Fujifilm X-T1 Mirrorless Camera

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

84% Gold Award
Overall, then, the X-T1 combines a hugely engaging control setup with a superb viewfinder, excellent image quality, one of the best AF systems in a mirrorless camera, and a pretty compelling selection of lenses to choose from.”

Read more of the review

Key Features

  • 16.3 MP APS-C X-Trans II CMOS sensor
  • ISO 200-6400 (expandable to 51200)
  • 1080/30fps HD video (.MOV/H.264)
  • Water and dust resistant and freezeproof to -14C/+14F with weather resistant lenses
  • Up to 8 FPS continuous shooting
  • 3 inch tiltable LCD with 1,040,000 dots
  • OLED viewfinder with 100% coverage and 2,360,000 dots
  • Included hot shoe flash
  • Built-in Wi-Fi connectivity and remote camera control via smartphone
  • Fujifilm X-Mount compatible
  • Raw, JPEG, and Raw+JPEG
  • SD, SDHC, and SDXC memory

Product Description

The Fujifilm X-T1 is the manufacturer's first weather-resistant interchangeable X-series camera. It is built around a 16.3 MP APS-C X-Trans CMOS II sensor housed in a die-cast magnesium body with more than 75 points of weather sealing and freeze resistance to -14°F. Fujifilm will be releasing a series of weather-resistant zoom lenses to complement the X-T1 in 2014, including the XF 18-135mmF3.5-5.6 R OIS WR, XF 16-55mmF2.8 R OIS WR and the XF 50-140mmF2.8 R OIS WR.

The X-T1 has a traditional design with five mechanical top plate dials, two command dials, and six programmable function buttons that allow the photographer to rely less on the LCD while adjusting settings. It also has high resolution OLED viewfinder that provides 100% coverage, digital split image manual focus, and a new user interface providing four display modes adjusted for different shooting situations.

Specs

Body type
Body type SLR-style mirrorless
Sensor
Max resolution 4896 x 3264
Image ratio w:h 1:1, 3:2, 16:9
Effective pixels 16 megapixels
Sensor photo detectors 17 megapixels
Sensor size APS-C (23.6 x 15.6 mm)
Sensor type CMOS
Processor EXR Processor II
Image
ISO 200-6400 (RAW), 100-51200 (JPEG)
White balance presets 8
Custom white balance Yes
Image stabilization No
Uncompressed format RAW
JPEG quality levels Large, Medium, Small
Optics & Focus
Autofocus
  • Contrast Detect (sensor)
  • Phase Detect
  • Multi-area
  • Center
  • Selective single-point
  • Single
  • Continuous
  • Face Detection
  • Live View
Manual focus Yes (MF Distance Indicator)
Lens mount Fujifilm X
Focal length multiplier 1.5×
Screen / viewfinder
Articulated LCD Tilting
Screen size 3
Screen dots 1,040,000
Touch screen No
Screen type TFT LCD (RGBW)
Live view Yes
Viewfinder type Electronic
Viewfinder coverage 100%
Viewfinder magnification 0.77×
Viewfinder resolution 2,360,000
Photography features
Minimum shutter speed 30 sec
Maximum shutter speed 1/4000 sec
Aperture priority Yes
Shutter priority Yes
Manual exposure mode Yes
Built-in flash No (External flash EF-X8 included)
Flash range 8.00 m (ISO100)
External flash Yes (Dedicated TTL flash compatible hot shoe)
Flash modes Activated when external flash is connected Red-eye removal OFF: Auto / Forced Flash / Slow Synchro / Suppressed Flash / Rear-curtain Synchro / Commander Red-eye removal ON: Red-eye Reduction Auto / Red-eye Reduction & Forced Flash / Suppressed Flash / Red-eye Reduction & Slow Synchro / Red-eye Reduction & Rear-curtain Synchro / Commander
Continuous drive 8 fps
Self-timer Yes (10sec. / 2sec. Delay)
Metering modes
  • Multi
  • Center-weighted
  • Spot
Exposure compensation ±3 (at 1/3 EV steps)
AE Bracketing (at 1/3 EV, 2/3 EV, 1 EV steps)
WB Bracketing Yes (+/- 1 to +/- 3)
Videography features
Resolutions 1920 x 1080 (30, 60p), 1280 x 720 (30p, 60p)
Format H.264
Microphone Stereo
Speaker Mono
Storage
Storage types SD / SDHC / SDXC (UHS-II)
Connectivity
USB USB 2.0 (480 Mbit/sec)
HDMI Yes (mini HDMI)
Wireless Built-In
Wireless notes Geotagging / Wireless communication (Image transfer) / View & Obtain Images / Remote camera shooting / PC Autosave
Remote control Yes (RR-90 remote release (not included))
Physical
Environmentally sealed Yes
Battery Battery Pack
Battery description NP-W126
Battery Life (CIPA) 350
Weight (inc. batteries) 440 g (0.97 lb / 15.52 oz)
Dimensions 129 x 90 x 47 mm (5.08 x 3.54 x 1.84)
Other features
Orientation sensor Yes
Timelapse recording Yes (Setting: Interval, Number of shots, Starting time)
GPS Optional
GPS notes via smartphone

Reviews

DPReview Conclusion

Scoring is relative only to the other cameras in the same category at the time of review.

