Canon EOS 6D DSLR Camera

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

83% Silver Award
Landscape and nature photographers could benefit greatly from advantages the 6D brings to the table, including remote control from your smartphone and GPS image tagging.”

Read more of the review

Key Features

  • 20.2MP full frame CMOS sensor
  • 4.5 frames per second continuous shooting
  • 1080p HD video recording with manual controls
  • 11-point AF system
  • 3 inch LCD with 1,040,000 dots
  • SD Memory
  • DIGIC 5+ processor
  • ISO 100 - 25600 plus 50, 51200, 102400 expanded

Product Description

The 20MP Canon EOS 6D is Canon's smallest, lightest and most affordable full-frame DSLR yet, aimed at enthusiast photographers. As well as a newly-developed CMOS sensor the 6D features an 11-point autofocus system with a single cross-type point at the center of the array, which can achieve focus down to -3EV, which is little more than moonlight. The 6D becomes the company's first EOS model to include GPS and Wi-Fi built in, to make sharing images easier. It uses its large sensor to offer a native ISO range of 100-25,600, expandable to 50-102,400, and image quality across its ISO sensitivity span is excellent.

Specs

Body type
Body type Mid-size SLR
Sensor
Max resolution 5472 x 3648
Other resolutions 3648 x 2432, 2736 x 1824, 1920 x 1280, 720 x 480
Image ratio w:h 3:2
Effective pixels 20 megapixels
Sensor photo detectors 21 megapixels
Sensor size Full frame (36 x 24 mm)
Sensor type CMOS
Processor Digic 5+
Image
ISO Auto, 100 - 25600 in 1/3 stops, plus 50, 51200, 102400 as option
White balance presets 6
Custom white balance Yes
Image stabilization No
Uncompressed format RAW
JPEG quality levels Fine, Normal
Optics & Focus
Autofocus
  • Contrast Detect (sensor)
  • Phase Detect
  • Multi-area
  • Selective single-point
  • Single
  • Continuous
  • Face Detection
  • Live View
Manual focus Yes
Number of focus points 11
Lens mount Canon EF
Focal length multiplier 1×
Screen / viewfinder
Articulated LCD Fixed
Screen size 3
Screen dots 1,040,000
Touch screen No
Screen type Clear View II TFT LCD
Live view Yes
Viewfinder type Optical (pentaprism)
Viewfinder coverage 97%
Viewfinder magnification 0.71×
Photography features
Minimum shutter speed 30 sec
Maximum shutter speed 1/4000 sec
Aperture priority Yes
Shutter priority Yes
Manual exposure mode Yes
Subject / scene modes Yes
Built-in flash No
External flash Yes (Hot shoe)
Continuous drive 5 fps
Self-timer Yes (2 or 10 sec)
Metering modes
  • Multi
  • Center-weighted
  • Spot
  • Partial
Exposure compensation ±5 (at 1/3 EV, 1/2 EV steps)
AE Bracketing ±3 (2, 3, 5, 7 frames at 1/3 EV, 1/2 EV steps)
WB Bracketing Yes (3 frames in either blue/amber or magenta/green axis)
Videography features
Resolutions 1920 x 1080 (29.97, 25, 23.976 fps), 1280 x 720 (59.94, 50 fps), 640 x 480 (25, 30 fps)
Format H.264
Videography notes 1080 and 720 intra or inter frame, 480 inter frame
Microphone Stereo
Speaker Mono
Storage
Storage types SD/SDHC/SDXC
Connectivity
USB USB 2.0 (480 Mbit/sec)
HDMI Yes (HDMI Mini)
Wireless Built-In
Remote control Yes (Remote control with N3 type contact, Wireless Controller LC-5, Remote Controller RC-6)
Physical
Environmentally sealed Yes (Splash and dust resistant)
Battery Battery Pack
Battery description Lithium-Ion LP-E6 rechargeable battery & charger
Weight (inc. batteries) 770 g (1.70 lb / 27.16 oz)
Dimensions 145 x 111 x 71 mm (5.71 x 4.37 x 2.8)
Other features
Orientation sensor Yes
Timelapse recording Yes (by cable and PC)
GPS BuiltIn
GPS notes Image tagging and tracking modes

Reviews

DPReview Conclusion

Scoring is relative only to the other cameras in the same category at the time of review.

