Canon PowerShot SX700 HS Compact Camera

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

Key Features

  • 16MP 1/2.3" BSI-CMOS sensor
  • 25-750mm F3.2-6.9 equivalent lens with optical image stabilization (30x optical zoom)
  • ISO 100-3200
  • 3" fixed LCD with 922,000 dots
  • Up to 9 FPS continuous shooting
  • Creative Shot, Smart Auto + PSAM and more shooting modes
  • 1080/60p, 30p HD video (H.264)
  • SD/SDHC/SDXC memory
  • Built-in Wi-Fi and NFC

Product Description

The PowerShot SX700 is a travel zoom compact camera, featuring a 25-750mm equivalent F3.2-6.9 lens and the company's latest DIGIC 6 processor. The SX700 has all of Canon's automatic and scene modes, but also includes PSAM manual exposure control modes for those who want a little more control. Wi-Fi and NFC are built in for simple wireless image sharing with a compatible smartphone. For photographers who get frustrated composing photos at long telephoto focal lengths, the SX700 includes a Zoom Framing Assist function that lets you quickly back out, recompose, and return to where you were. The camera also records high-quality 1080p/60p Full HD video through a dedicated movie button.

Specs

Body type
Body type Compact
Sensor
Max resolution 4608 x 3456
Other resolutions 4608 x 3072, 4608 x 2592, 3456 x 3456, 3264 x 2448, 3264 x 2176, 3264 x 1832, 2448 x 2448, 640 x 480, 640 x 424, 640 x 360, 480 x 480
Image ratio w:h 1:1, 4:3, 3:2, 16:9
Effective pixels 16 megapixels
Sensor photo detectors 17 megapixels
Sensor size 1/2.3" (6.17 x 4.55 mm)
Sensor type BSI-CMOS
Processor Digic 6
Image
ISO Auto, 100-3200
White balance presets 6
Custom white balance Yes
Image stabilization Optical
Uncompressed format No
JPEG quality levels Superfine, fine
Optics & Focus
Focal length (equiv.) 25–750 mm
Optical zoom 30×
Maximum aperture F3.2 - F6.9
Autofocus
  • Contrast Detect (sensor)
  • Multi-area
  • Center
  • Single
  • Continuous
  • Face Detection
  • Live View
Digital zoom Yes (4X)
Normal focus range 5 cm (1.97)
Macro focus range 1 cm (0.39)
Number of focus points 9
Screen / viewfinder
Articulated LCD Fixed
Screen size 3
Screen dots 922,000
Touch screen No
Screen type PureColor II G TFT
Live view Yes
Viewfinder type None
Photography features
Minimum shutter speed 15 sec
Maximum shutter speed 1/3200 sec
Aperture priority Yes
Shutter priority Yes
Manual exposure mode Yes
Subject / scene modes Yes
Built-in flash Yes
Flash range 3.50 m
External flash No
Flash modes Auto, on, slow synchro, off
Continuous drive 9 fps
Self-timer Yes (2 or 10 secs, custom)
Metering modes
  • Multi
  • Center-weighted
  • Spot
Exposure compensation ±2 (at 1/3 EV steps)
WB Bracketing No
Videography features
Resolutions 1920 x 1080 (60p, 30p), 1280 x 720 (30p), 640 x 480 (30p)
Format H.264
Microphone Stereo
Speaker Mono
Storage
Storage types SD/SDHC/SDXC
Connectivity
USB USB 2.0 (480 Mbit/sec)
HDMI Yes (micro HDMI)
Microphone port No
Headphone port No
Wireless Built-In
Wireless notes 802.11b/g/n with NFC
Remote control No
Physical
Environmentally sealed No
Battery Battery Pack
Battery description NB-6LH lithium-ion battery and charger
Battery Life (CIPA) 250
Weight (inc. batteries) 269 g (0.59 lb / 9.49 oz)
Dimensions 113 x 66 x 35 mm (4.45 x 2.6 x 1.38)
Other features
Orientation sensor Yes
Timelapse recording No
GPS None

Reviews

User Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
  • funzone, Jun 6, 2014 GMT:
    Great camera... when it works.

    I got my SX700 HS camera in early April 2014, just in time for vacation. We went to the Anza Borrego desert, the Salton Sea, Las Vegas, San Francisco and back home to Oregon, taking photos all the way. Overall I took over 2500 stills and videos. My first impression was that I LOVED this camera! It was fast, had no shortage of features including an amazing 30x optical zoom, and the resulting pictures were sharp and clear. Being on a trip, I took a lot of shots from a vehicle moving at about ...

    Continue Reading

  • Yodacat, Aug 29, 2014 GMT:
    A true Gem

    Got this unit as a handy travel camera - main camea Canon D5 with 100 - 400 Zoom which is too heavy to carry around. Worked well and I am truly impressed - takes good pictures and is quick to use - I haven't played with the myriad of settings yet - just bought it - charged it up - and bingo. I also use the Video Capture feature and I was mmore than pleased with the results. You can't go worng with this little gem

    Continue Reading

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

Help with new camera choice - travel and food

Hi all It's been several years since I bought a new camera. Last one was a Panasonic TZ9 which has succumbed to the 'dust inside' issue they seem to suffer from and it can't be fixed (we've tried). I don't want to go back to Panasonic as I wasn't really happy with the image quality and  I'd prefer to go back to a Canon which was what my original digital camera was (PowerShot A610). I still look at some of the pics I took with that camera and love them as they're so clear. The thing is -- I don't know which Canon to go for now! It's all getting so confusing trying to update my info on all the specs and what I really need. Basically, this is what I want:

