Canon PowerShot G16 Compact Camera

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

Tried & Tested
The G16 is a stronger product than its predecessor and a logical upgrade for anyone using an older G-series model.”

Key Features

  • 12MP 1/1.7"-type CMOS sensor
  • 28-140mm equivalent F1.8-2.8 lens, 4-stop 'Intelligent IS'.
  • ISO 80-12800
  • 1080p/60p HD video (MP4 format)
  • 12.2 fps for the first six frames / 9.3 fps for up to 522 shots (with UHS-1 memory card)
  • Fixed 3.0 inch PureColor II G LCD with 922,000 dots
  • Optical viewfinder
  • 12-bit multi aspect RAW+JPEG as found in Canon EOS DSLRs
  • Dual-axis electronic level
  • Built-in flash plus hot shoe for Canon Speedlites
  • Manual focus peaking
  • Built-in Wi-Fi
  • HDR scene mode, artistic modes, star shooting mode, plus full manual control

Product Description

The Canon PowerShot G16 caters to an advanced shooter with a 12MP 1/1.7"-type sensor, larger than that of a typical point-and-shoot, matched with a fast 28-140mm (equivalent) F1.8-2.8 lens. Full 1080p/60p video recording is available in MP4 format, and the High Speed AF mode offers improved autofocus speeds while maintaining 12.2 / 9.3 FPS continuous shooting (depending how many frames you shoot). The G16 has a new flexible aspect ratio while still letting the user shoot uncompressed RAW images. Using the PowerShot’s built-in Wi-Fi in conjunction with Canon’s Camera Window app on your iOS or Android device (or Canon Image gateway on a PC), you can wirelessly share your images.

Specs

Body type
Body type Compact
Sensor
Max resolution 4000 x 3000
Other resolutions 4000 x 2248, 4000 x 2664, 2992 x 2992, 2816 x 2112, 2816 x 1880, 2816 x 1584, 2112 x 2112, 1920 x 1080, 1600 x 1200, 1600 x 1064, 1200 x 1200, 640 x 480, 640 x 424, 640 x 360, 480 x 480
Image ratio w:h 1:1, 5:4, 4:3, 3:2, 16:9
Effective pixels 12 megapixels
Sensor photo detectors 13 megapixels
Sensor size 1/1.7" (7.44 x 5.58 mm)
Sensor type BSI-CMOS
Processor Digic 6
Image
ISO Auto, 80 - 12800
White balance presets 7
Custom white balance Yes (2)
Image stabilization Optical
Uncompressed format RAW
JPEG quality levels Superfine, Fine
Optics & Focus
Focal length (equiv.) 28–140 mm
Optical zoom 5×
Maximum aperture F1.8 - F2.8
Autofocus
  • Contrast Detect (sensor)
  • Multi-area
  • Center
  • Selective single-point
  • Tracking
  • Single
  • Continuous
  • Face Detection
  • Live View
Digital zoom Yes (4x)
Manual focus Yes
Macro focus range 1 cm (0.39)
Number of focus points 9
Screen / viewfinder
Articulated LCD Fixed
Screen size 3
Screen dots 922,000
Touch screen No
Screen type TFT PureColor II G LCD
Live view Yes
Viewfinder type Optical (tunnel)
Viewfinder coverage 80%
Photography features
Minimum shutter speed 15 sec
Maximum shutter speed 1/4000 sec
Aperture priority Yes
Shutter priority Yes
Manual exposure mode Yes
Subject / scene modes Yes
Built-in flash Yes
Flash range 7.00 m
External flash Yes (Hot-shoe)
Flash modes Auto, On, Off, Red-Eye, Slow Sync, Second Curtain
Continuous drive 12.2 fps
Self-timer Yes (2 or 10 sec, Custom)
Metering modes
  • Multi
  • Center-weighted
  • Spot
Exposure compensation ±3 (at 1/3 EV steps)
AE Bracketing (3 frames at 1/3 EV steps)
Videography features
Resolutions 1920 x 1080 (60 or 30 fps), 1280 x 720 (30 fps), 640 x 480 (30 fps)
Format MPEG-4, H.264
Videography notes Miniature Effect (720p, 480p): 6fps, 3fps, 1.5 fps; Super Slow Motion Movie (480p, 240p): 120, 240 fps; Star Time-Lapse Movie (1080p): 15 fps
Microphone Stereo
Speaker Mono
Storage
Storage types SD/SDHC/SDXC
Connectivity
USB USB 2.0 (480 Mbit/sec)
HDMI Yes (Mini)
Wireless Built-In
Wireless notes Wireless LAN (IEEE802.11 b/g/n)
Remote control Yes (Optional wired remote or via smartphone)
Physical
Environmentally sealed No
Battery Battery Pack
Battery description Lithium-Ion NB-10L rechargeable battery & charger
Battery Life (CIPA) 360
Weight (inc. batteries) 356 g (0.78 lb / 12.56 oz)
Dimensions 109 x 76 x 40 mm (4.29 x 2.99 x 1.57)
Other features
Orientation sensor Yes
Timelapse recording Yes (Star time-lapse movie)
GPS Optional
GPS notes via mobile (linked to compatible smartphone)

