Canon EOS Rebel T3 DSLR Camera Kit with EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS II Lens

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

69% Tried & Tested
The T3 shows that in the entry-level bracket, good ergonomics and a thought-out user interface can be more important than some additional bells and whistles.”

Read more of the review

Key Features

  • 12MP APS-C CMOS sensor
  • Up to 3 frames per second continuous shooting
  • 9-point AF system
  • ISO 100-6400
  • 720p HD video recording
  • 2.7-inch LCD with 230,000 dots
  • Eye-fi wireless SD card compatible menu options
  • Basic+ control menu
  • Q-menu for access to frequently-used settings

Product Description

The Canon EOS Rebel T3 is a solid entry-level DSLR with a price that will please the budget-conscious. A 12MP CMOS sensor produces images with natural color and good detail. Video recording is available at 720p HD resolution, and the T3 inherits a 63-zone color-sensitive metering system from the Canon EOS 7D. The EOS T3 is also outfitted with a 2.7-inch, 230,000 dot LCD. Beginners will like the Basic+ control menu, while more advanced shooters will appreciate the T3's manual controls and customization options. Frequently accessed settings are available through the camera's Q-menu, and shooters of all skill levels will find their way around the T3's interface quickly.

Specs

Body type
Body type Compact SLR
Sensor
Max resolution 4272 x 2848
Other resolutions 3088 x 2056, 2256 x 1504, 1920 x 1280, 720 x 480
Image ratio w:h 3:2
Effective pixels 12 megapixels
Sensor photo detectors 13 megapixels
Sensor size APS-C (22.2 x 14.8 mm)
Sensor type CMOS
Processor Digic 4
Image
ISO Auto, 100, 200, 400, 800, 1600, 3200, 6400
White balance presets 6
Custom white balance Yes
Image stabilization No
Uncompressed format RAW
JPEG quality levels Fine, Normal
Optics & Focus
Autofocus
  • Contrast Detect (sensor)
  • Phase Detect
  • Multi-area
  • Selective single-point
  • Single
  • Continuous
  • Face Detection
  • Live View
Digital zoom No
Manual focus Yes
Number of focus points 9
Lens mount Canon EF/EF-S
Focal length multiplier 1.6×
Screen / viewfinder
Articulated LCD Fixed
Screen size 2.7
Screen dots 230,000
Touch screen No
Screen type TFT color LCD, liquid-crystal monitor
Live view Yes
Viewfinder type Optical (pentamirror)
Viewfinder coverage 95%
Viewfinder magnification 0.8×
Photography features
Minimum shutter speed 30 sec
Maximum shutter speed 1/4000 sec
Aperture priority Yes
Shutter priority Yes
Manual exposure mode Yes
Subject / scene modes Yes
Built-in flash Yes (Pop-up)
Flash range 9.20 m
External flash Yes (Hot-shoe, E-TTL II)
Flash modes Auto, On, Off, Red-eye
Continuous drive 3 fps
Self-timer Yes (10 sec (2 sec with mirror lock-up))
Metering modes
  • Multi
  • Center-weighted
  • Partial
Exposure compensation ±5 (at 1/3 EV, 1/2 EV steps)
AE Bracketing ±2 (3 frames at 1/3 EV, 1/2 EV steps)
WB Bracketing Yes (3 images at -/+ 3 steps)
Videography features
Resolutions 1280 x 720 (29.97, 25 fps)
Format H.264, Motion JPEG
Microphone Stereo
Storage
Storage types SD/SDHC/SDXC card
Storage included None
Connectivity
USB USB 2.0 (480 Mbit/sec)
HDMI Yes (HDMI mini)
Wireless Eye-Fi Connected
Remote control Yes (E3 connector)
Physical
Environmentally sealed No
Battery Battery Pack
Battery description Lithium-Ion LP-E10 rechargeable battery & charger
Battery Life (CIPA) 700
Weight (inc. batteries) 495 g (1.09 lb / 17.46 oz)
Dimensions 130 x 100 x 78 mm (5.12 x 3.94 x 3.07)
Other features
Orientation sensor Yes
Timelapse recording Yes (by USB cable and PC)
GPS None

Reviews

DPReview Conclusion

Scoring is relative only to the other cameras in the same category at the time of review.

