Canon EOS Rebel T3i DSLR Camera

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

77% Silver Award
The Rebel T3i is exactly the camera that we'd expect it to be - feature-rich, reasonably priced, enjoyable to use and, most importantly, it takes great pictures.”

Read more of the review

Key Features

  • 18MP APS-C CMOS sensor
  • 3.7 frames per second continuous shooting
  • 9-point AF system
  • ISO 100-6400 expandable to 12800
  • 1080p HD video recording with manual controls
  • 3.0 inch articulated LCD with 1,040,000 dots
  • Wireless flash control
  • 'Basic+' shooting mode and 'Creative Filters'

Product Description

Beginners upgrading to their first DSLR would do well to consider the 18MP Canon EOS Rebel T3i. A fully articulated 3.0 inch LCD comes in handy when shooting video or using a tripod, and first-time DSLR owners will find features like the Basic+ and Creative Auto shooting modes helpful. Those who want the ultimate level of control over image quality will find that the T3i's RAW output offers a gateway to better low-light pictures and finer detail, but the JPEGs are solid, and image quality in everyday use is very nice indeed. Canon offers more capable DSLRs in its lineup (the more recent T5i is a pretty serious upgrade) , but the T3i is no slouch, and offers excellent value.

Specs

Body type
Body type Compact SLR
Sensor
Max resolution 5184 x 3456
Other resolutions 5184 x 2912, 4608 x 3456,3456 x 3456, 3456 x 2304, 3456 x 1944, 3072 x 2304, 2592 x 1728, 2592 x 1456, 2304 x 1728, 2304 x 2304, 1920 x 1280, 1920 x 1080, 1728 x 1728, 1696 x 1280, 1280 x 1280, 720 x 480, 720 x 400, 640 x 480, 480 x 480
Image ratio w:h 1:1, 4:3, 3:2, 16:9
Effective pixels 18 megapixels
Sensor photo detectors 19 megapixels
Sensor size APS-C (22.3 x 14.9 mm)
Sensor type CMOS
Processor Digic 4
Image
ISO Auto, 100, 200, 400, 800, 1600, 3200, 6400, (12800 with boost)
White balance presets 6
Custom white balance Yes
Image stabilization No
Uncompressed format RAW
JPEG quality levels Fine, Normal
Optics & Focus
Autofocus
  • Contrast Detect (sensor)
  • Phase Detect
  • Multi-area
  • Selective single-point
  • Single
  • Continuous
  • Face Detection
  • Live View
Digital zoom Yes (3-10x )
Manual focus Yes
Number of focus points 9
Lens mount Canon EF/EF-S
Focal length multiplier 1.6×
Screen / viewfinder
Articulated LCD Fully articulated
Screen size 3
Screen dots 1,040,000
Touch screen No
Screen type TFT color LCD, liquid-crystal monitor
Live view Yes
Viewfinder type Optical (pentamirror)
Viewfinder coverage 95%
Viewfinder magnification 0.85×
Photography features
Minimum shutter speed 30 sec
Maximum shutter speed 1/4000 sec
Aperture priority Yes
Shutter priority Yes
Manual exposure mode Yes
Subject / scene modes Yes
Built-in flash Yes (Pop-up)
Flash range 13.00 m
External flash Yes (Hot-shoe, Wireless plus Sync connector)
Flash modes Auto, On, Off, Red-eye
Continuous drive 4 fps
Self-timer Yes (2 sec or 10 sec)
Metering modes
  • Multi
  • Center-weighted
  • Spot
  • Partial
Exposure compensation ±5 (at 1/3 EV, 1/2 EV steps)
AE Bracketing ±2 (3 frames at 1/3 EV, 1/2 EV steps)
WB Bracketing Yes (3 frames in either blue/amber or magenta/green axis)
Videography features
Resolutions 1920 x 1080 (30, 25, 24 fps), 1280 x 720 (60, 50 fps), 640 x 480 (60, 50 fps)
Format MPEG-4, H.264
Microphone Mono
Speaker Mono
Storage
Storage types SD/SDHC/SDXC
Storage included None
Connectivity
USB USB 2.0 (480 Mbit/sec)
HDMI Yes (HDMI mini)
Wireless Eye-Fi Connected
Remote control Yes (E3 connector, InfraRed)
Physical
Environmentally sealed No
Battery Battery Pack
Battery description Lithium-Ion LP-E8 rechargeable battery & charger
Battery Life (CIPA) 440
Weight (inc. batteries) 570 g (1.26 lb / 20.11 oz)
Dimensions 133 x 100 x 80 mm (5.24 x 3.94 x 3.15)
Other features
Orientation sensor Yes
Timelapse recording Yes (by USB cable and PC)
GPS None

Reviews

DPReview Conclusion

Scoring is relative only to the other cameras in the same category at the time of review.

