Fujifilm X-M1 Mirrorless Camera

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

77% Gold Award
The best thing about the X-M1 is its top-notch photo quality. While the bundled 16-50mm lens produces good results, photos taken on Fuji's prime lenses are truly stunning.”

Read more of the review

Key Features

  • 16.3 MP APS-C X-Trans CMOS sensor
  • ISO 200-6400 (expandable to to 12800 and 24600)
  • 1080/30fps HD video (.MOV/H.264)
  • 49-point AF
  • Up to 5.6 FPS continuous shooting
  • 3 inch tiltable LCD with 920,000 dots
  • Built-in flash with hot shoe
  • Built-in WiFi connectivity
  • Fujifilm X-Mount compatible
  • 8 Advanced Art Filters, film simulation modes, plus PSAM
  • Raw, JPEG, and Raw+JPEG
  • SD, SDHC, and SDXC memory

Product Description

The X-M1 is the third model in Fujifilm's X-system after the X-Pro1 and X-E1, and offers a distinctly different design approach with no eye-level viewfinder, a tilting rear-screen, and dual electronic control dials. It uses Fujifilm's proprietary 16MP X-Trans CMOS sensor which offers an ISO range of 200-6400 in RAW and 100-25600 in JPEG, and is also capable of Full HD movie recording at 30 fps. Despite the camera's small size there's still a decent amount of external control, meaning the camera should appeal to beginners and enthusiasts alike.

Specs

Body type
Body type Rangefinder-style mirrorless
Sensor
Max resolution 4896 x 3264
Other resolutions S: (3:2) 2496 x 1664 / (16:9) 2496 x 1408 / (1:1) 1664 x 1664
Image ratio w:h 1:1, 3:2, 16:9
Effective pixels 16 megapixels
Sensor photo detectors 17 megapixels
Sensor size APS-C (23.6 x 15.6 mm)
Sensor type CMOS
Processor EXR Processor II
Image
ISO AUTO / Equivalent to ISO200 - 6400 (Standard Output Sensitivity)
White balance presets 7
Custom white balance Yes
Image stabilization No
Image stabilization notes Supported with OIS type lens
Uncompressed format RAW
JPEG quality levels Fine, Normal
Optics & Focus
Autofocus
  • Contrast Detect (sensor)
  • Multi-area
  • Center
  • Tracking
  • Single
  • Continuous
  • Face Detection
Manual focus Yes
Number of focus points 49
Lens mount Fujifilm X
Focal length multiplier 1.5×
Screen / viewfinder
Articulated LCD Tilting
Screen size 3
Screen dots 920,000
Touch screen No
Screen type TFT LCD
Live view Yes
Viewfinder type None
Photography features
Minimum shutter speed 30 sec
Maximum shutter speed 1/4000 sec
Aperture priority Yes
Shutter priority Yes
Manual exposure mode Yes
Subject / scene modes Yes
Built-in flash Yes (Manual pop-up flash)
Flash range 7.00 m (ISO200m)
External flash Yes (dedicated TTL Flash compatible)
Flash modes Auto / Forced Flash / Suppressed Flash / Slow Synchro / Rear-curtain Synchro / Commander
Continuous drive 5.6 fps
Self-timer Yes (10 sec. / 2 sec.)
Metering modes
  • Multi
  • Average
  • Spot
Exposure compensation ±2 (at 1/3 EV steps)
AE Bracketing ±1 (3 frames at 1/3 EV, 2/3 EV, 1 EV steps)
Videography features
Resolutions 1920 x 1080 30p, Continuous recording: up to approx. 14 min./1280 x 720 30p, Continuous recording: up to approx. 27 min.
Format H.264
Videography notes MOV/H.264
Microphone Stereo
Speaker Mono
Storage
Storage types SD memory card / SDHC memory card / SDXC (UHS-I) memory card
Connectivity
USB USB 2.0 (480 Mbit/sec)
HDMI Yes (Mini HDMI Type C)
Wireless Built-In
Wireless notes Geotagging setup, Image transfer (Individual image / Selected multiple images), View & Obtain Images, PC Autosave
Remote control Yes (RR-90 (sold separately))
Physical
Battery Battery Pack
Battery description NP-W126 battery and BC-W126 charger
Battery Life (CIPA) 350
Weight (inc. batteries) 330 g (0.73 lb / 11.64 oz)
Dimensions 117 x 67 x 39 mm (4.6 x 2.62 x 1.54)
Other features
Orientation sensor Yes
GPS None

Reviews

DPReview Conclusion

Scoring is relative only to the other cameras in the same category at the time of review.

