Canon EOS Rebel T5 DSLR Camera Kit with EF-S 18-55mm F3.5-5.6 IS II Lens

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

Key Features

  • 18MP APS-C CMOS sensor
  • ISO 100-6400 (expandable to 12800)
  • 9-point AF system
  • Up to 3 fps continuous shooting
  • 1080/30p HD video
  • 3" LCD with 460,000 dots
  • Feature Guide, Creative Filters, Basic+ and Creative Auto for beginners
  • GPS optional with compatible GP-E2 receiver
  • SD/SDHC/SDXC memory

Product Description

The Canon EOS Rebel T5 is a solid entry-level DSLR with a price that will please the budget-conscious. It improves upon its predecessor, the T3, by upping the HD video resolution to 1080 x 1920 and the sensor's resolution to 18 megapixels. The EOS T5 is also outfitted with a 3-inch, 460,000 dot LCD. Beginners will like the Basic+ control menu, Creative Auto, and Creative Filters, while more advanced shooters will appreciate the T5's manual controls and customization options. Frequently accessed settings are available through the camera's Q-menu, and shooters of all skill levels will find their way around the T5's interface quickly.

Specs

Body type
Body type Compact SLR
Sensor
Max resolution 5184 x 3456
Other resolutions 3456 x 2304, 2592 x 1728
Image ratio w:h 3:2
Effective pixels 18 megapixels
Sensor photo detectors 19 megapixels
Sensor size APS-C (22.3 x 14.9 mm)
Sensor type CMOS
Processor Digic 4
Image
ISO Auto, 100, 200, 400, 800, 1600, 3200, 6400
White balance presets 6
Custom white balance Yes
Image stabilization No
Uncompressed format RAW
JPEG quality levels Fine, Normal
Optics & Focus
Autofocus
  • Contrast Detect (sensor)
  • Phase Detect
  • Multi-area
  • Selective single-point
  • Single
  • Continuous
  • Face Detection
  • Live View
Digital zoom No
Manual focus Yes
Number of focus points 9
Lens mount Canon EF/EF-S
Focal length multiplier 1.6×
Screen / viewfinder
Articulated LCD Fixed
Screen size 3
Screen dots 460,000
Touch screen No
Screen type TFT color LCD, liquid-crystal monitor
Live view Yes
Viewfinder type Optical (pentamirror)
Viewfinder coverage 95%
Viewfinder magnification 0.8×
Photography features
Minimum shutter speed 30 sec
Maximum shutter speed 1/4000 sec
Aperture priority Yes
Shutter priority Yes
Manual exposure mode Yes
Subject / scene modes Yes
Built-in flash Yes (Pop-up)
Flash range 9.20 m (at ISO 100)
External flash Yes (Hot-shoe, E-TTL II)
Flash modes Auto, On, Off, Red-eye
Continuous drive 3 fps
Self-timer Yes (10 sec (2 sec with mirror lock-up))
Metering modes
  • Multi
  • Center-weighted
  • Partial
Exposure compensation ±5 (at 1/3 EV, 1/2 EV steps)
AE Bracketing ±2 (3 frames at 1/3 EV, 1/2 EV steps)
WB Bracketing Yes (3 images at -/+ 3 steps)
Videography features
Resolutions 1920 x 1080 (30, 25 fps)
Format H.264
Microphone Mono
Speaker Mono
Storage
Storage types SD/SDHC/SDXC card
Connectivity
USB USB 2.0 (480 Mbit/sec)
HDMI Yes (mini-HDMI)
Microphone port No
Headphone port No
Remote control Yes (E3 connector)
Physical
Environmentally sealed No
Battery Battery Pack
Battery description Lithium-Ion LP-E10 rechargeable battery & charger
Battery Life (CIPA) 500
Weight (inc. batteries) 480 g (1.06 lb / 16.93 oz)
Dimensions 130 x 100 x 78 mm (5.12 x 3.94 x 3.07)
Other features
Orientation sensor Yes
Timelapse recording Yes (by USB cable and PC)
GPS None

Reviews

User Reviews

4.25 out of 5 stars
  • CreeDo, Jul 22, 2014 GMT:
    Rebel T5 - a beginner's perspective after 2 months.