Score Breakdown
Poor Excellent
Build quality
Ergonomics & handling
Features
Metering & focus accuracy
Image quality (raw)
Image quality (jpeg)
Low light / high ISO performance
Viewfinder / screen rating
Performance
Movie / video mode
Connectivity
Value
Gold Award
Gold Award
84 %
Overall Score

The X-T1 is probably Fujifilm's best camera to date, offering a compelling combination of intuitive handling, excellent image quality, and one of best electronic viewfinders we've seen. It also features one of the most impressive autofocus systems on any camera at this price level, both in terms of accuracy with fast lenses and tracking moving subjects. Over all it's a hugely engaging and capable camera, and one that's fundamentally a joy to use.

Good For

Enthusiast photographers looking for a highly capable system camera that's more portable than an SLR setup

Not So Good For

Videography, or action photography in fast-changing lighting situations

User Reviews

4.88889 out of 5 stars
  • km25, Mar 18, 2014 GMT:
    The new Fuji Flagship

    I just think I have fall out of love with my X-PRO 1. This camera has improved on the X-Pro 1 by a long shoot. Even the image processing is better. I may send my beloved X-Pro 1 to ebay. The Fuji X-T1 will become Fuji's flagship camera. It is not prefect, no camera is. I have said this about the X-Pro 1, but now for sure th X-T1 is "the Nikon F" of digital photography. In the 1960's the Nikon F, Fn and Fnt were the camera of 35mm shooters, 35mm become the most popular of all the formats and ...

    Continue Reading

  • sam12, Mar 26, 2014 GMT:
    Autofocus works!

    A little backround first:  I've been shooting sports action at the pro and college level for thirty years, I've tried all kinds of systems and companies and for the last fifteen I've been with Canon.  I thought I had the best and everything was fine.  I then tried for fun, the XPro 1, several XE1's and now the X-T1.  Like a lot of folks, I used to shoot Fuji film exclusively and have been in love with photo taking again with these new Fuji's.  The colors right out of the camera are ...

    Continue Reading

  • pinnacle, Mar 31, 2014 GMT:
    An excellent option for people wanting very high IQ without the size and weight associated with DSLR

    This camera should seriously considered if you are considering a DSLR system. The lens quality and selection has matured a lot in the past several months and the IQ competes on a plane with both APS-C and FF. The out of camera jpegs are excellent. The only real issue some may have is that Adobe is having some difficulty getting the demosaicing the RAW files. If you simply cannot consider another RAW editing software such as Photo Ninja (which does and excellent job with Fujifilm files), then ...

    Continue Reading

  • HussainJanjua, Apr 19, 2014 GMT:
    excellence

    wounderful cam

    Continue Reading

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

I hate the X100s

Because of that camera, I know that FUJI will NEVER make an interchangeable lens with a built in "leaf" style shutter.  I would love to be able to Sync to 1/500 or even 1/1000 of a second with my X-Trans cameras, and I would pay a ton for a Portrait and Wide angle lens that could do it on my X-T1.  This would cause a SERIOUS stir in the "DSLR" market in my opinion. THOUGHTS???

Conrad567 asked
1 month ago

ANSWERS

The reason why Fuji will never build them, or why there is a need for them? If the former, I can't see a reason. If the latter, a shutter in the lens opens and closes from the outside in, never blocking a partial area of the image at anytime, which means you can sync the flash at any speed. There are some practical limits, like the maximum speed which might be limited at 1/1000 when the lens is used at full aperture, but being able to use a flash at full power at 1/1000th of a second is a dream for anyone who photograph with flash in sunny conditions. How much sunlight you get is determined by the aperture and the shutter speed. And usually, you have too much sunlight, so you want a smaller aperture or a faster speed. The flash however, can only be controlled by the aperture, or the distance to the subject. So balancing flash and sunlight usually means Aperture variations = flash adjustment and speed variations =sunlight adjustment. But you are limited by the "sync speed", usually ... Continue Reading

TangoMan answered
1 month ago

After that disjointed rant, none at all.  Kinda sad, really... Continue Reading

historianx answered
1 month ago

You're gonna have to explain that one better. Continue Reading

Optimus Primes answered
1 month ago

QUESTION

X-T1 jpg quality question

This is a question for those who already have the camera. As the X-T1 has the same sensor and jpg engine as the X-E2 and X100s I suppose it is also prone to show those waxy smoothened skin tones, that many disliked. Or does it behave differently? Peter

seukel asked
2 months ago

ANSWERS

Here you go - taken with the X-T1 and 35mm Lens @ f/8 Top half ISO200, bottom half ISO3200 - STD Film Sim - no adjustments to default JPEG settings, no post processing. (Comped two images together in PS and added ISO speed info) Continue Reading

