Canon EF-M 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS STM Lens

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

Key Features

  • 18-55mm focal length
  • 28.8-88mm equivalent focal length on Canon APS-C cameras
  • Stepper-type AF motor
  • 52mm filters
  • 0.25m/9.84" minimum focus
  • Canon EF-M mount for EOS-M APS-C interchangeable lens cameras

Product Description

The EF-M 18–55mm f/3.5–5.6 IS STM is an optically-stabilized standard zoom lens for Canon's nascent EF-M system, which provides an equivalent focal range of 28.8-88mm on their EOS M mirrorless interchangeable lens camera.

Specs

Principal specifications
Lens type Zoom lens
Max Format size APS-C / DX
Focal length 18–55 mm
Image stabilisation Yes (4 stops, Dynamic IS)
Lens mount Canon EF-M
Aperture
Maximum aperture F3.5 - F5.6
Minimum aperture F22.0 - F38.0
Number of diaphragm blades 7
Optics
Elements 13
Groups 11
Special elements / coatings 3 aspheric elements
Focus
Minimum focus 0.25 m (9.84)
Maximum magnification 0.25×
Autofocus Yes
Motor type Stepper motor
Full time manual Yes
Focus method Internal
Distance scale No
DoF scale No
Physical
Weight 210 g (0.46 lb)
Diameter 61 mm (2.4)
Length 61 mm (2.4)
Materials Metal barrel, metal mount
Sealing No
Colour Graphite silver
Zoom method Rotary (extending)
Filter thread 52 mm
Hood supplied No
Hood product code EW-54

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

EF-S 18-55 f3.5-5.6 IS STM & EF-S 55-250 f4-5.6 IS STM vs EF-S 18-135 f3.5-5.6 IS STM

I recently purchased a T5i (700D) with the 18-55 kit lens to renew my old photography hobby and to take pictures of my new twin girls (!!). I figured the 18-55 would do until they started doing sports/plays/etc. at which point I would look at the 55-250 to get in on the action. In the mean time I am also getting the 40 2.8 STM for better indoor shots. I've been reading about how others on this forum like the 18-135 for its versatility and now I'm wondering if it would be a better choice for me now and in the future. It would certainly be more convenient (a better walking around lens)... though not as long. I'm inclined to stick with my original 2 lens plan but I wanted to hear what you had to say on the subject. Thanks!

GMcDowellJr asked
3 months ago

ANSWERS

For the type of photography that I do and what I can afford, the two lens plan worked well for me.  I use the Canon 18-55 and 55-250mm IS lenses on two separate Canon DSLR cameras. Eventually, I'll get other lenses. But the two of them are a good combination to have, because they are affordable, good quality and are relatively lightweight. Here's my latest pictures with the Canon 55-250mm IS lens. http://www.dpreview.com/forums/post/52855942 Mine are both the non-STM lenses.  I understand that the STM lenses are supposed to be better optically, especially the Canon 55-250mm IS STM lens (looking at the MTF charts). If you want to see more of my samples, just look at my "Show Your Snaps" pictures that I post weekly on the Rebel forum.  I've been doing that for about two years. Continue Reading

Digirame answered
3 months ago

QUESTION

Which camera and lens combination should I get?

I have been saving up for my first DSLR and I am having trouble deciding which brand and model camera to go with. I don't have experience with my own DSLR but my mom and friend have the Nikon D3100 and I have used theirs to some extent. I do more SLR photography though so I have photography experience and I want to get a fairly advanced DSLR to start out. I can't tell whether Canon or Nikon is better although I have been doing a lot of research. I like the Canon T4i or the Canon 60D from Canon and the Nikon D5100 from Nikon. My mom has several ridiculously expensive lenses for her Nikon which I would be able to use if I got a Nikon but I am leaning towards the Canon T4i... Also is the difference between the 18-55mm STM lens and the 18-135mm STM worth the extra money? I need some advice here hahah my prince range is probably 700-1,000 USD. I also know the Nikon D5200 will be coming out next month and it is a more equal camera to the Canon T4i so I man considering that one although I ...