Score Breakdown
Poor Excellent
Build quality
Ergonomics & handling
Features
Metering & focus accuracy
Image quality (raw)
Image quality (jpeg)
Low light / high ISO performance
Viewfinder / screen rating
Performance
Movie / video mode
Value
Tried & Tested
Tried & Tested
69 %
Overall Score

The Canon EOS 1100D is a solid entry-level performer, but doesn't offer anything out of the ordinary. The image quality is decent, it's easy to use and beginners will find their way around the user interface pretty quickly. However, competition in the entry-level market is fierce and it is worth having a closer look at other options as well.

Good For

Beginners who want a solid entry-level camera for general photography

Not So Good For

Photographers who focus on video, extreme low light photography or anything that requires fast continuous shooting

User Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
  • july62, Apr 25, 2012 GMT:
    GREAT PIC QUALITY WITH ITS BEST 12MP APS-C SENSOR EVER..!

    It is a very shame for dpreview to give it %69 rating just because of i think it's plastic look with no rubberrized grip. I also think dpreview does not take into account its own studio test shot under "studio shots comparision" section where many brands being compared each other under same studio test shot and i can deffinately say that 1100D is the BEST re picture quality (high contrast,sharpness,colour accuracy and ISO performance) compared to many other brands and models based on my ...

    Continue Reading

  • SpaceSnail, Feb 23, 2012 GMT:
    My first DSLR

    Amazing value. The kit lense was great for learning how to use all the settings, and when combined with more specific use lenses gives stunning results. Bracketing function is useful, as is setting the timer for a series of auto-shots. Also when using live-view to take a phone, you can digitally zoom in. This helps adjusting manual focus, to give pin-point accuracy for shalllow field depths. Video recording very useful, and powerful tool with a DSL, and this camera gives great results. Partic ...

    Continue Reading

  • Oussouye, Dec 22, 2011 GMT:
    An amazing powerfull and lovely camera for Photographers and Pictures lovers

    I use video just for the fun. About photography, I use only Raw format, then and only if needed I could make a PNG, JPEG, or any formats. I don't use camera for sport or Formula (under zero) 1 pictures . What I like: - Light camera but full of gifts - Manual, Av, TV modes. ( but all canon DSLR offer that) - All the back buttons to one side ( the right one). Once right hand hold this camera lets your left hand free to control the lens or do anything else. - Accepting all Eos lenses ( all ...

    Continue Reading

  • vbess, Oct 30, 2011 GMT:
    Excellent Beginner DSLR

    This is an Excellent choice for someone who is learning or wants to learn the In's & Out's of a DSLR. It takes excellent pictures and the controls are very easy. If one is learning ISO/WB/Apeture & ShutterSpeed this is the camera for you. The body is nice and sleek with a great look. Its a shame DP gave it a 69% all because of the body design. But they did give it good reviews on the camera's tech and at 12mp that is more then enough. Again if your are planning one using a PRO DSLR or a more ...

    Continue Reading

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

SD card vs Micro-SD w/ adapter‏

Are there major differences between the two assuming the camera card slot is for SD/SDHC/SDXC? (aside from the form/size factor of course) SD form or MicroSD form for a camera fitted with an SD slot? I see that there are more options for micro-SDs in stores nowadays - usually fitted with SD-form adapters. Would the performance of the adapted micro-SD card be the same as an SD card assuming both are of the same class and speed rating? Any foreseeable risks involved in using adapted micro-SDs?

mgco asked
1 year ago

ANSWERS

Need to make sure that the adapter is not going to be a bottleneck. It seems like you might be safe if the adapter comes with the card and the manufacturer rates the whole package for a given speed, but you need to read carefully too! Reading a few reviews would be good too. Continue Reading

daroga answered
1 year ago

As far as I can tell, the adapter is only a piece of plastic with connectors to fit the micro card into a bigger slot. Should be no impact on performance. Using a micro card, however, will mean you will be at a greater risk of losing it :) Continue Reading

Aruta answered
1 year ago

If you leave the micro-SD card in the adapter there really isn't any greater chance of losing it. The one concern I have about using the micro-SD card in an adapter is the adapter is a possible failure point. I have a micro-SD card and adapter that I use in my D5100, and so far I have not had any issues with it. The underlying electronic components are the same no matter what, it is just a different package. Continue Reading

GeoffH answered
1 year ago

QUESTION

Close-up filter or extension tube on my Canon T3?

