Canon EOS 7D DSLR Camera

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

84% Gold Award
The Canon EOS 7D offers excellent image quality in all shooting situations and impressive operational speed, combined with very good build quality and ergonomics.”

Read more of the review

Key Features

  • 18MP APS-C CMOS sensor
  • 8 frames per second continuous shooting
  • 1080p HD video recording with manual controls
  • 3.0 inch Clear View II LCD screen with 920,000 dots
  • 19-point AF system (all cross-type)
  • 100% viewfinder coverage
  • 63-zone metering system
  • Built-in wireless flash control
  • Environmental sealing
  • Dual axis electronic level

Product Description

The 18MP Canon EOS 7D sits at the top of Canon’s lineup of APS-C DSLRs. The 7D’s well thought-out design and sensible button placement makes switching between shooting stills and video easy, and both exposure and autofocus are very capable. Enthusiasts will love the 7D’s highly customizable user interface, and appreciate its solid build – its magnesium alloy body shell is tough enough to withstand heavy use, and environmental sealing ensures resistance to dust and water incursion. A recent firmware update injected fresh life into the EOS 7D, improving the continuous shooting buffer, adding a customizable auto ISO function and enabling the use of Canon’s GP-E2 GPS module.

Specs

Body type
Body type Mid-size SLR
Sensor
Max resolution 5184 x 3456
Other resolutions 5184 x 3456, 3888 x 2592, 3456 x 2304, 2592 x 1728
Image ratio w:h 3:2
Effective pixels 18 megapixels
Sensor photo detectors 19 megapixels
Sensor size APS-C (22.3 x 14.9 mm)
Sensor type CMOS
Processor Dual Digic 4
Image
ISO Auto, 100, 200, 400, 800, 1600, 3200, 6400, (12800 with boost)
White balance presets 6
Custom white balance Yes (1)
Image stabilization No
Uncompressed format RAW
JPEG quality levels Fine, Normal
Optics & Focus
Autofocus
  • Contrast Detect (sensor)
  • Phase Detect
  • Multi-area
  • Selective single-point
  • Single
  • Continuous
  • Face Detection
  • Live View
Digital zoom No
Manual focus Yes
Number of focus points 19
Lens mount Canon EF/EF-S
Focal length multiplier 1.6×
Screen / viewfinder
Articulated LCD Fixed
Screen size 3
Screen dots 920,000
Touch screen No
Screen type TFT color LCD, liquid-crystal monitor
Live view Yes
Viewfinder type Optical (pentaprism)
Viewfinder coverage 100%
Viewfinder magnification 1×
Photography features
Minimum shutter speed 30 sec
Maximum shutter speed 1/8000 sec
Aperture priority Yes
Shutter priority Yes
Manual exposure mode Yes
Subject / scene modes Yes
Built-in flash Yes (Pop-up)
Flash range 12.00 m
External flash Yes (Hot-shoe, Wireless plus Sync connector)
Flash modes Auto, On, Off, Red-eye
Continuous drive 8 fps
Self-timer Yes (2 or 10 sec)
Metering modes
  • Multi
  • Center-weighted
  • Spot
  • Partial
Exposure compensation ±5 (at 1/3 EV, 1/2 EV steps)
AE Bracketing ±3 (3 frames at 1/3 EV, 1/2 EV steps)
WB Bracketing Yes (3 frames in either blue/amber or magenta/green axis)
Videography features
Resolutions 1920 x 1080 (30, 25, 24 fps), 1280 x 720 (60, 50 fps), 640 x 480 (60, 50 fps)
Format H.264
Microphone Mono
Speaker None
Storage
Storage types Compact Flash (Type I or II), UDMA, Microdrive cards
Storage included None
Connectivity
USB USB 2.0 (480 Mbit/sec)
HDMI Yes
Remote control Yes (N3 connector)
Physical
Environmentally sealed Yes (Water-resistant, Dust-resistant)
Battery Battery Pack
Battery description Lithium-Ion LP-E6 rechargeable battery & charger
Battery Life (CIPA) 800
Weight (inc. batteries) 860 g (1.90 lb / 30.34 oz)
Dimensions 148 x 111 x 74 mm (5.83 x 4.37 x 2.91)
Other features
Orientation sensor Yes
Timelapse recording Yes (by USB cable and PC)
GPS Optional
GPS notes GP-E2

Reviews

DPReview Conclusion

Scoring is relative only to the other cameras in the same category at the time of review.