    On the one hand, it's the first camera I ever owned so I can't bring a whole lot of experience to the review. But I can at least rate how user-friendly it is to beginners. This is considered the most basic, inexpensive beginner DSLR you can buy from Canon, unless you get "last year's model" ...you can get a really good deal on a Rebel T3 for something like $300, $350 bucks. I paid $550 for this camera with the kit lens. If you already have a Rebel and were thinking "should I upgrade?" then ...

    Continue Reading

  • Raj RRc, Aug 18, 2014 GMT:
    Review on Canon EOS 1200DSLR

    Canon EOS 1200DSLR is very handy and easy to use. For amateurs, its the good enough for all aspects as its price is very reasonable.

    Continue Reading

  • Manoj RV, Oct 7, 2014 GMT:
    Review..

    Hi, I researched many cameras and read many forums before buying it. I plan to buy point-shoot camera But,finally got canon 1200d bcoz its good entry level Dslr. Adv: Image quality, sensor size, Mega pixels, ISO, Auto mode and Advance auto mode 1080-60fps video, internal and external flash, microphone- which helps to record clear audio with video Cons: No flip LCD and Image stablization

    Continue Reading

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

Canon EOS 600D vs 1200D

There are already so many comparison video and reviews on this topic already and Canon 600D is a clear winner specification wise. However this is more of a personalized question. Most of the reviews say there is not much of price difference between two. In India the difference is really big. With two kit lenses 1200D comes for ₹26,000 but 600D comes with ₹40,000 with the same lens. So I am sure 1200D will fit some people with lower budget and some use cases. My use case is that I have budget for 600D, but could I have saved ₹14,000K to get some accessories ? I have been using Point and Shoot cameras since last 8 years with Manual mode, even done some astrophotography also using a-focal method with my telescope. Now I need a SLR to really better image and use the telescope as lens. I don't have budget for full frame camera now. Would 600D make difference over 1200D from the low light noise level perspective which is with ₹14K ? Also note that I like shoot videos more often (One of ...

NeilGhosh asked
10 days ago

ANSWERS

It doesn;t serve anyone well. anyone that buys this camera makes a mistake. Canon went way to cheap. Display is awful. Sensor has no self cleaning function. Burst rate is a pathetic 3 Fps. and the viewfinder is the size of a peephole. It's just the worst Dslr on the market. Your better off with a second hand t2i/550d of 4 years old. Even that has the same image quality and faster operation speed. No it won't same sensor and processor. If your interested in this your looking at the wrong brand anyway. It isn't. Like the 1200d it doesn't have AF while recording video. It doesn't have the on sensor focus points yet. If you want video check mirrorless options from Panasonic or the compact LX100 which shoots 4k straight to the SD-card. Continue Reading

BarnET answered
9 days ago

It seems that you enjoy photography at lot.  Since it appears that you are more than a casual photographer, my suggestion is that you purchase the Canon T3i (600D) camera. The low light capability isn't that much different, but if you compare the two cameras on the internet, you should find that the Canon T3i (600D) camera is a much better choice. If you are trying to save even more money, you might consider a used Canon T2i (550D) camera with low shutter clicks (if you can get a good price for it in India).  That camera is also better than the Canon 1200D. Continue Reading

Digirame answered
8 days ago

Thanks - yeah I did consider 550D but I found here in India they were selling it for same price as that of 600D. Continue Reading

NeilGhosh answered
7 days ago

QUESTION

canon 1100d vs 1200d: worth the upgrade?

