good For

User Reviews

4.71333 out of 5 stars
  • BozillaNZ, Oct 14, 2012 GMT:
    Best ever

    Best zoom ever. It fulfills all my tele needs.

    Continue Reading

  • Absolutic, Jun 3, 2012 GMT:
    the best lens I've ever used

    This is optically absolutely incredible lens. There is no better general range tele - this is it. Yes it is $2400, but this is one lens that you will keep for a long time. And if you dislike it, you'll resell it in few years and maybe lose $200-300 on it. Wedding photogs would eat it alive. The only con is its heavy and the weight might get to some people. 135L is half the weight.... but I sold 135L when I got 70-200..... it is just much more versatile. And 4-stop IS helps with ...

    Continue Reading

  • Amancio Couto, May 26, 2012 GMT:
    ULTRA SUPER!...SUPER!...SUPERB!...

    Realy the best zoon lens!...short to mediun telephoto, but, is more; excellent for creativity. One lens for many subjets. The quality is just SUPERB!!!...more or less as prime lens. Problems: Heavy per excellence.

    Continue Reading

  • GraphicsArea, May 8, 2012 GMT:
    Wonderful

    Wonderful Lens i get it before a few days ago, The first image i take for the Full Moon, It's wonderful, Heavy lens :)

    Continue Reading

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

Full Frame: F2.8 vs. F4?

This is about zooms: 16-35, 24-70, and 70-200. Canon is unique in offering both F2.8 and F4 versions. Nikon only has F2.8. Sony FE (the new A7 models) are only F4. But there are differences: 1) While the 70-200 has IS for both apertures, the F4 has for the 16-35 and the 24-70. For low light stills, IS may provide 2-4 F-stops more light with a slower shutter speed (although with more motion blur of a moving subject) while the F2.8 is just one F-stop faster. For low light stills, F4 IS would seem to be preferable. 2) F2.8 will produce a slightly shorter DOF. It is the same difference as using the same F2.8 lens on an APS-C (e.g. 7D) vs. full frame: F4 full-frame DOF = F2.8 APS-C DOF. Does that really matter, especially at lower focal lengths which generally have a long DOF? 3) A lens or camera isn't very useful unless you have it with you. The two 16-35s are about the same weight (the new Tamron 15-30 F2.8 VC is nearly double), the F4 24-70 IS is about 1/2 pound lighter, but the F4 ...

DavidNJ100 asked
27 days ago

ANSWERS

David, You have some good questions, but I'll just say this first: I'm never short of amazed how much money I see being spent on things that so often make so little difference and so often purely on the quest to have "the best". I have seen insane amounts of money spent on gear that first gets used only to take pictures of ducks and squirrels, and then ends up on Craigslist with the description "Mint condition! Only used three times!" I don't see this just every so often... I see it a LOT! Now, with that brief editorial out of the way, I'll address a few of your issues. First, the 70-200 lenses. Yes, you are correct that IS can help 2-4 stops for still subjects. You are also correct that moving subjects will blur at low shutter speeds. So what does that mean for you? Well, if you shoot still subjects and that extra stop of bokeh is not worth a cool thousand, then the f4 might be good for you. We actually own both the f2.8 and f4 IS versions. Wedding photographers probably end up ... Continue Reading

27 days ago

Answer: Review your own research, compare your needs to the data you have gathered, and make a decision. Continue Reading

Rick Knepper answered
27 days ago

Agreed, those are the three that we all want. As for the weight of the 70-200 2.8 IS II, it rarely comes off of my camera because I absolutely love shooting with it. The weight is only an excuse mostly for those that can't have it. Continue Reading

Blessed answered
27 days ago

QUESTION

Canon 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II mounting to EOS 6D

I just obtained a new 6D and 70-200 f/2.8 IS II.  DSLR experience of just one year.  I noticed while shooting with the new lens on the 6D that there is a slight bit of give at the mount.  I mounted my other lenses (24-105 f/4L and 50mm f/1.4) and they remained secure with absolutely no give.  Should I be concerned/ should I exchange it?  I've contacted Canon as well as retailers who carry the lens and the 6D.  Canon says there should be no concern if the movement is slight.  One local retailer as well as a friend with this lens and a 5D Mark III says there should be absolutely no movement of the lens on the mount.  Any help you might provide will be greatly appreciated as I don't have much time left to return for an exchange of the lens.  If there were any in stock locally, I would ask and take the lens in to a retailer for comparison, however they don't have them locally.  I purchased online through AAFES as their only local store does not carry them.

bgbgood asked
25 days ago

ANSWERS

Compare the physical size of the 70-200 against the 24-105 and the 50. Any excessive movement in the mount may be due to the extra weight. All lenses have a slight movement when on the camera otherwise they'd be very difficult to mount/unmount. I wouldn't be too concerned as long as the pin locks the lens in place and the af and aperture controls work ok. Continue Reading

GordonAtWork answered
25 days ago

Slight rotational give is normal. If it's looser, in another way, then I'd consider changing it. Jim Continue Reading

jimbrobb answered
25 days ago

Yeap.  Happens with my larger lenses too. Continue Reading

dgumshu answered
24 days ago

QUESTION

Total length of canon 5d with 70-200 attched?

Hi there, I was wondering if anyone could help me I am currently looking at buying a camera bag. I was wondering if anyone that has both the canon 5d and a 70-200mm f2.8 IS II could possible tell me their total length. I am looking at the Manfrotto Pro light 3N1 bag, but can't decide between the 25 or the 35? I would really prefer the 25 but am not sure if when I get my 70-200mm whether it will fit in the 3N1-25 or not? Better still, does anyone own either of the Mafrotto Pro light 3N1 bags that could advise me? I would really appreciate your help. Cheers Andrew

Nadsowen asked
21 days ago

ANSWERS

My 5D Mark III and 70-200mm f2.8 IS II is scheduled to arrive on Tuesday. If I remember I will check back to see of you have received an answer to your question. If not, I will take the measurement you requested. Continue Reading

Lawrence Keeney answered
19 days ago

Looks like just about exactly 11 inches. Continue Reading

Lee Jay answered
19 days ago

Thanks Lee, that should help me find a new bag to fit the camera and body attached when I get my 70-200 at xmass Continue Reading

Nadsowen answered
15 days ago

Warranty Information

"A Product, when delivered to you in new condition in its original container, is warranted against defects in materials or workmanship as follows: for a period of one (1) year from the date of original purchase, defective parts or a defective Product returned to Canon, or its authorized service providers, and proven to be defective upon inspection, will be repaired with new or comparable rebuilt parts or exchanged for a refurbished Product, as determined by Canon or the authorized service provider n their sole discretion. Replaced parts and exchanged Products will become the property of Canon."

Go to Canon USA's warranty page for more information. DPReview GearShop is an authorized Canon dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.