Reviews

User Reviews

4.81868 out of 5 stars
  • britepixels, Nov 30, 2013 GMT:
    Comments of a Canon G16 Camera

    I can only say Fantastic. this will be my 4th G series camera (G10, G12, G15, G16) and by far the G16 is the best yet. Thanks to the Digic 6 processor it is fast and accurate. One of the reasons I like the G series is the size. I take a lot of pictures for work and the camera is small enough to fit into my briefcase. One of the areas I have to photo document are Telecommunications and Data Closets. These closets can be dark and small. The G16 allows me to get close up for detail shots of ...

    Continue Reading

  • britepixels, Mar 22, 2014 GMT:
    G16 Review

    Fantastic camera, I have owned several g series cameras and this is the best by far. Very easy to use from a beginner to a pro. A small camera with big features. I leave it in P mode and just turn on and shoot, I came across a street scene in the middle of the night and hand held got a fantastic shot with out a tripod. This was due to the Digic 6 processor and the larger 1/1.7 sensor. This will stay in my kit for quite some time.

    Continue Reading

  • BrujoRick, Mar 23, 2014 GMT:
    Glad I bought one.

    Picked one up Yesterday. Am amazed at picture quality! Great video as well. Biggest bang for the buck out there. Expect to be using it a lot. Even my wife finds it easy to use and loves the results.

    Continue Reading

  • Clumsyfingers, Sep 13, 2014 GMT:
    Love this camera

    I wanted a bridge camera between my disappointing Nikon point and shoot and my Canon Rebel T1i. Actually more realistically to replace the Nikon. I've taken around over 1200 pics so far. Pros Excellent image quality. In fact, I hate to admit it, but it's better than my Rebel (with kit lens. I guess now I'll be buying a new lens!) Nice handling Fast time to 1st shot Fast focus Very good battery life Nice custom features. Camera level indicator is very nice Extremely fast burst speed. Good ...

    Continue Reading

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

What camera gives the most publishable results in the smallest package?

Hello! This is my first post even though I have been following dpreview for years now, on and off. I'm currently looking for a replacement for my Canon 40D. I'm in the market because I wan't to shoot video and pics of my future dog that will be born sometime in april onwards. The 40D doesn't have video and that's the main reason I need a new camera. I don't want to shoot crappy Samsung Galaxy S3 video. I'm also an artist, and although my photography has been on a break, I would like to have sufficient gear to shoot high qualiity art photography with. The 40D is a fine camera, but I'm not completely satisfied with the low accuracy for larger prints. Story of What I've Already Considered: I'm somewhat on a budget and at first I was considering a compact, like Canon Powershot S110 or Olympus Stylus XZ-2. I was debating the size. Then I went camera crazy and upped my budget. There came the Canon S120, G15 and G16. Fujifilm X20 etc. Then I found sony cameras, the Sony RX100 and RX100 II. ...

JMC Art asked
9 months ago

ANSWERS

For what you are looking for I think you should take a close look at micro four thirds cameras. The former Sony NEX line/new a6000 and similar apsc sensor mirrorless cameras are really nice. However, you are still essentially using lighter versions of apsc sized lenses. With micro four thirds you are getting a slightly smaller sensor but the lenses are also much smaller. This gives you a smaller overall package. The Panasonic GM1 is tiny. The system is also pretty mature so there are tons of lens options at various price points and a large market for used lenses compared to other mirrorless systems. I would take a look at the Panasonic GX7. It has great image quality in a small package and the auto focus is fast. All photos taken with a modern digital camera are publishable. In fact, you probably don't need more that 5 megapixels for enough resolution to publish something in a good sized print. Always remember, it is really the photographer that makes the photo, not the ... Continue Reading