Score Breakdown
Poor Excellent
Build quality
Ergonomics & handling
Features
Metering & focus accuracy
Image quality (raw)
Image quality (jpeg)
Low light / high ISO performance
Viewfinder / screen rating
Performance
Movie / video mode
Connectivity
Value
Gold Award
Gold Award
77 %
Overall Score

The X-M1 is Fujifilm's entry-level mirrorless camera with its unique X-Trans sensor. While it lacks the build quality and EVF of the more expensive X-E1, it adds a sharper, tilting LCD and Wi-Fi. The X-M1 is capable of taking incredibly sharp photos with very little noise. Performance is very good, although AF speeds are not as quick as the best-in-class mirrorless cameras. The camera is missing a few other handy features, like an electronic level and remote control via Wi-Fi.

Good For

Those seeking a relatively inexpensive mirrorless camera with top-notch photo quality and a wide selection of manual controls.

Not So Good For

User Reviews

4.16667 out of 5 stars
  • lupin_le_vorace, Aug 5, 2013 GMT:
    Very pleased!

    I have been playing with the X-M1 for two days, and so far I love it. The colors are superb (tank you Fuji), and the noise is not a problem up to ISO 6400. My only issue so far is the fact that the included RAW converter (Silkypix) can't duplicated the camera JPEGs (colors and contrasts don't match), but the in-camera's RAW converter can, although it's an hassle to have to proceed that way. Focusing is good and relatively fast, but kind of struggle in low light, even with the assist lamp. Ove ...

    Continue Reading

  • SergeyMS, Sep 18, 2013 GMT:
    Nice picture and pocket size

    I use X-M1 with 27 mm lenses more than one month. Prefer film mode natural+sharp=+2, frame size 1x1, auto ISO, S priority. Forgot about flash. Almost perfect, first class camera. Nikon and Cannon lost market. X-M1 is not so perfect like Sony Rx1R, but better than any other competitors. If you have no money for Rx1R, buy X-M1 + 27mm, no choice. Do not buy zoom lenses. Closest competitors: Leica X-Vario and Olympus D-5 - have nice picture but noisy on low ISO (sensor). Of course, Leica price ...

    Continue Reading

  • random name, Nov 20, 2013 GMT:
    X-M1

    good JPEG poor RAW support bad interface useless if you want to take HDR picture since bracketing is limited to small increments well short of the +/- 2EV needed Fuji offers no firmware upgrades for bracketing gathering dust in my closet went back to my Pentax Avoid! G2D

    Continue Reading

  • wert019, Feb 13, 2014 GMT:
    best choice

    Superb JPG quality & low noise, small & lightweight.

    Continue Reading

Videos

Compact X Impact: X-M1 by Fujifilm

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

X-A1 Owners impressions wanted!

I'm strongly considering getting an XA1 as my first real camera (besides my phone), the price is very compelling. And I figure going higher even if I can doesn't make sense until I'm familiar with all the controls and intricacies of a camera with many controls. I can live without an EVF for the price, I guess that can be something to look forward to in the future. (And then save each penny and bide my time for a XT2... *drools*) Anyways, I'd welcome your impressions of the XA1, anything really. I'd probably stick with the kit lens for a good while, so it would be nice to know what its limits are. I do like taking macro shots with my phone, so I wonder how the macro performance of the stock lens is. I assume I can probably just shoot from further back and crop too, 16MP is a good amount to work with. I'm aware of the XM1 vs XA1 debate, personally the 150$ savings is enough to defer me down the range, having a fantastic Bayer filter camera in the house to begin with is a good start. ...

Tablo asked
4 months ago

ANSWERS

Those are specular highlights; it's normal for them to be blown out.  You also get them in waves and moving water.  You DON'T want the camera to expose for them, and it's perfectly fine for them to be blown. Continue Reading

Mike in Kansas answered
4 months ago

Glints of sunshine reflecting off a shiny surface bounced off the water is going to look pure white on any camera, even when you look at it with the human eye in real life. Continue Reading

Jared Huntr answered
4 months ago

I have the X-A1 and also X-E1, and X100 (and XF1 but we don't talk about that....) You've probably read all the reviews and specifications but here are my random thoughts - sometimes nothing to do with taking photos: 1. Macro performance with 16-50mm with macro mode 'on' is not good - a quick unscientific test reveals that at 16mm setting the minimum distance is 17cm from front of lens to subject. At 50mm zoom the minimum distance is 21cm. I prefer to get closer. 2.I bought my X-A1 in blue and it looks very good, especially the textured front. Build quality is very good, but not as good as the X-E1 and X100 which have a more 'robust' feel about them. 3. The top control dial of the X-A1 has PASM and also scene modes, handy to have easy access to if you like that sort of thing. The other dial is unlabelled and I often can't remember what it does. There's another dial that points up and can be pressed - yet again unlabelled. 4. The screen of the X-A1 is big and tilts, and this is ... Continue Reading

David Butler answered
4 months ago

QUESTION

X-M1 versus other X-camera's

Does the image quality of the X-M1 level the image quality of the X-E1 or X-E2 ? Other question that i have related to the X-M1 : The X-M1 doesn't have a dedicated manual focus button. Now when the 23mm lens is attached and you pull the manual focus ring on the lens will the X-M1 switch automatically from autofocus to manual focus or do you have to dive into the menu to switch the focus mode ?

