Canon EOS 5D Mark III DSLR Camera

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

82% Gold Award
A super-flexible photographic tool that will get the job done on a wide range of assignments.”

Read more of the review

Key Features

  • 22MP full frame CMOS sensor
  • 6 frames per second continuous shooting
  • 61-point AF system
  • ISO 100 - 25600 range with 50 - 102,800 expansion
  • 1080p HD video recording with manual controls
  • 3.2 inch LCD with 1,040,000 dots
  • 100% viewfinder coverage
  • Dual CF and SD card slots
  • DIGIC 5+ processor

Product Description

The Canon EOS 5D Mark III offers substantial upgrades over the Mark II in almost every respect, including 6 frames per second burst shooting and a 61-point AF system borrowed from the EOS 1-series. The 5D III is equipped with 1080p HD video recording and a 63-zone metering system. It's also the first Canon DSLR to include High Dynamic Range shooting in-camera, with a broad +/- 8 EV range. It has the magnesium-alloy constuction and weatherproof build quality expected of a camera in this class, and it is outfitted with a comfortable rubber grip coating. Numerous tweaks and updates address the concerns voiced by 5D Mark II owners, from the locking exposure mode dial to the addition of a movie mode/live view switch.

Specs

Body type
Body type Mid-size SLR
Sensor
Max resolution 5760 x 3840
Other resolutions 3840 x 2560, 2880 x 1920, 1920 x 1280, 720 x 480
Image ratio w:h 3:2
Effective pixels 22 megapixels
Sensor photo detectors 23 megapixels
Sensor size Full frame (36 x 24 mm)
Sensor type CMOS
Processor Digic 5+
Image
ISO Auto, 100 - 25600 in 1/3 stops, plus 50, 51200, 102400 as option
White balance presets 6
Custom white balance Yes (1)
Image stabilization No
Uncompressed format RAW
JPEG quality levels Fine, Normal
Optics & Focus
Autofocus
  • Contrast Detect (sensor)
  • Phase Detect
  • Multi-area
  • Selective single-point
  • Single
  • Continuous
  • Face Detection
  • Live View
Digital zoom No
Manual focus Yes
Number of focus points 61
Lens mount Canon EF
Focal length multiplier 1×
Screen / viewfinder
Articulated LCD Fixed
Screen size 3.2
Screen dots 1,040,000
Touch screen No
Screen type Clear View II TFT LCD
Live view Yes
Viewfinder type Optical (pentaprism)
Viewfinder coverage 100%
Viewfinder magnification 0.71×
Photography features
Minimum shutter speed 30 sec
Maximum shutter speed 1/8000 sec
Aperture priority Yes
Shutter priority Yes
Manual exposure mode Yes
Subject / scene modes No
Built-in flash No
External flash Yes (Hot-shoe, Wireless plus Sync connector)
Continuous drive 6.0 fps
Self-timer Yes (2 or 10 sec)
Metering modes
  • Multi
  • Center-weighted
  • Spot
  • Partial
Exposure compensation ±5 (at 1/3 EV, 1/2 EV steps)
AE Bracketing ±3 (2, 3, 5, 7 frames at 1/3 EV, 1/2 EV steps)
WB Bracketing Yes (3 frames in either blue/amber or magenta/green axis)
Videography features
Resolutions 1920 x 1080 (29.97, 25, 23.976 fps fps), 1280 x 720 (59.94, 50 fps), 640 x 480 (25, 30 fps)
Format H.264
Videography notes 1080 and 720 intra or inter frame, 480 inter frame
Microphone Mono
Speaker Mono
Storage
Storage types Compact Flash Type I (UDMA compatible), SD/SDHC/SDXC
Storage included None
Connectivity
USB USB 2.0 (480 Mbit/sec)
HDMI Yes (HDMI mini)
Wireless Optional
Wireless notes Wireless File Transmitter WFT-E7
Remote control Yes (Remote control with N3 type contact, Wireless Controller LC-5, Remote Controller RC-6)
Physical
Environmentally sealed Yes
Battery Battery Pack
Battery description Lithium-Ion LP-E6 rechargeable battery & charger
Battery Life (CIPA) 950
Weight (inc. batteries) 950 g (2.09 lb / 33.51 oz)
Dimensions 152 x 116 x 76 mm (5.98 x 4.57 x 2.99)
Other features
Orientation sensor Yes
Timelapse recording Yes (by cable and PC)
GPS Optional
GPS notes With optional GP-E2 unit

Reviews

DPReview Conclusion

Scoring is relative only to the other cameras in the same category at the time of review.

