Fujifilm XF 60mm f/2.4 Macro Lens

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

Stuff We Love

Key Features

  • 60mm focal length
  • 90mm equivalent focal length on APS-C cameras
  • F2.4 maximum aperture; F22 minimum
  • 0.26m/10.24" minimum focus
  • Fujifilm X mount for X series interchangeable lens cameras

Product Description

The Fujifilm XF 60mm F2.4 R Macro is a 90mm equivalent prime lens for the Fujifilm X system. It features a physical aperture ring which is adjustable in 1/3-step increments and a rounded 9-blade aperture diaphragm. Construction consists of 10 elements in 8 groups, including 1 aspherical and 1 extra low dispersion element. Maximum magnification at the closest focussing distance is 0.5X.

Specs

Principal specifications
Lens type Prime lens
Max Format size APS-C / DX
Focal length 60 mm
Lens mount Fujifilm X
Aperture
Maximum aperture F2.4
Minimum aperture F22.0
Aperture ring Yes
Number of diaphragm blades 9
Aperture notes rounded
Optics
Elements 10
Groups 8
Special elements / coatings 1 aspherical element 1 abnormal dispersion element
Focus
Minimum focus 0.26 m (10.24)
Maximum magnification 0.5×
Autofocus Yes
Full time manual Unknown
Physical
Weight 215 g (0.47 lb)
Diameter 64 mm (2.52)
Length 71 mm (2.8)

Reviews

User Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
  • km25, Mar 23, 2013 GMT:
    This is X series sharpest lens.

    It is sharp and with help of new frimware AF is fast and has always been accurate. The color is spot on. NO Leica or CZ lens has anything on this lens, heck, they should be as good. Good glass makes for a good system. This lens is close to six stars.

    Continue Reading

  • eglt, Oct 27, 2013 GMT:
    Fuji 60mm, back for a second try

    When I first purchased my XPRO1, I bought the three Fuji lenses available at the time, 18mm, 35mm and 60mm Macro. I love the camera and the lenses, but foolishly allowed myself to sell my first 60mm because it was so D%#^@ slow in focusing and read all the bad reviews from others. I should have waited. Fuji updated firmware for both their XPRO1 and Lenses, and that changed everything. We'll forget for a moment that I lost about $150 in the deal and had to purchase it again for the same price ...

    Continue Reading

  • km25, Nov 8, 2013 GMT:
    Fujion XF 60mm F2.4 R Macro

    Very sharp lens from center to edges. Whish it would focus a little closer, have more mag.. With new firmware up grades it focus fast in good light, but can get a little lost in low light. Most the time it focus actuate and with good speed. The lens put out excellent images both in sharpness and contrast. Great lens. I love the long hood.

    Continue Reading

  • Beat Traveller, Oct 12, 2014 GMT:
    Quirky but rewarding lens

    I'll start by listing the issues with this lens: (1) The AF speed isn't worth writing home about. In good light it's decent enough, sometimes it will lock focus straight away. In low light and macro mode it will hunt like crazy. This isn't so much a fault as a constraint of design though: if you understand how contrast detection works you can learn to aim at areas with obvious contrast so the lens doesn't try and rack through the whole focal range. If you're using it to capture something ...

    Continue Reading

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

What would be the better macro lens than XF 60mm?

I was stuck at home over the weekend. We've been having ant attack due to warm and dry weather outside. I tried to take some macro pictures using X-E1 and XF 60mm. However, I could not get the object to fill the frame. I had to heavily crop the pictures. I am wondering if there is anything I can do to take better macro pictures with my X body. Thanks.

cyip0 asked
3 months ago

ANSWERS

Give the Ant a bit Sugar. ;-) Continue Reading

Carsten Pauer 2 answered
3 months ago

With the 60mm I use 2 sets of Viltrox macro extension tubes to get 1:1 ratio A nother way is the Tamron 90mmwith adatall to fx adapter with manual ext tubes Continue Reading

baobob answered
3 months ago

I'll second that idea - I bought a Fuji FX to Adaptall-2 adapter and it works great with all my Tamron SP Adaptall lenses, including the excellent telephotos. Continue Reading

Jim King answered
3 months ago

QUESTION

Get 60mm f/2.4 to 1:1?

How could I get the 60mm f/2.4 to 1:1 macro focus?  Are there extension tubes or close-up filters that wouldn't excessively reduce IQ or affect metering/electronic coupling?

SHydroxide asked
9 months ago

ANSWERS

I use Raynox-250 close up filter. Only $70-80. No doubt it is not as good as native 1:1 macro lens, but it is good enough and image quality is largely preserved. Here are a few shots. Continue Reading

ketsang answered
9 months ago

I do not have my X-T1 yet, but I do have a 60mm and I have 39mm UV/Haze filter, and a 39 to 43 step up ring and a Raynox-250 macro on that end.  Will post pictures after I get my X-T1, but I have seen pictures from an E2 with that setup and they are incredible. Continue Reading

tman1991 answered
9 months ago

The Raynox DC-250 does get you to a little over 1:1 with the 60mm. There are automatic extension tubes that retain aperture and autofocus but they all seem to come in sets of two tubes, 10 and 16mm, which together isn't quite enough to get you to 1:1. You could get a couple of sets. For even greater magnification, you could use bellows or even use reverse rings to mount your 60mm lens onto the filter thread of, say, a 200mm lens to give you almost 4x magnification. Best wishes, -Paul Continue Reading

pauldb126 answered
9 months ago
  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.