paperkayla asked
1 year ago

ANSWERS

Both Nikon and Canon make decent equipment in terms of cameras so despite in fighting between Nikonians and Canonites, either camera manufacture's choice will do.  The lenses are critical so if you can begin with great lenses seems an obvious answer to me. With Nikon you won't be starting from scratch, with Canon you will - by the way I own Canon gear so I'm not pushing you to "my stuff." Continue Reading

rsn48 answered
1 year ago

paperkayla wrote: my mom and friend have the Nikon D3100 and I have used theirs to some extent. I want to get a fairly advanced DSLR to start out. I am leaning towards the Canon T4i... 700-1,000 USD. Nikon D5200 will be coming out next month and it is a more equal camera to the Canon T4i Ok, let's go over this for a moment. None of the cameras you're talking about here from the Nikon D3100 to the Canon T4i or D5200 are "fairly advanced" DSLRs. They are all amost the same entry level cameras. You'd have to consider the Canon 60D, Nikon D90 or D7000 to begin to use the term "fairly advanced" at least to my way of thinking. I'd probably stick with Nikon so you can borrow lenses. You'd also have a head start on the learning curve as well. 700-1000 USD would get you a D90 for sure and maybe even a D7000, but it's easy to talk and you'd have to really make a committment to learn photography, not just shoot in Auto all day then upload to Facebook. That last line is what surprises me a ... Continue Reading

Guidenet answered
1 year ago

One more vote for the Nikon D5100.  Same IQ as the top of the line D7000.  $550.00 with kit lens. Continue Reading

Prime85 answered
1 year ago

QUESTION

Has anyone noticed that EOS M reporting wrong focal length?

I was looking through my pictures and I noticed that the focal length reported for the 22mm f2 lens was 55mm... I know it's my cat, but he is a willing model so... But you can see the lens is reported one way but the focal length the other.  One is WRONG! I also checked the raw file with the same results.  Could this happen by changing lenses with the power on?  I also have the 11-55 EF M lens as well.  Actually, I am not sure if the lens is reported wrong of the focal length. Come to think of it, it could be the right focal length and the wrong lens!!! Anyone else experience this issue?  I never experienced this on my 7D.

PSonoda asked
7 months ago

ANSWERS

well that doesn't look like canon supplied software. and i just checked my exif's against the 11-22, 22 and 18-55mm using DPP and they all look good here. Continue Reading

rrccad answered
7 months ago

I was looking through my pictures and I noticed that the focal length reported for the 22mm f2 lens was 55mm... I know it's my cat, but he is a willing model so... But you can see the lens is reported one way but the focal length the other.  One is WRONG! I also checked the raw file with the same results.  Could this happen by changing lenses with the power on?  I also have the 11-55 EF M lens as well.  Actually, I am not sure if the lens is reported wrong of the focal length. Come to think of it, it could be the right focal length and the wrong lens!!! Anyone else experience this issue?  I never experienced this on my 7D. I want to get me one of those 11-55 you mentioned. Great range! Continue Reading

EvokeEmotion answered
7 months ago

I think I figured it out.  It seems that Aperture is incorrectly reading or naming the lens. I am going to do some tests tomorrow to confirm.  Very weird. Continue Reading

PSonoda answered
7 months ago

Warranty Information

"A Product, when delivered to you in new condition in its original container, is warranted against defects in materials or workmanship as follows: for a period of one (1) year from the date of original purchase, defective parts or a defective Product returned to Canon, or its authorized service providers, and proven to be defective upon inspection, will be repaired with new or comparable rebuilt parts or exchanged for a refurbished Product, as determined by Canon or the authorized service provider n their sole discretion. Replaced parts and exchanged Products will become the property of Canon."

Go to Canon USA's warranty page for more information. DPReview GearShop is an authorized Canon dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.