Fujifilm X-Pro 1 Mirrorless Camera

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

79% Silver Award
We were hugely impressed by the X100's image quality, and Fujifilm has scaled even greater heights with the X-Pro1. The camera's JPEGs are little short of superb, with appealing color rendition, lots of detail, and remarkably low noise even at high ISOs.”

Read more of the review

Key Features

  • 16.3MP APS-C "X-Trans" CMOS sensor
  • 6 frames per second continuous shooting
  • 49-area contrast detection AF system
  • ISO 200-6400, expandable up to 25,600
  • 1080 HD video
  • 3.0 inch LCD with 1,230,000 dots
  • Hybrid optical/electronic viewfinder
  • Raw and Raw + JPEG shooting
  • Flash hotshoe
  • SD/SDHC/SDXC card slot

Product Description

The Fujifilm X-Pro1 could be characterized as a more robust Fujifilm FinePix X100, boasting a 16.3MP APS-C sensor and a new XF- lens mount to the X100's fixed lens system. The X-Pro1 also borrows the X100's design philosophy, offering numerous external controls and stunning rangefinder-esque styling. Continuous shooting is available at 6 or 3 frames per second, and full 1080 HD video recording is available with stereo sound. The X-Pro1 provides a "Q Menu" for often-accessed shooting settings, as well as a version of the hybrid optical/electronic viewfinder first implemented in the X100. The X-Pro1 supports Raw shooting and Raw file conversion in-camera. Similar to the Nikon D800E, the X-Pro1 has no anti-aliasing filter in place, relying instead on a unique sensor configuration to reduce moire and boost effective resolution.

Specs

Body type
Body type Rangefinder-style mirrorless
Sensor
Max resolution 4896 x 3264
Other resolutions 4896x2760,264 × 3264, 3456x2304, 3456x1944, 2304 × 230, 2496x1664, 2496x1408 , 1664 × 1664
Image ratio w:h 1:1, 3:2, 16:9
Effective pixels 16 megapixels
Sensor size APS-C (23.6 x 15.6 mm)
Sensor type CMOS
Processor EXR Pro
Image
ISO Auto (400), Auto (800), Auto (1600), Auto (3200), 200, 250, 320, 400, 500, 640, 800, 1000, 1250, 1600, 2000, 2500, 3200, 4000, 5000, 6400 (100, 12800, 25600 with boost)
White balance presets 7
Custom white balance Yes (1)
Image stabilization No
Uncompressed format RAW
JPEG quality levels Fine, Normal
Optics & Focus
Autofocus
  • Contrast Detect (sensor)
  • Multi-area
  • Center
  • Single
  • Continuous
  • Live View
Digital zoom No
Manual focus Yes
Lens mount Fujifilm X
Focal length multiplier 1.5×
Screen / viewfinder
Articulated LCD Fixed
Screen size 3
Screen dots 1,230,000
Touch screen No
Screen type TFT color LCD monitor
Live view Yes
Viewfinder type Electronic and Optical (tunnel)
Viewfinder coverage 100%
Viewfinder magnification 0.37×
Photography features
Minimum shutter speed 30 sec
Maximum shutter speed 1/4000 sec
Aperture priority Yes
Shutter priority Yes
Manual exposure mode Yes
Subject / scene modes No
Built-in flash No
External flash Yes (via hot-shoe with EF-20, EF-42, EF-X20)
Flash modes Auto, On, Off, Red-Eye, Slow Sync, Rear-curtain
Continuous drive 6.0 fps
Self-timer Yes (2 or 10 sec)
Metering modes
  • Multi
  • Average
  • Spot
Exposure compensation ±2 (at 1/3 EV steps)
AE Bracketing (at 1/3 EV, 2/3 EV, 1 EV steps)
WB Bracketing No
Videography features
Resolutions 1920 x 1080 (24 fps), 1280 x 720 (24 fps)
Format H.264
Microphone Stereo
Speaker Mono
Storage
Storage types SD/SDHC/SDXC
Connectivity
USB USB 2.0 (480 Mbit/sec)
HDMI Yes (Mini connector)
Physical
Environmentally sealed No
Battery Battery Pack
Battery description Lithium-Ion NP-W126 rechargeable battery & charger
Battery Life (CIPA) 300
Weight (inc. batteries) 450 g (0.99 lb / 15.87 oz)
Dimensions 140 x 82 x 43 mm (5.51 x 3.23 x 1.69)
Other features
Orientation sensor Yes
Timelapse recording No
GPS None

Reviews

DPReview Conclusion

Scoring is relative only to the other cameras in the same category at the time of review.

Score Breakdown
Poor Excellent
Build quality
Ergonomics & handling
Features
Metering & focus accuracy
Image quality (raw)
Image quality (jpeg)
Low light / high ISO performance
Viewfinder / screen rating
Performance
Movie / video mode
Value
Silver Award
Silver Award
79 %
Overall Score

The X-Pro1 marks Fujifilm's entry into the high-end mirrorless interchangeable-lens market, and combines excellent image quality with fluid handling. The hybrid optical/electronic viewfinder is excellent, but autofocus is relatively slow and manual focus doesn't work very well.