Score Breakdown
Poor Excellent
Build quality
Ergonomics & handling
Features
Metering & focus accuracy
Image quality (raw)
Image quality (jpeg)
Low light / high ISO performance
Viewfinder / screen rating
Performance
Movie / video mode
Value
Gold Award
Gold Award
82 %
Overall Score

The Canon EOS 5D Mark III is not only a very capable photographic tool in almost all areas, it's also fun and exciting to shoot with. The only downside is the slightly soft and over-processed out-of-camera JPEGs. This is only visible at pixel-level but we would expect most of the camera's target group to shoot raw anyway.

Good For

Photographers who want an extremely versatile photographic tool that is capable of great results in many shooting situations.

Not So Good For

JPEG only shooters

User Reviews

4.50238 out of 5 stars
  • abhijit35mm, Jan 26, 2013 GMT:
    Good Camera, had bit more expectation

    I always use Canon and believe any camera if good if the photographer knows it's disadvantages and accordingly works with it. Saying that 5D Mark III is a good camera with features that a professional would love to have. Coming straight to point this camera has a whopping 61 AF points a significant upgrade from 5D Mark II. This is important for me as a sports and wedding photographer. With 9 point AF I felt handicapped, with this one I have more flexibility now. somehow I started to feel that ...

    Continue Reading

  • Trent Gillespie, Jan 12, 2013 GMT:
    Love It

    Everything about the camera and the photos it produces are swell. Great upgrade from the 5D MKII. Images are better and that is what counts. One nagging problem though. Problems: My one complaint, which I am growing past, is the fact that the focus point during the AF process does not illuminate red like on the 5D MKII. I knew this when buying the camera, so its expected, but I wish Canon would remedy it. My guess is that since they moved to a crystal view finder overlay, it isn't possible. ...

    Continue Reading

  • Erdil yilmaz, Dec 23, 2012 GMT:
    excellent Camera

    general use of Camera Problems: nothing so far

    Continue Reading

  • russki2000, Dec 17, 2012 GMT:
    5D mark III crashing and freezing up on me!

    I have feeling I dot defected camera, I got my 5d mark lll new in the mail 4 days ago, and from very beginning in preview mode it will freeze on me when press auto focus ore try to take a picture, and even if I turn power off, the image still stays frozen in the display! I had to take buttery out to reset the camera. Somehow after that it started to work for about a day, and then did the sane freezing action on me, and now it's not responding to anything at all. Taking it to canon for ...

    Continue Reading

Videos

Tutorial Series: How to use the AF Configuration Tool by Canon

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

Sony A7 & A7R aggressive noise reduction and focusing

Hi all, Have been wanting to get my hands on either of these cameras for quite some time. Heard excellent reviews about image quality and detail regarding both. Being a Canon SLR 5D3 user with various  lenses…the weight of carrying all this gear is doing my shoulder and back in after an all day shoot. Ideally the A7's were a great lighter alternative. Decided to go into the city camera store and take a few test shots and must say I was a little let down in what I saw later on my computer. The image quality and exposure at first look on standard size computer view was admittedly quite impressive and stunning…beautiful colours and gorgeous DOF, nice exposure. Focusing was also much quicker than I anticipated given the reviews you hear about this. However when blown up to 100% and over, I found the detail started to look a little smeary and blotchy. I have read a few reviews that Sony are using quite strong in camera noise reduction to smooth out the grain and loss of detail is ...

montygm asked
6 months ago

ANSWERS

245 pages of a7(r) images. I use my a7r with adapted lenses; manual focus only, raw only. Without a doubt, my favorite camera in the last 45 years. Graham Continue Reading

Graham Best answered
6 months ago

Please post a few images you are not happy with. Leave the EXIF in tact. It's the best way to get a quality response. Continue Reading

Tuloom answered
6 months ago

Hi, Grace... There's an undefinable knack for getting good high ISO images from the A7 series. If the light weight, any-lens capability and spectacular EVF don't attract you enough to learn them, I'd strongly suggest you stick with what you have and know. The shots below were right after I got my A7, with the kit lens, ISO 6400 in deep shadow. Same shoot, but with an old Tokina 17mm at f5.6, ISO 1000 I've never used a 5DIII, just rented 5DIIs twice for video, and after two shoots, I was sold on the D7000, bought two, and found them much less problematic. I'm still getting used to the A7. But I can see how just picking it up at a camera store and taking a few shots with it could lead to unsatisfactory results, especially with high ISO. Continue Reading