BB14 asked
2 months ago

ANSWERS

I was quite happy with Canon A610. I've never found a camera like it since 2006. This spring I bought an Olympus XZ-1 which take very good pictures and has a rather fast lens. The range is not spectacular but still it has 4x (6-24 mm so the FOV would be like 28-112 mm on full frame). Canon A610, 140 mm EFL, ISO 50, f/4.1, 1/160 s Canon A610, 35 mm EFL, ISO 50, f/2.8, 5s, tripod Olympus XZ-1, 28 mm EFL, ISO 200, f/2, 1/30 s, Image stabilization Olympus XZ-1, 28 mm EFL, ISO 100, f/4, 1/1000 s I hope it helps. Continue Reading

baloo_buc answered
2 months ago

Just wanted to say thanks to everyone who offered advice on my camera choice. I ended up with the Canon G15 and so far I love it -- the macro is amazing!  Look at those apricots - yummy! :D Continue Reading

BB14 answered
2 months ago

If you particularly want to go for Canon then most of your requirements are met by the G15, still 349€ on amazon.fr, or the G16 (427€)if you can stretch your budget. The issue is what you might mean by a 'good zoom' -- the G15 only does 5:1. I had a Powershot A720 as my only digital camera for about 5 years and got on very well with it, although it's low light performance was a tad pointillist. The G15 is a lot better in low light and only very slightly larger than the A series -- I can fit it in most (rather than all) of my shirt pockets. The G series has full manual control available for exposure and focus. I'm planning on getting a ClearViewer for the times when I need critical manual focus, but for most purposes it isn't essential. http://clearviewer.com/Products.html G15 low light performance is pretty decent for a compact. These pictures are straight out of camera JPEGs. If you want to start doing more serious PP then the G series will also shoot RAW. Grab shot 1/100 sec f:2.2 ... Continue Reading

AlbertInFrance answered
2 months ago

QUESTION

Image quality of the SX700.

Hi, I'm looking at upgrading to this camera. I really like the look and feel of this camera. It seems to have great shooting options and has almost everything I'm looking for. My question is: how do people feel about the image quality? I have looked at some sample pictures on Flickr but I feel one there are not very many pictures and two the image quality isn't there, I was wondering if this was the camera or possibly the people taking the pictures. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Ttamzz asked
6 days ago

ANSWERS

I have some samples in my gallery, but I'm more of a point-and-shooter than a photographer so my shots may be similar to what you've seen.  I find the picture quality pretty good with a couple of quick post-adjustments. I know MarioV on this forum has posted some really nice shots with his SX700...you might want to check his gallery and posts. Continue Reading

chas413 answered
6 days ago

I set up and shot my wife's sx700 and am quite pleased with how well the IQ holds up through the zoom, including handheld IS at full zoom.  It has a lot of capability for its size. However, I was disappointed that I could not set up automatic bracket shooting such as I can on my s100 and sx40 HS.  My earlier question to this forum seems to confirm the absence of this feature rather than my inability to access it. Continue Reading

rowlandw answered
6 days ago

Hi Ttamzz I have had my SX700 since April and I love it. I have had a few Canon travel zoom camera's over the years and this one has excellent image quality, especially when used in Superfine Quality. I had a holiday in June and took over 3000 photos with it both outdoors and in car museums and I am very pleased with the results. I also took flowers in macro and converted many to HDR and had no problems. Shots up to ISO1600 are very clean and acceptable. I would recommend this camera to anyone looking for a good almost pocketable superzoom that is sharp at both 25 and 750mm handheld! Another camera to consider is a Nikon CP S9700. A friend had one and I borrowed it before getting the Canon. Its got the same 30xOptical range and produces very good results, only down side is the screen is very hard to see in  sunlight! Many need a LCD cover on it. Graeme Continue Reading

Graeme47 answered
6 days ago

QUESTION

How to hold the SX700 one handed?

I've just upgraded from a 5 year old Panasonic TZ7 / ZS3 to the Canon SX700 and while I love the new Canon, I am having a little bit of difficulty trying to hold it comfortably with one hand (right hand). The problem is where to put my thumb.  The Panasonic had a dedicated grip area for a thumb on the back of the camera, but the Canon doesn't.  Without thinking, I keep putting my thumb on the SX700's blue "play" button, as that's roughly where the Panasonic's thumb grip area was, thus I end up inadvertently turning the camera on.  I've also tried to place my thumb on the stiff program dial, and also right on the edge of the LCD screen. Anyone got any good tips on holding this camera one handed?

OzJamie asked
1 month ago

ANSWERS

I find that the ball of my right thumb fits nicely in the 9 o'clock gap between the dial and the raised edge of the screen. The dial is quite stiff so there is no danger of accidentally changing modes. With my right thumb in that position, my right finger is on the shutter release, and my middle and ring fingers curve naturally around the edge of the front grip. I find it a secure and natural way to shoot one-handed on the sx700 but I suppose it really depends on the size of your right hand. I say that because I have just tried holding it with my thumb over the blue play button and I cannot comfortably keep the camera level. Continue Reading

Lancaster answered
1 month ago

What about the idea of a shoulder pod Jamie. Does that sound too much over the top for such a small camera? I was thinking also of optimum stability. Continue Reading

filibuster answered
1 month ago

That's actually a good idea.  You're right - the dial is the stiffest of its sort I have ever experienced on any camera, so my thumb will definitely not turn it while placing it against its edge. I don't always shoot one handed, but for the times I do, your solution will work well. Continue Reading

OzJamie answered
1 month ago
  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.