Canon EOS Rebel T5 DSLR Camera Kit with EF-S 18-55mm F3.5-5.6 IS II Lens

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

Key Features

  • 18MP APS-C CMOS sensor
  • ISO 100-6400 (expandable to 12800)
  • 9-point AF system
  • Up to 3 fps continuous shooting
  • 1080/30p HD video
  • 3" LCD with 460,000 dots
  • Feature Guide, Creative Filters, Basic+ and Creative Auto for beginners
  • GPS optional with compatible GP-E2 receiver
  • SD/SDHC/SDXC memory

Product Description

The Canon EOS Rebel T5 is a solid entry-level DSLR with a price that will please the budget-conscious. It improves upon its predecessor, the T3, by upping the HD video resolution to 1080 x 1920 and the sensor's resolution to 18 megapixels. The EOS T5 is also outfitted with a 3-inch, 460,000 dot LCD. Beginners will like the Basic+ control menu, Creative Auto, and Creative Filters, while more advanced shooters will appreciate the T5's manual controls and customization options. Frequently accessed settings are available through the camera's Q-menu, and shooters of all skill levels will find their way around the T5's interface quickly.

Specs

Body type
Body type Compact SLR
Sensor
Max resolution 5184 x 3456
Other resolutions 3456 x 2304, 2592 x 1728
Image ratio w:h 3:2
Effective pixels 18 megapixels
Sensor photo detectors 19 megapixels
Sensor size APS-C (22.3 x 14.9 mm)
Sensor type CMOS
Processor Digic 4
Image
ISO Auto, 100, 200, 400, 800, 1600, 3200, 6400
White balance presets 6
Custom white balance Yes
Image stabilization No
Uncompressed format RAW
JPEG quality levels Fine, Normal
Optics & Focus
Autofocus
  • Contrast Detect (sensor)
  • Phase Detect
  • Multi-area
  • Selective single-point
  • Single
  • Continuous
  • Face Detection
  • Live View
Digital zoom No
Manual focus Yes
Number of focus points 9
Lens mount Canon EF/EF-S
Focal length multiplier 1.6×
Screen / viewfinder
Articulated LCD Fixed
Screen size 3
Screen dots 460,000
Touch screen No
Screen type TFT color LCD, liquid-crystal monitor
Live view Yes
Viewfinder type Optical (pentamirror)
Viewfinder coverage 95%
Viewfinder magnification 0.8×
Photography features
Minimum shutter speed 30 sec
Maximum shutter speed 1/4000 sec
Aperture priority Yes
Shutter priority Yes
Manual exposure mode Yes
Subject / scene modes Yes
Built-in flash Yes (Pop-up)
Flash range 9.20 m (at ISO 100)
External flash Yes (Hot-shoe, E-TTL II)
Flash modes Auto, On, Off, Red-eye
Continuous drive 3 fps
Self-timer Yes (10 sec (2 sec with mirror lock-up))
Metering modes
  • Multi
  • Center-weighted
  • Partial
Exposure compensation ±5 (at 1/3 EV, 1/2 EV steps)
AE Bracketing ±2 (3 frames at 1/3 EV, 1/2 EV steps)
WB Bracketing Yes (3 images at -/+ 3 steps)
Videography features
Resolutions 1920 x 1080 (30, 25 fps)
Format H.264
Microphone Mono
Speaker Mono
Storage
Storage types SD/SDHC/SDXC card
Connectivity
USB USB 2.0 (480 Mbit/sec)
HDMI Yes (mini-HDMI)
Microphone port No
Headphone port No
Remote control Yes (E3 connector)
Physical
Environmentally sealed No
Battery Battery Pack
Battery description Lithium-Ion LP-E10 rechargeable battery & charger
Battery Life (CIPA) 500
Weight (inc. batteries) 480 g (1.06 lb / 16.93 oz)
Dimensions 130 x 100 x 78 mm (5.12 x 3.94 x 3.07)
Other features
Orientation sensor Yes
Timelapse recording Yes (by USB cable and PC)
GPS None

Reviews

User Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars
  • CreeDo, Jul 22, 2014 GMT:
    Rebel T5 - a beginner's perspective after 2 months.

    On the one hand, it's the first camera I ever owned so I can't bring a whole lot of experience to the review. But I can at least rate how user-friendly it is to beginners. This is considered the most basic, inexpensive beginner DSLR you can buy from Canon, unless you get "last year's model" ...you can get a really good deal on a Rebel T3 for something like $300, $350 bucks. I paid $550 for this camera with the kit lens. If you already have a Rebel and were thinking "should I upgrade?" then ...

    Continue Reading

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

Photo light box what metering mode?

Hi I am using a photo box and with my SL1 I have the kit lens and the 2.8 40mm pancake lens I take photos of these rc products I make and was wondering what lens should I try and what metering mode? ( see un cropped actual photo) In the past I used my old T3 with the 50mm 1.8 II lens most of the time and sometimes it's kit lens and the Evaluative metering mode and they did not come out as good as I wanted them to. I am thinking 2.8 lens with center weighted metering mode? Any input will be great. THANKS

shenlonco asked
2 days ago

ANSWERS

As the subject is static and totally under your control, it is very easy for you to try both lenses and see which you like best. Quite possibly the kit zoom at the long end of the zoom range will be easiest for small subjects, but try it and see. They may not have turned out well for lots of reasons that have nothing to do with the lens used or the metering mode. With subjects like these, the lighting is crucial, as is the background. You also need to choose an aperture setting to give you the depth of field required. Getting the exposure right is easy because if it is wrong you simply adjust it and take the shot again (use either Exposure Compensation or set the exposure manually in Manual mode). I realise this is probably not quite the answer you wanted, but I hope it is helpful anyway. i would recommend that you use trial and error - it is a great way to learn more about your camera and lenses. Continue Reading