Mel Snyder answered
6 months ago

QUESTION

D600 RAW noise beats 5D MKIII

The D600 beats the competition according the the graphs on: http://www.dpreview.com/previews/nikon-d600/8 So why do the sample images look worse?

rbirkby asked
2 years ago

ANSWERS

rbirkby wrote: The D600 does indeed have lower noise than the 5D3 in raw.  The part I found funny was how someone rated your post with a thumbs down.  I had to laugh as some Canon fanboy probably got upset, and voted it down.  This is what these forums have come to....fanboys and trolls pummelling posts with thumbs down ratings. Continue Reading

The Davinator answered
2 years ago

Or... unless of course you want to see them. I'm not actually saying they're there or not there.  But I will say that people will see whatever they want to see.  You just have to look at the arguing between Canon and Nikon fanboys to realize this to be the case. Continue Reading

michaeladawson answered
2 years ago

The images are Jpegs and Canon use NR even if its off at higher ISO as far as i know, I think you will find the raw files will be cleaner Continue Reading

Dave Courtenay answered
2 years ago

QUESTION

NIKON D750..shutter sound ..

Canon 5D Mark 3 I love the very quiet  shutter mode .. Hopefully Nikon D750 is able to do the same.. On the D610 it was a joke.  suppose to have QUIET shutter sound..Not really true I always hated the shutter sound from my Nikon d700 ..clank clank .. sounds like a cheap camera toy.. I sure hope D750 HAS A MUCH BETTER SHUTTER SOUND..if it's improved I will buy

tomboy asked
1 month ago

ANSWERS

I prefer the very definite sound of the D3 series, like cocking a AK47. Sounds like it means business. :-) The D2 series shutter sound is too damped and soft -- ladylike, if you don't mind. The D1 series shutter sounds like D3S quiet mode, well damped, long sound where you can hear all the distinct phases of mirror, aperture and shutter. Like a pump action shotgun. But yea, D3 is my favorite so far. Continue Reading

pforsell answered
1 month ago

Sorry but it doesn't. Been shooting in a church environment for the last 7 years,  The D750 doesn't disturb anyone more than 10 feet away.  The D810 is about the same volume just a different sound.  Now my D700 did cause a reaction to person's a little over 30 feet away.  Now that was a loud camera.  If you want a camera that's quiet the D3300 is very quiet. Continue Reading

StillLearning answered
5 days ago

That is your right to disagree.  Everyone has a different perception to different frequencies of sound.  You are probably more sensitive to certain frequencies than others so the D750 sounds louder to you.  I go on how most people may react to a sound of the camera going off in a quiet atmosphere. They don't react any different to the d810 than they do to the D750.  Now that is based that I try to not be any closer than 10 feet out of courtesy to them.  Until technical sound measuring devices are truly measuring the shutter sound it is going to be in everyone's perception to sound what they perceive it to be. Which will be all over board.  So you are right and I am right, :) Continue Reading

StillLearning answered
5 days ago

WHAT'S IN THE BOX?

  • EOS 5D Mark III Body
  • Lens kit includes EF 24-105mm f/4 L IS USM Lens
  • Eyecup Eg
  • Battery Pack LP-E6
  • Battery Charger LC-E6
  • Wide Neck Strap EW-EOS 5D Mark III
  • Stereo AV Cable AVC-DC400ST
  • USB Interface Cable IFC-200U
  • EOS Digital Solution Disc
  • Software Instruction Manual

Warranty Information

"Canon U.S.A., Inc. and Canon Canada Inc. (collectively "Canon") warrant to the original end‐user purchaser, when delivered in new condition in its original container, that the Product will be free from defects in materials and workmanship under normal use and service for a period of one (1) year from the date of original purchase. Product returned to a Canon repair facility and proven to be defective upon inspection will, at Canon’s sole discretion and without charge, be (a) repaired utilizing new, remanufactured, repaired and/or recycled parts; (b) exchanged for a new Product or; (c) exchanged for a refurbished Product, as determined by the Canon repair facility. Warranty exchange or replacement does not extend the original warranty period of the Product. "

Go to Canon USA's warranty page for more information. DPReview GearShop is an authorized Canon dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.