Fujifilm X-M1 Mirrorless Camera

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

77% Gold Award
The best thing about the X-M1 is its top-notch photo quality. While the bundled 16-50mm lens produces good results, photos taken on Fuji's prime lenses are truly stunning.”

Read more of the review

Key Features

  • 16.3 MP APS-C X-Trans CMOS sensor
  • ISO 200-6400 (expandable to to 12800 and 24600)
  • 1080/30fps HD video (.MOV/H.264)
  • 49-point AF
  • Up to 5.6 FPS continuous shooting
  • 3 inch tiltable LCD with 920,000 dots
  • Built-in flash with hot shoe
  • Built-in WiFi connectivity
  • Fujifilm X-Mount compatible
  • 8 Advanced Art Filters, film simulation modes, plus PSAM
  • Raw, JPEG, and Raw+JPEG
  • SD, SDHC, and SDXC memory

Product Description

The X-M1 is the third model in Fujifilm's X-system after the X-Pro1 and X-E1, and offers a distinctly different design approach with no eye-level viewfinder, a tilting rear-screen, and dual electronic control dials. It uses Fujifilm's proprietary 16MP X-Trans CMOS sensor which offers an ISO range of 200-6400 in RAW and 100-25600 in JPEG, and is also capable of Full HD movie recording at 30 fps. Despite the camera's small size there's still a decent amount of external control, meaning the camera should appeal to beginners and enthusiasts alike.

Specs

Body type
Body type Rangefinder-style mirrorless
Sensor
Max resolution 4896 x 3264
Other resolutions S: (3:2) 2496 x 1664 / (16:9) 2496 x 1408 / (1:1) 1664 x 1664
Image ratio w:h 1:1, 3:2, 16:9
Effective pixels 16 megapixels
Sensor photo detectors 17 megapixels
Sensor size APS-C (23.6 x 15.6 mm)
Sensor type CMOS
Processor EXR Processor II
Image
ISO AUTO / Equivalent to ISO200 - 6400 (Standard Output Sensitivity)
White balance presets 7
Custom white balance Yes
Image stabilization No
Image stabilization notes Supported with OIS type lens
Uncompressed format RAW
JPEG quality levels Fine, Normal
Optics & Focus
Autofocus
  • Contrast Detect (sensor)
  • Multi-area
  • Center
  • Tracking
  • Single
  • Continuous
  • Face Detection
Manual focus Yes
Number of focus points 49
Lens mount Fujifilm X
Focal length multiplier 1.5×
Screen / viewfinder
Articulated LCD Tilting
Screen size 3
Screen dots 920,000
Touch screen No
Screen type TFT LCD
Live view Yes
Viewfinder type None
Photography features
Minimum shutter speed 30 sec
Maximum shutter speed 1/4000 sec
Aperture priority Yes
Shutter priority Yes
Manual exposure mode Yes
Subject / scene modes Yes
Built-in flash Yes (Manual pop-up flash)
Flash range 7.00 m (ISO200m)
External flash Yes (dedicated TTL Flash compatible)
Flash modes Auto / Forced Flash / Suppressed Flash / Slow Synchro / Rear-curtain Synchro / Commander
Continuous drive 6 fps
Self-timer Yes (10 sec. / 2 sec.)
Metering modes
  • Multi
  • Average
  • Spot
Exposure compensation ±2 (at 1/3 EV steps)
AE Bracketing ±1 (3 frames at 1/3 EV, 2/3 EV, 1 EV steps)
Videography features
Resolutions 1920 x 1080 30p, Continuous recording: up to approx. 14 min./1280 x 720 30p, Continuous recording: up to approx. 27 min.
Format H.264
Videography notes MOV/H.264
Microphone Stereo
Speaker Mono
Storage
Storage types SD memory card / SDHC memory card / SDXC (UHS-I) memory card
Connectivity
USB USB 2.0 (480 Mbit/sec)
HDMI Yes (Mini HDMI Type C)
Wireless Built-In
Wireless notes Geotagging setup, Image transfer (Individual image / Selected multiple images), View & Obtain Images, PC Autosave
Remote control Yes (RR-90 (sold separately))
Physical
Battery Battery Pack
Battery description NP-W126 battery and BC-W126 charger
Battery Life (CIPA) 350
Weight (inc. batteries) 330 g (0.73 lb / 11.64 oz)
Dimensions 117 x 67 x 39 mm (4.6 x 2.62 x 1.54)
Other features
Orientation sensor Yes
GPS None

Reviews

DPReview Conclusion

Scoring is relative only to the other cameras in the same category at the time of review.