Tom Axford answered
2 days ago

I don’t think the metering mode is all that relevant. Since this is a static subject with presumably static lighting, as someone else mentioned, all you have to do is check the camera’s histograms and you should be able to get a precise exposure. I’d use the sharpest lens of the two, although both lenses are a bit short, in my opinion, for this kind of work — generally you want the camera far enough away from the product so that you can adjust things without bumping into the camera or tripod. You say that your photos do “not come out as good as I wanted them to”.  What are you comparing them to? Product photography is a difficult specialty, and there is a good reason why experienced product photographers get paid a lot. Instead, I’d try to find the look you are trying to emulate, and then ask how that can be done. Oh, what are rc products? I guess these aren’t Radio Controlled? :D Continue Reading

Mark Scott Abeln answered
1 day ago

Hi just got done taking some photos they came out pretty good I used the 2.8 40mm lens. They are Radio controlled car products. I used M mode ISO 400 with a F11 to 14 and adjusted the shutter speed for the exposer. this is right out of the camera no photo shop yet. I used the LCD mode with my SL1 It's funny anyone know why with the same shutter settings when using the LCD for shooting the shutter sounds very slow but if you use the normal mode through eye piece it sounds much faster? Continue Reading

shenlonco answered
13 hours ago

QUESTION

How good is the 18-55 mm kit lens that comes with the Canon T3?

Please don't give me alternatives like buying the T3i used, or mention other lenses. I just want to know about this one. Specifically, I'd like to know how close an object can be before the lens can't keep it in focus anymore. Also, what would that distance be shortened to if I stuck a +1, +2, +4 and +10 (all of these at once) on the kit lens? I'm interested in doing some basic "macro" photography (I know it's not "real" macro. Please don't get all technical about it) and certainly can't afford a proper macro lens. Again, I don't want to hear about cheap, used, macro lenses I can get online. Sorry if I sound rude, it's just that I've asked for help on several occasions and I always get a bunch of people giving their opinions on things I don't need help with.

rino757 asked
11 days ago

ANSWERS

The big CON of a reversal ring is you expose part of the lens that was never meant to be exposed. You risk getting dust and other contamination into areas of the lens that would require professional cleaning. If you are on a budget FORGET ABOUT using a reversing ring. It is being penny wise, and pound foolish. In my opinion extension tubes (the best you can afford). Read all the reviews. Continue Reading

TTMartin answered
9 days ago

also reversing rings can get stuck on the camera mount! Continue Reading

beagle1 answered
8 days ago

What's your budget for whatever kit ( e.g. close up lenses ) you plan to get instead ? So you want help, but you're bloody-minded enough to reject advice that might be in your budget ? Given your attitude stop reading here. Extension tubes. Ideally auto extension tubes. Continue Reading

darklamp answered
11 days ago

QUESTION

True Resolution?

Looking to get an entry level camera ($300-$400) and have been reading about "true resolution"- size of the sensor/pixel density... Example: FinePix SL1000 16mp = 9.7 mp Panasonic Lumix FZ70 16mp = 9.7mp Canon Rebel T3 12.2mp = 12.2mp Is this true? Would the T3 take better quality pics? I would be using a tripod and have all the editing software (PS, Perfect Effects, etc) Any suggestions would be apprectiated.

techronin asked
1 month ago

ANSWERS

I think you are referring to true resolution defined by snapsort which is, according to me, a bit nonsense. It is the resolution at average shooting conditions,  with an aperture like f3.5. It takes into account diffraction, so at the same aperture a smaller sensor will be more affected by diffraction. But this is nonsense not to take into account the lens max aperture of each camera !! If you shoot a picture at f16 with a FF camera, you are likely to use a much lower aperture with a 1/2.3" sensor. They should not compare the resolution with a similar f-number. Their true resolution concept is very specific to this site and is is my opinion a very bad idea. This is not at all relevant. Continue Reading

Christof21 answered
1 month ago

The sensor on the T3 is larger and ultimately offers more potential for high ISO work. However both high ISO capability and potential resolution are not really measures of an image's quality, IMO. A good visual composition usually far outweighs any technical factors. Continue Reading

darklamp answered
1 month ago

That's an interesting perspective to take, but I am surprised at using the APS-C sensor as 1:1 instead of dividing by its crop factor as well :) I'm not sure I would equate smaller sensors as being equivalent to a larger sensor at a lower resolution, but noise reduction for low light does reduce effective image resolution. In any case, sensor size has its biggest impact on low light or dark portions of brightly lit scenes, especially if your exposure is too low and you brighten in post. The FZ70 16MP is real used outside, in bright light, but there's also equivalent aperture to consider, and lens sharpness. Even inside the FZ70 might beat the T3i with its older kit lens, but be much worse than a prime lens. Continue Reading

NetMage answered
1 month ago

Warranty Information

"Canon U.S.A., Inc. and Canon Canada Inc. (collectively "Canon") warrant to the original end‐user purchaser, when delivered in new condition in its original container, that the Product will be free from defects in materials and workmanship under normal use and service for a period of one (1) year from the date of original purchase. Product returned to a Canon repair facility and proven to be defective upon inspection will, at Canon’s sole discretion and without charge, be (a) repaired utilizing new, remanufactured, repaired and/or recycled parts; (b) exchanged for a new Product or; (c) exchanged for a refurbished Product, as determined by the Canon repair facility. Warranty exchange or replacement does not extend the original warranty period of the Product. "

Go to Canon USA's warranty page for more information. DPReview GearShop is an authorized Canon dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.