Hi, I am currently using the Canon EOS 1100D, and have been considering an upgrade for quite some time. Should I go for the new EOS 1200D? Is it actually worth the upgrade? Or should I consider models like 600D or maybe a Nikon camera (D3200 or D5200)?

maumeet asked
8 days ago

ANSWERS

Personally I don't think that upgrading to the 1200D would be worth it.  You would probably be much better off spending the money on a new/better lens, an external flash or a tripod. Upgrading to a 600D would make more sense if there is some facility that you need on the 600D that you haven't got on the  1100D.  However, you might still be better of buying a new lens, etc. If you move to Nikon you won't be able to use any lenses or other Canon equipment that you may have and you will have to learn a new system of camera controls.  Better to stick with Canon unless there is some function that Nikon can give you that Canon can't. Continue Reading

Chris R-UK answered
8 days ago

I think that they're essentially the same camera. The 1200D has a little better screen and video, but I wouldn't consider it an upgrade for someone who owns the 1100D. If you're happy with Canon then I would look at the 600D, 700D, or maybe a 60D or 70D.... -- Good luck and happy shooting! Continue Reading

thebustos answered
7 days ago

I think I would skip upgrading to any of the xxxD cameras and go for a 60D or 70D - it will be larger and heavier but offer a significant improvement in control and capability. The other options are too little change and Canon hasn't made vast strides in their sensors to justify a one generation upgrade. Continue Reading

NetMage answered
7 days ago

QUESTION

True Resolution?

Looking to get an entry level camera ($300-$400) and have been reading about "true resolution"- size of the sensor/pixel density... Example: FinePix SL1000 16mp = 9.7 mp Panasonic Lumix FZ70 16mp = 9.7mp Canon Rebel T3 12.2mp = 12.2mp Is this true? Would the T3 take better quality pics? I would be using a tripod and have all the editing software (PS, Perfect Effects, etc) Any suggestions would be apprectiated.

techronin asked
3 months ago

ANSWERS

I think you are referring to true resolution defined by snapsort which is, according to me, a bit nonsense. It is the resolution at average shooting conditions,  with an aperture like f3.5. It takes into account diffraction, so at the same aperture a smaller sensor will be more affected by diffraction. But this is nonsense not to take into account the lens max aperture of each camera !! If you shoot a picture at f16 with a FF camera, you are likely to use a much lower aperture with a 1/2.3" sensor. They should not compare the resolution with a similar f-number. Their true resolution concept is very specific to this site and is is my opinion a very bad idea. This is not at all relevant. Continue Reading

Christof21 answered
3 months ago

The sensor on the T3 is larger and ultimately offers more potential for high ISO work. However both high ISO capability and potential resolution are not really measures of an image's quality, IMO. A good visual composition usually far outweighs any technical factors. Continue Reading

darklamp answered
3 months ago

That's an interesting perspective to take, but I am surprised at using the APS-C sensor as 1:1 instead of dividing by its crop factor as well :) I'm not sure I would equate smaller sensors as being equivalent to a larger sensor at a lower resolution, but noise reduction for low light does reduce effective image resolution. In any case, sensor size has its biggest impact on low light or dark portions of brightly lit scenes, especially if your exposure is too low and you brighten in post. The FZ70 16MP is real used outside, in bright light, but there's also equivalent aperture to consider, and lens sharpness. Even inside the FZ70 might beat the T3i with its older kit lens, but be much worse than a prime lens. Continue Reading

NetMage answered
3 months ago

Warranty Information

"Canon U.S.A., Inc. and Canon Canada Inc. (collectively "Canon") warrant to the original end‐user purchaser, when delivered in new condition in its original container, that the Product will be free from defects in materials and workmanship under normal use and service for a period of one (1) year from the date of original purchase. Product returned to a Canon repair facility and proven to be defective upon inspection will, at Canon’s sole discretion and without charge, be (a) repaired utilizing new, remanufactured, repaired and/or recycled parts; (b) exchanged for a new Product or; (c) exchanged for a refurbished Product, as determined by the Canon repair facility. Warranty exchange or replacement does not extend the original warranty period of the Product. "

Go to Canon USA's warranty page for more information. DPReview GearShop is an authorized Canon dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.