Canon EOS Rebel T5 DSLR Camera Kit with EF-S 18-55mm F3.5-5.6 IS II Lens

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

Key Features

  • 18MP APS-C CMOS sensor
  • ISO 100-6400 (expandable to 12800)
  • 9-point AF system
  • Up to 3 fps continuous shooting
  • 1080/30p HD video
  • 3" LCD with 460,000 dots
  • Feature Guide, Creative Filters, Basic+ and Creative Auto for beginners
  • GPS optional with compatible GP-E2 receiver
  • SD/SDHC/SDXC memory

Product Description

The Canon EOS Rebel T5 is a solid entry-level DSLR with a price that will please the budget-conscious. It improves upon its predecessor, the T3, by upping the HD video resolution to 1080 x 1920 and the sensor's resolution to 18 megapixels. The EOS T5 is also outfitted with a 3-inch, 460,000 dot LCD. Beginners will like the Basic+ control menu, Creative Auto, and Creative Filters, while more advanced shooters will appreciate the T5's manual controls and customization options. Frequently accessed settings are available through the camera's Q-menu, and shooters of all skill levels will find their way around the T5's interface quickly.

Specs

Body type
Body type Compact SLR
Sensor
Max resolution 5184 x 3456
Other resolutions 3456 x 2304, 2592 x 1728
Image ratio w:h 3:2
Effective pixels 18 megapixels
Sensor photo detectors 19 megapixels
Sensor size APS-C (22.3 x 14.9 mm)
Sensor type CMOS
Processor Digic 4
Image
ISO Auto, 100, 200, 400, 800, 1600, 3200, 6400
White balance presets 6
Custom white balance Yes
Image stabilization No
Uncompressed format RAW
JPEG quality levels Fine, Normal
Optics & Focus
Autofocus
  • Contrast Detect (sensor)
  • Phase Detect
  • Multi-area
  • Selective single-point
  • Single
  • Continuous
  • Face Detection
  • Live View
Digital zoom No
Manual focus Yes
Number of focus points 9
Lens mount Canon EF/EF-S
Focal length multiplier 1.6×
Screen / viewfinder
Articulated LCD Fixed
Screen size 3
Screen dots 460,000
Touch screen No
Screen type TFT color LCD, liquid-crystal monitor
Live view Yes
Viewfinder type Optical (pentamirror)
Viewfinder coverage 95%
Viewfinder magnification 0.8×
Photography features
Minimum shutter speed 30 sec
Maximum shutter speed 1/4000 sec
Aperture priority Yes
Shutter priority Yes
Manual exposure mode Yes
Subject / scene modes Yes
Built-in flash Yes (Pop-up)
Flash range 9.20 m (at ISO 100)
External flash Yes (Hot-shoe, E-TTL II)
Flash modes Auto, On, Off, Red-eye
Continuous drive 3 fps
Self-timer Yes (10 sec (2 sec with mirror lock-up))
Metering modes
  • Multi
  • Center-weighted
  • Partial
Exposure compensation ±5 (at 1/3 EV, 1/2 EV steps)
AE Bracketing ±2 (3 frames at 1/3 EV, 1/2 EV steps)
WB Bracketing Yes (3 images at -/+ 3 steps)
Videography features
Resolutions 1920 x 1080 (30, 25 fps)
Format H.264
Microphone Mono
Speaker Mono
Storage
Storage types SD/SDHC/SDXC card
Connectivity
USB USB 2.0 (480 Mbit/sec)
HDMI Yes (mini-HDMI)
Microphone port No
Headphone port No
Remote control Yes (E3 connector)
Physical
Environmentally sealed No
Battery Battery Pack
Battery description Lithium-Ion LP-E10 rechargeable battery & charger
Battery Life (CIPA) 500
Weight (inc. batteries) 480 g (1.06 lb / 16.93 oz)
Dimensions 130 x 100 x 78 mm (5.12 x 3.94 x 3.07)
Other features
Orientation sensor Yes
Timelapse recording Yes (by USB cable and PC)
GPS None

Reviews

User Reviews

4.33333 out of 5 stars
  • CreeDo, Jul 22, 2014 GMT:
    Rebel T5 - a beginner's perspective after 2 months.

    On the one hand, it's the first camera I ever owned so I can't bring a whole lot of experience to the review. But I can at least rate how user-friendly it is to beginners. This is considered the most basic, inexpensive beginner DSLR you can buy from Canon, unless you get "last year's model" ...you can get a really good deal on a Rebel T3 for something like $300, $350 bucks. I paid $550 for this camera with the kit lens. If you already have a Rebel and were thinking "should I upgrade?" then ...

