Fujifilm FinePix S1 Compact Camera

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

Key Features

  • 16.4MP 2/3"-type CMOS sensor
  • 24-1200mm F2.8-5.6 equivalent lens (50x optical zoom) with optical image
  • stabilization
  • Up to 10 frames per second continuous shooting
  • ISO 100-3200 expandable to 12,800
  • 1080/60i HD video (MOV/H.264)
  • 3.0 inch vari-angle LCD with 920,000 dots
  • Electronic viewfinder with 920,000 dots
  • Water and dust resistant
  • PSAM + scene modes
  • Raw and Raw+JPEG shooting
  • Built-in flash and hot shoe
  • Built-in Wi-Fi for image transfer, geotagging, and remote camera control
  • SD/SDHC/SDXC card slot

Product Description

The FinePix S1 is the world’s first “weather resistant” super zoom bridge camera and provides protection against rain and dust. The S1 features a 16MP CMOS sensor, and a bright 50x super zoom 24-1200mm F2.8-5.6 lens with ultra-fast zoom speed and 2x Intelligent Digital Zoom up to 100x. The high resolution and contrast Vari-Angle 3” LCD (920K dot) makes it easy to frame shots from any angle, and the 0.2” EVF (920K dot) is great for difficult shooting conditions. One-touch WiFi connectivity lets you easily share images to your smartphone or tablet – pictures that these devices cannot capture - and remote shooting via smartphone or tablet using the Fujifilm Camera Remote app for unique capture opportunities.

Specs

Body type
Body type SLR-like (bridge)
Sensor
Max resolution 4608 x 3456
Other resolutions 4608 x 3072, 4608 x 2592, 3456 x 3456, 3264 x 2448, 3264 x 2176, 3264 x 1840, 2432 x 2432, 2304 x 1728, 2304 x 1536, 1920 x 1080, 1728 x 1728
Image ratio w:h 1:1, 4:3, 3:2, 16:9
Effective pixels 16 megapixels
Sensor photo detectors 17 megapixels
Sensor size 1/2.3" (6.17 x 4.55 mm)
Sensor type CMOS
Image
ISO Auto, 100 - 12800
White balance presets 6
Custom white balance Yes
Image stabilization Sensor-shift
Image stabilization notes 5-axis
Uncompressed format RAW
Optics & Focus
Focal length (equiv.) 24–1200 mm
Optical zoom 50×
Maximum aperture F2.8 - F5.6
Autofocus
  • Contrast Detect (sensor)
  • Multi-area
  • Center
  • Tracking
  • Single
  • Continuous
  • Face Detection
  • Live View
Digital zoom Yes (2)
Manual focus Yes
Normal focus range 40 cm (15.75)
Macro focus range 1 cm (0.39)
Screen / viewfinder
Articulated LCD Fully articulated
Screen size 3
Screen dots 920,000
Touch screen No
Screen type TFT LCD
Live view Yes
Viewfinder type Electronic
Viewfinder coverage 97%
Viewfinder resolution 920,000
Photography features
Minimum shutter speed 30 sec
Maximum shutter speed 1/2000 sec
Aperture priority Yes
Shutter priority Yes
Manual exposure mode Yes
Subject / scene modes Yes
Built-in flash Yes
Flash range 8.00 m
External flash Yes (via hotshoe)
Flash modes Auto, forced flash, suppressed flash, slow sync
Continuous drive 10.0 fps
Self-timer Yes (2 or 10 sec)
Metering modes
  • Multi
  • Center-weighted
  • Spot
Exposure compensation ±2 (at 1/3 EV steps)
AE Bracketing ±2 (at 1/3 EV, 2/3 EV, 1 EV steps)
WB Bracketing No
Videography features
Resolutions 1920 x 1080 (60p), 1280 x 720 (60p), 640 x 480 (30p)
Format H.264
Videography notes High speed movie: 120/240/480 fps
Microphone Stereo
Speaker Mono
Storage
Storage types SC/SDHC/SDXC, Internal
Storage included 25MB
Connectivity
USB USB 2.0 (480 Mbit/sec)
HDMI Yes (Mini HDMI)
Wireless Built-In
Wireless notes 802.11 b/g/n
Remote control Yes (via smartphone)
Physical
Environmentally sealed Yes (Dust and weather-resistent)
Battery Battery Pack
Battery description NP-85 lithium-ion battery and charger
Battery Life (CIPA) 350
Weight (inc. batteries) 680 g (1.50 lb / 23.99 oz)
Dimensions 133 x 91 x 110 mm (5.24 x 3.58 x 4.33)
Other features
Orientation sensor Yes
Timelapse recording Yes (up to 6 hrs)
GPS Optional
GPS notes via smartphone

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

Where is the positioning of Sony color, with one side Canon and on the other Lumix

I had a Lumix lx3 with cold colors, and after a Canon S100 with more pleasant colors to .... my eyes. I'm wondering what colors come out of Sony RX100 and RX100 II. I will appreciate an answer to this! Paolo

forzanopaolo asked
8 months ago

ANSWERS

Paolo, Of course, we are talking about "JPEG color" here -- with RAW, you presumably "paint whatever color you want." But most certainly, "JPEG color" has been the bane of my existence for about the past decade, so I've got some definite opinions. There are a couple of points I would like to begin with: I virtually won't touch another Panasonic camera again -- I don't know if you want to call the LX3's color "warm" or "cool," but mainly, it's just often just plain WRONG. You can go back in the Panasonic forum to when it was first released, and see my comments along with those from many other folks, who tried to tackle its color. From neon turquoise skies to reds that were NEVER anywhere close to reality, it was just "color from another planet" as far as I was concerned. And I just can't say that there is anything resembling "Sony color" -- I've seen it change from camera to camera to camera. Most likely, it's really "from BIONZ processor to BIONZ processor" over the years. I have ... Continue Reading

