Fujifilm X-A1 Mirrorless Camera Kit with XC 16-50mm F3.5-5.6 OIS Lens

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

Key Features

  • 16.3 MP APS-C CMOS sensor
  • ISO 200-6400 (expandable to to 12800 and 24600)
  • 1080/30fps HD video (.MOV/H.264)
  • 49-point AF
  • Up to 5.6 FPS continuous shooting
  • 3 inch tiltable LCD with 920,000 dots
  • Built-in flash with hot shoe
  • Built-in WiFi connectivity
  • Fujifilm X-Mount compatible
  • 8 Advanced Art Filters, film simulation modes, plus PSAM
  • Raw, JPEG, and Raw+JPEG
  • SD, SDHC, and SDXC memory

Product Description

The X-A1 shares a body with the X-M1 but is based around a 16MP sensor with a conventional, Bayer color filter array, rather than the X-Trans design that's been used elsewhere. The X-A1 retains the 920k dot tilting rear screen and Wi-Fi offered by the X-M1, yet is being launched with an MSRP $200 cheaper than the X-M1 (with kit lens), making it an affordable entry into the Fujifilm interchangeable lens system.

Specs

Body type
Body type Rangefinder-style mirrorless
Sensor
Max resolution 4896 x 3264
Other resolutions S: (3:2) 2496 x 1664 / (16:9) 2496 x 1408 / (1:1) 1664 x 1664
Image ratio w:h 1:1, 3:2, 16:9
Effective pixels 16 megapixels
Sensor photo detectors 17 megapixels
Sensor size APS-C (23.6 x 15.6 mm)
Sensor type CMOS
Processor EXR Processor II
Image
ISO AUTO / Equivalent to ISO200 - 6400 (Standard Output Sensitivity)
White balance presets 7
Custom white balance Yes
Image stabilization No
Image stabilization notes Supported with OIS type lens
Uncompressed format RAW
JPEG quality levels Fine, Normal
Optics & Focus
Autofocus
  • Contrast Detect (sensor)
  • Multi-area
  • Center
  • Tracking
  • Single
  • Continuous
  • Face Detection
Manual focus Yes
Number of focus points 49
Lens mount Fujifilm X
Focal length multiplier 1.5×
Screen / viewfinder
Articulated LCD Tilting
Screen size 3
Screen dots 920,000
Touch screen No
Screen type TFT LCD
Live view Yes
Viewfinder type None
Photography features
Minimum shutter speed 30 sec
Maximum shutter speed 1/4000 sec
Aperture priority Yes
Shutter priority Yes
Manual exposure mode Yes
Subject / scene modes Yes
Built-in flash Yes (Manual pop-up flash)
Flash range 7.00 m (ISO200m)
External flash Yes (dedicated TTL Flash compatible)
Flash modes Auto / Forced Flash / Suppressed Flash / Slow Synchro / Rear-curtain Synchro / Commander
Continuous drive 6 fps
Self-timer Yes (10 sec. / 2 sec.)
Metering modes
  • Multi
  • Average
  • Spot
Exposure compensation ±2 (at 1/3 EV steps)
AE Bracketing ±1 (3 frames at 1/3 EV, 2/3 EV, 1 EV steps)
Videography features
Resolutions 1920 x 1080 30p, Continuous recording: up to approx. 14 min./1280 x 720 30p, Continuous recording: up to approx. 27 min.
Format H.264
Videography notes MOV/H.264
Microphone Stereo
Speaker Mono
Storage
Storage types SD memory card / SDHC memory card / SDXC (UHS-I) memory card
Connectivity
USB USB 2.0 (480 Mbit/sec)
HDMI Yes (Mini HDMI Type C)
Wireless Built-In
Wireless notes Geotagging setup, Image transfer (Individual image / Selected multiple images), View & Obtain Images, PC Autosave
Remote control Yes (RR-90 (sold separately))
Physical
Battery Battery Pack
Battery description NP-W126 battery and BC-W126 charger
Battery Life (CIPA) 350
Weight (inc. batteries) 330 g (0.73 lb / 11.64 oz)
Dimensions 117 x 67 x 39 mm (4.6 x 2.62 x 1.54)
Other features
Orientation sensor Yes
GPS None

Reviews

User Reviews

4.07407 out of 5 stars
  • LaFonte, Oct 4, 2013 GMT:
    X-A1, superb entry level with output of much more expensive camera

    I just got this one and it is a great deal for the money, the kit lens 16-50 is actually pretty solid lens (optically) and has OIS. I also have the X-pro1 and the images are indistinguishable between those two. It is pretty much in the price range of the basic NEX or better M43 cameras, but in my opinion produces premium images (same as xpro1) and it gives you much better kit lens. However the slower auto-focus is the ongoing Fuji issue - it is slower than all the modern sony or ...