I bought a refurbished T3 on a promo a couple weeks ago and have really come to enjoy getting close to subjects. There's no way I can get a macro lens and now need to pick between a set of filters or a tube. All I have right now is the T3 body and the 18-55 mm kit lens. I'm comfortable with manual focus and finding the right lighting and distance, so I just want to know what will give me the best images with the lens I have. For examples of what I've been able to do with just the kit lens, here: https://www.flickr.com/photos/danielthiberge/ I'm not trying to promote myself (I'm 17) and if I'm not allowed to share my images on this post just let me know and I'll remove the link. Thanks!

rino757 asked
5 days ago

ANSWERS

A "close-up" filter is basically a magnifying glass. These do not do a very good job. A close-up adaptor on the other hand is a different animal. These are compound lenses that effectively magnify the image the camera's lens casts onto the sensor. As mentioned, good ones like the Raynox and Canon provide great detail without adding significant amounts of aberration. I have a Raynox DCR-250 that gives me a 1:1 magnification ratio with my 60mm lens, which gives a native 1:2 ratio. The images a clear, crisp, and sharp, and I paid less than $100 for the adaptor. Raynox also makes a DCR-150 with a different magnification factor. Regardless of what you go with, if you don't start with a good, sharp lens with a macro switch to begin with, your results will already be compromised. At that point it does no good to blame it on the adaptor. Continue Reading

wyldberi answered
3 days ago

I think the close-up filters really ruin the iq specially on a 18-55 which already isn't a good lens but they won't need extra lighting The tubes gives much better iq but they need a very well amount of light and may think of some very expensive ring flashes or regular flashes on or off camera. Another option is a reverse adapter for your lense but somehow hard to work with and again extra light required. But they are cheap and have great magnification. The better way I think is to replace your lens with some zoom - macros like tamron etc although they don't produce 1:1 magnification but still better than 18-55 with closeups or extension tubes or reverse mounted. What I really suggest is saving some bucks and getting a macro one. But if you're impatient may use a reverse ring adapter and maybe some modifications to the popup flash Continue Reading

basalsa answered
5 days ago

I prefer close-up lenses as there is no loss of light. If you buy good quality ones such as the Raynox 150, there is no detectable loss in image quality. Marumi is another good make, and I think Canon may make their own. Continue Reading

D Cox answered
5 days ago

QUESTION

Which zoom lens with macro function do you recommend?

Hi There, I'm relatively new to the digital SLR world. I have a Canon Rebel T3 and am currently using the kit lens. I would like to purchase a zoom lens with a greater zoom capacity and a macro function. Which lens would you recommend?

Tegan asked
1 year ago

ANSWERS

You can also add a Raynox DCR250 snap-on lens. It sells for less than $100 and will work with almost any lens. Here's a picture I took of a wine glass refracting one of my son's cups from behind it: http://www.flickr.com/photos/almarquardt/5840785119/in/photostream/ I shot it with my old Canon XTi and 18-55mm kit lens. The nice thing about the Raynox is it's a minimal investment, and still gives you an idea if you really want to pursue macros more thoroughly or not. If you find you like it, you can always purchase a more expensive macro lens. Continue Reading

AndraM answered
1 year ago

Canon 24-70 f/4 L IS. Or put another way: what's your budget? Continue Reading

Philip Kendall answered
1 year ago

I've never heard of this lens before.  This might be a fun purchase to do some real macro photography someday. Continue Reading

Hoogineer answered
1 year ago

WHAT'S IN THE BOX?

  • EOS Rebel T3 Body
  • EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS Type II Lens
  • Eyecup Ef
  • Wide Strap EW-200DB
  • Interface Cable IFC-130U
  • Battery Pack LP-E10
  • Battery Charger LC-E10
  • EOS Digital Solution Disk
  • Instruction Manuals
  • "Great Photography is Easy" and "Do More with Macro" Booklets

Compatible Products

Warranty Information

"Canon U.S.A., Inc. and Canon Canada Inc. (collectively "Canon") warrant to the original end‐user purchaser, when delivered in new condition in its original container, that the Product will be free from defects in materials and workmanship under normal use and service for a period of one (1) year from the date of original purchase. Product returned to a Canon repair facility and proven to be defective upon inspection will, at Canon’s sole discretion and without charge, be (a) repaired utilizing new, remanufactured, repaired and/or recycled parts; (b) exchanged for a new Product or; (c) exchanged for a refurbished Product, as determined by the Canon repair facility. Warranty exchange or replacement does not extend the original warranty period of the Product. "

Go to Canon USA's warranty page for more information. DPReview GearShop is an authorized Canon dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.