Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8 L IS II USM Lens

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

86% Gold Award
Its combination of exceptional optics and quirk-free design even manages to steal the crown of 'Best in Class.”

Read more of the review

Key Features

  • 70-200mm focal length
  • 112-320mm equivalent focal length on Canon APS-C cameras
  • F2.8 constant maximum aperture; F32 minimum
  • Ring-type ultrasonic-type AF motor with full-time manual focusing
  • Image stabilization, 4 stops
  • 77mm filters
  • 1.20m/47.24" minimum focus
  • Canon EF mount for full frame, APS-H and APS-C DSLRs

Product Description

The EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM is Canon’s professional fast telephoto zoom. It may look much the same as its predecessor on the outside, but internally it's been updated to give image quality that's quite simply the best in its class. Effective autofocus and image stabilization systems, plus full weather sealing, round off a compelling package.

Specs

Principal specifications
Lens type Zoom lens
Max Format size 35mm FF
Focal length 70–200 mm
Image stabilisation Yes (4 stops)
Lens mount Canon EF
Aperture
Maximum aperture F2.8
Minimum aperture F32.0
Aperture ring No
Number of diaphragm blades 8
Optics
Elements 23
Groups 19
Special elements / coatings Fluorite and UD lens elements
Focus
Minimum focus 1.20 m (47.24)
Maximum magnification 0.21×
Autofocus Yes
Motor type Ring-type ultrasonic
Full time manual Yes
Focus method Internal
Distance scale Yes
DoF scale Yes
Physical
Weight 1490 g (3.28 lb)
Diameter 89 mm (3.5)
Length 199 mm (7.83)
Materials Metal barrel, metal mount
Sealing Yes
Colour Grey and Black
Zoom method Rotary (internal)
Power zoom No
Zoom lock Unknown
Filter thread 77 mm
Hood supplied Yes
Hood product code ET-87
Tripod collar Yes
Optional accessories Soft Case LZ1326

Reviews

DPReview Conclusion

Scoring is relative only to the other lenses in the same category at the time of review.

Score Breakdown
Poor Excellent
Optical Quality
Build Quality
Autofocus
Image Stabilization
Ergonomics and Handling
Value
Gold Award
Gold Award
86 %
Overall Score

Its combination of exceptional optics and quirk-free design even manages to steal the crown of 'Best in Class.

Good For

Professionals and advanced amateurs demanding the very finest image quality from a telephoto zoom

Not So Good For

Applications for which portability or discretion is more valuable than outright image quality

User Reviews

4.69643 out of 5 stars
  • BozillaNZ, Oct 14, 2012 GMT:
    Best ever

    Best zoom ever. It fulfills all my tele needs.

    Continue Reading

  • Absolutic, Jun 3, 2012 GMT:
    the best lens I've ever used

    This is optically absolutely incredible lens. There is no better general range tele - this is it. Yes it is $2400, but this is one lens that you will keep for a long time. And if you dislike it, you'll resell it in few years and maybe lose $200-300 on it. Wedding photogs would eat it alive. The only con is its heavy and the weight might get to some people. 135L is half the weight.... but I sold 135L when I got 70-200..... it is just much more versatile. And 4-stop IS helps with ...

    Continue Reading

  • Amancio Couto, May 26, 2012 GMT:
    ULTRA SUPER!...SUPER!...SUPERB!...

    Realy the best zoon lens!...short to mediun telephoto, but, is more; excellent for creativity. One lens for many subjets. The quality is just SUPERB!!!...more or less as prime lens. Problems: Heavy per excellence.

    Continue Reading

  • GraphicsArea, May 8, 2012 GMT:
    Wonderful

    Wonderful Lens i get it before a few days ago, The first image i take for the Full Moon, It's wonderful, Heavy lens :)

    Continue Reading

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

Waterproof cover recommendation for 6D and 70-200

I've been shooting equine events since last summer with a Canon EOS 6D and EF 70-200mm f2.8L IS II; can anyone recommend a waterproof cover that would fit this combination as I'm sick of trying to hide under umbrellas and trees when the heavens open? Thank you in advance.