    Continue Reading

  • Matt1645f4, Dec 23, 2013 GMT:
    Bargain for the Money

    Great little camera and with £80 casback!!! For what i shoot (mostly landscape this is an excellent little camera and the kit 16-50 lens is actually pretty good. Doesn't feel as well built as my X10. For a non X-trans sensor im amazed (genuinely). Was going to try it and send it back and get the XE-2, but now i'll keep this and get some primes with the saving over the XE2 and upgrade in the Future.

    Continue Reading

  • mikedj, Jan 10, 2014 GMT:
    Impressioni d'uso

    Uso con grande soddisfazione questa fotocamera da piu' di un mese con ottimi risultati.La risoluzione del jpeg nativo e' davvero impressionante vista a tutto schermo e sicuramente ai livelli delle migliori dslr entry level (a mio giudizio anche meglio).L'obiettivo 16/50 e' molto leggero e tutto sommato lavora bene, anche se a f22 mostra un po' la corda (io fotografo per lo piu' paesaggi) presentando una visibile distorsione ai bordi (ma parliamo di condizioni estreme).Personalmente trovo ...

    Continue Reading

  • QuarryCat, Jan 12, 2014 GMT:
    not expensive but no good either

    not expensive but not good either It's a slow men's camera with a useful lens but all technical functions are 3-5 years beyond time. Even Sony Nex-cameras are faster and modern and mFT-Cameras are much ahead and not less sharp. I wouldn't buy it again nor recommend it. It is to slow for me and the colors are not my taste. All other lenses are very expensive. I will buy me a Panasonic LX7 or Sony Nex 6 instead.

    Continue Reading

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

Who has Fuji X-A1 system and how does it compare to your N1?

Let's start off by saying that I like N1 and have 2 J1 bodies now (had V1) with a collection of lenses. I see Fuji on sale now and is attractive to me for its price, sensor size AP-C, OOC jpeg quality and want to get it perhaps as a bridge between my J1 and FX. I tried it out in camera store and like its simplicity, good high ISO photos (12,800 looked great), but haven't had a chance to test it on our toddler :) I primarily use my N1 for kid photos (quick focus and instead of phone camera) and walk-around camera. Otherwise, I use my FX gear... I am considering Fuji because of size/portability and I want better ISO performance in low light (indoor without flash) and crop capability. I find that J1 is good in those aspects but could be better. Is there anyone here that has Fuji X-A1 with kit lens (or X-E1 perhaps) and how does it compare to your N1? What photography do you use it for and when would you pick it over your N1?

igzy asked
1 month ago

ANSWERS

http://www.sansmirror.com/newsviews/focus-focus-focus.html You know, Thom is really excellent when he don't deliver us a course of strategic managment ;-) Continue Reading

JL Salvignol answered
1 month ago

This quote seems appropriate given the threads we've had lately: "First, a lot of people are saying “it works for me.” They may even offer a shot or two to prove their contention. Frankly, a lot of those proof shots aren’t exactly nailed on focus, but even when they are, I’m noticing that it isn’t usually a long telephoto lens nor a complete burst sequence that we’re seeing, nor does it tend to be a low contrast subject or low light work." Continue Reading

nigelht answered
1 month ago

I don't have an X series besides an X10, but I've played around with them quite a bit and have considered buying in to the system, but changed my mind.  Colors, OOC JPEGs and high ISO, as you've mentioned are beautiful.  I think you may be a bit disappointed by AF speed when shooting your little one.  I love my X10 as a go anywhere camera, but since buying my V1, I can't really tell you the last time I grabbed it except when I needed to take a really quick snap at home of the kids, and needed a flash.  It was quicker popping up the flash on the X10 than attaching the SB 5 to the V1. I'm waiting for the new X30 to come out, and depending on what it brings to the table, may buy one but I won't be buying in to the X system.  I shoot far too much sports/action and fast moving subjects. Continue Reading

jimoyer answered
1 month ago

QUESTION

Cheapest macro solution ?

Can anyone advise me as to what is the simplest and cheapest way to get a reasonable decent macro image from my XA1? Do I need to purchase a lens w/mount or is there something that can screw into the end of the kit 16-50 lens? This something that I would use rarely , but I miss having the capability at my disposal. Thanks.

