Canon EOS 7D DSLR Camera

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

84% Gold Award
The Canon EOS 7D offers excellent image quality in all shooting situations and impressive operational speed, combined with very good build quality and ergonomics.”

Read more of the review

Key Features

  • 18MP APS-C CMOS sensor
  • 8 frames per second continuous shooting
  • 1080p HD video recording with manual controls
  • 3.0 inch Clear View II LCD screen with 920,000 dots
  • 19-point AF system (all cross-type)
  • 100% viewfinder coverage
  • 63-zone metering system
  • Built-in wireless flash control
  • Environmental sealing
  • Dual axis electronic level

Product Description

The 18MP Canon EOS 7D sits at the top of Canon’s lineup of APS-C DSLRs. The 7D’s well thought-out design and sensible button placement makes switching between shooting stills and video easy, and both exposure and autofocus are very capable. Enthusiasts will love the 7D’s highly customizable user interface, and appreciate its solid build – its magnesium alloy body shell is tough enough to withstand heavy use, and environmental sealing ensures resistance to dust and water incursion. A recent firmware update injected fresh life into the EOS 7D, improving the continuous shooting buffer, adding a customizable auto ISO function and enabling the use of Canon’s GP-E2 GPS module.

Specs

Body type
Body type Mid-size SLR
Sensor
Max resolution 5184 x 3456
Other resolutions 5184 x 3456, 3888 x 2592, 3456 x 2304, 2592 x 1728
Image ratio w:h 3:2
Effective pixels 18 megapixels
Sensor photo detectors 19 megapixels
Sensor size APS-C (22.3 x 14.9 mm)
Sensor type CMOS
Processor Dual Digic 4
Image
ISO Auto, 100, 200, 400, 800, 1600, 3200, 6400, (12800 with boost)
White balance presets 6
Custom white balance Yes (1)
Image stabilization No
Uncompressed format RAW
JPEG quality levels Fine, Normal
Optics & Focus
Autofocus
  • Contrast Detect (sensor)
  • Phase Detect
  • Multi-area
  • Selective single-point
  • Single
  • Continuous
  • Face Detection
  • Live View
Digital zoom No
Manual focus Yes
Number of focus points 19
Lens mount Canon EF/EF-S
Focal length multiplier 1.6×
Screen / viewfinder
Articulated LCD Fixed
Screen size 3
Screen dots 920,000
Touch screen No
Screen type TFT color LCD, liquid-crystal monitor
Live view Yes
Viewfinder type Optical (pentaprism)
Viewfinder coverage 100%
Viewfinder magnification 1×
Photography features
Minimum shutter speed 30 sec
Maximum shutter speed 1/8000 sec
Aperture priority Yes
Shutter priority Yes
Manual exposure mode Yes
Subject / scene modes Yes
Built-in flash Yes (Pop-up)
Flash range 12.00 m
External flash Yes (Hot-shoe, Wireless plus Sync connector)
Flash modes Auto, On, Off, Red-eye
Continuous drive 8.0 fps
Self-timer Yes (2 or 10 sec)
Metering modes
  • Multi
  • Center-weighted
  • Spot
  • Partial
Exposure compensation ±5 (at 1/3 EV, 1/2 EV steps)
AE Bracketing ±3 (3 frames at 1/3 EV, 1/2 EV steps)
WB Bracketing Yes (3 frames in either blue/amber or magenta/green axis)
Videography features
Resolutions 1920 x 1080 (30, 25, 24 fps), 1280 x 720 (60, 50 fps), 640 x 480 (60, 50 fps)
Format H.264
Microphone Mono
Speaker None
Storage
Storage types Compact Flash (Type I or II), UDMA, Microdrive cards
Storage included None
Connectivity
USB USB 2.0 (480 Mbit/sec)
HDMI Yes
Remote control Yes (N3 connector)
Physical
Environmentally sealed Yes (Water-resistant, Dust-resistant)
Battery Battery Pack
Battery description Lithium-Ion LP-E6 rechargeable battery & charger
Battery Life (CIPA) 800
Weight (inc. batteries) 860 g (1.90 lb / 30.34 oz)
Dimensions 148 x 111 x 74 mm (5.83 x 4.37 x 2.91)
Other features
Orientation sensor Yes
Timelapse recording Yes (by USB cable and PC)
GPS Optional
GPS notes GP-E2

Reviews

DPReview Conclusion

Scoring is relative only to the other cameras in the same category at the time of review.