    Continue Reading

  • Raj RRc, Aug 18, 2014 GMT:
    Review on Canon EOS 1200DSLR

    Canon EOS 1200DSLR is very handy and easy to use. For amateurs, its the good enough for all aspects as its price is very reasonable.

    Continue Reading

  • Manoj RV, Oct 7, 2014 GMT:
    Review..

    Hi, I researched many cameras and read many forums before buying it. I plan to buy point-shoot camera But,finally got canon 1200d bcoz its good entry level Dslr. Adv: Image quality, sensor size, Mega pixels, ISO, Auto mode and Advance auto mode 1080-60fps video, internal and external flash, microphone- which helps to record clear audio with video Cons: No flip LCD and Image stablization

    Continue Reading

  • DonKofAK, Dec 5, 2014 GMT:
    A capable entry-level camera

    My friends at Consumer Reports led me to believe the T5 and the T5i were quite similar, except for the articulating LCD which I now believe is a real convenience at times and probably worth an extra $100. I have David Busch's book on the Rebel T5 / 1200D that tells me far more than Canon's User Manual does. It seems the T5 is a new entry level camera that does a fine job as a point-and-shoot with the option of changing lenses. While that's true, it seems the T5 has some features usually found ...

    Continue Reading

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

Camera Shopping Canon t3i, Nikon D3200, Canon t5,

I'm looking to buy my first DSLR camera. There seem to be a lot of black friday sales so I thought I'd take advantage and buy a camera this weekend. My budget is $600 or less and i want to stick with Canon or Nikon. I enjoy shooting landscape mostly with sunrise/sunset & beach scenes as well as some of friends and family. I would like something that is decent in low light because I'm interested in learning to photograph the moon and stars. I've found the following that fit my price range: 1. Canon EOS Rebel T3i with EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS and EF 75-300mm f/4-5.6 III Lenses ($500 best buy) 2. Canon EOS Rebel T5 with 18-55mm Lens, Extra 75-300mm Lens ($450 best buy) 3. Canon EOS T5i refurbished with 18-55mm IS STM Lens Kit ($510) 4. Nikon D3300 with 18-55mm Lens ($500 target) 5. Nikon D3200 with 18-55mm and 55-200mm Lenses ($500 best buy) 6. Nikon D5200 refurbished with 18-55mm VR Kit Lens ($500) Any suggestions would be appreciated! Also, what are your thoughts on mirrorless cameras?

kdt7943 asked
25 days ago

ANSWERS

He's a well known Canon basher and will promote any camera other than Canon no matter what. Continue Reading

Joseph Black answered
23 days ago

Good body. Second lens is a lemon. Basic body. Ibidem for the telephoto lens. Very few differences versus T3i. It is refurbished so it had either a flaw or was on display. Basic body. Outstanding IQ. Good lens if it is the VR version (as I guess). Basic body. Very little difference from D3300 (just a year older). 55-200 mm VR lens is quite good. A better body. You may have issues with the more complicate AF system that caused havoc for the users of D7000, D5200, D5300, D600 and D610 that cannot master it. No AF fine tune. You seem to have a $500 budget. Mirrorless are not very cheap. I got an Olympus E-PL5 at 50% and still it cost more than $560. It was a twin kit, though. Maybe the situation is not so bad in your country. MFT are appropriate if you don't need very good high ISO. Sony and Fuji have larger sensors but also cost more. Sony has some cheap alternatives (e.g. A5000) but their lenses are not very good. ISO 1250, f/3.5, 1/10 s, 14 mm (Olympus E-PL5) Full resolution Not a ... Continue Reading

baloo_buc answered
23 days ago

I would suggest the Nikon D3300 with 18-55mm lens, particularly if the lens is the newer, collapsible version, which is supposed to be quite good. The telephoto lenses included in the other deals are probably not optimum for your needs, and if you do go for a deal that includes a telephoto lens, check to see if is a "Stabilised" version. You might eventually add a 35mm f/1.8 prime lens to your kit. This would be good for low-light photography. I started with a D3200 and 18-55m lens, and that setup can produce some remarkable results for the price. Continue Reading

WryCuda answered
25 days ago

QUESTION

Canon Rebel ?

I am a new photographer and do not have very much experience. I am wanting to get into photography more and possibly go into professional photography in the future. My budget is currently $500-1000 for my first camera and lenses. I am considering the canon rebel t4i, t5, or t5i. What camera would you recommend between these three or what other camera would you recommend? I am looking at purchasing the Canon Rebel T5 bundle that is on the following link: http://slickdeals.net/blackfriday/stores/best-buy/adscans/12962 and then maybe buying another lens later on.  Is this a good deal in your opinion and would it be a good camera that I could learn a lot on and then upgrade to a different camera if needed in a couple of years?  Thank you!

