Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8 L IS II USM Lens

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

86% Gold Award
Its combination of exceptional optics and quirk-free design even manages to steal the crown of 'Best in Class.”

Read more of the review

Key Features

  • 70-200mm focal length
  • 112-320mm equivalent focal length on Canon APS-C cameras
  • F2.8 constant maximum aperture; F32 minimum
  • Ring-type ultrasonic-type AF motor with full-time manual focusing
  • Image stabilization, 4 stops
  • 77mm filters
  • 1.20m/47.24" minimum focus
  • Canon EF mount for full frame, APS-H and APS-C DSLRs

Product Description

The EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM is Canon’s professional fast telephoto zoom. It may look much the same as its predecessor on the outside, but internally it's been updated to give image quality that's quite simply the best in its class. Effective autofocus and image stabilization systems, plus full weather sealing, round off a compelling package.

Specs

Principal specifications
Lens type Zoom lens
Max Format size 35mm FF
Focal length 70–200 mm
Image stabilisation Yes (4 stops)
Lens mount Canon EF
Aperture
Maximum aperture F2.8
Minimum aperture F32.0
Aperture ring No
Number of diaphragm blades 8
Optics
Elements 23
Groups 19
Special elements / coatings Fluorite and UD lens elements
Focus
Minimum focus 1.20 m (47.24)
Maximum magnification 0.21×
Autofocus Yes
Motor type Ring-type ultrasonic
Full time manual Yes
Focus method Internal
Distance scale Yes
DoF scale Yes
Physical
Weight 1490 g (3.28 lb)
Diameter 89 mm (3.5)
Length 199 mm (7.83)
Materials Metal barrel, metal mount
Sealing Yes
Colour Grey and Black
Zoom method Rotary (internal)
Power zoom No
Zoom lock Unknown
Filter thread 77 mm
Hood supplied Yes
Hood product code ET-87
Tripod collar Yes
Optional accessories Soft Case LZ1326

Reviews

DPReview Conclusion

Scoring is relative only to the other lenses in the same category at the time of review.

Score Breakdown
Poor Excellent
Optical Quality
Build Quality
Autofocus
Image Stabilization
Ergonomics and Handling
Value
Gold Award
Gold Award
86 %
Overall Score

Canon's update to its professional fast telezoom may look much the same on the outside, but internally it's been updated to give image quality that's quite simply the best in its class. Effective autofocus and image stabilization systems, plus full weather sealing, round off a compelling package.

Good For

Professionals and advanced amateurs demanding the very finest image quality from a telephoto zoom

Not So Good For

User Reviews

  • BozillaNZ, Oct 14, 2012 GMT:
    Best ever

    Best zoom ever. It fulfills all my tele needs.

    Continue Reading

  • Absolutic, Jun 3, 2012 GMT:
    the best lens I've ever used

    This is optically absolutely incredible lens. There is no better general range tele - this is it. Yes it is $2400, but this is one lens that you will keep for a long time. And if you dislike it, you'll resell it in few years and maybe lose $200-300 on it. Wedding photogs would eat it alive. The only con is its heavy and the weight might get to some people. 135L is half the weight.... but I sold 135L when I got 70-200..... it is just much more versatile. And 4-stop IS helps with ...

    Continue Reading

  • Amancio Couto, May 26, 2012 GMT:
    ULTRA SUPER!...SUPER!...SUPERB!...

    Realy the best zoon lens!...short to mediun telephoto, but, is more; excellent for creativity. One lens for many subjets. The quality is just SUPERB!!!...more or less as prime lens. Problems: Heavy per excellence.

    Continue Reading

  • GraphicsArea, May 8, 2012 GMT:
    Wonderful

    Wonderful Lens i get it before a few days ago, The first image i take for the Full Moon, It's wonderful, Heavy lens :)

    Continue Reading

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

Lens vs Extender

I mostly shoot sports photography with a 70D and prefer my 70-200 f/2.8 L IS II. For more reach, why shouldn't I go with an extender (1.4x III or 2.0x III) for outdoor good light vs. EF 100-400 f/4.5-5.6L IS. I know I'll lose one or 2 stops but in good light, won't my f2.8 be comparable to an f/4.5-5.6?