Score Breakdown
Poor Excellent
Build quality
Ergonomics & handling
Features
Metering & focus accuracy
Image quality (raw)
Image quality (jpeg)
Low light / high ISO performance
Viewfinder / screen rating
Performance
Movie / video mode
Value
Silver Award
Silver Award
83 %
Overall Score

The EOS 6D doesn't offer the depth of features that its best competitors can, but it combines very good image quality, impressive high-ISO performance and class-leading low-light autofocus ability (with the central AF point) as well as impressive built-in Wi-Fi and GPS features.

Good For

Users who've been waiting for full frame DSLR image quality at a more affordable price.

Not So Good For

Sports and action shooters who demand a fast frame rate. Video enthusiasts who need to minimize the appearance of moiré.

User Reviews

4.59818 out of 5 stars
  • Wintergreen, Feb 17, 2013 GMT:
    The best camera I ever owned

    I don't give it 5 stars because of 2 points : The built that is bot as good as the 40D that I had and the autofocus that is loosy as soon as you shooting any fast moving object (manageable). Other than that, it's a beast. The image quality is stellar, it's compact and ergonomic (the handgrip is perfect). The low iso is incredible when you never shot with a full frame before and the viewfinder is big and clear. Well it's a full frame so all that was to be expected, but still it's a great ...

    Continue Reading

  • can0neer, Jan 21, 2013 GMT:
    Superb High ISO results

    I understand some people may be disappointed about the specs of the 6D. But I think a lot of people won't miss these extras after buying it, because they will be very amazed by the High ISO results. When you really want all those extras, just buy the 5DmkIII. I like the fact that it's actually quite basic. No nonsense and a very good sensor.

    Continue Reading

  • Philippe Castagna, Jan 14, 2013 GMT:
    6D: an "easy to carry" body with a great IQ

    body and feeling: The size and weight are just right to carry it everyday. The 6D doesn't feel cheap at all. The buttons on the right hand side are really well positioned for a "one hand operation". in the view menu, the preview button is really well made and useful. I miss the joystick that I had on the 40D however it's possible to find a workable trick to get the same result. The viewer is clear and precise, same remark for the screen. Any operation is really fast to access, the C1 and C2 ...

    Continue Reading

  • Vignes, Jan 12, 2013 GMT:
    Canon 6D

    First time FF owner. my other camera is a Pentax K5. Just acquired the 6D. i find the centre focus is pretty quick and the low light (centre focus) is excellent. Hi ISO shots (@12K) is usable. gets grainier at extreme higher ISO but 'nice' grain effect especially for BW shots. Battery live is not that good especially when the GPS is turn on. 2nd battery is recommended if you're going to use GPS/Wifi. camera feels good in hand. so far so good.

    Continue Reading

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

Canon TS-E 24mm f/3.5L II Tilt-Shift Lens on 7r

I was wondering if this lens will work with an adapter on the new Sony full frame 7r. If so, what adapters do you recommend and what functions would I be losing if I did this? I know that the Canon 6d is around the same price but I am looking at the Sony because I already have lots of older Leica glass that I am looking forward to using. Thanks for you help Bill G

Photo Geezer asked
10 months ago

ANSWERS

I am also looking at the Sony A7r for use with a an TS-E 24mm lens. I had assumed that the Metabones III adapter would be the best since it has the electronic contacts and I would be able to use an AF lens on occasion but I have seen some posts that say that the adapter may cause additional vignetting on a full frame sensor. I am not sure why it would but I also would like additional recommendations on an adapter. Thank Kevin Continue Reading

klphotos answered
10 months ago

Metabones 3 or nothing since it has electronic control.  We will have to wait and see until some brave soul tests it out.  There is one other caveat, specifically that the A7r apparently does NOT have electronic first curtain shutter... a feature we have had on FF Canon since the 5D2.  If you really get into longish exposure tripod work, it makes a massive difference on the sharpness of your output.  Will have to see what range of shutter speeds are affected, and whether it is worth the money for the (rather significant) IQ upgrade over our Canon sensors. Continue Reading

Chez Wimpy answered
10 months ago

http://blog.nicgranleese.com/2013/10/24/sony-a7r-review-for-architectural-photographers/ Continue Reading

dervish16 answered
10 months ago

QUESTION

6D release date pushed to March 2013

Amazon UK have the 6D release date as March 1 2013. The announcement at launch suggested availability by December this year. Wonder if 6D is going down the path trodden by the likes of 1DX and 200-400 1.4tx! http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B009C8T05C/