Score Breakdown
Poor Excellent
Build quality
Ergonomics & handling
Features
Metering & focus accuracy
Image quality (raw)
Image quality (jpeg)
Low light / high ISO performance
Viewfinder / screen rating
Performance
Movie / video mode
Value
Silver Award
Silver Award
77 %
Overall Score

The latest model in Canon's popular Rebel series is very much the camera that the range's history leads us to expect: well featured, well-designed and competitively priced. It's a very conventional camera in a part of the market that is seeing some interesting innovations, but the conventional DSLR design still best suits many people's needs, especially when it's done this convincingly.

Good For

Enthusiast shooters looking for some of the latest technology in a well-designed, well-priced package. Movie shooters on a budget.

Not So Good For

Upgraders looking for a compact-camera-like user experience. Users for whom small size is paramount (who might want to consider a mirrorless alternative)

User Reviews

4.69231 out of 5 stars
  • saratabburu, Dec 18, 2012 GMT:
    This is my first DSLR Camera

    Good camera to start learning photography. I had to choose between a 600D,D5100 and Sony A57 and I went for the 600D.And I have no regrets about that. Mainly because the specification were not that too different and the price tag, made me choose the 600D. . I love the weight and the Grip of the body. I use my camera to take landscapes . The menu is very logical and user friendly. A great camera, i love it!! Problems: The autofocus in liveview and shooting Sports is slow. That could have ...

    Continue Reading

  • miked58, May 19, 2012 GMT:
    Great cameras

    I have used these for professional shoots with a variety of lens - the L series lens really shine on this camera. Results are first class. The cameras will take some abuse - I dropped an earlier version when running in the rain and it hit the concrete at speed but was unmarked and still worked flawlessly. Highly recommended. Problems: One camera had a SD card issue but was repaired under warranty.

    Continue Reading

  • FelipeSasso, Apr 24, 2012 GMT:
    Very, very good!!

    Before reading this: I'm using Google Translator to help me. For three years I used a Canon SX10is for amateur photography. I learned photography on this camera, reading, studying and testing. After a while, I decided to get in a DSLR with the 600D. It is a beautiful camera! Full of features and options. I'm really enjoying it. Always wanted the 550D, but I had the opportunity to buy a 600D with a lens 75-300mm (I wrote a review about it here on dpreview). I'm still learning because there are ...

    Continue Reading

  • David zzzzzzzzzz, Feb 5, 2012 GMT:
    You will need to spend some on lenses to get the most from the T3i

    I really was having a hard time getting some good shots until I stopped using the kit lens. My biggest complaint about the kit lens is the colors, they seem unnatural to me. Anyway, got the 15-85 and the 70-300mm and have some really pleasing results but is has taken some work to get there. One thing I noticed though, with the original rebel it seemed easier to get good shots, even with the kit lens. Some of the low light photos with the original Rebel were not great, but the flash ...

    Continue Reading

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

A7 with 35mm F2.8 or 6D with 35mm F1.4

I love travel photography and my friend who had a NEX 3, I loved. I loved how compact and small it was. IQ was good, but ISO performance wasn't too great. I love shooting at night when visiting China, but my 600D has never been really up to the task when I had a kit lens. I'm thinking about going FF and shooting street photography at night in China. With a 6D and 35mm F1.4, I get a really small DOF and amazing ISO performance. A7 with 35mm, I get less fps burst (not too much of any issue, since street photography normally only requires me to shoot one shot), slower aperture, slower focus, and not as great ISO perf. Opinions? I also do some wildlife photography, but I'll stick with APS-C when I do that. Also, 6D has a lot more lenses to use, without having to use a mount. I can do landscape HDR with less noise.

SignUpsDot asked
2 months ago

ANSWERS

If you don't mind the size and weight of the 6D, and you don't plan to use any legacy lenses, then the 6D or maybe the Nikon D610, would be good choices. The A7/R's main reasons for existence vs. other full frame cameras are: 1. Small size 2. Light weight 3. Low price (for the A7, anyway) 4. Use of legacy lenses Your stated criteria don't seem to hinge too much on any of these. On the other hand, and reading between the lines of what you posted, you may want to consider an RX-1 because it is really small, really quiet, works well in low light, and has an excellent 35/2.0 lens. Continue Reading

SQLGuy answered
2 months ago

That is where LA-EA4 gets to play. Here's LA-EA2 (300mm equiv lens, spot focus, AF-C) on my NEX-6, with my little pocket rocket heading straight towards me, all four legs up in air: Can go small when you want, can shoot action when you do. Continue Reading

EinsteinsGhost answered
2 months ago

Thats a 35mm at F5.0. Everything is sharp in that picture, even the snow behind the dog. An A7 is not that bad at AF as people claim, even m A7r has no problems in AF with people walking on the street towards me, it's more a matter of technique and focus point selection. Continue Reading

Zeisschen answered
2 months ago

QUESTION

5D mk i in 2014, cheap FF or bad idea?