Marco1971 asked
8 months ago

ANSWERS

I recently purchased an X-M1.  I regularly use an X-100.  I have the opinion that the sensor is "essentially" equivalent to the X-E2 and the processor to the X-E1.  I understand that the X-E2 uses some of it's "pixels" to aid in focus so it's likely faster in that regard than the X-M1.  I would be surprised if the IQ of the X-M1 were to be substantially different from the X-E2. The X-M1 has a reduced set of film simulations but the ones it has are quite good, as expected.  These are JPG simulations. I regularly use the "back-focus" on the X-100 and it's not available on the X-M1.  However the X-M1 has a Fn button on top which is programmable.  The choice I made for this button is Manual Focus so I've found a suitable-substitute for the X-100's back focus button. (it manual focuses but not lock exposure) Continue Reading

dmaclau answered
8 months ago

According to the website of Fuji the X-E2 has a CMOS II sensor, the X-M1 a CMOS sensor. Are we talking about the same sensor ? Continue Reading

Marco1971 answered
8 months ago

No, they are not the same sensor. X-M1 sensor only supports contrast detect auto focus X-E2 sensor supports both contrast detect auto focus and phase detect auto focus Continue Reading

Ric Cheng answered
8 months ago

QUESTION

Can you add an OVF to the XM1?

I have an old Oly OVF which came with the eLP-1 and the 34mme lens. I currently use it with my EOS M, and it works can. Can I attach it to the XM1? I did a search on the forum but couldn't find anything related to this question. Thanks in advance,

rube39 asked
3 months ago

ANSWERS

For your 34mm lens on the X-M1, the OVF must be a 50mm version. My X-E1 with the 23mm and a 35mm finder: X-E1 with 1.4/23mm and Leitz 3.5cm SBLOO finder. But I do not really use this finder on the X-E1... this here is the actual workplace of the OVF :-) Leica IIIa with 3.5/3.5cm Summaron and 3.5cm SBLOO finder. Continue Reading

helmus answered
3 months ago

Don't see why not, since the X-M1 has a hot shoe like the others.  The focal length equivalence of the X-M1 is close (but not identical to) the EOS M (1.5x and 1.6x respectively) so it's just a question of using a lens of appropriate focal length with it, for the field of view of the optical viewfinder to match the lens.  I'm guessing the viewfinder is the Olympus VF-1 since you mention a "34mm lens" (presumably the 17mm f2.8 Zuiko which was sometimes supplied with this OVF in camera kits) so I guess the Fuji XF 23mm is the closest focal length match (though a larger and more expensive lens than both the Zuiko and the Canon 22mm which I guess might be what you use it with on the EOS M). Continue Reading

Helen answered
3 months ago

You could use a 35mm OVF with the Fuji 23mm lens. A better (smaller/cheaper) combo for the X-A1 or X-M1 is the 27mm lens with the Voigtlander 40mm OVF. Continue Reading

Randy Benter answered
3 months ago

Compatible Products

Out of Stock
Out of Stock
Out of Stock

Warranty Information

"Your Fujifilm equipment has been manufactured to precise standards, and with rigid quality control through every process of manufacturing. It is warranted by Fujifilm U.S.A. against defective workmanship or materials for one full year from date of purchase. Fujifilm U.S.A. will, at its option, either repair or replace (with a reconditioned unit of like condition) free of charge equipment which is returned either in person or postpaid and insured to one of the Fujifilm U.S.A. Repair Centers listed on the reverse side. The product must be accompanied by some proof of date of purchase, such as the original sales slip. This warranty does not cover batteries or flash equipment and accessories not manufactured by Fujifilm Holdings Corp. This warranty does not apply if the equipment has been damaged by accident, abuse (including, but not limited to, sand, dirt, water, liquid, impact battery corrosion, etc.), failure to follow operating or maintenance instructions or if the equipment has been modified or serviced by anyone other than a Fujifilm U.S.A. Repair Center. This warranty cannot be resold or transferred."

View Fujifilm USA warranty.

DPReview GearShop is an authorized Fujifilm dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.