Score Breakdown
Poor Excellent
Build quality
Ergonomics & handling
Features
Metering & focus accuracy
Image quality (raw)
Image quality (jpeg)
Low light / high ISO performance
Viewfinder / screen rating
Performance
Movie / video mode
Connectivity
Value
Gold Award
Gold Award
77 %
Overall Score

The X-M1 is Fujifilm's entry-level mirrorless camera with its unique X-Trans sensor. While it lacks the build quality and EVF of the more expensive X-E1, it adds a sharper, tilting LCD and Wi-Fi. The X-M1 is capable of taking incredibly sharp photos with very little noise. Performance is very good, although AF speeds are not as quick as the best-in-class mirrorless cameras.The camera is missing a few other handy features too, like an electronic level and remote control via Wi-Fi.

Good For

Those seeking a relatively inexpensive mirrorless camera with top-notch photo quality and a wide selection of manual controls.

Not So Good For

Electronic viewfinder lovers and video enthusiasts

User Reviews

4.08333 out of 5 stars
  • lupin_le_vorace, Aug 5, 2013 GMT:
    Very pleased!

    I have been playing with the X-M1 for two days, and so far I love it. The colors are superb (tank you Fuji), and the noise is not a problem up to ISO 6400. My only issue so far is the fact that the included RAW converter (Silkypix) can't duplicated the camera JPEGs (colors and contrasts don't match), but the in-camera's RAW converter can, although it's an hassle to have to proceed that way. Focusing is good and relatively fast, but kind of struggle in low light, even with the assist lamp. Ove ...

    Continue Reading

  • SergeyMS, Sep 18, 2013 GMT:
    Nice picture and pocket size

    I use X-M1 with 27 mm lenses more than one month. Prefer film mode natural+sharp=+2, frame size 1x1, auto ISO, S priority. Forgot about flash. Almost perfect, first class camera. Nikon and Cannon lost market. X-M1 is not so perfect like Sony Rx1R, but better than any other competitors. If you have no money for Rx1R, buy X-M1 + 27mm, no choice. Do not buy zoom lenses. Closest competitors: Leica X-Vario and Olympus D-5 - have nice picture but noisy on low ISO (sensor). Of course, Leica price ...

    Continue Reading

  • random name, Nov 20, 2013 GMT:
    X-M1

    good JPEG poor RAW support bad interface useless if you want to take HDR picture since bracketing is limited to small increments well short of the +/- 2EV needed Fuji offers no firmware upgrades for bracketing gathering dust in my closet went back to my Pentax Avoid! G2D

    Continue Reading

  • wert019, Feb 13, 2014 GMT:
    best choice

    Superb JPG quality & low noise, small & lightweight.

    Continue Reading

Videos

Loading the player ...

Compact X Impact: X-M1 by Fujifilm

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

Plasticky Fuji XM1?

Hi, I have my eyes set on the XM1 but are put off by several reports that have proclaimed it too "plasticky". However, I am unsure where the plastic enters its construction by looking at the photographs of the silver version of the XM1. Could someone who actually owns/have owned a silver XM1 confirm or dismiss the plasticky derogative, and maybe give a hint on how the camera feels in the hands? Thank you in advance.

drasen asked
2 months ago

ANSWERS

I put off purchasing the X-M1 after reading far too many comments on this forum and elsewhere that denounced the camera for being 'too cheap and made from plastic'. In the end I decided to take a chance and buy the camera - when I opened the box I was simply stunned by the build quality and superb finish. After all the comments I'd read I began to wander if those dismissing the X-M1 were actually talking about the SAME camera! And then the reality became clear: I realised that many of those who were so quick to dismiss the X-M1 for its cheap build quality had clearly never actually used one - many perhaps not even having seen one. The quality is nothing less than top-notch. Maybe it's good to have one's expectations lowered sometimes; but the danger is that you can miss out on something that's truly wonderful. Had I listened to the negative comments about the X-M1 on this forum I would have missed out on a camera capable of producing the very best images that Fuji's X-Trans system ... Continue Reading

S Barr answered
2 months ago

I too was hesitant about the reported 'plasticky' feel. Then I handled the silver/black one with kit lens in a dealer and couldn't understand what people were talking about. My initial impressions were not what many were suggesting. It felt and looked good to me. I bought my silver/black X-M1 with kit lens and have been using it since late December. Having spent time with it and getting familiar with it, the lens does feel more like plastic. I now understand what people meant and also wonder if it will be durable over time. The optical quality and performance are great, as is the 16-50 range. The lens does have a plastic feel though, and the lens hood feels delicate and vulnerable, which perhaps gives the feeling to some that the whole X-M1 is plasticky. As I say, I think it is just the kit lens that makes it feel that way. Although the body is also plastic it doesn't feel cheap or nasty, to me. I have an inkling that I will aim to buy the better (zoom) lenses when I can afford to, ... Continue Reading

