Fujifilm X30

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

Key Features

  • 12MP 2/3-inch X-TransTM CMOS II sensor with no Optical Low Pass Filter
  • 2.36 million dot OLED viewfinder with 0.65x magnification
  • Bright F2.0-2.8 Fujinon 4 x Optical Zoom Lens
  • Instinctive control ring
  • 11 Film Simulation Modes including - New Classic Chrome, Provia, Velvia and Astia

Product Description

The Fujifilm X30 is a premium compact digital camera with high-quality CMOS sensor, impressive "real-time viewfinder" and dual-ring operation. It will be available in black or silver/black. Available accessories include a leather case, lens hood and protective filter, various external flashes, and an external mic.

Specs

Body type
Body type Compact
Sensor
Max resolution 4000 x 3000
Other resolutions 4000 x 2664, 4000 x 2248, 2992 x 2992, 2816 x 2112, 2816 x 1864, 2816 x 1584, 2112 x 2112, 2048 x 1536, 2048 x 1360, 1920 x 1080, 1536 x 1536
Image ratio w:h 1:1, 4:3, 3:2, 16:9
Effective pixels 12 megapixels
Sensor size 2/3" (8.8 x 6.6 mm)
Sensor type CMOS
Processor EXR Processor II
Image
ISO Auto, 100-12800
White balance presets 7
Custom white balance Yes
Image stabilization Optical
Uncompressed format RAW
JPEG quality levels Fine, Normal
Optics & Focus
Focal length (equiv.) 28–112 mm
Optical zoom 4×
Maximum aperture F2.0 - F2.8
Autofocus
  • Contrast Detect (sensor)
  • Phase Detect
  • Multi-area
  • Center
  • Selective single-point
  • Tracking
  • Single
  • Continuous
  • Face Detection
  • Live View
Digital zoom Yes (2x)
Manual focus Yes
Normal focus range 50 cm (19.69)
Macro focus range 1 cm (0.39)
Number of focus points 49
Screen / viewfinder
Articulated LCD Tilting
Screen size 3
Screen dots 920,000
Touch screen No
Screen type TFT-LCD
Live view Yes
Viewfinder type Electronic
Viewfinder coverage 100%
Viewfinder magnification 0.65×
Viewfinder resolution 2,360,000
Photography features
Minimum shutter speed 30 sec
Maximum shutter speed 1/4000 sec
Aperture priority Yes
Shutter priority Yes
Manual exposure mode Yes
Subject / scene modes Yes
Built-in flash Yes (Pop-up)
Flash range 7.00 m
External flash Yes (via hot shoe)
Flash modes Auto, forced flash, slow synchro, commander, suppressed flash
Continuous drive 12.0 fps
Self-timer Yes (2 or 10 sec)
Metering modes
  • Multi
  • Average
  • Spot
Exposure compensation ±3 (at 1/3 EV steps)
AE Bracketing ±3 (at 1/3 EV, 2/3 EV, 1 EV steps)
WB Bracketing Yes (1-3 stops)
Videography features
Resolutions 1920 x 1080 (60p/50p/30p/25/24p), 1280 x 720 (60p/50p/30p/25/24p), 640 x 480 (30 fps)
Format H.264
Microphone Stereo
Speaker Mono
Storage
Storage types SD/SDHC/SDXC
Connectivity
USB USB 2.0 (480 Mbit/sec)
HDMI Yes (micro-HDMI)
Microphone port No
Headphone port No
Wireless Built-In
Wireless notes 802.11b/g/n
Remote control Yes (wired)
Physical
Environmentally sealed No
Battery Battery Pack
Battery description NP-95 lithium-ion battery & charger
Battery Life (CIPA) 470
Weight (inc. batteries) 423 g (0.93 lb / 14.92 oz)
Dimensions 119 x 72 x 60 mm (4.69 x 2.83 x 2.36)
Other features
Orientation sensor Yes
Timelapse recording No
GPS None

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

X30 Shutter Lag?

I am looking to replace my current casual travel camera and the X30 is on my short list of candidates as an upgrade-replacement. The First Impression Review on the new Fujifilm X30 states, "On a more negative note is that the X30 requires holding the shutter release for about a second before it wakes up, which was a problem on the X20 as well.". Does this mean that there is always a one second interval between pressing the shutter button and the having the scene be captured or does this imply that that it takes a second to focus and capture the scene? A one second delay would seem to be a problem when your trying to photograph kids, animals, etc. that may look at you when you do something to attract their attention, but then quickly look away. Can anyone clarify this for me?