Tom Hoots answered
8 months ago

this is out of the camera jpg, Continue Reading

powerbook duo answered
8 months ago

I would put the RX100ii a little closer to the Lumix side but fairly natural-looking.  I have Canon, have had Lumix cameras, and currently have the RX100ii.  Cathy H. Continue Reading

cathyph1 answered
8 months ago

QUESTION

Fujifilm Finepix S1

This camera seems to have a lot of what I am looking for but i've never owned a camera of this caliber. I will be traveling a lot and won't have a lot of space for a bulky camera. I'm not particularly worried about video capabilities. As a whole would this camera be considered easy for a beginner to use? Is there any relevant reading material I should be aware of? Is it worth the money? Just looking for some advice from some more experienced folks.

hulakilo28 asked
6 months ago

ANSWERS

Take a look at these at ISO-1600 ... FZ70 vs S1 FZ200 vs S1 P600 vs S1 SX50 vs S1 -=[ Joms ]=- Continue Reading

jcmarfilph answered
6 months ago

I would put Fuji Finepix S1 here: Weather-sealed, 5-axis IS, time-lapsed shooting, wifi-control Largest sensor, largest EVF Fastest and most accurate CDAF+PDAF, speed, focus-peeking Brightest lens from mid-600mm Travelzoom, so so Longest FL If you will shoot a bird on a feeder or zoo within 10-15 feet, any of them will do. Otherwise HS50 is my top pick, X-S1 is second and FZ200+TC third. -=[ Joms ]=- Continue Reading

jcmarfilph answered
6 months ago

I've owned this camera (re: S1) for a few weeks after it has been released on the market and I've finally returned it. The image quality is simply not there, as there is too much much noise starting as low as 400 ISO. That explains the relatively poor reviews on various sites (actually, IQ taken apart, the ratings are not so bad due to the fact that, indeed, this is a well built, fast and convenient camera). I've finally opted for the HS50 and, so far, I'm pretty happy with IQ and really love the handling, with the manual zoom/focus, etc.  But still, HS50 is certainly not the more compact bridge on the market.  If compactness is important, I would suggest that you take a look at Canon SX50 (that I've also owned; overall a nice and compact powerful bridge) or Panasonic FZ200 (also on the compact side for a bridge, with less zoom, but constant f2.8 aperture). As for your "easiness" requirement, I would say that all bridges (and of course, other compact P&S) cameras do have automatic ... Continue Reading

mlaverdiere answered
6 months ago

QUESTION

P600 vs Fuji S1?

I've had my eyes on the announced Fuji S1 http://www.fujifilm.com/news/n140106_03.html and just this Nikon P600 announcement today. This one is being released earlier that the Fuji. which I have pre-ordered on B&H. I am very interested to see how this compares to the Fuji. The price is identical. I think one of these two will be a good compliment to the Fuji x100s for an upcoming trip to Hawaii. Looks like I will have a tough choice ahead of me.

8 months ago

ANSWERS

if they made less super-zoom, like 24-800mm, but put better glass in the lens, I would be happier. for hand-held tele-1440mm shooting, the no-blurring ratio could be very low. ;-) Continue Reading

yudi answered
8 months ago

The lack of raw is a killer for me. I didn't pick up on that. I shoot raw exclusively (although I am starting to use raw+jpg on the x100s, but that's another story) and with these smaller sensors, it helps pull out as much data as possible from an image. Thanks for pointing that out. — Tony Canon EOS 5D Mark III :: Canon EOS 7D :: Canon EOS 30D :: Canon S95 :: Fuji x100s :: GoPro HERO2 Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS :: Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM Lens :: Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L :: Canon EF 50mm f/1.4 USM :: Tokina 12-24mm f/4 AT-X Pro DX II Continue Reading

8 months ago

The P600 EVF is 201k dots, vs. 920k for the S1. (HS50EXR EVF is very nice.) If one prefers using the VF for shooting, this may also impact selection. Continue Reading

Craig R K answered
8 months ago

Warranty Information

"Your Fujifilm equipment has been manufactured to precise standards, and with rigid quality control through every process of manufacturing. It is warranted by Fujifilm U.S.A. against defective workmanship or materials for one full year from date of purchase. Fujifilm U.S.A. will, at its option, either repair or replace (with a reconditioned unit of like condition) free of charge equipment which is returned either in person or postpaid and insured to one of the Fujifilm U.S.A. Repair Centers listed on the reverse side. The product must be accompanied by some proof of date of purchase, such as the original sales slip. This warranty does not cover batteries or flash equipment and accessories not manufactured by Fujifilm Holdings Corp. This warranty does not apply if the equipment has been damaged by accident, abuse (including, but not limited to, sand, dirt, water, liquid, impact battery corrosion, etc.), failure to follow operating or maintenance instructions or if the equipment has been modified or serviced by anyone other than a Fujifilm U.S.A. Repair Center. This warranty cannot be resold or transferred."

View Fujifilm USA warranty.

DPReview GearShop is an authorized Fujifilm dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.