Fujifilm X-E2 Mirrorless Camera

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

80% Gold Award
For those people who 'get' what the X-E2 is about, it's a top-notch photographic tool - engaging, responsive and regularly delivering excellent images.”

Read more of the review

Key Features

  • 16MP APS-C X-Trans II CMOS sensor
  • 7 frames per second continuous shooting
  • Phase detect AF
  • ISO200 - 6400 (expandable ISO 100, 12800, 25600)
  • 1080/60p, 30p HD video
  • 3 inch LCD with 1,040,000 dots
  • Electronic viewfinder with 2,360,000 dots and digital split image focus aid
  • Raw and Raw + JPEG shooting
  • Pop-up flash with hot shoe
  • SD/SDHC/SDXC
  • Built-in Wi-Fi

Product Description

The Fujifilm X-E2 is the second generation of the company's mid-range mirrorless camera. It features a 16MP X-Trans CMOS II sensor that gains on-sensor phase detection over the one used in previous models. A unique digital-split-image focus aid (introduced in the X100S) and a 1.04m dot LCD are the major changes - the X-E2 is mainly about handling and operations tweaks. The camera shoots at speeds of up to 7 fps and can record video at 1080/60p with AF tracking. The X-E2 also features built-in Wi-Fi, which allows for easy photo sharing via your mobile device.

Reviews

User Reviews

4.67105 out of 5 stars
  • $$Policy$$, Nov 23, 2013 GMT:
    All the Right Moves...

    The X-E2, combined with the XF 23mm f/1.4 R, is simply stunning in build,performance, and IQ. This combo is the interchangeable (14 total lens) and robust version of Fuji's wildly popular X100S. Fuji will soon make available their XF 10-24mm f/4.0 R OIS zoom (with stabilization) for landscape and XF 56mm f/1.2 R for serious portrait work.

    Continue Reading

  • avanbeek, Dec 16, 2013 GMT:
    Comparing the Fuji X-E2 and a Canon 5D Mark III

    http://andrewvanbeek.com/comparing-fuji-x-e2-canon-5d-mark-iii/

    Continue Reading

  • utku67, Jan 7, 2014 GMT:
    This is truly an amazing camera! Bravo to Fuji !

    Another truly amazing product from Fuji. After having used X-E1 for around a year or so, sudden rise of X-E2 caught many already X-E1 users with great surprise and dilemma. The dilemma for the loyal Fuji users was whether to immediately upgrade our own X-E1s to the newer one or not. But as there really such huge improvements that I couldn't resist the temptation any more and got one. I must say that this camera s truly a marvel and it is worth every penny. For here I want to send a message to ...

    Continue Reading

  • CeleryBeats, Feb 5, 2014 GMT:
    Little wonderfull! (With photographs)

    What a great camera! What a great great camera!! Good looking, fast, accurate, fun, compact, lightweight and did i say good looking? This camera is not just a camera. It's a fashion. It's a style. It's a friend, a tool, a moneymaker and just a fun, big men's(or woman's) toy to have. Quick and responsive. The camera is snappy and make's you happy. Startup time, menu navigation, browsing, deleting pictures etc...it's all good. The focusing system is adequate. Fuji has come along way (so i ...

    Continue Reading

Videos

Introduction to the X-E2 by Fujifilm

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

Are you interested in dynamic range measurements on Fujifilm cameras?

My name is Bill Claff and for several years I have been measuring Photographic Dynamic Range (PDR) and other sensor characteristics. Initially I started with Nikon cameras and I also have a fair amount of Canon data. Recently I obtained measurements for the X-E2 and I'm expecting X-E1 data shortly. PDR is analogous to DxoMark Landscape Dynamic Range but on a different scale. Since DxoMark publishes so few Fujifilm measurements I suspect my PDR data would be of interest. But my Interactive PDR Chart (D3 and D700) is getting crowded and I don't want to bother with another brand, like Fujifilm, unless there is interest (and data gathering support). So let me know two things: 1) Do you want to see Fujifilm PDR values integrated into the data at my site? 2) Would you be willing to help me by providing raw files to my specification for analysis.

bclaff asked
1 month ago

ANSWERS

I have added X-E2 data to my Interactive PDR Chart (This link preselects the X-E2, D3, and D700 cameras.) The "tail" on the X-E2 data is due to Fujifilm "cooking" the high ISO raw data. Continue Reading

bclaff answered
1 month ago

People don't necessarily know and certainly not in any objective way. That's one way such data is used. Another is when considering an upgrade to have some idea how a new camera would compare with one's current camera. Continue Reading

bclaff answered
1 month ago

With all due respect, Bill, the more I look at your results, the less confidence I have in them.  I think you've got a basic problem with the test methodology which basically invalidates the results.  Hear me out and then let me know if I'm misreading or misinterpreting something. My first concern with the validity of your results is that you have cameras that should have very different dynamic ranges all basically falling on top of themselves, including the OMD-EM5 (m43), D7000 (APSC) and D600 (FF.)  By theory we should about a one stop advantage between them and it isn't there. Second, the results of the X-E2, at ISO3200 & ISO6400, are way off and you dismiss them by saying Fuji cooks the books.  They can only cook the books if the books are cookable, which is a big problem right there.  But more concerning is you only know Fuji's results are cooked because the results are so obviously cooked.  The question I have is who is cooking the books just a tiny bit and invalidating your ... Continue Reading

