Canon PowerShot G1 X Compact Camera

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

76% Silver Award
The G1 X is a hard camera to categorize - it combines excellent 'large sensor' image quality across its ISO range with the compact camera convenience of a relatively small body.”

Read more of the review

Key Features

  • 14MP 1.5" CMOS sensor
  • 4.5 frames per second continuous shooting
  • 28-112mm F2.8-5.8 lens
  • ISO 100-12800
  • 1080p HD video recording
  • 3.0 inch articulated LCD with 920,000 dots
  • Optical viewfinder
  • Extensive manual controls
  • 14-bit RAW shooting

Product Description

The Canon PowerShot G1 X stands alone in the compact, fixed-lens camera class with a 14MP 1.5" CMOS sensor - smaller than that of a DSLR, yet 16% larger than a Four Thirds sensor. It shares many of the external controls and rugged build of other G-series PowerShots, though it has much in common with the EOS lineup of DSLRs in terms of image quality across the ISO range. Some of the G1 X's external controls can be assigned custom functions, and preferred settings can be saved to the 'My Menu'-menu and C-modes on the mode dial. A very capable camera, the G1 X has few faults, but its relatively poor close focus ability in normal AF mode means you'll be reaching for the macro button a lot - even when shooting portraits.

Specs

Body type
Body type Large sensor compact
Sensor
Max resolution 4352 x 3264
Other resolutions 4352 x 2248, 4352 x 2904, 3264 x 3264, 3072 x 2304, 3072 x 1728, 3072 x 2048, 2608 x 3264, 2304 x 2304, 1920 x 1080, 1840 x 2304, 1600 x 1200, 1600 x 1064, 1200 x 1200, 960 x 1200, 640 x 480, 640 x 360, 640 x 424, 480 x 480, 384 x 480
Image ratio w:h 1:1, 5:4, 4:3, 3:2, 16:9
Effective pixels 14 megapixels
Sensor size 1.5″ (18.7 x 14 mm)
Sensor type CMOS
Processor Digic 5
Image
ISO Auto, 100, 125, 160, 200, 250, 320, 400, 500, 640, 800, 1000, 1250, 1600, 2000, 2500, 3200, 4000, 5000, 6400, 8000, 10000, 12800
White balance presets 7
Custom white balance Yes (2)
Image stabilization Optical
Uncompressed format RAW
JPEG quality levels Fine, Normal
Optics & Focus
Focal length (equiv.) 28–112 mm
Optical zoom 4×
Maximum aperture F2.8 - F5.8
Autofocus
  • Contrast Detect (sensor)
  • Multi-area
  • Selective single-point
  • Tracking
  • Single
  • Continuous
  • Face Detection
  • Live View
Digital zoom Yes (4x)
Manual focus Yes
Normal focus range 40 cm (15.75)
Macro focus range 20 cm (7.87)
Number of focus points 9
Screen / viewfinder
Articulated LCD Fully articulated
Screen size 3
Screen dots 920,000
Touch screen No
Screen type TFT PureColor II LCD
Live view Yes
Viewfinder type Optical (tunnel)
Photography features
Minimum shutter speed 60 sec
Maximum shutter speed 1/4000 sec
Aperture priority Yes
Shutter priority Yes
Manual exposure mode Yes
Subject / scene modes Yes
Built-in flash Yes
Flash range 7.00 m (via hot shoe EX series Speedlites, Macro Twin Lite MT-24EX, Macro Ring Lite MR-14EX)
External flash Yes (Hot-shoe)
Flash modes Auto, On, Off, Red-Eye, Slow Sync, Fill-in
Continuous drive 2 fps
Self-timer Yes (2 or 10 sec, custom)
Metering modes
  • Multi
  • Center-weighted
  • Spot
Exposure compensation ±3 (at 1/3 EV steps)
AE Bracketing ±2 (at 1/3 EV steps)
WB Bracketing No
Videography features
Resolutions 1920 x 1080 (24 fps), 1280 x 720 (30 fps), 640 x 480 (30 fps)
Format H.264
Videography notes Miniature Effect (HD, L) 6fps, 3fps, 1.5 fps
Microphone Stereo
Speaker Mono
Storage
Storage types SD/SDHC/SDXC
Connectivity
USB USB 2.0 (480 Mbit/sec)
HDMI Yes (Mini)
Remote control Yes (Optional (RS60-E3))
Physical
Environmentally sealed No
Battery Battery Pack
Battery description Lithium-Ion NB-10L rechargeable battery & charger
Battery Life (CIPA) 250
Weight (inc. batteries) 534 g (1.18 lb / 18.84 oz)
Dimensions 117 x 81 x 65 mm (4.61 x 3.19 x 2.56)
Other features
Orientation sensor Yes
Timelapse recording No
GPS None

Reviews

DPReview Conclusion

Scoring is relative only to the other cameras in the same category at the time of review.