Good For

Photographers looking for a combination of excellent image quality, traditional dial-based handling and discreet operation in an interchangable-lens camera.

Not So Good For

Shooting moving subjects, video work

User Reviews

4.38636 out of 5 stars
  • Ariftjioe, Feb 24, 2013 GMT:
    much improved AF

    I just want to add about the AF performance with the latest firmware (at the time of writing). It's much improved in accuracy as I always get the perfect focus ever since. But the AF speed is still only slightly improved, still on the slow side. It doesn't bother me at all. So for now, I'm perfectly happy with this camera I use X-Pro1 for my fun and travel camera. My working camera is my D800

    Continue Reading

  • burnymeister, Nov 20, 2012 GMT:
    Great IQ but some Quirks too...

    See my X-E1 review for relevant comments, but the long and short of it is: 1. Amazing IQ in OOC jpegs. 2. Great high ISO in OOC jpegs. 3. Beautiful lenses. 4. Awkward RAW processing. The XPRO-1 also has a sub-standard EVF and I found the OVF kind of annoying to be honest. The Leica cameras do a much better rangefinder implementation and most are more accurate frame lines too. The XPRO-1 is a gorgeous camera but is implemented a bit clumsily IMHO. Problems: Awkward RAW processing. Sub-standard ...

    Continue Reading

  • HetFotoAtelier, Sep 13, 2012 GMT:
    My mate

    this is my new mate for a half year now :-) When I go outdoor every day he's with me :-) amazing camera! Problems: none!

    Continue Reading

  • mjl699, Sep 12, 2012 GMT:
    Simply the best IQ I can find

    Incomparable IQ. Outstanding high ISO performance (no NR required up to ISO 1600). Slow to focus. 35mm and 60mm lenses beautiful, esp. 35mm. Great handling. Small and light compared with an SLR, big compared to M4/3 or today's point-and-shoot cameras. You can carry it with a couple of lenses all day without noticing. Problems: Slow to focus. Exposure adjustment does not work in manual mode with Auto ISO.

    Continue Reading

Videos

Fujifilm X-Pro 1 by DPReview

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

Shouldn't Tony Northrup give a training to some reviewers not to mess up equvalence calculations?

This morning I was watching this A7S vs GH4 review https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O76Ci8MDGhI and I was shocked the myriads of mistakes this reviewer made. After learning from Tony Northrup how to do equivalence calculation properly, this reviewer messes up things completely: he simply ignores to do the proper aperture conversion math. Another mistake is that he simply ignores that (pro and advanced enthusiast) videographers don't use autofocus at all, and they are not rely on native lenses; on the contrary, they prefer real manual-focus (click-less, if possible) lenses of old times or recent cine lenses. The other reviewer MichaelTheMentor at least does not messes up equivalence calculation; but, he simply compares the two video-oriented camera with his high-burst, auto-focus oriented photography approach. What a disappointment, I liked the reviews of these guys but they lost credibility. Steve Huff, too, when giving a review of Fujinon lenses on XPro1, he simply forgets to ...

Miki Nemeth asked
1 month ago

ANSWERS

Guys, (1) think of exposure as the amount gathered per unit of area, e.g. mm2. (2) think of amount of light gathered as the exposure times the number or area units. Three inches of rain is three inches of rain (amount of exposure ), whether it hits your umbrella or an entire soccer field - but the soccer field gathers a lot more water (amount of light) A larger sensor gathers more light, because it is larger, assuming that it is using the same exposure as a smaller sensor. When you view an image, the enlargement of the image is proportional to the size of the sensor that took the image - this controls the DOF and noise levels that you see. Equivalency exposure is when DOF and noise levels are similar between the two formats, and involves the crop-ratio between the two sensors. Equivalent exposure, within a single sensor, lets you trade ... Continue Reading

blue_skies answered
1 month ago

Your photo caption isn't correct. Andrew Continue Reading

andrewD2 answered
1 month ago

Light gathering, yes. Exposure, no. Continue Reading

Erik Magnuson answered
1 month ago

QUESTION

Battery life of X-Pro1 using OVF only?

hi folks. looking at X-Pro1 as potential backup to my DSLR set-up for my work (outdoors publication). does anyone know how much difference using the OVF only makes to the X-Pro1 battery life? i realise it's a bit of a general question, but any past experiences, etc., would be great to see. Cheers, Juz

Juz1970 asked
1 year ago

ANSWERS

I have gotten 600ish out of one battery using the X-P1 viewfinder only.  I took it on a trip to Portland earlier this year and realized I forgot the charger.  So I decided to not chimp and even tried to not use the menus. I regularly get 400 out of a battery with a mix of the EVF and OVF and some chimping. Continue Reading