Daniel Lauring answered
1 month ago

QUESTION

X-E2 vs X-T1 Image Quality

I had nearly decided to buy the X-E2 when the X-T1 was announced and destroyed all my plans. Better EVF, articulated display, same sensor and processor and a +$400 price tag. But what about the IQ? After all, that is what finally matters. I turned to the DPREVIEW tests for help and was surprised to see that, when I compared the images between XE-2 and X-T1, the X-E2 images look better and more noise free. The X-T1 images are a little brighter but at high ISOs, the X-E2 images have less noise and better detail. Has anyone else noticed this too or am I reading it wrong?

joresh64 asked
2 months ago

ANSWERS

You know this is a gear discussion forum so they are totally on topic. Greg. Continue Reading

2 months ago

Without fail, every damn time a new camera comes out, someone posts one of these threads. Either one will get you good results. Stop nitpicking and go and shoot! I frequent a lot of camera forums and this one is definitely the worst for this kinda thing. Sorry to blow up, but it's just ridiculous. Happened with the x100 and x100s, then x-e1 and x-e2, and now this. Same processor. Get either one. It. Doesn't. Matter. Continue Reading

mooshoepork answered
2 months ago

Wow.  Lighten up.  Take a deep breath and go out and shoot with either the X-E1, X-E2, or soon to be delivered X-T1. BTW, is the IQ different between the X-E2 and X-T1?  Couldn't resist.  Had to torture you. Remember, there is always Valium. caver3d Continue Reading

caver3d answered
2 months ago

QUESTION

X-M1 versus other X-camera's

Does the image quality of the X-M1 level the image quality of the X-E1 or X-E2 ? Other question that i have related to the X-M1 : The X-M1 doesn't have a dedicated manual focus button. Now when the 23mm lens is attached and you pull the manual focus ring on the lens will the X-M1 switch automatically from autofocus to manual focus or do you have to dive into the menu to switch the focus mode ?

Marco1971 asked
1 month ago

ANSWERS

I recently purchased an X-M1.  I regularly use an X-100.  I have the opinion that the sensor is "essentially" equivalent to the X-E2 and the processor to the X-E1.  I understand that the X-E2 uses some of it's "pixels" to aid in focus so it's likely faster in that regard than the X-M1.  I would be surprised if the IQ of the X-M1 were to be substantially different from the X-E2. The X-M1 has a reduced set of film simulations but the ones it has are quite good, as expected.  These are JPG simulations. I regularly use the "back-focus" on the X-100 and it's not available on the X-M1.  However the X-M1 has a Fn button on top which is programmable.  The choice I made for this button is Manual Focus so I've found a suitable-substitute for the X-100's back focus button. (it manual focuses but not lock exposure) Continue Reading

dmaclau answered
1 month ago

According to the website of Fuji the X-E2 has a CMOS II sensor, the X-M1 a CMOS sensor. Are we talking about the same sensor ? Continue Reading

Marco1971 answered
1 month ago

No, they are not the same sensor. X-M1 sensor only supports contrast detect auto focus X-E2 sensor supports both contrast detect auto focus and phase detect auto focus Continue Reading

Ric Cheng answered
1 month ago

Have your own question?

Warranty Information

"Your Fujifilm equipment has been manufactured to precise standards, and with rigid quality control through every process of manufacturing. It is warranted by Fujifilm U.S.A. against defective workmanship or materials for one full year from date of purchase. Fujifilm U.S.A. will, at its option, either repair or replace (with a reconditioned unit of like condition) free of charge equipment which is returned either in person or postpaid and insured to one of the Fujifilm U.S.A. Repair Centers listed on the reverse side. The product must be accompanied by some proof of date of purchase, such as the original sales slip. This warranty does not cover batteries or flash equipment and accessories not manufactured by Fujifilm Holdings Corp. This warranty does not apply if the equipment has been damaged by accident, abuse (including, but not limited to, sand, dirt, water, liquid, impact battery corrosion, etc.), failure to follow operating or maintenance instructions or if the equipment has been modified or serviced by anyone other than a Fujifilm U.S.A. Repair Center. This warranty cannot be resold or transferred."

View Fujifilm USA warranty.

DPReview GearShop is an authorized Fujifilm dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.