Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8 L IS II USM Lens

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

86% Gold Award
Its combination of exceptional optics and quirk-free design even manages to steal the crown of 'Best in Class.'”

Read more of the review

Key Features

  • 70-200mm focal length
  • 112-320mm equivalent focal length on Canon APS-C cameras
  • F2.8 constant maximum aperture; F32 minimum
  • Ring-type ultrasonic-type AF motor with full-time manual focusing
  • Image stabilization, 4 stops
  • 77mm filters
  • 1.20m/47.24" minimum focus
  • Canon EF mount for full frame, APS-H and APS-C DSLRs

Product Description

The EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM is Canon’s professional fast telephoto zoom. It may look much the same as its predecessor on the outside, but internally it's been updated to give image quality that's quite simply the best in its class. Effective autofocus and image stabilization systems, plus full weather sealing, round off a compelling package.

Specs

Principal specifications
Lens type Zoom lens
Max Format size 35mm FF
Focal length 70–200 mm
Image stabilisation Yes (4 stops)
Lens mount Canon EF
Aperture
Maximum aperture F2.8
Minimum aperture F32.0
Aperture ring No
Number of diaphragm blades 8
Optics
Elements 23
Groups 19
Special elements / coatings Fluorite and UD lens elements
Focus
Minimum focus 1.20 m (47.24)
Maximum magnification 0.21×
Autofocus Yes
Motor type Ring-type ultrasonic
Full time manual Yes
Focus method Internal
Distance scale Yes
DoF scale Yes
Physical
Weight 1490 g (3.28 lb)
Diameter 89 mm (3.5)
Length 199 mm (7.83)
Materials Metal barrel, metal mount
Sealing Yes
Colour Grey and Black
Zoom method Rotary (internal)
Power zoom No
Zoom lock Unknown
Filter thread 77 mm
Hood supplied Yes
Hood product code ET-87
Tripod collar Yes
Optional accessories Soft Case LZ1326

Reviews

DPReview Conclusion

Scoring is relative only to the other lenses in the same category at the time of review.

Score Breakdown
Poor Excellent
Optical Quality
Build Quality
Autofocus
Image Stabilization
Ergonomics and Handling
Value
Gold Award
Gold Award
86 %
Overall Score

Canon's update to its professional fast telezoom may look much the same on the outside, but internally it's been updated to give image quality that's quite simply the best in its class. Effective autofocus and image stabilization systems, plus full weather sealing, round off a compelling package.

Good For

Professionals and advanced amateurs demanding the very finest image quality from a telephoto zoom

Not So Good For

Applications for which portability or discretion is more valuable than outright image quality

User Reviews

4.69643 out of 5 stars
  • BozillaNZ, Oct 14, 2012 GMT:
    Best ever

    Best zoom ever. It fulfills all my tele needs.

    Continue Reading

  • Absolutic, Jun 3, 2012 GMT:
    the best lens I've ever used

    This is optically absolutely incredible lens. There is no better general range tele - this is it. Yes it is $2400, but this is one lens that you will keep for a long time. And if you dislike it, you'll resell it in few years and maybe lose $200-300 on it. Wedding photogs would eat it alive. The only con is its heavy and the weight might get to some people. 135L is half the weight.... but I sold 135L when I got 70-200..... it is just much more versatile. And 4-stop IS helps with ...

    Continue Reading

  • Amancio Couto, May 26, 2012 GMT:
    ULTRA SUPER!...SUPER!...SUPERB!...

    Realy the best zoon lens!...short to mediun telephoto, but, is more; excellent for creativity. One lens for many subjets. The quality is just SUPERB!!!...more or less as prime lens. Problems: Heavy per excellence.

    Continue Reading

  • GraphicsArea, May 8, 2012 GMT:
    Wonderful

    Wonderful Lens i get it before a few days ago, The first image i take for the Full Moon, It's wonderful, Heavy lens :)

    Continue Reading

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

Best L zoom lens for full body to body hair, peach skin detail, nude photography.

Hi All, I'm doing high profile nude photography. And i have a canon t5i with the 18-135 STM Kit. yep. I'm doing great pictures from this really beautiful girls and i would like Now to buy the best possible camera and the best possible lens. Canon gear. So i was thinking first to buy the FFrame 6D with the 24-105 L kit, but the just 1 cross point focus and the need of a lens with more zoom than the 135 has discourage me. So now i'm thinking to get the Mark III and the 28-300 f3.5-5.6 L. My concerns are: 1)I'm shooting indoors in a small room where the 18mm let me take full body shots, will i have problems with the 28mm? or passing from crop frame to full frame will mean my new 28 will be like the 18 2) the 28-300 is like a bazuca, and i have read good reviews, but it will be high quality for indoor at short distance from full body to peach skin, body hair detail? as you see i wont use it for sports or outdoors, just portrait and nude. 3) Could you suggest me another lens from canon? ...