noyo answered
2 months ago

In my country M1 is not cheap. It goes here for $900 or even more. This is not cheap. All Fuji cameras are expensive here. Sometimes I wonder if they finance all those fantastic M1 deals in the UK by selling them too dear in other countries. Fuji should beware, or else their marketing policy will lead to international conflicts, or may be even another world war :-(. It has to be one of those vile republican conspiracies. They should stop being so religious... Jokes aside, M1 has a number of advantages over E1 - it's considerably faster, it has newer generation processor, focus tracking (a very useful feature), face detection, much better tilting display with twice as higher resolution which makes focus peaking a joy to use. Continue Reading

vivanchenko answered
2 months ago

QUESTION

What is a good external flash for Fuji X-M1

I'm looking to get a good external flash for the X-M1. My employer is about to purchase this camera based on my recommendation and I'm looking for help on a flash to recommend with the camera. It's main purpose will be an off camera with diffuser for food photography and occasionally portraits. I'd like something that will play nice with the X-M1 (TTL), will fire with the on camera built-in flash (without radio triggers) and has some manual controls to dial down the light. The last isn't a necessity but something I want I much prefer manual controls. Basically a simple lightweight setup that I can pick up and head to any of the restaurants at a moments notice and take some quick high quality shots. As you might have guessed from the camera, budget is a concern so there will be no $500 dollar flashes in my cart. Also if anyone has great experiences with small diffusers/softboxes for the flash let me know too. Thank you all in advance for your thoughts and recommendations.

graphicsward asked
2 months ago

ANSWERS

QUESTION

X-M1 versus other X-camera's

Does the image quality of the X-M1 level the image quality of the X-E1 or X-E2 ? Other question that i have related to the X-M1 : The X-M1 doesn't have a dedicated manual focus button. Now when the 23mm lens is attached and you pull the manual focus ring on the lens will the X-M1 switch automatically from autofocus to manual focus or do you have to dive into the menu to switch the focus mode ?

Marco1971 asked
1 month ago

ANSWERS

I recently purchased an X-M1.  I regularly use an X-100.  I have the opinion that the sensor is "essentially" equivalent to the X-E2 and the processor to the X-E1.  I understand that the X-E2 uses some of it's "pixels" to aid in focus so it's likely faster in that regard than the X-M1.  I would be surprised if the IQ of the X-M1 were to be substantially different from the X-E2. The X-M1 has a reduced set of film simulations but the ones it has are quite good, as expected.  These are JPG simulations. I regularly use the "back-focus" on the X-100 and it's not available on the X-M1.  However the X-M1 has a Fn button on top which is programmable.  The choice I made for this button is Manual Focus so I've found a suitable-substitute for the X-100's back focus button. (it manual focuses but not lock exposure) Continue Reading

dmaclau answered
1 month ago

According to the website of Fuji the X-E2 has a CMOS II sensor, the X-M1 a CMOS sensor. Are we talking about the same sensor ? Continue Reading

Marco1971 answered
1 month ago

No, they are not the same sensor. X-M1 sensor only supports contrast detect auto focus X-E2 sensor supports both contrast detect auto focus and phase detect auto focus Continue Reading

Ric Cheng answered
1 month ago

WHAT'S IN THE BOX?

  • Fujifilm X-M1 Mirrorless Camera
  • Lens kit includes XF 16-50mm f/3.5-5.6 lens
  • Li-ion battery NP-W126
  • Battery charger BC-W126
  • Shoulder strap
  • Body cap
  • CD-ROM (Viewer software, RAW File Converter etc.)
  • Owner's manual

Compatible Products

Warranty Information

"Your Fujifilm equipment has been manufactured to precise standards, and with rigid quality control through every process of manufacturing. It is warranted by Fujifilm U.S.A. against defective workmanship or materials for one full year from date of purchase. Fujifilm U.S.A. will, at its option, either repair or replace (with a reconditioned unit of like condition) free of charge equipment which is returned either in person or postpaid and insured to one of the Fujifilm U.S.A. Repair Centers listed on the reverse side. The product must be accompanied by some proof of date of purchase, such as the original sales slip. This warranty does not cover batteries or flash equipment and accessories not manufactured by Fujifilm Holdings Corp. This warranty does not apply if the equipment has been damaged by accident, abuse (including, but not limited to, sand, dirt, water, liquid, impact battery corrosion, etc.), failure to follow operating or maintenance instructions or if the equipment has been modified or serviced by anyone other than a Fujifilm U.S.A. Repair Center. This warranty cannot be resold or transferred."

View Fujifilm USA warranty.

DPReview GearShop is an authorized Fujifilm dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.