Fujifilm X-A1 Mirrorless Camera Kit with XC 16-50mm F3.5-5.6 OIS Lens

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

Key Features

  • 16.3 MP APS-C CMOS sensor
  • ISO 200-6400 (expandable to to 12800 and 24600)
  • 1080/30fps HD video (.MOV/H.264)
  • 49-point AF
  • Up to 5.6 FPS continuous shooting
  • 3 inch tiltable LCD with 920,000 dots
  • Built-in flash with hot shoe
  • Built-in WiFi connectivity
  • Fujifilm X-Mount compatible
  • 8 Advanced Art Filters, film simulation modes, plus PSAM
  • Raw, JPEG, and Raw+JPEG
  • SD, SDHC, and SDXC memory

Product Description

The X-A1 shares a body with the X-M1 but is based around a 16MP sensor with a conventional, Bayer color filter array, rather than the X-Trans design that's been used elsewhere. The X-A1 retains the 920k dot tilting rear screen and Wi-Fi offered by the X-M1, yet is being launched with an MSRP $200 cheaper than the X-M1 (with kit lens), making it an affordable entry into the Fujifilm interchangeable lens system.

Specs

Body type
Body type Rangefinder-style mirrorless
Sensor
Max resolution 4896 x 3264
Other resolutions S: (3:2) 2496 x 1664 / (16:9) 2496 x 1408 / (1:1) 1664 x 1664
Image ratio w:h 1:1, 3:2, 16:9
Effective pixels 16 megapixels
Sensor photo detectors 17 megapixels
Sensor size APS-C (23.6 x 15.6 mm)
Sensor type CMOS
Processor EXR Processor II
Image
ISO AUTO / Equivalent to ISO200 - 6400 (Standard Output Sensitivity)
White balance presets 7
Custom white balance Yes
Image stabilization No
Image stabilization notes Supported with OIS type lens
Uncompressed format RAW
JPEG quality levels Fine, Normal
Optics & Focus
Autofocus
  • Contrast Detect (sensor)
  • Multi-area
  • Center
  • Tracking
  • Single
  • Continuous
  • Face Detection
Manual focus Yes
Number of focus points 49
Lens mount Fujifilm X
Focal length multiplier 1.5×
Screen / viewfinder
Articulated LCD Tilting
Screen size 3
Screen dots 920,000
Touch screen No
Screen type TFT LCD
Live view Yes
Viewfinder type None
Photography features
Minimum shutter speed 30 sec
Maximum shutter speed 1/4000 sec
Aperture priority Yes
Shutter priority Yes
Manual exposure mode Yes
Subject / scene modes Yes
Built-in flash Yes (Manual pop-up flash)
Flash range 7.00 m (ISO200m)
External flash Yes (dedicated TTL Flash compatible)
Flash modes Auto / Forced Flash / Suppressed Flash / Slow Synchro / Rear-curtain Synchro / Commander
Continuous drive 6 fps
Self-timer Yes (10 sec. / 2 sec.)
Metering modes
  • Multi
  • Average
  • Spot
Exposure compensation ±2 (at 1/3 EV steps)
AE Bracketing ±1 (3 frames at 1/3 EV, 2/3 EV, 1 EV steps)
Videography features
Resolutions 1920 x 1080 30p, Continuous recording: up to approx. 14 min./1280 x 720 30p, Continuous recording: up to approx. 27 min.
Format H.264
Videography notes MOV/H.264
Microphone Stereo
Speaker Mono
Storage
Storage types SD memory card / SDHC memory card / SDXC (UHS-I) memory card
Connectivity
USB USB 2.0 (480 Mbit/sec)
HDMI Yes (Mini HDMI Type C)
Wireless Built-In
Wireless notes Geotagging setup, Image transfer (Individual image / Selected multiple images), View & Obtain Images, PC Autosave
Remote control Yes (RR-90 (sold separately))
Physical
Battery Battery Pack
Battery description NP-W126 battery and BC-W126 charger
Battery Life (CIPA) 350
Weight (inc. batteries) 330 g (0.73 lb / 11.64 oz)
Dimensions 117 x 67 x 39 mm (4.6 x 2.62 x 1.54)
Other features
Orientation sensor Yes
GPS None

Reviews

User Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
  • LaFonte, Oct 4, 2013 GMT:
    X-A1, superb entry level with output of much more expensive camera

    I just got this one and it is a great deal for the money, the kit lens 16-50 is actually pretty solid lens (optically) and has OIS. I also have the X-pro1 and the images are indistinguishable between those two. It is pretty much in the price range of the basic NEX or better M43 cameras, but in my opinion produces premium images (same as xpro1) and it gives you much better kit lens. However the slower auto-focus is the ongoing Fuji issue - it is slower than all the modern sony or ...

    Continue Reading

  • Matt1645f4, Dec 23, 2013 GMT:
    Bargain for the Money

    Great little camera and with £80 casback!!! For what i shoot (mostly landscape this is an excellent little camera and the kit 16-50 lens is actually pretty good. Doesn't feel as well built as my X10. For a non X-trans sensor im amazed (genuinely). Was going to try it and send it back and get the XE-2, but now i'll keep this and get some primes with the saving over the XE2 and upgrade in the Future.

    Continue Reading

  • mikedj, Jan 10, 2014 GMT:
    Impressioni d'uso

    Uso con grande soddisfazione questa fotocamera da piu' di un mese con ottimi risultati.La risoluzione del jpeg nativo e' davvero impressionante vista a tutto schermo e sicuramente ai livelli delle migliori dslr entry level (a mio giudizio anche meglio).L'obiettivo 16/50 e' molto leggero e tutto sommato lavora bene, anche se a f22 mostra un po' la corda (io fotografo per lo piu' paesaggi) presentando una visibile distorsione ai bordi (ma parliamo di condizioni estreme).Personalmente trovo ...