Score Breakdown
Poor Excellent
Build quality
Ergonomics & handling
Features
Metering & focus accuracy
Image quality (raw)
Image quality (jpeg)
Low light / high ISO performance
Viewfinder / screen rating
Optics
Performance
Movie / video mode
Value
Silver Award
Silver Award
76 %
Overall Score

The G1 X is an excellent camera for some but not for everyone. The camera gives you great image quality and a versatile zoom range in a small package and without the need to carry a stack of lenses. However, the sluggish AF, limited close-focusing capability and lack of manual control in video mode will make some users look elsewhere.

Good For

Anyone who wants DSLR-like image quality and a versatile zoom range in a pocketable format.

Not So Good For

Sports and action photographers, serious videographers

User Reviews

4.19786 out of 5 stars
  • Derrick Louw, Feb 20, 2013 GMT:
    Fantastic Image Quality but...

    Back-up when I cannot use my 1Ds2/3 cameras. Fantastic image quality once focus finally locks on!! Problems: Focus too slow and eratic.

    Continue Reading

  • Ibj, Dec 11, 2012 GMT:
    Still very satisfied

    Awesome if you learn to use it the rihgt way. Sometimes external flash is needed, for distant objects, but then, you could moste of the time move closer up anyway. Read and understand the manuals. Brilliant results, works without problems in -15 degrees centigrades if you remember to keep it dry in an inner pocket and store it in a plastic bag with most air removed until it has reached indoor temperature once back indoor. Sun and heat is no problem either, just don't leave it in direct sun at ...

    Continue Reading

  • uptheorg, Nov 19, 2012 GMT:
    Fantastic Tool!

    This is a great camera for me. I am not a professional, just an enthusiastic amateur. I spent two weeks scouring reviews and spec sheets, visiting camera stores, and talking to people before I decided on this camera. What I was looking for was a camera that would maximize picture quality and hopefully still be portable and affordable. Some of the smaller "point and shoot" cameras take beautiful photos, but the controls are all in menus and I wanted the basic controls to be physical dials and ...

    Continue Reading

  • r32, Oct 2, 2012 GMT:
    Not so good.

    I'm sorry to say I am nery unhappy with my Canon G1 X. I find I get a high proportion of out of focus or badly exposed images. I also find that there are quite a few scenes that the camera just will not focus on. I find myself having to seriously consider what I take pictures of. Certainly not worth the high price that Canon charge, the lack of a reasonable close focus can be an issue. Problems: Focusing issues

    Continue Reading

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

Is the G1X dead?

The G1X doesn't register in the top 200 (or so) Canons at Flickr: http://www.flickr.com/cameras/canon Don’t take that as the last truth, though it’s still a serious indicator. Other indicators additionally show it’s public interest to be waning: http://www.digitalcamerareview.com/best_digital_camera We all know, all they have to really do is toss in the Digic VI . The questions are, would a giant corporation put any funding at all into a product that, by the numbers, is drastically losing consumer favor? ...or... Are they going to follow the very (marketing wise) success of the RX100: http://www.flickr.com/cameras/sony More: http://camyx.com/rumors/2013/05/new-canon-powershot-camera-summer-2013 http://www.canonrumors.com/2013/05/a-new-large-sensor-powershot-coming-cr1 “The Sony RX100 offers a slightly smaller 1-inch sensor, but provides image quality that outpaces this Canon's in almost every way. That the RX100 is also small enough to fit into your pocket and offers a similar level ...

Joe186 asked
9 months ago

ANSWERS

I have both the G1X and RX100 and the RX100 only beats the G1X in TWO areas - Pocketability and AF - For the rest, the G1X leaves the RX100 for dead except for resolution which despite 6Mp diff in pixel count  is very close due to the G1X`s vastly superior lens and having better quality pixels. Continue Reading

AdamT answered
9 months ago

Joe186 wrote: The G1X doesn't register in the top 200 (or so) Canons at Flickr: http://www.flickr.com/cameras/canon Don’t take that as the last truth, though it’s still a serious indicator. Other indicators additionally show it’s public interest to be waning: http://www.digitalcamerareview.com/best_digital_camera We all know, all they have to really do is toss in the Digic VI . The questions are, would a giant corporation put any funding at all into a product that, by the numbers, is drastically losing consumer favor? ...or... Are they going to follow the very (marketing wise) success of the RX100: http://www.flickr.com/cameras/sony More: http://camyx.com/rumors/2013/05/new-canon-powershot-camera-summer-2013 http://www.canonrumors.com/2013/05/a-new-large-sensor-powershot-coming-cr1 “The Sony RX100 offers a slightly smaller 1-inch sensor, but provides image quality that outpaces this Canon's in almost every way. That the RX100 is also small enough to fit into your pocket and offers a ... Continue Reading

wazandreg answered
9 months ago

My G1X gets used far more for work than play - 1stly it`s totally silent whilst having a ZOOM and a superb stabilizer making it perfect for auditoriums and religious events where even the clack from a mirrorless would invade ..... 2nd it`s idela for on site product photography (size, lens, socketry etc) .. 3rd as a pocket backup / candid shooter at larger events 4th.. for use  places such as shop interiors where although staff and any customers are informed there`s a photographer on the premises , they want to get on with what they`re doing without having a 1DS3 shoved in their faces - someone clattering away with a NEX or EP wouldn`t help a lot Yup, it gets used a lot, Mine is starting to brass at the corners (and the paint is thick), it`s covered 15,000 shots since February 2012 (less than 18 months) which is a lot for a G10 replacement so I`ll have to get another at some stage - even if  they make a Pro EOS-M it won`t replace the silent G1X and I`ve yet to see a single mirrorless ... Continue Reading

AdamT answered
9 months ago

QUESTION

What about a fully articulated LCD?