R Butler asked
3 months ago

ANSWERS

6D with the 24-105 would be the perfect combo. You don't need a million focus points for nude photography. Besides, the camera and lens is the least of your concerns. It's the lighting that makes or breaks nude photos. I've shot literally 100's if not 1000's of nudes with a 7D and the 24-105 and it worked out great. None of them were ever destined to be large wall hangings anyway. I've used Sony's and Nikons for nudes too, and that was never the issue... it was always the lighting. Continue Reading

KelvinHammond answered
3 months ago

Admittedly, I don't do nude shooting or a lot of indoors portraiture; however, I think that the 28-300 isn't necessarily the optimal lens for indoor shooting without plenty of lights set up. What are you planning with respect to lighting? Multiple flashes? Stand-alone dedicated lighting? Continue Reading

KN13 answered
3 months ago

the 24-70L and 70-200L combination is the best there is for zooms.. one question is: what apertures are you shooting at? is control of DOF important to you? how do you reconcile 'high profile ANYTHING photography' with the statement that changing lenses is too much work? may I suggest the Canon G15 pro-level compact? 28-140mm (equivalent) lens and full manual controls. it ain't about the lenses, or the (camera) body. the lighting and setting is what truly MAKES the shots. as the other poster asked: what are you doing for lighting? MUCH more important than your choice of lens. aim for quality rather than quantity... if you take 500 photos and only show 10, i would call you a poor photographer. if you take 12 photos and show 10, i would call you a pro. for the skin detail, hair detail, you will want a good true macro lens. there is no substitute. what kind of studio space are you using? a dedicated studio? the client's home? outdoor? location affects gear... <edit> i see you are using ... Continue Reading

ScottyNV answered
3 months ago

QUESTION

Using BMPCC with Canon 70-200 f/2.8 IS II

Hi, I recently purchased a BlackMagic Pocket Cinema Camera, and I love it.  I mostly work with Canon gear though and am trying to get my 70-200 working with the BMPCC. I have an adapter with a manual aperture ring, but I get heavy vignetting when I use it past f/8 or so. Instead I have tried to set my aperture on my Canon T3i, then remove the lens without turning off the camera to get the iris stuck at my desired f-stop.  Then I put the lens on the convertor (which I have wide open). Trouble is, my images are extremely soft. Close-ups of small objects seem to work fine, but videos of distant objects are very soft with an extremely shallow depth of field, even up to f/22. Any advice on how to use the 70-200 on the BMPCC?? Thanks!

Markaralius asked
7 months ago

ANSWERS

x3 crop means you have a 210-600mm lens equivalent and you are using a very small center portion of the lens elements, the rest. You are really pushing the lens in a way it was not designed for, go for native m43 Continue Reading

ApertureAcolyte answered
7 months ago

Thanks for your response.  I am not sure I understand though- the t3i has a x1.6 crop, and with a x2 teleconverter I am pushed past a x3 crop.  I am still able to get clean shots with that setup.  So I think there must be an issue somewhere in the conversion process. Thanks! Continue Reading

Markaralius answered
7 months ago

I also use the x3 sensor crop on the t3i, which should give me a total of a x4.8 crop with great results (for that camera). Continue Reading

Markaralius answered
7 months ago

QUESTION

70-200 f/2.8 IS II - IS and Date questions

I purchased this lens yesterday from a (I believe) reputable specialty shop, taking advantage of the $2199 sale price.  They ran out of stock for a few weeks and I got a call yesterday that they had one in on hold for me.  I only could take a quick visual inspection in-store so I didn't get a chance to try it out until I got home. I specifically asked if it was an "open-box" i.e. bought and returned and he said no. There weren't any taped seals to open but it seemed well enough packed as we unboxed it in store and looked it over. So far I've had a few hours and about a hundred test shots with it just walking around my house and yard.  I'm using a 6D with grip if that matters. My two questions are: 1) The IS made some pretty horrible sounds three or four times when I first started using it, but not since. From my 24-105 and 70-300IS I'm familiar with the audible "scritch.....scritch" sound as the IS starts and stops, sort-of like the sounds of stopping down the aperture with the DOF ...

hangtime asked
1 month ago

ANSWERS

The IS on my copy was very silent and never made any unusual sounds ...........may be an omen of future problems, so I'd return it.........you'll sleep better Continue Reading

Hank3152 answered
1 month ago

Thanks everyone for the advice.  The very evening after I wrote that I had decided to keep the lens I took some photos at night and they showed really weird astigmatism (coma? not sure) with crescent-shaped stars instead of points.  So I returned it the next day for exchange.  The new one was built this April (serial starts with 16, silver box, center-pinch cap) and it was happy from the moment it came out of the box.  So, lesson learned. I was impressed (but not blown away) with the sharpness of the first copy but this new one is way, way better, particularly in the corners.  It's on par with the 135 f/2 I'm borrowing from a friend.  But actually my 70-300 f/4-5.6 IS still approaches it in sharpness at the center at 200mm on my 6D (I have a really good copy I believe) although in the corners and in all other aspects it can't compare. Continue Reading

hangtime answered
1 month ago

I think you got a bad copy and I would send it back. The IS should sound the same "when panning or pointing up/down". Continue Reading

msowsun answered
1 month ago

Warranty Information

"A Product, when delivered to you in new condition in its original container, is warranted against defects in materials or workmanship as follows: for a period of one (1) year from the date of original purchase, defective parts or a defective Product returned to Canon, or its authorized service providers, and proven to be defective upon inspection, will be repaired with new or comparable rebuilt parts or exchanged for a refurbished Product, as determined by Canon or the authorized service provider n their sole discretion. Replaced parts and exchanged Products will become the property of Canon."

Go to Canon USA's warranty page for more information. DPReview GearShop is an authorized Canon dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.