Score Breakdown
Poor Excellent
Build quality
Ergonomics & handling
Features
Metering & focus accuracy
Image quality (raw)
Image quality (jpeg)
Low light / high ISO performance
Viewfinder / screen rating
Performance
Movie / video mode
Value
Gold Award
Gold Award
84 %
Overall Score

If you can justify the price tag it's hard to fault Canon's new APS-C flagship. With class-leading image quality, fast operation and excellent handling the EOS 7D is everything a semi-pro model should be--and the excellent movie mode will be a welcome bonus to those that like their pictures to move. Arguably the best APS-C SLR on the market today.

Good For

Pretty much anything from landscapes to sports to HD movies

Not So Good For

Inexperienced users and those on a tight budget

User Reviews

  • thick crustography, Jan 24, 2013 GMT:
    Great DSLR for extreme user...

    great cameras...i have using this Canon 7D through the lake *fell into the lake with canon 28-105 f3.5-4.5* after keep it inside the Drybox..its back to action after 1 day of full treatment inside Drybox....hv been into heavy rain to take Landslide on the hills....i also brings my 7D to the waterfalls taking some Picture there..but still working great... the fast FPS and responsive AF makes Sport Photography easy..weather sealing make this 7D more usable on any weather while taking Sports ...

    Continue Reading

  • VikingPhotographer, Dec 24, 2012 GMT:
    Mad for Professional use

    Only few things could be better on this camera :)

    Continue Reading

  • fasayed, Dec 16, 2012 GMT:
    Canon 7D: Best crop frame camera available

    Canon 7D is the Best crop frame camera available. I've moved from 5D to 7D and just love it. Mind you 5D is a great camera for stills. 7D is quick and snappy with its focusing. Love the manual controls on it. Problems: Auto focusing in live view with open flash, seems to be a bit difficult.

    Continue Reading

  • Douglas McEwen, Oct 22, 2012 GMT:
    Canon 7D

    Love this camera! I have taken thousands of pictures with it now and it has never let me down.

    Continue Reading

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

Upgrade Firmware on a 7D Canon?

I have recently purchased the Canon 7D. It has the 2.03 firmware, and I'm wondering whether or not I should upgrade to the 2.05 now available on the canon website.

ecarneau asked
6 days ago

ANSWERS

According to the Canon website here is what 2.0.5 does: Fixes a phenomenon in which the image files cannot be transferred using the FTP protocol via USB cable after the Canon EOS 7D camera has established a wireless connection to the Wireless File Transmitter WFT-E5A. So unless you're using the wireless transmitter, it's not needed. Continue Reading

Mark B. answered
5 days ago

Yes, and even a small risk of the update failing and 'bricking' the camera is an entirely unnecessary risk to take for what amounts to no good reason. Continue Reading

Midwest answered
5 days ago

Hi, Am new here and hope someone can help! I am trying to update my firmware on my 7D (never updated since I brought the camera about 5 years ago, give or take a year). I have downloaded the latest file, formatted the CF in the camera, but when I try and drag or copy & paste the file I get the error: The Finder can’t complete the operation because some data in “7D000205.FIR” can’t be read or written. (Error code -36) Does anyone have any ideas or advice? Thanks Continue Reading

GOM091969 answered
2 days ago

QUESTION

7D Question

Last Fall I purchased a 7D and two lenses. A 15-85mm, and 70-200 f/4. Also a 1.4 TC III.  This is my first DSLR.  Previously, starting in the 60's, I had Nikon SLRs  which are now displayed as relics in one of my children's home.  At that time I guess I was an advanced amateur.  Then I dropped out for about fifteen years. Now I'm back and a beginner.  After considerable research I chose Canon, and to me the 7D is an awesome camera.  I'm finding it to be a challenging, but fun, experience.  I'm getting to the point where I am becoming familiar enough with the beast to get it to do my bidding without resorting to the manual.  I love the 7D and AF and IS.  Especially now that I'm getting a feel for the camera and lenses and turning out some images that I'm not ashamed of. There are a lot of complaints and threads about the age of the 7d and Canon delaying the new and improved 7D, what ever they may call it. Now to my question, Are the majority of 7D users actually butting up against ...

Luther T asked
1 year ago

ANSWERS

Photography chose to be my hobby some fifty-five plus years ago (it chose me, I'm sure I didn't choose it).  I have made my living by photography part of those intervening years.  I was a photojournalist, did portrait and wedding work, dabbled in sports photography.  And what I found was that from my first box brownie to my current stable, including a 7D, I have never fully mastered the camera or the art.  I try to stay close to the latest camera because the proper tool makes it easier to capture the elusive moment in time I am trying to capture.  But master my camera, never happen, they have always mastered me. Continue Reading

