Canon EOS Rebel T5 DSLR Camera Kit with EF-S 18-55mm F3.5-5.6 IS II Lens

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

Key Features

  • 18MP APS-C CMOS sensor
  • ISO 100-6400 (expandable to 12800)
  • 9-point AF system
  • Up to 3 fps continuous shooting
  • 1080/30p HD video
  • 3" LCD with 460,000 dots
  • Feature Guide, Creative Filters, Basic+ and Creative Auto for beginners
  • GPS optional with compatible GP-E2 receiver
  • SD/SDHC/SDXC memory

Product Description

The Canon EOS Rebel T5 is a solid entry-level DSLR with a price that will please the budget-conscious. It improves upon its predecessor, the T3, by upping the HD video resolution to 1080 x 1920 and the sensor's resolution to 18 megapixels. The EOS T5 is also outfitted with a 3-inch, 460,000 dot LCD. Beginners will like the Basic+ control menu, Creative Auto, and Creative Filters, while more advanced shooters will appreciate the T5's manual controls and customization options. Frequently accessed settings are available through the camera's Q-menu, and shooters of all skill levels will find their way around the T5's interface quickly.

Specs

Body type
Body type Compact SLR
Sensor
Max resolution 5184 x 3456
Other resolutions 3456 x 2304, 2592 x 1728
Image ratio w:h 3:2
Effective pixels 18 megapixels
Sensor photo detectors 19 megapixels
Sensor size APS-C (22.3 x 14.9 mm)
Sensor type CMOS
Processor Digic 4
Image
ISO Auto, 100, 200, 400, 800, 1600, 3200, 6400
White balance presets 6
Custom white balance Yes
Image stabilization No
Uncompressed format RAW
JPEG quality levels Fine, Normal
Optics & Focus
Autofocus
  • Contrast Detect (sensor)
  • Phase Detect
  • Multi-area
  • Selective single-point
  • Single
  • Continuous
  • Face Detection
  • Live View
Digital zoom No
Manual focus Yes
Number of focus points 9
Lens mount Canon EF/EF-S
Focal length multiplier 1.6×
Screen / viewfinder
Articulated LCD Fixed
Screen size 3
Screen dots 460,000
Touch screen No
Screen type TFT color LCD, liquid-crystal monitor
Live view Yes
Viewfinder type Optical (pentamirror)
Viewfinder coverage 95%
Viewfinder magnification 0.8×
Photography features
Minimum shutter speed 30 sec
Maximum shutter speed 1/4000 sec
Aperture priority Yes
Shutter priority Yes
Manual exposure mode Yes
Subject / scene modes Yes
Built-in flash Yes (Pop-up)
Flash range 9.20 m (at ISO 100)
External flash Yes (Hot-shoe, E-TTL II)
Flash modes Auto, On, Off, Red-eye
Continuous drive 3 fps
Self-timer Yes (10 sec (2 sec with mirror lock-up))
Metering modes
  • Multi
  • Center-weighted
  • Partial
Exposure compensation ±5 (at 1/3 EV, 1/2 EV steps)
AE Bracketing ±2 (3 frames at 1/3 EV, 1/2 EV steps)
WB Bracketing Yes (3 images at -/+ 3 steps)
Videography features
Resolutions 1920 x 1080 (30, 25 fps)
Format H.264
Microphone Mono
Speaker Mono
Storage
Storage types SD/SDHC/SDXC card
Connectivity
USB USB 2.0 (480 Mbit/sec)
HDMI Yes (mini-HDMI)
Microphone port No
Headphone port No
Remote control Yes (E3 connector)
Physical
Environmentally sealed No
Battery Battery Pack
Battery description Lithium-Ion LP-E10 rechargeable battery & charger
Battery Life (CIPA) 500
Weight (inc. batteries) 480 g (1.06 lb / 16.93 oz)
Dimensions 130 x 100 x 78 mm (5.12 x 3.94 x 3.07)
Other features
Orientation sensor Yes
Timelapse recording Yes (by USB cable and PC)
GPS None

Reviews

User Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars
  • CreeDo, Jul 22, 2014 GMT:
    Rebel T5 - a beginner's perspective after 2 months.

    On the one hand, it's the first camera I ever owned so I can't bring a whole lot of experience to the review. But I can at least rate how user-friendly it is to beginners. This is considered the most basic, inexpensive beginner DSLR you can buy from Canon, unless you get "last year's model" ...you can get a really good deal on a Rebel T3 for something like $300, $350 bucks. I paid $550 for this camera with the kit lens. If you already have a Rebel and were thinking "should I upgrade?" then ...

    Continue Reading

  • Raj RRc, Aug 18, 2014 GMT:
    Review on Canon EOS 1200DSLR

    Canon EOS 1200DSLR is very handy and easy to use. For amateurs, its the good enough for all aspects as its price is very reasonable.

    Continue Reading

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

True Resolution?