Matt32950 asked
1 month ago

ANSWERS

If you let the camera go to sleep, (5 minutes on inactivity, or whatever setting you chose), waking it up from sleep will require that you hold the shutter for 1 second. If it's not sleeping, depressing the shutter should result in almost immediate capture. Continue Reading

TangoMan answered
1 month ago

Thanks for the clarification! Continue Reading

Matt32950 answered
1 month ago

QUESTION

Fujifilm x30

Does the Fujifilm X30 have a port for a shutter release cable ?

kermfrog asked
13 days ago

ANSWERS

You can get also an answer here... :) The X 30 has two ports for shutter release cable, you can use the USB port and you can use the 2.5mm microphone jack. I use the 2.5mm jack and my old Canon RS60-E3 cable release, this works well. Continue Reading

helmus answered
13 days ago

FYI for future reference most of the time the owners manual can be downloaded from the Fuji site. On occasion B&H Photo will link owners manuals to all their cameras on the Overview page of the given camera. Continue Reading

ryan2007 answered
12 days ago

You might try asking your question over at the Fuji FinePix talk forum. Lots of X-30 information there. Continue Reading

Ed B answered
13 days ago

QUESTION

X30 Viewfinder better than X20?

Is there a concensus the the X30 viewfinder is an improvement over the X20 viewfinder? Granted the 100% coverage, information displays rightside up when camera is rotated 90 degrees, no more lens barrel obstruction in the viewfinder, no more parallex error or tunnel view,  but what about: Data information readability, i.e., shutter speed, f/stop, ISO, mode, etc? The X30 brochure and review pictures of the EVF indicates a very nice large viewfinder but the shutter speed, f/stop and other information digital readouts appears to be very small. The X20 digital numeric readouts are large, changes color depending on lighting conditions, and reminds me of the old Canon A-1, which I found very readable.  In other words, simple, basic and unobstructive. Is the X30 EVF better for eyeglass wearers (I wear bifocals) compared to the X20 OVF?  I've read some comments that the X20 viewfinder was problematic for eyeglass wearers. Thanks.

Halwick asked
1 month ago

ANSWERS

Couldn't hide a smile as I read your posting. I come from the exact same corner of the big land of photography: Own the X10, X100, X-S1, X-E1 and the X-F1 and have two Digilux 2 at home. The X-E1 with the kit zoom lens was until now my replacement for my beloved Digilux 2, but now it seems that the X30 will come really close to what the Digilux 2 meant to us Digi-Lovers :) I'm really looking forward when the X30 will be released over here in Germany. Then I'd like to hear your opinion of this camera and if it is the new Digilux 2 Reloaded ;) Martin Continue Reading

Manie_de answered
1 month ago

I would +1 to what Bobby Tee posted. As much as I love my X10, my bifocaled eyes are just not good enough for an EVF as in the X10 (and despite the info overlays, the reason I did not buy the X20), it's just too small.   While the diopter adjustment is enough to be correct for me, I just can't compose nearly as easily as I can via the EVF in my XS-1.  A lot of times I'm reduced to shooting via the rear LCD, which I really don't like.  Man, sometimes I hate doddering off into middle age . . . . . With the XS, I use the terrific EVF exclusively while shooting.  I only use the rear LCD on the tripod, and for quick review.  It's that good, and supposedly the X30 will be even better.  I really dig they included the trick XT function of rotating the viewfinder info as you throw the camera up on one end for vertical composition.  Also, on the XS, you can have a different info display on the LCD than what you're using on the EVF:  So I usually run it with shutter, aperture, histogram, etc., ... Continue Reading

Speedex Folder answered
1 month ago

It's hard to answer this until someone has the camera in hand.  I ordered mine as soon as I saw the announcement, so I should have it among the first shipment from B&H. I currently have the X10, X100, and X-S1.  I have taken some pictures with the X20, and the OVF seems to be the same size and eyepoint as the X10, okay, but as you observed, some disadvantages.  The EVF on the X-S1 is superb--huge, bright, and excellent eyepoint--you don't have to stick your head inside the EVF to see all four corners.  Ditto for the X100. I'm hoping the EVF on the X30 will be similar to the X-S1 and X100.  If it is, this will be my Holy Grail camera.  My previous all-time favorite was the Leica Digilux 2, with manual zoom, great handling, mediocre EVF, great 5MP sensor, stunning images, but I always wished it was smaller. Continue Reading

BobbyTee answered
1 month ago
  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.