Canon PowerShot SX700 HS Compact Camera

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

Key Features

  • 16MP 1/2.3" BSI-CMOS sensor
  • 25-750mm F3.2-6.9 equivalent lens with optical image stabilization (30x optical zoom)
  • ISO 100-3200
  • 3" fixed LCD with 922,000 dots
  • Up to 9 FPS continuous shooting
  • Creative Shot, Smart Auto + PSAM and more shooting modes
  • 1080/60p, 30p HD video (H.264)
  • SD/SDHC/SDXC memory
  • Built-in Wi-Fi and NFC

Product Description

The PowerShot SX700 is a travel zoom compact camera, featuring a 25-750mm equivalent F3.2-6.9 lens and the company's latest DIGIC 6 processor. The SX700 has all of Canon's automatic and scene modes, but also includes PSAM manual exposure control modes for those who want a little more control. Wi-Fi and NFC are built in for simple wireless image sharing with a compatible smartphone. For photographers who get frustrated composing photos at long telephoto focal lengths, the SX700 includes a Zoom Framing Assist function that lets you quickly back out, recompose, and return to where you were. The camera also records high-quality 1080p/60p Full HD video through a dedicated movie button.

Specs

Body type
Body type Compact
Sensor
Max resolution 4608 x 3456
Other resolutions 4608 x 3072, 4608 x 2592, 3456 x 3456, 3264 x 2448, 3264 x 2176, 3264 x 1832, 2448 x 2448, 640 x 480, 640 x 424, 640 x 360, 480 x 480
Image ratio w:h 1:1, 4:3, 3:2, 16:9
Effective pixels 16 megapixels
Sensor photo detectors 17 megapixels
Sensor size 1/2.3" (6.17 x 4.55 mm)
Sensor type BSI-CMOS
Processor Digic 6
Image
ISO Auto, 100-3200
White balance presets 6
Custom white balance Yes
Image stabilization Optical
Uncompressed format No
JPEG quality levels Superfine, fine
Optics & Focus
Focal length (equiv.) 25–750 mm
Optical zoom 30×
Maximum aperture F3.2 - F6.9
Autofocus
  • Contrast Detect (sensor)
  • Multi-area
  • Center
  • Single
  • Continuous
  • Face Detection
  • Live View
Digital zoom Yes (4X)
Normal focus range 5 cm (1.97)
Macro focus range 1 cm (0.39)
Number of focus points 9
Screen / viewfinder
Articulated LCD Fixed
Screen size 3
Screen dots 922,000
Touch screen No
Screen type PureColor II G TFT
Live view Yes
Viewfinder type None
Photography features
Minimum shutter speed 15 sec
Maximum shutter speed 1/3200 sec
Aperture priority Yes
Shutter priority Yes
Manual exposure mode Yes
Subject / scene modes Yes
Built-in flash Yes
Flash range 3.50 m
External flash No
Flash modes Auto, on, slow synchro, off
Continuous drive 8.5 fps
Self-timer Yes (2 or 10 secs, custom)
Metering modes
  • Multi
  • Center-weighted
  • Spot
Exposure compensation ±2 (at 1/3 EV steps)
WB Bracketing No
Videography features
Resolutions 1920 x 1080 (60p, 30p), 1280 x 720 (30p), 640 x 480 (30p)
Format H.264
Microphone Stereo
Speaker Mono
Storage
Storage types SD/SDHC/SDXC
Connectivity
USB USB 2.0 (480 Mbit/sec)
HDMI Yes (micro HDMI)
Microphone port No
Headphone port No
Wireless Built-In
Wireless notes 802.11b/g/n with NFC
Remote control No
Physical
Environmentally sealed No
Battery Battery Pack
Battery description NB-6LH lithium-ion battery and charger
Battery Life (CIPA) 250
Weight (inc. batteries) 269 g (0.59 lb / 9.49 oz)
Dimensions 113 x 66 x 35 mm (4.45 x 2.6 x 1.38)
Other features
Orientation sensor Yes
Timelapse recording No
GPS None

Reviews

User Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
  • funzone, Jun 6, 2014 GMT:
    Great camera... when it works.

