Canon EOS M Mirrorless Camera

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

Tried & Tested

Key Features

  • 18MP APS-C CMOS sensor
  • 4.3 frames per second continuous shooting
  • Hybrid phase and contrast detect AF system
  • ISO 100-12,800 expandable up to 25,600
  • 1080 HD video
  • 3.0 inch touchscreen LCD with 1,040,000 dots
  • GPS with optional GPE2 accessory
  • Raw shooting
  • Flash hotshoe
  • Creative Filters in-camera processing modes
  • SD/SDHC/SDXC card slot

Product Description

The EOS M is Canon's long-awaited mirrorless system camera, introduced in June 2012. With an 18MP APS-C CMOS sensor and a multi-touch 3.0 inch LCD screen, the EOS M offers full HD video recording at 1080 30p, 25p and 24p, with a built-in stereo microphone. With tracking AF enabled, continuous shooting tops out at 3 frames per second, and with a single AF point burst speed is bumped up to 4.3 fps. The EOS M introduces a new mount, and two lenses were announce alongside the camera - the 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS STM and 22mm f/2.0 pancake. The camera itself adheres to a clean and modern design aesthetic, providing touch screen shooting mode selection rather than making space for a physical mode dial. A rubberized thumb rest and finger grip on the front panel provide a secure hand-hold, and the EOS M offers quick access to its Intelligent Auto shooting mode via a three-position switch surrounding the shutter.

Specs

Body type
Body type Rangefinder-style mirrorless
Sensor
Max resolution 5184 x 3456
Other resolutions 3456 x 2304, 2592 x 1728, 1920 x 1280, 720 x 480
Effective pixels 18 megapixels
Sensor photo detectors 19 megapixels
Sensor size APS-C (22.3 x 14.9 mm)
Sensor type CMOS
Processor Digic 5
Image
ISO Auto, 100, 200, 400, 800, 1600, 3200, 6400, 12800 (25600 with boost)
White balance presets 6
Custom white balance Yes (1)
Image stabilization No
Uncompressed format RAW
JPEG quality levels Fine, Normal
Optics & Focus
Autofocus
  • Contrast Detect (sensor)
  • Phase Detect
  • Multi-area
  • Selective single-point
  • Single
  • Continuous
  • Face Detection
  • Live View
Digital zoom No
Manual focus Yes
Number of focus points 31
Lens mount Canon EF-M
Focal length multiplier 1.6×
Screen / viewfinder
Articulated LCD Fixed
Screen size 3
Screen dots 1,040,000
Touch screen Yes
Screen type Clear View II TFT LCD
Live view Yes
Viewfinder type None
Photography features
Minimum shutter speed 60 sec
Maximum shutter speed 1/4000 sec
Aperture priority Yes
Shutter priority Yes
Manual exposure mode Yes
Subject / scene modes Yes
Built-in flash No
External flash Yes (via Hot-shoe)
Flash modes Auto, On, Off, Red-eye
Continuous drive 4 fps
Self-timer Yes (2 or 10 sec)
Metering modes
  • Multi
  • Center-weighted
  • Spot
  • Partial
Exposure compensation ±3 (at 1/3 EV, 1/2 EV steps)
AE Bracketing ±2 (3 frames at 1/3 EV, 1/2 EV steps)
WB Bracketing Yes (3 frames in either blue/amber or magenta/green axis)
Videography features
Resolutions 1920 x 1080 (30, 25, 24 fps), 1280 x 720 (60, 50 fps), 640 x 480 (60, 50 fps)
Format MPEG-4, H.264
Microphone Stereo
Speaker Mono
Storage
Storage types SD/SDHC/SDXC
Storage included None
Connectivity
USB USB 2.0 (480 Mbit/sec)
HDMI Yes (HDMI mini)
Wireless Eye-Fi Connected
Physical
Environmentally sealed No
Battery Battery Pack
Battery description Lithium-Ion LP-E12 rechargeable battery & charger
Battery Life (CIPA) 230
Weight (inc. batteries) 298 g (0.66 lb / 10.51 oz)
Dimensions 109 x 66 x 32 mm (4.29 x 2.6 x 1.26)
Other features
Orientation sensor Yes
GPS Optional
GPS notes via GPE2

Reviews

User Reviews

4.04235 out of 5 stars
  • sierramike, Feb 24, 2013 GMT:
    A little Canon in my Canon system

    The quality feel of this little canon is great. (Compared to the plastic NEX-5). The M-lenses are optically great too. I'm using the M with the 22mm as a pocketable alternative to my 5D mkIII . It's always with me, even at work. The other Canon alternative was the powershot G1x, but I do prefer the 18mp 2/3 sensor. Autofocus is sloooowww (but very accurate, even with 22mm at /f2.0). Autofocus point selection by touch works great. The touch screen is fantastic! The EF-M lens adapter works ad ...

    Continue Reading

  • RawDogg, Feb 19, 2013 GMT:
    Holding on to it

    My first impression of the Canon EOS M when I picked it up was wonderful, well built little camera, solid, strong, tight. then I started shooting with it and got a little frustrated with the focusing problems. The image quality is excellent...I love it. The video is very good. I know my expectation were really high after coming from a EOS Mark II. I knew it would have the and quality as the Mark II but it almost did. The video can't touch the Mark II but the image quality is close. All in ...

    Continue Reading

  • nycgeo, Jan 8, 2013 GMT:
    Lots of power in a small package - slow AF

    The EOS M is an extremely powerful camera capable of SLR level results, paired with the excellent EF-M 22mm lens (all I have a this point). Don't expect anything less than stellar results, with clean, noise free images up to ISO 1600, and even usable images at 6400. Certainly more usable than my 7D. However, you can only expect these results when you have TIME to focus. Chasing a small running child (as I do now daily) is a struggle in futility. What makes it harder still is the weird ...

