Canon EOS 5D Mark III DSLR Camera

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

82% Gold Award
A super-flexible photographic tool that will get the job done on a wide range of assignments.”

Read more of the review

Key Features

  • 22MP full frame CMOS sensor
  • 6 frames per second continuous shooting
  • 61-point AF system
  • ISO 100 - 25600 range with 50 - 102,800 expansion
  • 1080p HD video recording with manual controls
  • 3.2 inch LCD with 1,040,000 dots
  • 100% viewfinder coverage
  • Dual CF and SD card slots
  • DIGIC 5+ processor

Product Description

The Canon EOS 5D Mark III offers substantial upgrades over the Mark II in almost every respect, including 6 frames per second burst shooting and a 61-point AF system borrowed from the EOS 1-series. The 5D III is equipped with 1080p HD video recording and a 63-zone metering system. It's also the first Canon DSLR to include High Dynamic Range shooting in-camera, with a broad +/- 8 EV range. It has the magnesium-alloy constuction and weatherproof build quality expected of a camera in this class, and it is outfitted with a comfortable rubber grip coating. Numerous tweaks and updates address the concerns voiced by 5D Mark II owners, from the locking exposure mode dial to the addition of a movie mode/live view switch.

Reviews

User Reviews

  • abhijit35mm, Jan 26, 2013 GMT:
    Good Camera, had bit more expectation

    I always use Canon and believe any camera if good if the photographer knows it's disadvantages and accordingly works with it. Saying that 5D Mark III is a good camera with features that a professional would love to have. Coming straight to point this camera has a whopping 61 AF points a significant upgrade from 5D Mark II. This is important for me as a sports and wedding photographer. With 9 point AF I felt handicapped, with this one I have more flexibility now. somehow I started to feel that ...

    Continue Reading

  • Trent Gillespie, Jan 12, 2013 GMT:
    Love It

    Everything about the camera and the photos it produces are swell. Great upgrade from the 5D MKII. Images are better and that is what counts. One nagging problem though. Problems: My one complaint, which I am growing past, is the fact that the focus point during the AF process does not illuminate red like on the 5D MKII. I knew this when buying the camera, so its expected, but I wish Canon would remedy it. My guess is that since they moved to a crystal view finder overlay, it isn't possible. ...

    Continue Reading

  • Erdil yilmaz, Dec 23, 2012 GMT:
    excellent Camera

    general use of Camera Problems: nothing so far

    Continue Reading

  • russki2000, Dec 17, 2012 GMT:
    5D mark III crashing and freezing up on me!

    I have feeling I dot defected camera, I got my 5d mark lll new in the mail 4 days ago, and from very beginning in preview mode it will freeze on me when press auto focus ore try to take a picture, and even if I turn power off, the image still stays frozen in the display! I had to take buttery out to reset the camera. Somehow after that it started to work for about a day, and then did the sane freezing action on me, and now it's not responding to anything at all. Taking it to canon for ...

    Continue Reading

Videos

Tutorial Series: How to use the AF Configuration Tool by Canon

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

Sony A7 & A7R aggressive noise reduction and focusing

Hi all, Have been wanting to get my hands on either of these cameras for quite some time. Heard excellent reviews about image quality and detail regarding both. Being a Canon SLR 5D3 user with various  lenses…the weight of carrying all this gear is doing my shoulder and back in after an all day shoot. Ideally the A7's were a great lighter alternative. Decided to go into the city camera store and take a few test shots and must say I was a little let down in what I saw later on my computer. The image quality and exposure at first look on standard size computer view was admittedly quite impressive and stunning…beautiful colours and gorgeous DOF, nice exposure. Focusing was also much quicker than I anticipated given the reviews you hear about this. However when blown up to 100% and over, I found the detail started to look a little smeary and blotchy. I have read a few reviews that Sony are using quite strong in camera noise reduction to smooth out the grain and loss of detail is ...

montygm asked
10 days ago

ANSWERS

245 pages of a7(r) images. I use my a7r with adapted lenses; manual focus only, raw only. Without a doubt, my favorite camera in the last 45 years. Graham Continue Reading

Graham Best answered
10 days ago

Please post a few images you are not happy with. Leave the EXIF in tact. It's the best way to get a quality response. Continue Reading

Tuloom answered
10 days ago

Hi Mel, I wouldn't quite say that it "doesn't attract me enough to learn". I find that rather an insulting and narrow minded remark to be quite honest. From the files I have downloaded from DP review I haven't been impressed with the lack of good sharpening results on Photoshop. When slightly sharpened at the lowest levels the result you get is quite processed and grainy which is the best way I can describe it. Also the level of noise reduction applied by camera was another concern which I was interested to hear from other users. I did download your shot of the man playing the guitar and was curious as to your camera settings such as if this was taken raw or jpg and whether you changed or added any sharpening to the shot or camera. Regards, Continue Reading

montygm answered
9 days ago

QUESTION

D600 RAW noise beats 5D MKIII

The D600 beats the competition according the the graphs on: http://www.dpreview.com/previews/nikon-d600/8 So why do the sample images look worse?