    I got my SX700 HS camera in early April 2014, just in time for vacation. We went to the Anza Borrego desert, the Salton Sea, Las Vegas, San Francisco and back home to Oregon, taking photos all the way. Overall I took over 2500 stills and videos. My first impression was that I LOVED this camera! It was fast, had no shortage of features including an amazing 30x optical zoom, and the resulting pictures were sharp and clear. Being on a trip, I took a lot of shots from a vehicle moving at about ...

    Continue Reading

  • Yodacat, Aug 29, 2014 GMT:
    A true Gem

    Got this unit as a handy travel camera - main camea Canon D5 with 100 - 400 Zoom which is too heavy to carry around. Worked well and I am truly impressed - takes good pictures and is quick to use - I haven't played with the myriad of settings yet - just bought it - charged it up - and bingo. I also use the Video Capture feature and I was mmore than pleased with the results. You can't go worng with this little gem

    Continue Reading

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

SX700 question

Hello, I just bought my wife the SX700 and every thing is fine except that she keeps getting some sort of warning. The focus box will turn yellow with a little stop sign in the lower right corner with an exclamation mark in it. I can't find out what it is in the downloaded PDF manual. I'm guessing it's some sort of exposure warning, but I'm not sure. Can someone please tell me? Thanks!

leighton w asked
5 days ago

ANSWERS

It is a focus warning to let you know that the camera has not achieved focus. What is she trying to shoot when it happens? Usually it is because you are too close to the subject or because of low light. Continue Reading

arrow501 answered
5 days ago

Also, these cameras all use contrast focus, so if there is little contrast difference in the area of the scene that the focus square is pointing at then it will fail.  So if it is some plain painted wall with nothing on it then that will contain almost no contrast.  The photographer must take care of this by workarounds.  What I do is move the focus square to an edge or something well defined in the scene, then half press, once focus is locked then re-frame the scene as required and fully press the shutter button. Brian Continue Reading

brianj answered
5 days ago

Thanks guys! Continue Reading

leighton w answered
5 days ago

QUESTION

Image quality of the SX700.

Hi, I'm looking at upgrading to this camera. I really like the look and feel of this camera. It seems to have great shooting options and has almost everything I'm looking for. My question is: how do people feel about the image quality? I have looked at some sample pictures on Flickr but I feel one there are not very many pictures and two the image quality isn't there, I was wondering if this was the camera or possibly the people taking the pictures. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Ttamzz asked
22 days ago

ANSWERS

I have some samples in my gallery, but I'm more of a point-and-shooter than a photographer so my shots may be similar to what you've seen.  I find the picture quality pretty good with a couple of quick post-adjustments. I know MarioV on this forum has posted some really nice shots with his SX700...you might want to check his gallery and posts. Continue Reading

chas413 answered
22 days ago

I set up and shot my wife's sx700 and am quite pleased with how well the IQ holds up through the zoom, including handheld IS at full zoom.  It has a lot of capability for its size. However, I was disappointed that I could not set up automatic bracket shooting such as I can on my s100 and sx40 HS.  My earlier question to this forum seems to confirm the absence of this feature rather than my inability to access it. Continue Reading

rowlandw answered
21 days ago

Hi Ttamzz I have had my SX700 since April and I love it. I have had a few Canon travel zoom camera's over the years and this one has excellent image quality, especially when used in Superfine Quality. I had a holiday in June and took over 3000 photos with it both outdoors and in car museums and I am very pleased with the results. I also took flowers in macro and converted many to HDR and had no problems. Shots up to ISO1600 are very clean and acceptable. I would recommend this camera to anyone looking for a good almost pocketable superzoom that is sharp at both 25 and 750mm handheld! Another camera to consider is a Nikon CP S9700. A friend had one and I borrowed it before getting the Canon. Its got the same 30xOptical range and produces very good results, only down side is the screen is very hard to see in  sunlight! Many need a LCD cover on it. Graeme Continue Reading

Graeme47 answered
21 days ago

QUESTION

How good is video from SX700?

I am looking to replace my older P&S camera and the Sony CX12 camcorder with just one device. You guys, who shoot video with SX700, have you made some comparisons with videos taken with some dedicated camcorders? Thank in advance for your reply. Peter

flektogon asked
2 days ago

ANSWERS

Not compared to a dedicated camcorder.  I dont think you can pause video with cameras which is a shame. But the video on the SX700 really is excellent.  I put the video quality and detail a small step ahead of my previous Sony HX50. Continue Reading

MarioV answered
2 days ago
  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.