Canon PowerShot SX700 HS Compact Camera

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

Key Features

  • 16MP 1/2.3" BSI-CMOS sensor
  • 25-750mm F3.2-6.9 equivalent lens with optical image stabilization (30x optical zoom)
  • ISO 100-3200
  • 3" fixed LCD with 922,000 dots
  • Up to 9 FPS continuous shooting
  • Creative Shot, Smart Auto + PSAM and more shooting modes
  • 1080/60p, 30p HD video (H.264)
  • SD/SDHC/SDXC memory
  • Built-in Wi-Fi and NFC

Product Description

The PowerShot SX700 is a travel zoom compact camera, featuring a 25-750mm equivalent F3.2-6.9 lens and the company's latest DIGIC 6 processor. The SX700 has all of Canon's automatic and scene modes, but also includes PSAM manual exposure control modes for those who want a little more control. Wi-Fi and NFC are built in for simple wireless image sharing with a compatible smartphone. For photographers who get frustrated composing photos at long telephoto focal lengths, the SX700 includes a Zoom Framing Assist function that lets you quickly back out, recompose, and return to where you were. The camera also records high-quality 1080p/60p Full HD video through a dedicated movie button.

Specs

Body type
Body type Compact
Sensor
Max resolution 4608 x 3456
Other resolutions 4608 x 3072, 4608 x 2592, 3456 x 3456, 3264 x 2448, 3264 x 2176, 3264 x 1832, 2448 x 2448, 640 x 480, 640 x 424, 640 x 360, 480 x 480
Image ratio w:h 1:1, 4:3, 3:2, 16:9
Effective pixels 16 megapixels
Sensor photo detectors 17 megapixels
Sensor size 1/2.3" (6.17 x 4.55 mm)
Sensor type BSI-CMOS
Processor Digic 6
Image
ISO Auto, 100-3200
White balance presets 6
Custom white balance Yes
Image stabilization Optical
Uncompressed format No
JPEG quality levels Superfine, fine
Optics & Focus
Focal length (equiv.) 25–750 mm
Optical zoom 30×
Maximum aperture F3.2 - F6.9
Autofocus
  • Contrast Detect (sensor)
  • Multi-area
  • Center
  • Single
  • Continuous
  • Face Detection
  • Live View
Digital zoom Yes (4X)
Normal focus range 5 cm (1.97)
Macro focus range 1 cm (0.39)
Number of focus points 9
Screen / viewfinder
Articulated LCD Fixed
Screen size 3
Screen dots 922,000
Touch screen No
Screen type PureColor II G TFT
Live view Yes
Viewfinder type None
Photography features
Minimum shutter speed 15 sec
Maximum shutter speed 1/3200 sec
Aperture priority Yes
Shutter priority Yes
Manual exposure mode Yes
Subject / scene modes Yes
Built-in flash Yes
Flash range 3.50 m
External flash No
Flash modes Auto, on, slow synchro, off
Continuous drive 8.5 fps
Self-timer Yes (2 or 10 secs, custom)
Metering modes
  • Multi
  • Center-weighted
  • Spot
Exposure compensation ±2 (at 1/3 EV steps)
WB Bracketing No
Videography features
Resolutions 1920 x 1080 (60p, 30p), 1280 x 720 (30p), 640 x 480 (30p)
Format H.264
Microphone Stereo
Speaker Mono
Storage
Storage types SD/SDHC/SDXC
Connectivity
USB USB 2.0 (480 Mbit/sec)
HDMI Yes (micro HDMI)
Microphone port No
Headphone port No
Wireless Built-In
Wireless notes 802.11b/g/n with NFC
Remote control No
Physical
Environmentally sealed No
Battery Battery Pack
Battery description NB-6LH lithium-ion battery and charger
Battery Life (CIPA) 250
Weight (inc. batteries) 269 g (0.59 lb / 9.49 oz)
Dimensions 113 x 66 x 35 mm (4.45 x 2.6 x 1.38)
Other features
Orientation sensor Yes
Timelapse recording No
GPS None

Reviews

User Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
  • funzone, Jun 6, 2014 GMT:
    Great camera... when it works.

    I got my SX700 HS camera in early April 2014, just in time for vacation. We went to the Anza Borrego desert, the Salton Sea, Las Vegas, San Francisco and back home to Oregon, taking photos all the way. Overall I took over 2500 stills and videos. My first impression was that I LOVED this camera! It was fast, had no shortage of features including an amazing 30x optical zoom, and the resulting pictures were sharp and clear. Being on a trip, I took a lot of shots from a vehicle moving at about ...