Old Sarge answered
1 year ago

The 7D is a mixed bag. It is a camera bought by many novice, amateurs, advanced photographers and even pro's. I think those that realized this is a different beast (softer output and more complex AF) and put the effort in it to set it up propperly are the ones that are or were happy with this camera. Of course there are people out there and don't mind spending $2000 every two years on a new body and don't specificly need one but want one and this is how the wishlist get's bigger and bigger. I upgraded from 500D to 7D. I wanted better AF and better ergonomics, and the VF is also fantastic. So I wondered if last november the 7D would be the camera for me for say three years or so. And I have no doubt, I will not be upgrading any time sooner. BTW: nice lens combo (I got the same). Continue Reading

Limburger answered
1 year ago

This is a gear forum. People always want new stuff and complain when competitor comes out with something first. And when they do endless discussions will follow. My fishing rod is bigger and better than yours. It has always been that way, is that way and will be that way. The nature of this site. Nothing wrong with it if that is what you are into. Two things. This site is far better place than it was 8 years ago. If you were a rookie and asked a question forget it. A brick wall would give you a better response. Moderators. Long overdue. Keep those legends in their own minds in check. We know who those ones are. This is a great site that has been moderated forever. No BS and not as heavy on the technical side. http://photography-on-the.net/forum/ Continue Reading

Zee Char answered
1 year ago

QUESTION

Wide-angle lens Confusion! , Tokina 11-16 vs Canon 10-18!

I have 7D and i'm between these two. The obvious thing is the price but two things first : 1- The Tokina is the Version 1 (which i think doesn't matter with canon versions?) 2- I Can get the Tokina for a really good price just about 60$ more than Canon 10-18 ــــــــــــــــــــــــــــــــــــــــــــ Advantages of 10-18: -Sharp -Small -Light-weight -Very nice range -Close focus distance -Image stabilizer which makes the lens go for more than two stops of shutter speed and very useful for video Disadvantages: -not a constant aperture lens -wide open at f/4.5 -poorly built (Plasticky) which is real good for the price but since they're almost the same for me... -Vignette -No focus scale Vignette is probably gonna be a bit problem for me since my 7D is not really good with shadow recovery. Also i count barrel distortion as an advantage (just a personal taste with wide-angles) ــــــــــــــــــــــــــــــ Advantages of 11-16: -Constant aperture of f/2.8 -Well-built -Less vignette -Fo ...

1 month ago

ANSWERS

Hi I've only got the Canon which I use on my 7D so I can't really help with a comparison. I've used it a couple of times now and I enjoy having it on the camera. Looking at the disadvantages you list, The non constant aperture and max f4.5 have not been issue for me. Shooting landscapes, etc. wider than 4.5 is not necessary and the IS compensates if I am hand holding anyway. Don't worry about the plastic build. Its a very small, light lens and feels perfectly well built to me. Plastic lens mounts, especially on a light lens like this are really no issue at all. I've never used a focus scale on any lens I have ever had so its absence is not something I even noticed. There is vignetting as you would expect with any UWA but if I have thought it needed fixing I've no had any problem doing it in Lightroom. The lens is very sharp, autofocus is very quick and very quiet and the IS is virtually silent as well. All in all I'm very pleased and at the price it's the lens bargain of the year. Colin Continue Reading

BaldCol answered
1 month ago

I have Tokina 11-16 and mine is v sharp across the frame (on D7000). I use the speed for indoor shots as I hate any hint of a flash. It is relatively big and heavy so I don't always travel with it. Also, it is known to flare when pointed toward the sun, and I have found this to be true. Overall, I like it for its speed and sharpness. Continue Reading

robjons answered
1 month ago

Any suggestions? Continue Reading

Danialdaneshmand answered
1 month ago

WHAT'S IN THE BOX?

  • EOS 7D Digital SLR Body
  • Lens kit includes EF-S 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS Lens OR EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM Lens
  • Eyecup Eg
  • Wide Neck Strap EW-EOS7D
  • Stereo AV Cable AVC-DC400ST
  • USB Interface Cable IFC-200U
  • Battery Pack LP-E6
  • Battery Charger LC-E6
  • EOS Digital Solution Disc
  • Software Instruction Manual

Compatible Products

Warranty Information

"Canon U.S.A., Inc. and Canon Canada Inc. (collectively "Canon") warrant to the original end‐user purchaser, when delivered in new condition in its original container, that the Product will be free from defects in materials and workmanship under normal use and service for a period of one (1) year from the date of original purchase. Product returned to a Canon repair facility and proven to be defective upon inspection will, at Canon’s sole discretion and without charge, be (a) repaired utilizing new, remanufactured, repaired and/or recycled parts; (b) exchanged for a new Product or; (c) exchanged for a refurbished Product, as determined by the Canon repair facility. Warranty exchange or replacement does not extend the original warranty period of the Product. "

Go to Canon USA's warranty page for more information. DPReview GearShop is an authorized Canon dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.