Score Breakdown
Poor Excellent
Build quality
Ergonomics & handling
Features
Metering & focus accuracy
Image quality (raw)
Image quality (jpeg)
Low light / high ISO performance
Viewfinder / screen rating
Performance
Movie / video mode
Value
Gold Award
Gold Award
84 %
Overall Score

If you can justify the price tag it's hard to fault Canon's new APS-C flagship. With class-leading image quality, fast operation and excellent handling the EOS 7D is everything a semi-pro model should be--and the excellent movie mode will be a welcome bonus to those that like their pictures to move. Arguably the best APS-C SLR on the market today.

Good For

Pretty much anything from landscapes to sports to HD movies

Not So Good For

User Reviews

4.46094 out of 5 stars
  • thick crustography, Jan 24, 2013 GMT:
    Great DSLR for extreme user...

    great cameras...i have using this Canon 7D through the lake *fell into the lake with canon 28-105 f3.5-4.5* after keep it inside the Drybox..its back to action after 1 day of full treatment inside Drybox....hv been into heavy rain to take Landslide on the hills....i also brings my 7D to the waterfalls taking some Picture there..but still working great... the fast FPS and responsive AF makes Sport Photography easy..weather sealing make this 7D more usable on any weather while taking Sports ...

    Continue Reading

  • VikingPhotographer, Dec 24, 2012 GMT:
    Mad for Professional use

    Only few things could be better on this camera :)

    Continue Reading

  • fasayed, Dec 16, 2012 GMT:
    Canon 7D: Best crop frame camera available

    Canon 7D is the Best crop frame camera available. I've moved from 5D to 7D and just love it. Mind you 5D is a great camera for stills. 7D is quick and snappy with its focusing. Love the manual controls on it. Problems: Auto focusing in live view with open flash, seems to be a bit difficult.

    Continue Reading

  • Douglas McEwen, Oct 22, 2012 GMT:
    Canon 7D

    Love this camera! I have taken thousands of pictures with it now and it has never let me down.

    Continue Reading

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

7D Question

Last Fall I purchased a 7D and two lenses. A 15-85mm, and 70-200 f/4. Also a 1.4 TC III.  This is my first DSLR.  Previously, starting in the 60's, I had Nikon SLRs  which are now displayed as relics in one of my children's home.  At that time I guess I was an advanced amateur.  Then I dropped out for about fifteen years. Now I'm back and a beginner.  After considerable research I chose Canon, and to me the 7D is an awesome camera.  I'm finding it to be a challenging, but fun, experience.  I'm getting to the point where I am becoming familiar enough with the beast to get it to do my bidding without resorting to the manual.  I love the 7D and AF and IS.  Especially now that I'm getting a feel for the camera and lenses and turning out some images that I'm not ashamed of. There are a lot of complaints and threads about the age of the 7d and Canon delaying the new and improved 7D, what ever they may call it. Now to my question, Are the majority of 7D users actually butting up against ...

Luther T asked
1 year ago

ANSWERS

Photography chose to be my hobby some fifty-five plus years ago (it chose me, I'm sure I didn't choose it).  I have made my living by photography part of those intervening years.  I was a photojournalist, did portrait and wedding work, dabbled in sports photography.  And what I found was that from my first box brownie to my current stable, including a 7D, I have never fully mastered the camera or the art.  I try to stay close to the latest camera because the proper tool makes it easier to capture the elusive moment in time I am trying to capture.  But master my camera, never happen, they have always mastered me. Continue Reading