CB5673 asked
1 month ago

ANSWERS

f/4, not f/4.5. Correct. A total non-issue. Continue Reading

Lee Jay answered
1 month ago

Hi CB, The IQ of the 70-200 and 2.0x extender is not equivalent to the old 100-400 and the new 100-400 IS II should be even better. http://www.the-digital-picture.com/Reviews/ISO-12233-Sample-Crops.aspx?Lens=404&Camera=736&Sample=0&FLI=5&API=2&LensComp=113&CameraComp=736&SampleComp=0&FLIComp=7&APIComp=3 I have the 70D, 70-200 f2.8 IS II, 1.4x III and 2.0 III extenders. If you need 400mm and have the money, I say go for the new new 100-400 IS II. The IQ of the 1.4x on the 70-200 is good, but it's awful with the 2.0x. I don't have professional test equipment and am not a test engineer so accept my test results for what it's worth. I compared the IQ of each extender against the IQ of the 70-200 lens. The IQ of the 1.4x peaks at f/7.1 and is equivalent to the IQ of the 70-200mm at f7.1. That's pretty good; almost as good as the IQ of the 70-200 at f4.5-6.3. Opening up to f6.3 drops IQ of the 1.4x to the equivalent of the 70-200 at f11 and that's ugly. With the 1.4x, I shoot birds in ... Continue Reading

Tony 2 answered
18 days ago

With a 1.4x TC, your 70-200 IS II f2.8 L will effectively become a 100-280 f4.5. With a 2xTC, it becomes a 140-400 f5.6. Normally, I'd say to stay away from 2xTCs. However, your L lens is one of the best, and a good 2xTC actually can work quite well on it. And though I wouldn't put the combo up against the as-yet-unreleased update of the 100-400 L, it's not exactly going to suffer by comparison next to the original. My biggest problem using a TC with such a heavy lens is the stress I feel all that weight must place on the mount. I certainly wouldn't want to do any rough handling with it. But for small, occasional use, I wouldn't hesitate to use the TC with that 70-200 II in place of another large, heavy lens. Continue Reading

1 month ago

QUESTION

Total length of canon 5d with 70-200 attched?

Hi there, I was wondering if anyone could help me I am currently looking at buying a camera bag. I was wondering if anyone that has both the canon 5d and a 70-200mm f2.8 IS II could possible tell me their total length. I am looking at the Manfrotto Pro light 3N1 bag, but can't decide between the 25 or the 35? I would really prefer the 25 but am not sure if when I get my 70-200mm whether it will fit in the 3N1-25 or not? Better still, does anyone own either of the Mafrotto Pro light 3N1 bags that could advise me? I would really appreciate your help. Cheers Andrew

Nadsowen asked
2 months ago

ANSWERS

My 5D Mark III and 70-200mm f2.8 IS II is scheduled to arrive on Tuesday. If I remember I will check back to see of you have received an answer to your question. If not, I will take the measurement you requested. Continue Reading

Lawrence Keeney answered
2 months ago

Looks like just about exactly 11 inches. Continue Reading

Lee Jay answered
2 months ago

Thanks Lee, that should help me find a new bag to fit the camera and body attached when I get my 70-200 at xmass Continue Reading

Nadsowen answered
2 months ago

QUESTION

GH4 with Speedbooster & Canon = Changing DOF?

Hey guys, I already read the FAQ from Metabones, but had some problems to understand it. I have a GH4 and want to buy the new Speedbooster MFT to fit with the Canon 70-200 2.8 II IS. With the Speedbooster the Canon 70-200 would be a ~100-300 (2x Crop from Camera, 0.71x Crop from Speedbooster, makes a 1.4). On top of that, the Speedbooster gives me a extra stop of light. The interesting thing is: What happens with the DOF/Bokeh? Is it comparable with a 2.0 on Fullframe? Or is it a 4.0 (because you have to double it, like the Panasonic 12-35 2.8 on the GH4 is in terms of DOF the same as a 5.6 on a Fullframe). Would be nice to know what the speedboosters changes here. Thank you for your help, Michael

28 days ago

ANSWERS

My understanding is that DOF will be the FF equivalent of a: 70-200 /2.8 and 100-300 /4.0 and 50-150 /2.0 edit: and a 140-400 /5.6 If you plug them in a DOF calculator, they are all about the same. Continue Reading

uRebel Rob answered
27 days ago

Warranty Information

"A Product, when delivered to you in new condition in its original container, is warranted against defects in materials or workmanship as follows: for a period of one (1) year from the date of original purchase, defective parts or a defective Product returned to Canon, or its authorized service providers, and proven to be defective upon inspection, will be repaired with new or comparable rebuilt parts or exchanged for a refurbished Product, as determined by Canon or the authorized service provider n their sole discretion. Replaced parts and exchanged Products will become the property of Canon."

Go to Canon USA's warranty page for more information. DPReview GearShop is an authorized Canon dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.