1 year ago

ANSWERS

Wow, by March 1st 2013, Nikon will have sold about half a million D600's. It really looks like Canon was caught with their pants down, and they really only started developing the 6D when they caught a whiff of what Nikon was up to. Continue Reading

bobn2 answered
1 year ago

I can't see why, this sensor is nothing different from what Canon has done many times before. It pushes no new ground. Continue Reading

bobn2 answered
1 year ago

Canon announced the spec, just like they did with the 1DX.  There will be no "enhancements" now.  Just goes to show what a panic announcement it was following the Nikon D600 - Canon are terrified of losing a massive segment in this market, as well they should bearing in mind how much better the spec of the D600 is, but not coming through on yet another product announcement is utterly appalling.  How long do they think they can keep people waiting for non-existent equipment, a year like the 1DX? Continue Reading

showmetheprime answered
1 year ago

QUESTION

Canon Rebel T5i vs. Canon 6D

So I've been getting back into photography after being away for 8 years and without doing much research picked up a Rebel T5i. I'm fairly happy with it's performance and have been able to capture some epic shots with it. I've saved up and now have enough that I could either get a better L series Lens for my T5i or replace it with a 6D. I like the clarity and image quality of the 6D as I tend to pixel peep... I havn't made huge prints of any of my stuff or anything like that. I guess the question I have is: Will my lenses look better on a FF camera than on the crop body (specifically the 24-105) I know there will be a difference in range as I currently get 1.6x the focal length. I don't really care about the weatherproofing. I just want to be able to take stunning pictures. Here's a few I've taken so far with a bit of post processing... Please give me your 2c. My guess is that people are going to say get the better lens and later upgrade to FF once I know what I'm doing better. I ...

Websteria asked
7 days ago

ANSWERS

Unfortunately there is no easy answer. your first pic suggests you could do better with an APS-C sensor ( for better reach) and second picture suggests you could use a FF sensor for noise and IQ. Suggest you to rent a 6D/24-105 combo and see if its worth it. Or, borrow from a friend to see if you really see the difference in Images to worth spending money on. Continue Reading

Sid911 answered
7 days ago

I did the "upgrade" from T4i (basically the same as T5i) to 6D about 6 months ago. Although 6D with a 24-105L is my main gear now, the T4i still gets used often for nature photography in good light due to the crop factor. Your second photo will probably look better on a 6D: noise at ISO 1250 will be virtually imperceptible, and the washed out bright spot on top right won't be as harsh (I think). The first one will be a wash--you'll have to crop on the 6D to get the same frame, wiping out the resolution advantage, and at base ISO noise and dynamic range aren't really an issue. Continue Reading

quiquae answered
7 days ago

Normally I would say buy a better lens, but since you already own the 24-105, I would say to definitely buy the 6D. I own the 6D and the IQ is outstanding. Your second pic would look 100x better from the 6D. Your first I think would also look better even if you had to crop the image. I'm not talking about a slight advantage, it smacks you in the face. The DR, the color reproduction, the high ISO IQ. You do lose the built in flash and the crop factor. I kept my 7D for action shots and for extra reach when needed, but ISO400 on that looks like ISO3200 on the 6D. Good luck! Continue Reading

A200Eric answered
7 days ago

WHAT'S IN THE BOX?

  • EOS 6D Body
  • Lens kit includes EF 24-105mm f/4 L IS USM Lens
  • Eyecup Eb
  • Battery Pack LP-E6
  • Battery Charger LC-E6
  • Stereo AV Cable AVC-DC400ST
  • Wide Neck Strap EW-EOS 6D
  • USB Interface Cable IFC-200U
  • EOS Digital Solution Disk
  • Software Instruction Manual CD
  • Camera Instruction Manual

Compatible Products

Warranty Information

"Canon U.S.A., Inc. and Canon Canada Inc. (collectively "Canon") warrant to the original end‐user purchaser, when delivered in new condition in its original container, that the Product will be free from defects in materials and workmanship under normal use and service for a period of one (1) year from the date of original purchase. Product returned to a Canon repair facility and proven to be defective upon inspection will, at Canon’s sole discretion and without charge, be (a) repaired utilizing new, remanufactured, repaired and/or recycled parts; (b) exchanged for a new Product or; (c) exchanged for a refurbished Product, as determined by the Canon repair facility. Warranty exchange or replacement does not extend the original warranty period of the Product. "

Go to Canon USA's warranty page for more information. DPReview GearShop is an authorized Canon dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.