The slow lens of G1 X has been replaced. A fully articulated LCD would make G1 X Mark ll a perfect camera I was waiting for. What is a reason not to make a really good camera when all required technology exists?

2 months ago

ANSWERS

I fully agree. Omitting one of the "G" family's signature features makes no sense, particularly since it is overwhelmingly appreciated by Canon users in this segment. The rest of the G1X Mk II looks very good. Jim Continue Reading

Jim answered
2 months ago

It's a streamlined G1X Mk1.  This new incarnation will be a very popular travel camera and photo-journalist tool. A wide lens with a strong zoom and high sensitivity will be ideal for many users. Making it a tilt screen is probably going to make it less prone to damage by bending it... but I agree with you: The metal-backed Flip-LCD screen on the G1X Mk1 means you can protect the large LCD display from damage in a bag.  There sill be a few threads from people who have scratched their LCDs in the near future.  I believe the FLIP-Vari-Angled LCD was one of the big selling points on the original camera. Continue Reading

Marco Nero answered
2 months ago

I totally agree. Omitting a fully articulated LCD would have been a perfect addition and continued the "G" tradition. I don't know why Canon continues to eliminate this signature feature that's overwhelmingly appreciated. Go figure. The rest of the G1X Mk Ii looks pretty good. Jim Continue Reading

Jim answered
2 months ago

QUESTION

? G15 vs G1X (Speed vs IQ) Question

Details aside, for about half my photography, it’s all about medium light (twilight, city nights, normal indoor, etc) capability... Both the G15 (with it’s 1.8 lens) and the the G1X (big sensor) fit this, but... ...the G1X has a relatively slow focus: http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/canong1x/6 http://www.imaging-resource.com/PRODS/G1X/G1XA6.HTM (G1X - full autofocus wide: 0.697 second / G15: about 0.46, from same website) Cost and other factors aside, is the slower focusing of the G1X, worth the substantial increase in image quality: http://www.whatdigitalcamera.com/equipment/galleries/sample-images/canon/34720/1/canon-powershot-g15-vs-canon-powershot-g1-x-image-sample-gallery.html If the shot is missed or out of focus, all the image quality advantage is gone! ?!

Joe186 asked
9 months ago

ANSWERS

I have the G12 & G1X, the G1X autofocus is no worse than any other G series from the past its just that the G15 is a little faster but not that much in practice ( I tried it ) its only half as fast again not twice as fast. To me the G15 can't match the G1X for image quality or low light performance so that's why I kept my G12 & got the G1X & don't regret it. Darren Continue Reading

Darren N answered
9 months ago

I own both the G15 and the G1X and agree with what Darren N says. I can't tell any difference in focus speeds as both are very fast. Both cameras give great IQ although the G1X is the winner by a nose IMHO. Continue Reading

FJG3 answered
9 months ago

Hi, I own the G12 and G1X.  The G1X IQ is clearly better - it's very noticeably less noisy at moderate ISOs and more so at higher ISOs.  I think their AF speeds are comparable - neither is fast.  I suspect that the G12 is the faster of the two by a whisker.  However, the G1X between-shot times are glacially slow.  DPR tested the G15 to be significantly faster than the G12, so I'd say the G15 would be quite a bit faster than the G1X.  If you read through G1X threads, I think we all agree that it's not a camera for sports and other action shots.  It also doesn't do macro without an accessory lens (and very good though the results are with the 250D lens, the magnification still isn't high). Which is best for you?  Only you can be the judge of that question.  If you know you can live with slow AF and shooting speed, the G1X is an excellent small landscape, hiking and travel camera.  If you need fast AF for kids, sports, pets and other active subjects, then it may not be for you.  The ... Continue Reading

Rod McD answered
9 months ago

Warranty Information

"Canon U.S.A., Inc. and Canon Canada Inc. (collectively "Canon") warrant to the original end‐user purchaser, when delivered in new condition in its original container, that the Product will be free from defects in materials and workmanship under normal use and service for a period of one (1) year from the date of original purchase. Product returned to a Canon repair facility and proven to be defective upon inspection will, at Canon’s sole discretion and without charge, be (a) repaired utilizing new, remanufactured, repaired and/or recycled parts; (b) exchanged for a new Product or; (c) exchanged for a refurbished Product, as determined by the Canon repair facility. Warranty exchange or replacement does not extend the original warranty period of the Product. "

Go to Canon USA's warranty page for more information. DPReview GearShop is an authorized Canon dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.