Aardvark UK asked
12 days ago

ANSWERS

Check out the Op/Tech Rainsleeve on Amazon. Continue Reading

Chris DeVeau answered
12 days ago

I second the Storm Jacket. Steve Continue Reading

Steve Grodin answered
11 days ago

On the cheap side is a ziplock, or other plastic, bag with a hole cut to poke the lens through, then rubber band the bag round the lens. Used this trick many times as a freelance press shooter. Continue Reading

AB8ND answered
12 days ago

QUESTION

Best lens combo for baby shots at hospital

My wife and are are potentially days away from the birth of our first child (a little girl) and I want to have my kit ready for in hospital shots after my responsibilities during labor are complete (i.e. camera is not coming out until the baby has arrived and we've both had a chance to hold her). I have a 5D3 and am trying to figure out what lenses to bring with me. Given that I won't bring a flash (too bright for newborn eyes) I'm trying to maximize my fast lenses while still having enough flexibility for nice shots. My initial thought is to bring these lenses: 1. 24 2.8 IS 2. 50 1.4 3. 70-200 2.8 IS 4. 100 2.8 Macro (tokina) What do you guys think? as an alternate I thought of bringing my 24-105 but at F4 it may be too slow for nice shots and is heavier than the 24 prime. I know the 70-200 is a beast but it just shoots so nice that I think I'd be disappointed without it.

KN13 asked
23 days ago

ANSWERS

IMO you are bringing too much gear, etc. I brought a 6D + 85mm 1.8 and an EOS-M with the 22mm pancake.  I had the 85mm and 35mm focal lengths covered. It is possible to do it with just the 50mm f1.4.  50mm 1.4 has closer MFD which is nice.  The 85mm 1.8 framed a lot of pictures nicely for me on FF. Continue Reading

Timbukto answered
23 days ago

On FF, baby shots at 6' - 75mm is optimal - it's also a great viewing distance for little ones whereas we prefer 10-12' with adults. Low light - take the f/1.4 50mm. I don't think you'll need anything else cb Continue Reading

cberry answered
22 days ago

if that is your lens collection, you'll have a tough time to selecting the ideal lens for the occasion! i think a 35mm lens would be ideal because it'll give you a chance to set yourself in a tight situation by taking a couple steps forward or backward for ideal position to take the shot. i am in the same situation, expecting my first grandson in a couple of months ;-) i have my 24-70mm f2.8II and as a backup, i'll take my 35mm f1.4 as well. you never know what to expect in the hospital, the lighting, the crowd (the other newly parents and families). i like to be there so i'll be able to take the earliest photo of my grandson as possible. i think the 24-70 f2.8II should be able to cover pretty tight situation and i'll have my 1Dx for high iso, if need be. good luck to you and your wife, and your new daughter ;-) cheerz. Continue Reading

rebel99 answered
22 days ago

QUESTION

70-200 f/2.8 IS II - IS and Date questions

I purchased this lens yesterday from a (I believe) reputable specialty shop, taking advantage of the $2199 sale price.  They ran out of stock for a few weeks and I got a call yesterday that they had one in on hold for me.  I only could take a quick visual inspection in-store so I didn't get a chance to try it out until I got home. I specifically asked if it was an "open-box" i.e. bought and returned and he said no. There weren't any taped seals to open but it seemed well enough packed as we unboxed it in store and looked it over. So far I've had a few hours and about a hundred test shots with it just walking around my house and yard.  I'm using a 6D with grip if that matters. My two questions are: 1) The IS made some pretty horrible sounds three or four times when I first started using it, but not since. From my 24-105 and 70-300IS I'm familiar with the audible "scritch.....scritch" sound as the IS starts and stops, sort-of like the sounds of stopping down the aperture with the DOF ...

hangtime asked
2 months ago

ANSWERS

The IS on my copy was very silent and never made any unusual sounds ...........may be an omen of future problems, so I'd return it.........you'll sleep better Continue Reading

Hank3152 answered
2 months ago

Thanks everyone for the advice.  The very evening after I wrote that I had decided to keep the lens I took some photos at night and they showed really weird astigmatism (coma? not sure) with crescent-shaped stars instead of points.  So I returned it the next day for exchange.  The new one was built this April (serial starts with 16, silver box, center-pinch cap) and it was happy from the moment it came out of the box.  So, lesson learned. I was impressed (but not blown away) with the sharpness of the first copy but this new one is way, way better, particularly in the corners.  It's on par with the 135 f/2 I'm borrowing from a friend.  But actually my 70-300 f/4-5.6 IS still approaches it in sharpness at the center at 200mm on my 6D (I have a really good copy I believe) although in the corners and in all other aspects it can't compare. Continue Reading

hangtime answered
2 months ago

I think you got a bad copy and I would send it back. The IS should sound the same "when panning or pointing up/down". Continue Reading

msowsun answered
2 months ago

Warranty Information

"A Product, when delivered to you in new condition in its original container, is warranted against defects in materials or workmanship as follows: for a period of one (1) year from the date of original purchase, defective parts or a defective Product returned to Canon, or its authorized service providers, and proven to be defective upon inspection, will be repaired with new or comparable rebuilt parts or exchanged for a refurbished Product, as determined by Canon or the authorized service provider n their sole discretion. Replaced parts and exchanged Products will become the property of Canon."

Go to Canon USA's warranty page for more information. DPReview GearShop is an authorized Canon dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.