Chris Dodkin answered
2 months ago

Ed, Chris and everyone else, I'm just not quite sure what the huge issue is in general. After all we're talking about ISO 6400 and higher for cryin' out loud. We're approaching levels that not too long ago full frame sensors couldn't even pull off. And let's just forget about film. How many remember how horrible Kodachrome 200 looked, or Fujichrome 400. How bout the golf ball sized grain of Fujicolor 800 yet we all used it because it allowed us to hopefully pull 1/500 f2.8 in crappy light when our 100 speed chrome gave up the ghost. Then we'd ship the neg film off to Dale Labs to have direct reversal transparencies made from the negs. Now we're complaint about image degradation 3-4 stops higher than film could ever give us and still with better IQ than film at 400-800 ISO.  Let's face it, a majority are spoiled to the point that if every image isn't tack sharp at 100% crop and higher then the offending piece of equipment is deemed worthless. Here's a thought.  Instead of complaining ... Continue Reading

ScottD1964 answered
2 months ago

I don't own either camera, I have an X-E1 but I wish someone would post some examples, with EXIF data, of this waxy skin tone problem. I'm not saying anyone is being overly critical, of the new cameras, but find it hard to believe that Fuji JPEGs would have this problem and sometimes wonder if people aren't simply repeating an opinion that isn't shared by the majority. Seems like any post, where an individual has a problem, turns into a slam about Fuji. I'd almost bet that if I posted that my camera had a paint chip, there would be 20 people who would chime in and say the paint job on Fuji cameras was inferior to X, Y, Z brand. :-) Naturally, I could be 100% wrong about the waxy skin issue but I, personally, have never seen a sample, with EXIF data, posted. Continue Reading

Ed B answered
2 months ago

QUESTION

X-E2 vs X-T1 Image Quality

I had nearly decided to buy the X-E2 when the X-T1 was announced and destroyed all my plans. Better EVF, articulated display, same sensor and processor and a +$400 price tag. But what about the IQ? After all, that is what finally matters. I turned to the DPREVIEW tests for help and was surprised to see that, when I compared the images between XE-2 and X-T1, the X-E2 images look better and more noise free. The X-T1 images are a little brighter but at high ISOs, the X-E2 images have less noise and better detail. Has anyone else noticed this too or am I reading it wrong?

joresh64 asked
2 months ago

ANSWERS

You know this is a gear discussion forum so they are totally on topic. Greg. Continue Reading

2 months ago

Without fail, every damn time a new camera comes out, someone posts one of these threads. Either one will get you good results. Stop nitpicking and go and shoot! I frequent a lot of camera forums and this one is definitely the worst for this kinda thing. Sorry to blow up, but it's just ridiculous. Happened with the x100 and x100s, then x-e1 and x-e2, and now this. Same processor. Get either one. It. Doesn't. Matter. Continue Reading

mooshoepork answered
2 months ago

Wow.  Lighten up.  Take a deep breath and go out and shoot with either the X-E1, X-E2, or soon to be delivered X-T1. BTW, is the IQ different between the X-E2 and X-T1?  Couldn't resist.  Had to torture you. Remember, there is always Valium. caver3d Continue Reading

caver3d answered
2 months ago

WHAT'S IN THE BOX?

  • Li-ion Battery NP-W126
  • Battery Charger BC-W126
  • Shoe-mounted flash unit EF-X8
  • Shoulder strap
  • Body cap
  • Metal strap clip
  • Protective cover
  • Clip attaching tool
  • Hot shoe cover
  • Tall-orientation battery grip connector cover
  • Sync terminal cover
  • CD-ROM (Viewer software, RAW File Converter etc. *5)
  • Owner's manual

Compatible Products

Out of Stock

Warranty Information

"Your Fujifilm equipment has been manufactured to precise standards, and with rigid quality control through every process of manufacturing. It is warranted by Fujifilm U.S.A. against defective workmanship or materials for one full year from date of purchase. Fujifilm U.S.A. will, at its option, either repair or replace (with a reconditioned unit of like condition) free of charge equipment which is returned either in person or postpaid and insured to one of the Fujifilm U.S.A. Repair Centers listed on the reverse side. The product must be accompanied by some proof of date of purchase, such as the original sales slip. This warranty does not cover batteries or flash equipment and accessories not manufactured by Fujifilm Holdings Corp. This warranty does not apply if the equipment has been damaged by accident, abuse (including, but not limited to, sand, dirt, water, liquid, impact battery corrosion, etc.), failure to follow operating or maintenance instructions or if the equipment has been modified or serviced by anyone other than a Fujifilm U.S.A. Repair Center. This warranty cannot be resold or transferred."

View Fujifilm USA warranty.

DPReview GearShop is an authorized Fujifilm dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.