Dear all, I would love to hear your perspective on the following matter: I've wanted to buy a good (digital) camera for years, but I'm a student so I'm on a limited budget. The original 5D is relatively cheap nowadays, it's tempting to buy one. Full-frame seems to offer advantages that no cropped sensor camera can offer. The ability to get great photos in low light (the 5D still triumphs all non-full frame camera's on DxOmark's charts). Easy bokeh. And wide-angle shots, no crop! Am I being overly optimistic about this? How smart is buying a 5D in 2014? Here are some of my thoughts: As far as I can tell, the drawbacks aren't that bad. A CF card instead of SD card. It doesn't have a a pop-up flash. Viewing pictures back on-camera is a tad slow. Most likely I won't have any warranty, as I will be buying second hand. Not that many megapixels (I don't really care about this one). Slow AF (how slow, does anyone know how it compares to a, for example, 60D?). Some things I like about the 5D ...

Bart - asked
1 month ago

ANSWERS

Bart, I think the idea of getting an original 5D as a stepping stone to full-frame photography is brilliant. I have recommended this to some student friends of mine. It takes absolutely brilliant images and the control of depth-of-field and wide angle capability are features that cropped-snsor cameras just can't match. I've seen these cameras for $400 to $500 on E-bay. It's amazing that this technology is can be had for the price of a decent point-and-shoot. The things I dislike about my 5D are  the somewhat narrow dynamic range and the propensity for dust on the sensor (so frequent cleaning required). Other than that, it will make beautiful images. Continue Reading

John Bohland answered
1 month ago

I completely agree.  I purchased a used 5d last year, I use it more now than my 7d.  Other than the issues noted above - lack of Windows drivers, and no MFA would be the only negatives I would add.  None of the negatives would prevent me from making the same decision right now.  It's a great low cost way to get the FF perspective! Continue Reading

Atoche answered
1 month ago

The 5D1 was always a great camera.  Needs a little more sensor cleaning possibly than newer cameras, but not a huge issue. If you're buying a second hand one, (well it would have to be second hand...) make sure you buy a CR2016 button battery (about £1.50) for the internal clock battery.  By now it would possibly be past it's best.  Easy to swap out and will keep the camera working for many more years. I had two 5D1's before selling one.  The other sits in a cupboard waiting for someone to buy it off me.  (REALLY need to learn how to sell things on eBay...) Continue Reading

leecamera answered
1 month ago

QUESTION

upgrading from Canon PowerShot to better camera

I want to upgrade from a Power Shot to a better camera.  The Canon EOS Rebel T3i got a good review in Consumer Reports.  I do not want to be a professional photographer.  Just want to take good photos of scenery and people when on vacation, everyday living, etc. Is the T3i a camera that I can learn to use easily and won't have to open the manual every time I want to do something?  I think it comes with the 18-55mm lens.  Should I get another lens also?  If so what? Thanks for your responses.

jerbeak asked
4 months ago

ANSWERS

Imo shoot with DSLR on creative mode require time, patience and effort. I change my bridge (P&S with long zoom) to DSLR (700D) and the good pictures are much better than P&S photos. But you will still get bad pictures. If you want to easily take pictures with DSLR on AUTO mode i sugest you to keep you powershot. Its my opinion. Good luck. Continue Reading

Maztah answered
4 months ago

Thanks much for the info. Continue Reading

jerbeak answered
4 months ago

If you are patient with your first DSLR camera, you should be happy. For a beginner, both the 18-55mm and 55-250mm kit lenses are good to have, and sometimes can be purchased at a lower price as a bundled package. Both of these lenses will provide for you great images. After you purchase your camera you will have to decide whether you want to shoot JPEGs, RAW or both. Read the manual and/or ask us questions of what settings would be preferred in given situations. We'd be glad to help. Continue Reading

Digirame answered
4 months ago

WHAT'S IN THE BOX?

  • EOS Rebel T3i Body
  • Lens kit includes EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS Type II Lens OR EF-S 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS Lens
  • Eyecup Ef
  • Wide Strap EW-100DBIII
  • USB Interface Cable IFC-130U
  • AV Cable AVC-DC400ST
  • Battery Pack LP-E8
  • Battery Charger LC-E8E
  • EOS Digital Solution Disk
  • Instruction Manuals
  • "Great Photography is Easy" and "Do More with Macro" Booklet

Compatible Products

Out of Stock

Warranty Information

"Canon U.S.A., Inc. and Canon Canada Inc. (collectively "Canon") warrant to the original end‐user purchaser, when delivered in new condition in its original container, that the Product will be free from defects in materials and workmanship under normal use and service for a period of one (1) year from the date of original purchase. Product returned to a Canon repair facility and proven to be defective upon inspection will, at Canon’s sole discretion and without charge, be (a) repaired utilizing new, remanufactured, repaired and/or recycled parts; (b) exchanged for a new Product or; (c) exchanged for a refurbished Product, as determined by the Canon repair facility. Warranty exchange or replacement does not extend the original warranty period of the Product. "

Go to Canon USA's warranty page for more information. DPReview GearShop is an authorized Canon dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.