Fujifilm XF 14mm F2.8 R Lens

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

83% Gold Award
The 14mm is a pretty expensive optic, so needs to perform well to justify its price. Thankfully, it does just that - in fact it turns out to be an exceptionally good lens.”

Read more of the review

Key Features

  • 14mm focal length
  • 21mm equivalent focal length on APS-C cameras
  • F2.8 maximum aperture; F22 minimum
  • Micromotor-type AF motor
  • 58mm filters
  • 0.18m/7.09" minimum focus
  • Fujifilm X mount for X series interchangeable lens cameras

Product Description

The XF14mm F2.8 is a prime lens for the Fujifilm X-series mirrorless interchangeable lens cameras. The fourth prime in Fujifilm's XF range, the 14mm offers a 21mm equivalent wideangle field-of-view and a push-pull focus ring to engage manual focus, revealing a distance and depth of field scale. Optical construction consists of 10 elements in 7 groups, including 2 aspheric and 3 extra low dispersion elements, and the lens is optically-corrected to mininize distortion. It also features a seven-blade rounded aperture diaphragm for attractive out of focus areas.

Specs

Principal specifications
Lens type Prime lens
Max Format size APS-C / DX
Focal length 14 mm
Lens mount Fujifilm X
Aperture
Maximum aperture F2.8
Minimum aperture F22.0
Aperture ring Yes
Number of diaphragm blades 7
Aperture notes rounded
Optics
Elements 10
Groups 7
Special elements / coatings 2 aspherical element, 3 extra low dispersion elements
Focus
Minimum focus 0.18 m (7.09)
Maximum magnification 0.12×
Autofocus Yes
Motor type Micromotor
Full time manual No
Focus method Internal
Distance scale Yes
DoF scale Yes
Physical
Weight 235 g (0.52 lb)
Diameter 65 mm (2.56)
Length 58 mm (2.28)
Materials Metal barrel, metal mount
Filter thread 58 mm
Filter notes Does not rotate on focusing
Hood supplied Yes
Hood product code 14 / 18-55

Reviews

DPReview Conclusion

Score Breakdown
Poor Excellent
Optical Quality
Build Quality
Autofocus
Ergonomics and Handling
Value
Gold Award
Gold Award
83 %
Overall Score

The XF 14mm F2.8 R is a solid, well-made lens that sports traditional aperture and manual focus rings. It's not bad at F2.8 and offers excellent image quality stopped down, where superb cross-frame sharpness and minimal distortion make it ideal for architectural and landscape work.

Good For

Fujifilm X system owners looking for a high-quality wide angle prime for architecture, landscapes etc.

Not So Good For

Users who require cross-frame sharpness at F2.8

User Reviews

  • km25, Feb 28, 2013 GMT:
    14mm looks great

    It is a sharp from center to edge. I love it's MF and DOF scale. Like the 18-55 zoom, correction is made by software. I have no real idea what the true pinchusion/barreling looks like. But if it is corected... well. It looks as sharp as my 60mm F2.4. Problems: Taking on, offf and rev. the lens shade is a learing curve. But not long.

    Continue Reading

  • Tomasz Rolski, Feb 17, 2013 GMT:
    Why not the other lenses?

    This lens is superb. It does, however, cast a shadow on the other lenses in the XF family. Why don't the 18mm, 35mm and the 60mm have a similar sliding focus ring and a d-o-f scale? The 35, in particular, would benefit from that. After having used the 14, I suddenly feel there is something missing in the handling of the other ones. The 35 is such an outstanding lens that even if adding this feature meant adding to its price, Fuji should still do it. Perhaps there is a technological reason ...

    Continue Reading

  • km25, Feb 13, 2013 GMT:
    Fuji Fujinon 14MM F/2.8 XF Lens

    Just got it a few days ago. I has a fast focus, even in low light. No focus failures. The pictures from it are as sharp as my 60MM f/2.4 Fujinon. I maybe the software, but the correction is excellent. This one of best wides I have ever own. Rught up there with my Hassi SWC. Lens lens has a great MF setup. You pull back on the focusing ring, you can match your DOF with your focusing distance. The lens easy to uses and takes top level pics. It will soon become a reason to by into the Fuji "X" ...

    Continue Reading

  • km25, Nov 8, 2013 GMT:
    Fujion XF 14mm F2.8 R

    Excellent lens, very little distortion,as seen in raw-no correction. Super sharp. It center is outstanding and only a little soft toward the edges. It has a pull back to the lens in MF, with DOF scale. It handles fast and focus fast. Only a Leica lens feels better. Love this lens.

    Continue Reading

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

Fuji 18mm f/2 and 35mm f/1.4 (or Zeiss 32mm f/1.8) vs. 23mm f/1.4?

Hi, I recently acquired a Fuji X-pro1 for a great price and I am looking at starting my kit.  I am splitting hairs over my decision on what to get to start the kit off. My first idea was to solely get the 23mm f/1.4.  I am well aware that this lens is absolutely fantastic optically as well as mechanically, and I love the depth of field scale for use of zone focusing.  I was very confident in my decision with this lens, but as I started thinking about its size, I got some cold feet, which brings me to my conundrum. The alternative kit for me would be the 18mm f/2 and either the 35mm f/1.4 or 32mm 1.8 Zeiss lens.  As far as the 18mm goes, I know that it is potentially the weakest optically from the Fuji X lens offerings, and I would use it primarily for landscapes, but I feel that the size could potentially make up for the slightly sub-par IQ.  The thing I am worried about is the high CA present on the lens for landscapes.  And as for the 50mm equivalents, I am drawn slightly more ...

Ty Madey asked
4 months ago

ANSWERS

With the rebate I got on the 14 and 35mm Fuji's I paid much less than I would for the Zeiss lenses even with the current offer. I would need to see a clear advantage and if anything the advantage goes to Fuji for my purposes. The Fuji 35mm has a wider aperture and the Fuji 14mm has a 58mm filter thread like some other Fuji lenses I own. Continue Reading

slimandy answered
4 months ago

Your reply is confusing.  You state you quit the Nikon plus zoom system because you got tired of the size.  The Fuji 18-55 zoom is not nearly as big or heavy as a DSLR zoom of comparable quality. The XPro1 plus 18-55 would weigh probably half of what the Nikon plus zoom did. The 18-55 is roughly comparable in weight to the 23 or 56 so is not a particularly heavy lens.  Hard to imagine much disadvantage of the 18-55 vs the 18 prime other than size either especially as the zoom has OIS. As another poster suggested, the 18-55 zoom plus the 27 might serve you well. Continue Reading

IslandTractor answered
4 months ago

Not trying to talk you out of primes but as many have discovered, the 18-55 zoom is good enough that you really don't give up much especially considering the OIS. It makes particular sense as a travel lens when space is a consideration. You might peruse the various lens tests at http://www.photozone.de/fuji_x to see just how well the 18-55 compares to it's prime siblings. Continue Reading

IslandTractor answered
4 months ago

QUESTION

14mm for the street

Is 14mm good for street shooting? I assume the perspective will distort the faces of people when the camera is tilted up or down, even a bit. Anyone have examples?

Cagri asked
10 months ago

ANSWERS

http://www.littlebigtravelingcamera.com/?cat=159 most shot with the 14mm. Continue Reading

Joachim Gerstl answered
10 months ago
  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.