Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8 L IS II USM Lens

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

86% Gold Award
Its combination of exceptional optics and quirk-free design even manages to steal the crown of 'Best in Class.'”

Read more of the review

Key Features

  • 70-200mm focal length
  • 112-320mm equivalent focal length on Canon APS-C cameras
  • F2.8 constant maximum aperture; F32 minimum
  • Ring-type ultrasonic-type AF motor with full-time manual focusing
  • Image stabilization, 4 stops
  • 77mm filters
  • 1.20m/47.24" minimum focus
  • Canon EF mount for full frame, APS-H and APS-C DSLRs

Product Description

The EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM is Canon’s professional fast telephoto zoom. It may look much the same as its predecessor on the outside, but internally it's been updated to give image quality that's quite simply the best in its class. Effective autofocus and image stabilization systems, plus full weather sealing, round off a compelling package.

Specs

Principal specifications
Lens type Zoom lens
Max Format size 35mm FF
Focal length 70–200 mm
Image stabilisation Yes (4 stops)
Lens mount Canon EF
Aperture
Maximum aperture F2.8
Minimum aperture F32.0
Aperture ring No
Number of diaphragm blades 8
Optics
Elements 23
Groups 19
Special elements / coatings Fluorite and UD lens elements
Focus
Minimum focus 1.20 m (47.24)
Maximum magnification 0.21×
Autofocus Yes
Motor type Ring-type ultrasonic
Full time manual Yes
Focus method Internal
Distance scale Yes
DoF scale Yes
Physical
Weight 1490 g (3.28 lb)
Diameter 89 mm (3.5)
Length 199 mm (7.83)
Materials Metal barrel, metal mount
Sealing Yes
Colour Grey and Black
Zoom method Rotary (internal)
Power zoom No
Zoom lock Unknown
Filter thread 77 mm
Hood supplied Yes
Hood product code ET-87
Tripod collar Yes
Optional accessories Soft Case LZ1326

Reviews

DPReview Conclusion

Scoring is relative only to the other lenses in the same category at the time of review.

Score Breakdown
Poor Excellent
Optical Quality
Build Quality
Autofocus
Image Stabilization
Ergonomics and Handling
Value
Gold Award
Gold Award
86 %
Overall Score

Canon's update to its professional fast telezoom may look much the same on the outside, but internally it's been updated to give image quality that's quite simply the best in its class. Effective autofocus and image stabilization systems, plus full weather sealing, round off a compelling package.

Good For

Professionals and advanced amateurs demanding the very finest image quality from a telephoto zoom

Not So Good For

Applications for which portability or discretion is more valuable than outright image quality

User Reviews

4.68182 out of 5 stars
  • BozillaNZ, Oct 14, 2012 GMT:
    Best ever

    Best zoom ever. It fulfills all my tele needs.

    Continue Reading

  • Absolutic, Jun 3, 2012 GMT:
    the best lens I've ever used

    This is optically absolutely incredible lens. There is no better general range tele - this is it. Yes it is $2400, but this is one lens that you will keep for a long time. And if you dislike it, you'll resell it in few years and maybe lose $200-300 on it. Wedding photogs would eat it alive. The only con is its heavy and the weight might get to some people. 135L is half the weight.... but I sold 135L when I got 70-200..... it is just much more versatile. And 4-stop IS helps with ...

    Continue Reading

  • Amancio Couto, May 26, 2012 GMT:
    ULTRA SUPER!...SUPER!...SUPERB!...

    Realy the best zoon lens!...short to mediun telephoto, but, is more; excellent for creativity. One lens for many subjets. The quality is just SUPERB!!!...more or less as prime lens. Problems: Heavy per excellence.

    Continue Reading

  • GraphicsArea, May 8, 2012 GMT:
    Wonderful

    Wonderful Lens i get it before a few days ago, The first image i take for the Full Moon, It's wonderful, Heavy lens :)

    Continue Reading

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

Tele converters or a new camera?

I have a Canon EOS 6D FF camera and I am going to buy Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM in the near future. And while 70-200mm would cover most of my needs when it comes to reach, I do think of getting more reach for occasional use. So I think of Canon Extender 1.4x and 2.0x (version 3) or a Canon EOS 70D which will give the 1.6x factor. With teleconverters I'll get 280mm and 400mm but with cost of the IQ, focus speed and aperture, with the crop camera I will get 320mm but of the cost of the weight and size of another camera. The price of two teleconverters is more or less the same as the 70D. After writing this and reading it afterwards, it seems maybe stupid to not buy the camera instead. I think of getting more reach mainly because of a future safari tour (not planned anything, but one time it will happen). Would 200mm be enough, or should I focus on more reach, anyone with experience on that field? You may come up with other ideas and combinations, but it has to be Canon stuff ...

oleoleole asked
5 months ago

ANSWERS

If the only time you will be needing more than 200mm is for the safari you might be better off renting a really long lens for a couple of weeks. Continue Reading