29 days ago

ANSWERS

There's no MFA on the 40D either..........the 50D was the first non-1 series to feature it Continue Reading

Hank3152 answered
27 days ago

My first DSLR was a Canon T3 kit with the 18-55 USM and 75-300 lenses.  I was quite disappointed by the IQ and focus of the 75-300 lens and sold it 3 months later for $100.  A year later I bought a Sigma 17-70 Contemporary lens to replace the 18-55, as I found the latter's reach a little short for a walk around lens.  A few months later I bought a Canon 60D body for a larger MP sensor, more frame per second shooting, and greater control over settings.  The T3 and 18-55 sit idle, as back-ups that seldom get called. If you are serious about getting into photography vs just taking nice pictures, I would pass on the T5.  IMHO, a T3i or T41 refurbished by Canon, or a refurbished Canon 60D would be the best body to start with.  Any of those should satisfy your needs for a couple of years, and still let you afford a lens with good IQ. Continue Reading

2esetters answered
29 days ago

Hi there Runnergirl'. Welcome to the wonderful world of photography (and Photography Forums!) :-) I'll start my post right off with a strong statement, hehe! ;-) IMHO the best way to select a DSLR is to check them out in person . They all handle and operate quite differently, even within the same line, even from the same manufacturer. A camera is one of those special tools you will become close friends with (or conversely part ways with if you've by chance made the wrong choice). So go play with them. Before you make your mind up completely. Yes you've got a good jump on the selection process by comparing the individual specs, and also (IMHO) by coming to the Forums for advice. You'll receive many different answers here of course, because everyone has found their own best mate' . That fact alone tells you why it's so important to choose in person . Sure, the truth of the matter is that anybody can learn photography on any DSLR. Heck, there are many of us who learned photography on ... Continue Reading

R2D2 answered
27 days ago

QUESTION

True Resolution?

Looking to get an entry level camera ($300-$400) and have been reading about "true resolution"- size of the sensor/pixel density... Example: FinePix SL1000 16mp = 9.7 mp Panasonic Lumix FZ70 16mp = 9.7mp Canon Rebel T3 12.2mp = 12.2mp Is this true? Would the T3 take better quality pics? I would be using a tripod and have all the editing software (PS, Perfect Effects, etc) Any suggestions would be apprectiated.

techronin asked
5 months ago

ANSWERS

I think you are referring to true resolution defined by snapsort which is, according to me, a bit nonsense. It is the resolution at average shooting conditions,  with an aperture like f3.5. It takes into account diffraction, so at the same aperture a smaller sensor will be more affected by diffraction. But this is nonsense not to take into account the lens max aperture of each camera !! If you shoot a picture at f16 with a FF camera, you are likely to use a much lower aperture with a 1/2.3" sensor. They should not compare the resolution with a similar f-number. Their true resolution concept is very specific to this site and is is my opinion a very bad idea. This is not at all relevant. Continue Reading

Christof21 answered
5 months ago

The sensor on the T3 is larger and ultimately offers more potential for high ISO work. However both high ISO capability and potential resolution are not really measures of an image's quality, IMO. A good visual composition usually far outweighs any technical factors. Continue Reading

darklamp answered
5 months ago

That's an interesting perspective to take, but I am surprised at using the APS-C sensor as 1:1 instead of dividing by its crop factor as well :) I'm not sure I would equate smaller sensors as being equivalent to a larger sensor at a lower resolution, but noise reduction for low light does reduce effective image resolution. In any case, sensor size has its biggest impact on low light or dark portions of brightly lit scenes, especially if your exposure is too low and you brighten in post. The FZ70 16MP is real used outside, in bright light, but there's also equivalent aperture to consider, and lens sharpness. Even inside the FZ70 might beat the T3i with its older kit lens, but be much worse than a prime lens. Continue Reading

NetMage answered
5 months ago

Warranty Information

"Canon U.S.A., Inc. and Canon Canada Inc. (collectively "Canon") warrant to the original end‐user purchaser, when delivered in new condition in its original container, that the Product will be free from defects in materials and workmanship under normal use and service for a period of one (1) year from the date of original purchase. Product returned to a Canon repair facility and proven to be defective upon inspection will, at Canon’s sole discretion and without charge, be (a) repaired utilizing new, remanufactured, repaired and/or recycled parts; (b) exchanged for a new Product or; (c) exchanged for a refurbished Product, as determined by the Canon repair facility. Warranty exchange or replacement does not extend the original warranty period of the Product. "

Go to Canon USA's warranty page for more information. DPReview GearShop is an authorized Canon dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.