    Continue Reading

  • Nilo_Quinio, Dec 27, 2012 GMT:
    Perfect Replacement for Compacts

    I'm a hobbyist. I used Nikon during the film-era and shifted to Canon when I went digital. I started with 10D, 40D, 7D, 5DM2, and now 5DM3 and using all the most popular L zoom lenses and a select range of fixed prime lenses (35mm, 85mm, 100mm Macro II, 135mm, etc.). On days when I travel (and I travel a lot) when I cannot bring a DSLR (which is most of the time), I always have my Canon Powershot S100 in my briefcase. I have taken thousands of shots on my compacts (I also have an S95 prior to ...

    Continue Reading

Videos

Canon EOS M by DPReview

Take a tour of the compact Canon EOS M camera with DPReview's Richard Butler.

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

Is EOS M suitable as a second Camera ?!!

Hi. photography is my Hobby. I have an EOS 60D with several lenses. i like to have my Camera with me anywhere but it's not possible & i know this is a problem fot many of us !! i want to ask; is EOS M suitable as a second & more available & accessible camera for me ?!! the most important question is autofocus speed. you think, it will be acceptable for me (in compered with EOS 60D) ?!! tanQ.

7 months ago

ANSWERS

I just purchased it as a second camera to my 5D II - it is exactly what I was looking for - simple, easy to use and great IQ.  I stayed away from this camera due to so many people stating how slowly it focused.  I must say that is nonsense.  It focuses as quickly (if not faster) than my Canon G-12 and is about what I would expect from a camera this size.  At the current prices, I can't see how a person could go wrong with this camera. Continue Reading

Robin Empson answered
7 months ago

Check out YouTube videos. There's a video of a pro photographer comparing the focus speed/accuracy of the EOS M to his Canon DSLR. In one segment, he uses the adapter with one of his DSLR lenses. In the time it took for him to focus on his daughter with the EOS M, she grew up, started a career, got married, had kids, and died:). Continue Reading

dual12 answered
7 months ago

This is absolute nonsense, as anyone who has actually used the M (with updated firmware) can tell you. The focus speed is not as fast as a DSLR, such as the 60D, when used with optical viewfinder, but considerably faster than live view AF on the 60D. The M's AF is also considerably faster than a compact point and shoot, such as the Canon S100. It is perfectly fast enough for anything except fast action. Anyone who thinks otherwise either hasn't used it, is an idiot, or both. The AF is also very accurate. More so than a DSLR. I use my M as a second camera to my 7D. More accurately, the 7D is now the second camera to my M. This is because I have the M with me all the time. The 7D, even more so than the 60D, is too big to carry with me everywhere I go. Continue Reading

7 months ago

QUESTION

How can I turn off the shutter sound on Canon M

The shutter sound from Canon M is the SLR. Any way I can turn it off? My manual did not say anything about it:-( Thanks!

JeffCao asked
1 month ago

ANSWERS

It's mechanical; there is no option to turn it off. A silent electronic shutter is definitely one of the things on my wish list. Continue Reading

Mahmoud Mousef answered
1 month ago

It's actually hybrid. First curtain electronic, second curtain mechanical. -- No, I don't take your word for it (no matter how long you've been in photography, how much film you exposed, or how many clicks on shutter you've got). Post replicable, transparently presented images to support your claims. Continue Reading

Abu Mahendra answered
1 month ago

As others have mentioned you can't turn it off..... but I believe Tragic Lantern allows you to shoot silently, though I don't beileve you'd be able to review the pics in camera. I don't really recall the details now as I only tried it out once and am not where I can check it for you. Hopefully others can chime in on this and give you more info. Continue Reading

Ben Ramsey answered
1 month ago

QUESTION

Does Lightroom 4 support EOS-M's RAW files?

I got an EOS-M recently for what I consider to be a pretty amazing price, and am thinking about getting one for my father as a gift. I have been using Lightroom 3 for all my post-processing, however, and I just found out the hard way that it has no support for the EOS-M's RAW files. I will have to pay money to upgrade to Lightroom 5. So, I plan to upgrade to Lightroom 5... My father, on the other hand, uses Lightroom 4, and is not very technologically adept in general. I'm just wondering if he will need to pay to upgrade as well? (because if so, then I would include that as part of the gift). Anybody know?

cedrec asked
1 month ago

ANSWERS

If you update to the last Lightroom 4 update, Thats Lightroom 4.4 It recognises the EOS-M and has lens profiles. Its a free update if you have Lightroom 4 Good luck Garry Continue Reading

Ferdels answered
1 month ago

2 things, 1 check the cams supported for LR 4 you have, M came out in 2012, second, you could if want change the properties of the raw files to another 'supported' 18mp cam that is equiv of the M, such as the 600D, 7D, 650D, etc that are supported by LR3/4. There are prop editors that can run in batch mode that will change all the files at one go, but of course you may want to back up all files until comfortable with it. Good Luck! Continue Reading

JJ Rodin answered
1 month ago

How do I do that? I don't have LR 4 in front of me. My father lives in another state. Continue Reading

cedrec answered
1 month ago

WHAT'S IN THE BOX?

  • EOS M Digital Camera Body
  • EF-M 22mm f/2 STM Lens OR EF-M 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS STM Lens
  • Neck Strap EM-100DB
  • Battery Pack LP-E12
  • Battery Charger LC-E12
  • USB Interface Cable IFC-130U
  • EOS Digital Solution Disk
  • Camera Instruction Manual
  • Software Instruction Manual CD

Compatible Products

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.