Looking to get an entry level camera ($300-$400) and have been reading about "true resolution"- size of the sensor/pixel density... Example: FinePix SL1000 16mp = 9.7 mp Panasonic Lumix FZ70 16mp = 9.7mp Canon Rebel T3 12.2mp = 12.2mp Is this true? Would the T3 take better quality pics? I would be using a tripod and have all the editing software (PS, Perfect Effects, etc) Any suggestions would be apprectiated.

techronin asked
3 months ago

ANSWERS

I think you are referring to true resolution defined by snapsort which is, according to me, a bit nonsense. It is the resolution at average shooting conditions,  with an aperture like f3.5. It takes into account diffraction, so at the same aperture a smaller sensor will be more affected by diffraction. But this is nonsense not to take into account the lens max aperture of each camera !! If you shoot a picture at f16 with a FF camera, you are likely to use a much lower aperture with a 1/2.3" sensor. They should not compare the resolution with a similar f-number. Their true resolution concept is very specific to this site and is is my opinion a very bad idea. This is not at all relevant. Continue Reading

Christof21 answered
3 months ago

The sensor on the T3 is larger and ultimately offers more potential for high ISO work. However both high ISO capability and potential resolution are not really measures of an image's quality, IMO. A good visual composition usually far outweighs any technical factors. Continue Reading

darklamp answered
3 months ago

That's an interesting perspective to take, but I am surprised at using the APS-C sensor as 1:1 instead of dividing by its crop factor as well :) I'm not sure I would equate smaller sensors as being equivalent to a larger sensor at a lower resolution, but noise reduction for low light does reduce effective image resolution. In any case, sensor size has its biggest impact on low light or dark portions of brightly lit scenes, especially if your exposure is too low and you brighten in post. The FZ70 16MP is real used outside, in bright light, but there's also equivalent aperture to consider, and lens sharpness. Even inside the FZ70 might beat the T3i with its older kit lens, but be much worse than a prime lens. Continue Reading

NetMage answered
3 months ago

QUESTION

Anyone has/had a PKS R&D T5 Geared Ball head?

I'm looking for first hand experience with this head. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ebesLPubsEM It looks very interesting but there is almost zero information on it beyond this (and similar) video.

OBender asked
1 month ago

ANSWERS

I find their claims to be greatly exaggerated, and am in no hurry to try one (for me, that's saying something, because there's not much macro gear in the world that I haven't shot). KPS compares their product constantly to the Arca C1 Cube. It's really nothing like the cube (or its clone, the Photoclam Multiflex). Those are "goniometer movement" gear heads. They have greatly reduced yaw (the plunging of the lens towards and away from the subject as you tilt forward or back, or the lateral movement of the lens as you swing side to side). Macro photographers prize that capability because it means you need much less recomposing after a tilt or swing. The T5 head, like my workhorse Manfrotto, exaggerates yaw, instead of reducing it. Since the T5 has a limited 30 degree motion capability (and they don't say whether that's a true +/- 30 degrees, or just +/- 15 degrees, 30 degrees "total") I'll stick with the 120 degree (-90 +30 degree) capability of my favorite Manfrotto gear head. Continue Reading

1 month ago

I have both the 405 and the 410. I prefer the larger 405. The 410 is smaller, but positions the camera off center. I built an ARCA adapter that corrected this, like Hejnar now sells. The heavier 405 is already centered. The quick motion controls work easier on the 405. Continue Reading

1 month ago

Thank you, what kind of Manfrotto head do you use, if I may ask? Continue Reading

OBender answered
1 month ago

QUESTION

Upgrading from the Canon Rebel T3??

Hi there, I currently have the Canon Rebel T3 - I'm a beginner and right now I mainly shoot landscape scenery/wildlife and family, kids etc. I have read that the T3 is maybe not the greatest of the Rebel series and I'm wanting to upgrade as I've had this one for a few years and I see the T5i has more features. I'm just wondering if those with experience or knowledge can weigh in with your thoughts/opinions. Thanks! Spring

Springer79 asked
1 month ago

ANSWERS

T3 is pretty much rock bottom as far as Canon DSLRs go, but that doesn't mean it's not a capable camera. I would have to say, however, that your reasons are entirely wrong.  Just because you 'read something' or 'been told something', or 'see that something has more features',  That is not a reason to upgrade.   Technology evolves fast - so whatever you got, there is bound to be something better on the market pretty soon. The million dollar question is:   Specifically, what is it about your camera that does not satisfy YOU?  Which features do you think you lack that are present on better models and would give you a significant improvement?   You need to have a good understanding of those features and the ways you can benefit from them.   For example, among other things that prompted me to upgrade was abysmally small RAW burst buffer on the Rebels - at 6 shots, you pretty much need to give up RAW to do any kind of action. Once you thoroughly investigate what is it you find ... Continue Reading

scorrpio answered
1 month ago

what specifically about your T3 is holding you back?  The T3 is more than competent enough to shoot landscapes, etc. Until you answer that question you will have no idea what to look for in a new camera. Unless you just want to spend some $$. Tedolph Continue Reading

tedolf answered
1 month ago

Link for a lot of opinions on Canon choices - http://www.dpreview.com/forums/thread/3575921 Kelly Cook Continue Reading

KCook answered
1 month ago

Warranty Information

"Canon U.S.A., Inc. and Canon Canada Inc. (collectively "Canon") warrant to the original end‐user purchaser, when delivered in new condition in its original container, that the Product will be free from defects in materials and workmanship under normal use and service for a period of one (1) year from the date of original purchase. Product returned to a Canon repair facility and proven to be defective upon inspection will, at Canon’s sole discretion and without charge, be (a) repaired utilizing new, remanufactured, repaired and/or recycled parts; (b) exchanged for a new Product or; (c) exchanged for a refurbished Product, as determined by the Canon repair facility. Warranty exchange or replacement does not extend the original warranty period of the Product. "

Go to Canon USA's warranty page for more information. DPReview GearShop is an authorized Canon dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.