Old Sarge answered
1 year ago

The 7D is a mixed bag. It is a camera bought by many novice, amateurs, advanced photographers and even pro's. I think those that realized this is a different beast (softer output and more complex AF) and put the effort in it to set it up propperly are the ones that are or were happy with this camera. Of course there are people out there and don't mind spending $2000 every two years on a new body and don't specificly need one but want one and this is how the wishlist get's bigger and bigger. I upgraded from 500D to 7D. I wanted better AF and better ergonomics, and the VF is also fantastic. So I wondered if last november the 7D would be the camera for me for say three years or so. And I have no doubt, I will not be upgrading any time sooner. BTW: nice lens combo (I got the same). Continue Reading

Limburger answered
1 year ago

This is a gear forum. People always want new stuff and complain when competitor comes out with something first. And when they do endless discussions will follow. My fishing rod is bigger and better than yours. It has always been that way, is that way and will be that way. The nature of this site. Nothing wrong with it if that is what you are into. Two things. This site is far better place than it was 8 years ago. If you were a rookie and asked a question forget it. A brick wall would give you a better response. Moderators. Long overdue. Keep those legends in their own minds in check. We know who those ones are. This is a great site that has been moderated forever. No BS and not as heavy on the technical side. http://photography-on-the.net/forum/ Continue Reading

Zee Char answered
1 year ago

QUESTION

NIKON D750 ..Do you really think 6.5 per second good enough for sports

I feel 6.5 frames a second is not fast enough for sports ..and there no grip that provides  faster frames per second to get 8 like the Nikon D700 ..nor d750 does not provide DX mode in the  D750 to get more frames per second to compete against Canon 7D Mark2 give 10 frames a second I suppose Nikon  D400 DX to provide 10 or 11 frames a second to compete against Canon 7D Mark2 so if you want full frame and faster frames a second then purchase  both bodies d750 and d400 this what Nikon wants from buyers.. Over all the D750 I believe will be a excellent camera for weddings specially and portraits I will be purchasing one for sure.. Selling my D800..I want a smaller body .... I have a Sony A7 with Zeiss 24-70  ..I love using it .. HOWEVER Nikon D750 will be the working horse for me

tomboy asked
1 month ago

ANSWERS

Once upon a time pros worked with cameras a lot slower than 6.5 frames per second. Spray and pray isn't the hallmark of being a professional action photgrapher -- anticipating peak action an capturing the image is a dying skill. Continue Reading

Nikonparrothead answered
1 month ago

Good enough for hobbyist's, probably not good enough for pro's?  Pro's being forced to buy pro gear? Continue Reading

Nexu1 answered
1 month ago

My D800 had 5FPS in 1.2x mode and that was good enough for racing bikes. More important than FPS is focus tracking and consistent shutter delay. Generally, the difference between 5 FPS and 8 FPS is three more junk images. The good ones are generally at the beginning of the burst. Or think of it another way. Say you have a burst of 1 second (1000ms) using a shutter speed of 1/250 s (4ms). With 8 FPS you're getting eight shots covering 32 of those 1000ms - or 3.2% of the action. With 5FPS you're getting five shots covering 20 of those 1000ms - or 2% of the action. Missing 98% or 96.8% of the action isn't a significant difference. Continue Reading

bobn2 answered
1 month ago

QUESTION

Encouraging? Use of Sony 1" BSI in G7 suggests Canon willing/able to use best-of-breed Sony sensors.

If the sensor in the just announced G7 1" sensor is the same as the start-of-the-art 1" BSI in the RX100-3, I feel that increased the odds for Canon using a variant of the stellar Exmor 36 mpix full-frame in the 5d4 or 6d2. Or not? Caveat: it is still speculation that Sony 1" BSI being used in G7. Am I the only one who really, really hopes Canon takes the same "swallow their pride and losing face" attitude to help speed a competitive 5d4 & 6d2 to market? FWIW: I wasn't surprised that Sony sold their Exmor sensors to Nikon for the impressive D7000 and D800 family, as the ff and APS-C Exmor hadn't yet earned its best-of-breed reputation, and Sony was hurting financially (and still is?) I'm a bit surprised that Sony would sell their latest/greatest 1" BSI sensor to Canon. Pleasantly surprised !!! In addition to this purchasing agreement with Sony, this suggests that Canon may have a cross-licensing agreement with Sony, if that matters. OT? I wish Canon had used a variant of the Exmor ...