    Continue Reading

  • QuarryCat, Jan 12, 2014 GMT:
    not expensive but no good either

    not expensive but not good either It's a slow men's camera with a useful lens but all technical functions are 3-5 years beyond time. Even Sony Nex-cameras are faster and modern and mFT-Cameras are much ahead and not less sharp. I wouldn't buy it again nor recommend it. It is to slow for me and the colors are not my taste. All other lenses are very expensive. I will buy me a Panasonic LX7 or Sony Nex 6 instead.

    Continue Reading

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

PC Auto Save grayed out on X-A1 menu

When I first got the camera, I couldn't get PC Auto Save to work with my iMac running Maverick (OSX 10.9.2). I noticed some posts on here with the same problem. I decided to retry by deleting the app on my iMac and reinstalling it. Now the PC AUTO SAVE option on my X-A1 is grayed out on the menu and cannot be selected. Anyone else have this problem?  Maybe, it's another result of upgrading my firmware from 1.01 to 1.10?

bs1946 asked
16 days ago

ANSWERS

QUESTION

Memory card & old flash use with X-M1 / A1

I have a couple of questions about the X-M1 / X-A1: 1. Does using a UHS-I SD card give a speed benefit over a standard class 10 card? I'm thinking particularly of whether the Transcend Ultimate cards give any benefit over the Transcend Premium cards? 2. According to the manual, you shouldn't use a flash with a trigger voltage of more than 300V with the camera. This seems very high, normally the advice with digital cameras seems to be more like don't use any flashes with a trigger voltage over something like 6V. Does anyone know whether the 300V figure is correct? It would mean that many old flashes, such as the old Vivitar 283s could be used on the camera if true. Thanks Dave

DavidKennard asked
1 month ago

ANSWERS

QUESTION

Which camera should I get?

(By the way, I'm not only a newbie to the forums, but to interchangeable lens cameras) I currently have a Canon Powershot SX500 and I'd like to get an upgrade. Preferably to a mirrorless interchangeable lens camera. If you look at my vsco site, you can see that I don't necessarily have a preference in what I photograph (I take pictures of animals, landscape, food, buildings, etc.) so the camera would have to be pretty versatile. I also would prefer if the camera is at least somewhat portable and image quality is very important. My price range is at $800 max. Some cameras that caught my attention were the Samsung NX Mini, Olympus Pen Series, Olympus OM-D E-M10, Fujifilm X-A1/M1, and the SONY Alpha NEX-6. Any suggestions / opinions?

ghyunjin asked
19 days ago

ANSWERS

If image quality is very important, then you want a larger sensor. This favours the NEX-6 (or its successor the A6000) over the others. However, they are all good cameras. Browse around the respective forums here and at Getdpi.com, and where possible "view original", to see if you can see any obvious quality difference. Continue Reading

D Cox answered
19 days ago

If you typically shoot jpeg the Fuji's need further inspection. They are also good with low light and the 18-55 f2.8-4.0 is an incredibly good standardzoom, so is the 55-200 tele. Though Fuji primes are rather expensive. Maybe a small dslr like the Canon 100D, very small though not pocketable. It has the EF mount so it will take all EF and EF-S lenses, Canon and third party. It also has an OVF. Sony NEX 6 is a nice camera though I found the handling (even with standardzoom) a bit odd, this may just be a personal thing. So the bottomline I guess is what you prefer. To find out go to a store and try them. Another very important thing would be the lens, see if you already can find out what lens(es) you'd like to have. It boils down to a couple of things. Lenses,handling,size, tilting screen etc. These are personal things so what works for me may not work for you. Continue Reading

Limburger answered
19 days ago

I wouldn't bet on the Samsung NX mini just yet. It's still an unproven camera, and from the pictures and first impressions posts online, it doesn't seem very well designed ergonomically. There's no point in buying a Sony Alpha NEX-6, when its direct successor, the Alpha a6000, is already on the market, and sells for $800 with the same kit lens. It seems like a massive upgrade in both image quality (thanks to the new sensor) and AF performance and flexibility (thanks to the plethora of phase-detection autofocus points). It hasn't been properly reviewed just yet (I know that The Camera Store TV already has a video up) so I'm waiting on a thorough, in-depth review here on dpreview.com before I pass my judgement. The Olympus OM-D E-M10 is, however, a proven performer. It's not the beast that the Alpha a6000 promises to be, but it still ticks all the right boxes. My suggestion would be to wait patiently for in-depth reviews of the a6000 before going through with a purchase. But even if ... Continue Reading

Ido S answered
16 days ago

Compatible Products

Warranty Information

"Your Fujifilm equipment has been manufactured to precise standards, and with rigid quality control through every process of manufacturing. It is warranted by Fujifilm U.S.A. against defective workmanship or materials for one full year from date of purchase. Fujifilm U.S.A. will, at its option, either repair or replace (with a reconditioned unit of like condition) free of charge equipment which is returned either in person or postpaid and insured to one of the Fujifilm U.S.A. Repair Centers listed on the reverse side. The product must be accompanied by some proof of date of purchase, such as the original sales slip. This warranty does not cover batteries or flash equipment and accessories not manufactured by Fujifilm Holdings Corp. This warranty does not apply if the equipment has been damaged by accident, abuse (including, but not limited to, sand, dirt, water, liquid, impact battery corrosion, etc.), failure to follow operating or maintenance instructions or if the equipment has been modified or serviced by anyone other than a Fujifilm U.S.A. Repair Center. This warranty cannot be resold or transferred."

View Fujifilm USA warranty.

DPReview GearShop is an authorized Fujifilm dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.