Veducci asked
21 days ago

ANSWERS

Hi Veducci, Another option that's neater but a bit dearer than the Raynox 250 is the Canon 250D close up lens.  It's a multi-element screw-in close up lens with a 58mm thread - a perfect fit to your 16-50.  I use it on the 18-55 and keep it bare with metal caps on each end in the little zip pocket of my camera case.  Multi-element CU lenses are a whisker sharper than single element ones, but really stand out when it comes to eliminating color fringing on high contrast edges and highlights.  I think you'd get better results than using single element lenses. All that having been said, a macro lens is the answer with the greatest versatility.  The down side is that you've got to a) buy it and b) carry it.  As others have mentioned, older MF lenses are available second hand for quite reasonable prices - perhaps not a lot more than the better close-up lenses.  You didn't say what you were using it for........  A lot of people shooting static subjects are happy enough with a 50-60mm ... Continue Reading

Rod McD answered
20 days ago

To buy a macro lens of the old days and an adapter I use the Tamron macro 90 2.5 A lot of these lenses are available on ebay for the major brands Continue Reading

baobob answered
20 days ago

What is it about your camera's macro mode you don't like? Continue Reading

darngooddesign answered
21 days ago

QUESTION

X-A1 Owners impressions wanted!

I'm strongly considering getting an XA1 as my first real camera (besides my phone), the price is very compelling. And I figure going higher even if I can doesn't make sense until I'm familiar with all the controls and intricacies of a camera with many controls. I can live without an EVF for the price, I guess that can be something to look forward to in the future. (And then save each penny and bide my time for a XT2... *drools*) Anyways, I'd welcome your impressions of the XA1, anything really. I'd probably stick with the kit lens for a good while, so it would be nice to know what its limits are. I do like taking macro shots with my phone, so I wonder how the macro performance of the stock lens is. I assume I can probably just shoot from further back and crop too, 16MP is a good amount to work with. I'm aware of the XM1 vs XA1 debate, personally the 150$ savings is enough to defer me down the range, having a fantastic Bayer filter camera in the house to begin with is a good start. ...

Tablo asked
17 days ago

ANSWERS

Those are specular highlights; it's normal for them to be blown out.  You also get them in waves and moving water.  You DON'T want the camera to expose for them, and it's perfectly fine for them to be blown. Continue Reading

Mike in Kansas answered
10 days ago

I have the X-A1 and also X-E1, and X100 (and XF1 but we don't talk about that....) You've probably read all the reviews and specifications but here are my random thoughts - sometimes nothing to do with taking photos: 1. Macro performance with 16-50mm with macro mode 'on' is not good - a quick unscientific test reveals that at 16mm setting the minimum distance is 17cm from front of lens to subject. At 50mm zoom the minimum distance is 21cm. I prefer to get closer. 2.I bought my X-A1 in blue and it looks very good, especially the textured front. Build quality is very good, but not as good as the X-E1 and X100 which have a more 'robust' feel about them. 3. The top control dial of the X-A1 has PASM and also scene modes, handy to have easy access to if you like that sort of thing. The other dial is unlabelled and I often can't remember what it does. There's another dial that points up and can be pressed - yet again unlabelled. 4. The screen of the X-A1 is big and tilts, and this is ... Continue Reading

David Butler answered
17 days ago

Glints of sunshine reflecting off a shiny surface bounced off the water is going to look pure white on any camera, even when you look at it with the human eye in real life. Continue Reading

Jared Huntr answered
10 days ago

Compatible Products

Out of Stock

Warranty Information

"Your Fujifilm equipment has been manufactured to precise standards, and with rigid quality control through every process of manufacturing. It is warranted by Fujifilm U.S.A. against defective workmanship or materials for one full year from date of purchase. Fujifilm U.S.A. will, at its option, either repair or replace (with a reconditioned unit of like condition) free of charge equipment which is returned either in person or postpaid and insured to one of the Fujifilm U.S.A. Repair Centers listed on the reverse side. The product must be accompanied by some proof of date of purchase, such as the original sales slip. This warranty does not cover batteries or flash equipment and accessories not manufactured by Fujifilm Holdings Corp. This warranty does not apply if the equipment has been damaged by accident, abuse (including, but not limited to, sand, dirt, water, liquid, impact battery corrosion, etc.), failure to follow operating or maintenance instructions or if the equipment has been modified or serviced by anyone other than a Fujifilm U.S.A. Repair Center. This warranty cannot be resold or transferred."

View Fujifilm USA warranty.

DPReview GearShop is an authorized Fujifilm dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.