    Continue Reading

  • Yodacat, Aug 29, 2014 GMT:
    A true Gem

    Got this unit as a handy travel camera - main camea Canon D5 with 100 - 400 Zoom which is too heavy to carry around. Worked well and I am truly impressed - takes good pictures and is quick to use - I haven't played with the myriad of settings yet - just bought it - charged it up - and bingo. I also use the Video Capture feature and I was mmore than pleased with the results. You can't go worng with this little gem

    Continue Reading

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

Sony SLTA77II and Tamron 16-300 vs Canon SX700

I've had my new Sony for a week now, exploring and learning all the features, and I'm pretty happy with it so far.  Today, decided to take some telephoto test shots, compared with my Canon Powershot SX700.  My first two shots were of a neighbor's deck and at first glance, thought the Canon was a bit sharper (had both set for 300mm, ISO 100, f/6.3, HH, with IS turned on). So, tried it again in my backyard, setting up a test shot about 60 feet away, with the settings on both cameras the same.  I placed a calculator on the lawn for my subject.  Again, surprised and shocked that the Canon P&S, with its small sensor and built-in lens, did as well as, or slightly better than, the a77ii (yes, I compared at 100%).  I am attaching the two photos for comparison with no post-processing.  Does this mean the Tamron lens is defective, or just not as good as the Canon lens?  I was hoping to use this lens for many situations, including birding, where I would probably want to crop a lot.  So, this ...

jimlock asked
2 months ago

ANSWERS

There are a number of factors at work here which make comparing two very different cameras difficult.  1) Out of camera JPEGs between two different cameras are subject to the processing that takes place in the camera.  Typically P&S cameras use stronger sharpening, contrast, and vibrance settings to give the picture "more pop".  SLRs generally do less processing in the JPEG and let you adjust how much will be done to your tastes.  2) The smaller sensor cameras use a shorter FL lens which has inherently more depth of field.  This results in objects outside the specific focal point being in focus giving an illusion of greater sharpness.  3) Don't compare 100& as the camera with higher pixel count will usually come out worse because you are zooming in further and magnifying the image more which also magnifies any faults.  Do select a specific portion of the photograph and enlarge so the same area is in both photographs for a true comparison,  4) It is possible that the "super zoom" ... Continue Reading

dlkeller answered
2 months ago

There are focusing issues here. The small sensor cameras have a very deep depth of focus, greater default contrast and more aggressive sharpening by default which can give the illusion of more detail. These things are what make P&S cameras good for casual shooting. Advanced cameras need greater knowledge and practice to get the best out of them. It all depends on whether you are willing to put some time in learning how to use your new camera to it's fullest capabilities. Continue Reading

tbcass answered
2 months ago

To verify all the right comments your OP received (a77 shot slightly front focussed, much less DOF and definitely better in the part where the shot is in focus), why not re-shoot the a77 shot (1) in manual focus (2) with focus magnification zooming the life view onto the target and nailing focus (3) on a tripod You will (1) get verification that the a77 II plus Tamron zoom lens IQ is better (2) grow into the cam by using some of its features (MF with magnifier) that a P&S lacks Enjoy! Continue Reading

Ralf B answered
2 months ago

QUESTION

Anyone give advise on either powershot sx50 or sx700?

Hi! My old canon broke and urgently need a new one for my trip. Those two models anyone use them before? Price wide sx50 is $20 more. But it is more bulky. But seems picture quality is better more zoom than sx700. Not sure which one to buy!!! Thanks

Sunshineyyz asked
2 months ago

ANSWERS

Both are last year's models. The SX50 is a bridge camera. The main advantage is extra reach. The SX700 is a pocket travel zoom. The main advantage is, it can always be with you, for size as well as social acceptability. Context: Just had a conversation with Sandra, about the role in each other's life , and in particular the role of my hobbies in hers. The outcome is that my pocket travel zoom is tolerable, if only just. (Olympus SH-1) Henry Continue Reading

Henry Falkner answered
2 months ago

Hi, I have compared the two. The sx700 is better on video but for photos the image quality is better on the sx50 slightly sharper and more detail and more versatile for those distant shots. I bought the sx50 but I also have the canon ixus 255 (ELPH 330) for carrying in the pocket. Cheers Steve. Continue Reading

stevenic answered
2 months ago

LOL me too. I have a SX50 in the car but when I am about I have a 330.  just receontly I found out what a gem it is after having it in my closet for almost a year. There was a canon REfurb S100 for $100 sale so I end up buying that and using it as a carry pocket. btw: you really need to look into CHDK to get some full manual control for the ELPH 330. I will NEVER want to go back to stock firmware after having use CHDK on it. Continue Reading

QUESTION

How to use Powershot SX700 HS for dark night shots??

Hello all, I have been using the SX700 about 2 months and have yet to figure out how to get good long exposure night shots. The main difficulty comes from the limitations on ISO (to 100) and illumnation time (to 15sec). I tried taking some shots under a full moon in snowy mountains, but with these settings it just comes out black. With the built in 'night mode' the shot also comes out black under such conditions. I imagine I would need to be able to change at least one of the ISO or Illumination to really get a shot. I've seen that the SX700 seems to be quite popular here. Perhaps someone can recommend if there is something I'm missing. If there is nothing to be done on the camera itself does anyone have experience with hacking the camera software to remove such limitations - is this even possible?? Any ideas? Thanks! Nic

nprace asked
2 months ago

ANSWERS

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.