Dave Lively answered
5 months ago

It was more like an example, I would probably use it for other things as well. But it's not like I'm dedicated to that sort of lengths. Look at it like it's nice to have some extra reach, it's a nice feature, but nothing which I really need and must use very often. And I also like to own the item, no risk or hassle, and also that I know I have the equipment I need very close at "all times" Continue Reading

oleoleole answered
5 months ago

The prices for 1.4X & 2.0X at B&H are $499. each, another $400. will buy you a 70D body or you could get a Canon 70-300 IS lens for $649. You have choices. Continue Reading

photoholiko answered
5 months ago

QUESTION

Using BMPCC with Canon 70-200 f/2.8 IS II

Hi, I recently purchased a BlackMagic Pocket Cinema Camera, and I love it.  I mostly work with Canon gear though and am trying to get my 70-200 working with the BMPCC. I have an adapter with a manual aperture ring, but I get heavy vignetting when I use it past f/8 or so. Instead I have tried to set my aperture on my Canon T3i, then remove the lens without turning off the camera to get the iris stuck at my desired f-stop.  Then I put the lens on the convertor (which I have wide open). Trouble is, my images are extremely soft. Close-ups of small objects seem to work fine, but videos of distant objects are very soft with an extremely shallow depth of field, even up to f/22. Any advice on how to use the 70-200 on the BMPCC?? Thanks!

Markaralius asked
4 months ago

ANSWERS

x3 crop means you have a 210-600mm lens equivalent and you are using a very small center portion of the lens elements, the rest. You are really pushing the lens in a way it was not designed for, go for native m43 Continue Reading

ApertureAcolyte answered
4 months ago

Thanks for your response.  I am not sure I understand though- the t3i has a x1.6 crop, and with a x2 teleconverter I am pushed past a x3 crop.  I am still able to get clean shots with that setup.  So I think there must be an issue somewhere in the conversion process. Thanks! Continue Reading

Markaralius answered
4 months ago

I also use the x3 sensor crop on the t3i, which should give me a total of a x4.8 crop with great results (for that camera). Continue Reading

Markaralius answered
4 months ago

QUESTION

Best L zoom lens for full body to body hair, peach skin detail, nude photography.

Hi All, I'm doing high profile nude photography. And i have a canon t5i with the 18-135 STM Kit. yep. I'm doing great pictures from this really beautiful girls and i would like Now to buy the best possible camera and the best possible lens. Canon gear. So i was thinking first to buy the FFrame 6D with the 24-105 L kit, but the just 1 cross point focus and the need of a lens with more zoom than the 135 has discourage me. So now i'm thinking to get the Mark III and the 28-300 f3.5-5.6 L. My concerns are: 1)I'm shooting indoors in a small room where the 18mm let me take full body shots, will i have problems with the 28mm? or passing from crop frame to full frame will mean my new 28 will be like the 18 2) the 28-300 is like a bazuca, and i have read good reviews, but it will be high quality for indoor at short distance from full body to peach skin, body hair detail? as you see i wont use it for sports or outdoors, just portrait and nude. 3) Could you suggest me another lens from canon? ...

R Butler asked
20 days ago

ANSWERS

6D with the 24-105 would be the perfect combo. You don't need a million focus points for nude photography. Besides, the camera and lens is the least of your concerns. It's the lighting that makes or breaks nude photos. I've shot literally 100's if not 1000's of nudes with a 7D and the 24-105 and it worked out great. None of them were ever destined to be large wall hangings anyway. I've used Sony's and Nikons for nudes too, and that was never the issue... it was always the lighting. Continue Reading

KelvinHammond answered
19 days ago

Admittedly, I don't do nude shooting or a lot of indoors portraiture; however, I think that the 28-300 isn't necessarily the optimal lens for indoor shooting without plenty of lights set up. What are you planning with respect to lighting? Multiple flashes? Stand-alone dedicated lighting? Continue Reading

KN13 answered
19 days ago

the 24-70L and 70-200L combination is the best there is for zooms.. one question is: what apertures are you shooting at? is control of DOF important to you? how do you reconcile 'high profile ANYTHING photography' with the statement that changing lenses is too much work? may I suggest the Canon G15 pro-level compact? 28-140mm (equivalent) lens and full manual controls. it ain't about the lenses, or the (camera) body. the lighting and setting is what truly MAKES the shots. as the other poster asked: what are you doing for lighting? MUCH more important than your choice of lens. aim for quality rather than quantity... if you take 500 photos and only show 10, i would call you a poor photographer. if you take 12 photos and show 10, i would call you a pro. for the skin detail, hair detail, you will want a good true macro lens. there is no substitute. what kind of studio space are you using? a dedicated studio? the client's home? outdoor? location affects gear... <edit> i see you are using ... Continue Reading

ScottyNV answered
19 days ago

Warranty Information

"A Product, when delivered to you in new condition in its original container, is warranted against defects in materials or workmanship as follows: for a period of one (1) year from the date of original purchase, defective parts or a defective Product returned to Canon, or its authorized service providers, and proven to be defective upon inspection, will be repaired with new or comparable rebuilt parts or exchanged for a refurbished Product, as determined by Canon or the authorized service provider n their sole discretion. Replaced parts and exchanged Products will become the property of Canon."

Go to Canon USA's warranty page for more information. DPReview GearShop is an authorized Canon dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.