rbirkby asked
1 year ago

ANSWERS

rbirkby wrote: The D600 beats the competition according the the graphs on: http://www.dpreview.com/previews/nikon-d600/8 So why do the sample images look worse? The D600 does indeed have lower noise than the 5D3 in raw.  The part I found funny was how someone rated your post with a thumbs down.  I had to laugh as some Canon fanboy probably got upset, and voted it down.  This is what these forums have come to....fanboys and trolls pummelling posts with thumbs down ratings. Continue Reading

Dave Luttmann answered
1 year ago

mick232 wrote: CFynn wrote: mick232 wrote: http://forums.dpreview.com/forums/thread/3278839 And the A99 beats D600 and D800(E). I really can't see any meaningful difference between the A99 and D600 examples - and if the D800/D800E examples were down-sampled to 24mp equivalent the noise levels might look the same. It is funny how people on the Sony forum somehow manage to see such a difference between the A99 and D600 examples. The differences are minimal but they are there. Unless, of course, you don't want to see them... Or... unless of course you want to see them. I'm not actually saying they're there or not there.  But I will say that people will see whatever they want to see.  You just have to look at the arguing between Canon and Nikon fanboys to realize this to be the case. Continue Reading

michaeladawson answered
1 year ago

The images are Jpegs and Canon use NR even if its off at higher ISO as far as i know, I think you will find the raw files will be cleaner Continue Reading

Dave Courtenay answered
1 year ago

QUESTION

Has any one switched back to firmware 1.13 on 5d3

after the initial excitement of f8 AF, I have reverted to 1.13, just so that I can use magic lantern firmware.  The focus peaking, as well as magic focus or essential for manual focusing for me.  Wondering if anyone else has done the same.

kevindar asked
10 months ago

ANSWERS

kevindar wrote: after the initial excitement of f8 AF, I have reverted to 1.13, just so that I can use magic lantern firmware. The focus peaking, as well as magic focus or essential for manual focusing for me. Wondering if anyone else has done the same. I don't have any long lenses, so new fw didn't add much. Using ML is another story and just like you I found magic focus, focus peaking and focus stacking more important. As I also use MF, I got aftermarket S focusing screen for 5M3, as is based on D series S screen, is identical to EG-S screen, so between the screen and ML I am happy with 1.13 firmware as well. Continue Reading

CalBoy87 answered
10 months ago

kevindar wrote: after the initial excitement of f8 AF, I have reverted to 1.13, just so that I can use magic lantern firmware. The focus peaking, as well as magic focus or essential for manual focusing for me. Wondering if anyone else has done the same. I did so very quickly. First, they didn't enable f/8 AF with 70-300L+1.4x TC combo so that sucked and I'd rather deal with some EyeFi card bugs (although I'd rather not) than lose everything ML brings. The new RAW video is AMAZING! 5D3 has amazing video now! 5D3+ML and 1DC have easily the best video and any DSLRs around. And all the focus peaking and zebras and so on are very helpful too. Continue Reading

bronxbombers4 answered
10 months ago

and focus stacking, and all the other things.  I have not used the raw video yet.  is that just the 1.13 alpha 3 firmware, or one after that which allows raw video? In time, hopefully magic lantern will update to 2.1 firmware.  the camera, at least when it comes to video, is at an entirely different functional level with ML. even with photo, its really nice to have intervelometer, focus stacking, and such built in to the camera. Continue Reading

kevindar answered
10 months ago

Have your own question?

WHAT'S IN THE BOX?

  • EOS 5D Mark III Body
  • Lens kit includes EF 24-105mm f/4 L IS USM Lens
  • Eyecup Eg
  • Battery Pack LP-E6
  • Battery Charger LC-E6
  • Wide Neck Strap EW-EOS 5D Mark III
  • Stereo AV Cable AVC-DC400ST
  • USB Interface Cable IFC-200U
  • EOS Digital Solution Disc
  • Software Instruction Manual

Compatible Products

Warranty Information

"Canon U.S.A., Inc. and Canon Canada Inc. (collectively "Canon") warrant to the original end‐user purchaser, when delivered in new condition in its original container, that the Product will be free from defects in materials and workmanship under normal use and service for a period of one (1) year from the date of original purchase. Product returned to a Canon repair facility and proven to be defective upon inspection will, at Canon’s sole discretion and without charge, be (a) repaired utilizing new, remanufactured, repaired and/or recycled parts; (b) exchanged for a new Product or; (c) exchanged for a refurbished Product, as determined by the Canon repair facility. Warranty exchange or replacement does not extend the original warranty period of the Product. "

Go to Canon USA's warranty page for more information. DPReview GearShop is an authorized Canon dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.