John Carb answered
9 months ago

What camera was this taken with??? (or cell phone) If you want publishable results, ask yourself, what kind of theme's are you shooting? Nature, people, create your own (studio/outdoors) scene, action, close, far, National Geo, travel pics, social pics, product pics, and so on. I have a feeling that you may be happiest with the RX10, even though it is not the smallest - but it seems to bring together most of what you desire. It certainly has the best video quality. The RX100-II and Nex-6 with kit lens perform similar - you have to consider the Nex-6 with higher IQ (faster) lenses to make a difference. If so, the Nex-6/A6000 is a good choice. I have not looked at the G1X-II - it is RX10 like, but smaller (less reach), and it incorporates a larger (but Canon) sensor. Something else to consider. I would not consider anything with a smaller than 1" sensor. Continue Reading

blue_skies answered
9 months ago

Yeah, and I haven't seen a better sensor score in a smaller package. You really don't know what you want... as evidenced by your own responses to YOUR thread. You have successfully "milked" this thread for all it's (its) worth. Get a camera, take some pics, and get a life! Continue Reading

KwhyChang answered
9 months ago

QUESTION

Canon G16, Europenan and US Models

Hi all, this is my first time using this forum so please bear with me :-) I have been toying with the idea of buying a decent camera for the past while. I have made the decision not to buy a DSLR as I travel quite a bit and it wouldn't be practical for me. I am thinking about purchasing a Canon G16. I live here in Ireland and the price is shocking.!!! The price in the Netherlands is cheaper and a lot cheaper in the States. Can people give me their opinions regarding the Canon G16? And does anybody know if the Canon G16 is the same in the states as it is here in Europe? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Regards Padraic.

7 months ago

ANSWERS

One thing that makes buying an "import" vs. a for-country model is warranty.  You pay for every warranty you get on a product.  If you guy an "import" model it usually comes without a warranty, so if it has a problem (usually in the first year) you have to pay the full price of repair. Same goes if you buy from another country - it likely won't be supported by the brand's warranty support in your country.  There should be nothing different about the camera itself. Continue Reading

RedFox88 answered
7 months ago

I believe there will be different wall plug for your charger, And of course warranty is your main problem. I believe that if you try hard, You´ll find your G16 much cheaper. Found my SL1 new for 25% cheaper than standard e-shop price. That´s close enaugh to pull the trigger and buy it right in your country with full warranty. Continue Reading

crashpc answered
7 months ago

QUESTION

G15 or S110?

I'm trying to help a friend who wants a smaller alternative to carry around vs a DSLR. I have no first hand experience with either of these cameras.  Closest I've come to is the G16. The price difference is only approx. 50 dollars so it's not really the money unless saving the extra 50 is an added bonus.  The G15 is the more expensive. Other than the size and weight...........I'm not sure what differences are involved here. I suppose since both have the same size sensor (I believe) and both shoot in raw.....what else is there to know? Anyone have any experience with both and/or have any input to share?

LeeStG asked
9 months ago

ANSWERS

The s100 has a wider lens, touchscreen and wifi. The g15 has more external controls, a (small) viewfinder, a faster lens for better low light, and a longer zoom. To me, I'd think if it was a younger person or someone who likes gadgets, go with the S110. If its someone who is more of a traditionalist or a photography enthusiast, go with the G15. Hope that helps! Continue Reading

rpm40 answered
9 months ago

choose the camera with the faster lens. Continue Reading

Year77 answered
8 months ago

Thank you for the input.  Greatly appreciated. Continue Reading

LeeStG answered
9 months ago

Warranty Information

"Canon U.S.A., Inc. and Canon Canada Inc. (collectively "Canon") warrant to the original end‐user purchaser, when delivered in new condition in its original container, that the Product will be free from defects in materials and workmanship under normal use and service for a period of one (1) year from the date of original purchase. Product returned to a Canon repair facility and proven to be defective upon inspection will, at Canon’s sole discretion and without charge, be (a) repaired utilizing new, remanufactured, repaired and/or recycled parts; (b) exchanged for a new Product or; (c) exchanged for a refurbished Product, as determined by the Canon repair facility. Warranty exchange or replacement does not extend the original warranty period of the Product. "

Go to Canon USA's warranty page for more information. DPReview GearShop is an authorized Canon dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.