Isahn answered
1 year ago

I had no issue getting 250 shots using only the EVF and LCD, and leaving the camera on between shots (so it was probably running the EVF a lot when it was against my chest since it was on eye detect for viewfinder.  RAW mode. Agree, even the genuine Fuji batteries are only like $30 US on Amazon currently.  They jump around a bit in price. The batteries last long enough to get to a point where batteries can be swapped out.  Obviously it is nice to have an SLR where you might be able to shoot all day on one battery, but I don't see changing batteries as a problem. Eric Continue Reading

viking79 answered
1 year ago

If you only use OVF and no LCD you can expect 2 times more shots probably around 300 It also depends on the quality of recorded shots and for ex if you record both L JPEG and RAW But even in OVF with histogram (no economy that dramatically slows down the AF) the camera is chattering all the time (neraly inaudible now) and that takes power By switching on/off you will minimize the consumption Anyway seems to me a non issue since extra generic batteries are cheap, small, and light and carrying 2 extra batteries just in case is not a problem for a day shoot Continue Reading

baobob answered
1 year ago

QUESTION

X-E1 vs X-Pro1

Hi guys, Despite being a regular visitor of DPR for a few years this is my first post here, and i'm hoping you can help!   I've come to the conclusion that I want to move on from my NEX-7, the only problem is I'm not sure what to do next :) I used to own both a Nikon D300 and a GH1, which I used for stills / video.  I've since sold both of these and moved on to a Sony NEX-7, which has been fantastic, but the restricted lens choices are beginning to frustrate me. I don't intend to buy a 24mm Zeiss lens, when the Fuji lenses are roughly half the cost - it just seems wildly overpriced.  So now I've come round to the conclusion that I should get either an X-E1 or an X-Pro1 and sell my NEX in the process. The problem I have is that the X-Pro1 is currently on offer in the UK until the end of October.  If you buy it with one XF lens, you'll get a second XF lens free. This means you can pick up the X-Pro1 with two lenses for roughly the same cost as the X-E1 with two lenses. However, I'm ...

Delie asked
1 year ago

ANSWERS

I'm 50-50 even though I'm using the XPro1. The reason is, if you have only one viewfinder, you don't face the hassle of switching. When I am shooting close, I tend to switch to EVF. Also, the EVF is more accurate than the OVF. When you half press, you get to see whether you have the correct subject in focus. XE1 is lighter and smaller and that's a nice advantage because I like the size of the X100 (similar size), not to say that I dislike the XPro1 size. Continue Reading

teohyc answered
1 year ago

I would buy the X-E1 if you don't need the OVF. Mostly because of the better EVF. For many people the built-in flash is also nice to have. The LCD screen of the X-PRO1 is better, but I don't dislike the one on the X-E1. It's good enough for me. You can easily judge sharpness on it. Continue Reading

jochenb answered
1 year ago

Even if I could get the XPro1 for the same price, I'd still buy the XE1. My reasoning is the better EVF. It's much more important to me to see better when I'm shooting than to see better when I'm reviewing. There's no reason for me to be tempted by the XPro1 because I don't like bigger and I would never use the OVF. Plus, it's not like the LCD on the XE1 is bad. Far from it. If you want smaller, lighter, better EVF, pop-up flash (that can be bounced) and better mic input, go for XE1. If you prefer a slightly larger camera and really want the Hybrid Viewfinder, go with the XPro1. Amy Continue Reading

DRabbit answered
1 year ago

WHAT'S IN THE BOX?

  • Fujifilm X-Pro 1 Mirrorless Camera
  • Li-ion battery NP-W126
  • Battery charger BC-W126
  • Shoulder strap
  • USB cable
  • Body cap
  • Metal strap clip
  • Protective cover
  • Clip attaching tool
  • CD-ROM (Viewer software, RAW File Converter etc.)
  • Owner's manual

Compatible Products

Out of Stock

Warranty Information

"Your Fujifilm equipment has been manufactured to precise standards, and with rigid quality control through every process of manufacturing. It is warranted by Fujifilm U.S.A. against defective workmanship or materials for one full year from date of purchase. Fujifilm U.S.A. will, at its option, either repair or replace (with a reconditioned unit of like condition) free of charge equipment which is returned either in person or postpaid and insured to one of the Fujifilm U.S.A. Repair Centers listed on the reverse side. The product must be accompanied by some proof of date of purchase, such as the original sales slip. This warranty does not cover batteries or flash equipment and accessories not manufactured by Fujifilm Holdings Corp. This warranty does not apply if the equipment has been damaged by accident, abuse (including, but not limited to, sand, dirt, water, liquid, impact battery corrosion, etc.), failure to follow operating or maintenance instructions or if the equipment has been modified or serviced by anyone other than a Fujifilm U.S.A. Repair Center. This warranty cannot be resold or transferred."

View Fujifilm USA warranty.

DPReview GearShop is an authorized Fujifilm dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.