l_d_allan asked
1 month ago

ANSWERS

Not hard to buy a Sony Exmor sensor. Sony 24MP APS-C sensors are not better at high ISO when you take into account thermal noise and shooting a single studio shot at 1/4k, vs 10fps and real-world low-light shutter speeds. Why would Sony not sell their sensors? They barely sell any SLTs... None of this photokina stuff is particularly exciting. Perhaps only the Samsung which is flexing its muscles...they are probably the most well-funded of brands. It is just like Hyundai/Kia...they only need to revamp styling and keep at reliability to become a major force. Also people keep forgetting that the 70D sensor is practically a 40MP APS-C sensor in terms of counting up photodiodes.  Decision to sum up light probably has to do with processing (perhaps awkward horizontal vs vertical resolution to deal with) and really not a significant payoff in the real world except more blurry shots at 100% view. Continue Reading

Timbukto answered
1 month ago

Canon has used Sony sensors in their compact lines for years, so this new G7X is not a surprised move to me. Canon theoretically also can buy FF Exmor sensors from Sony. I don't know why Sony will refuse to sell FF sensors to Canon but to Nikon? I also have a wild idea that why Canon doesn't want to team with Samsung together? They complement each other very well and don't compete directly in their camera lines. If Canon doesn't want to replace their fab line that is very costly, Canon can design a brand new FF sensor and give Samsung to manufacture by leveraging its newer and more advanced fab line. Samsung is just another Sony that manufactures not only camera sensors but sensors for other electronic devices such as cellphones. For Samsung, Canon would be their one of the largest customers. BTW, it's not a speculation but Canon indeed uses the same 1" Sony Exmor senor as in RX100III in its new G7X. Continue Reading

qianp2k answered
1 month ago

Here's another perspective: would you rather have a company that controls all major aspects of its product, like Apple, or a brand that depends on others like Windows PCs? One is reliable (if expensive), the other brands however much they cram in design (like Sony used to with their Vaios) or hardware are by nature unreliable, and it goes way beyond virus and such, down to things like the basic component drivers. Which would you rather take on a business trip or photo opp to the other side of the world? In the photo world Sony keeps churning out cameras but are stuck at single digit market share, and Nikon has abandoned an entire segment, "Pro DX". Canon covers all segments with great cameras and keeps generating great lenses. I am no Canon apologist but that requires a hell of a lot of work. If anyone thinks photography is 100% about a sensor please jut buy another brand and move along. Continue Reading

photosen answered
1 month ago

WHAT'S IN THE BOX?

  • EOS 7D Digital SLR Body
  • Lens kit includes EF-S 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS Lens OR EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM Lens
  • Eyecup Eg
  • Wide Neck Strap EW-EOS7D
  • Stereo AV Cable AVC-DC400ST
  • USB Interface Cable IFC-200U
  • Battery Pack LP-E6
  • Battery Charger LC-E6
  • EOS Digital Solution Disc
  • Software Instruction Manual

Compatible Products

Out of Stock

Warranty Information

"Canon U.S.A., Inc. and Canon Canada Inc. (collectively "Canon") warrant to the original end‐user purchaser, when delivered in new condition in its original container, that the Product will be free from defects in materials and workmanship under normal use and service for a period of one (1) year from the date of original purchase. Product returned to a Canon repair facility and proven to be defective upon inspection will, at Canon’s sole discretion and without charge, be (a) repaired utilizing new, remanufactured, repaired and/or recycled parts; (b) exchanged for a new Product or; (c) exchanged for a refurbished Product, as determined by the Canon repair facility. Warranty exchange or replacement does not extend the original warranty period of the Product. "

Go to Canon USA's warranty page for more information. DPReview GearShop is an authorized Canon dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.