Fujifilm XF 23mm F1.4 R Lens

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

Key Features

  • 23mm focal length
  • 35mm equivalent focal length on APS-C cameras
  • F1.4 maximum aperture; F16 minimum
  • 62mm filter thread
  • 0.28 m / 11.02" minimum focus
  • 7 rounded aperture blades
  • Fujifilm X mount for X series interchangeable lens cameras

Product Description

The Fujinon XF23mm F1.4 R is a fast prime for Fujifilm's X system of mirrorless cameras. It offers a moderate wideangle field of view equivalent to a 35mm lens on full frame (the same as the company's fixed-lens X100S). It has traditional aperture and manual focus rings, and the latter has distance and depth of field scales too. Like the company's XF14mm F2.8R, the 23mm is fully optically-corrected for distortion.

Specs

Principal specifications
Lens type Prime lens
Max Format size APS-C / DX
Focal length 23 mm
Image stabilisation No
Lens mount Fujifilm X
Aperture
Maximum aperture F1.4
Minimum aperture F16.0
Aperture ring Yes
Number of diaphragm blades 7
Aperture notes Rounded blades
Optics
Elements 11
Groups 8
Special elements / coatings 1 aspherical element, High Transmittance Electron Beam Coating
Focus
Minimum focus 0.28 m (11.02)
Maximum magnification 0.1×
Autofocus Yes
Motor type Micromotor
Full time manual No
Focus method Internal
Distance scale Yes
DoF scale Yes
Physical
Weight 300 g (0.66 lb)
Diameter 72 mm (2.83)
Length 63 mm (2.48)
Filter thread 62 mm

Reviews

User Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
  • avanbeek, Jan 31, 2014 GMT:
    Comparing Fuji Fuji X Lenses with Canon Full Frame Lenses

    This article compares various focal lengths on the cropped Fuji X-E2 with their full frame counter-parts on a Canon 5D Mark II in a studio environment. http://andrewvanbeek.com/fuji-x-lenses-and-full-frame/

    Continue Reading

  • km25, Mar 18, 2014 GMT:
    23mm F/1.4 Great Preformance

    I have shoot may pictures with this lens, this to me is avery important focal length. Even wide open the pictures looks great. I have Leica 35mm  F/1.4 on an M7. I can see no difference. The Fujion lens are on the level of CZ and Leica, one may even say CZ and leica are on the level of Fuji.

    Continue Reading

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

Fujifilm X-T1 with XF 23mm f/1.4 R vs Canon 6D with Sigma 35mm f/1.4 DG HSM

Which is better in terms of IQ? Fujifilm X-T1 with XF 23mm f/1.4 R or Canon 6D with Sigma 35mm f/1.4 DG HSM?

ANSWERS

QUESTION

23mm f/1.4 - "very quiet" AF?

Hi, I've been using the Fujinon 23mm on my X-E2 for about a week now and noticed that dpreview now has a preview of the lens available. The preview says: "Autofocus is pretty fast (especially on the X-E2), very quiet, and unerringly accurate." Autofocus on my copy is not very quiet at all, pretty far from it. It definitely makes a noticeable noise unlike the XF 18-55 lens, it sounds more like some screw-drive lenses I had on my Nikon D700, yet maybe even louder and "chunkier". There's no problem with speed or accuracy though. Any thoughts? Is my copy defective?

crwl asked
10 months ago

ANSWERS

I took a look at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nJtL6itfeWY and http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cW-xgkRKZ28 these sound pretty familiar, definitely not "very quiet"... but at least it seems my copy is OK. Continue Reading

crwl answered
10 months ago

I would say my 23mm is louder than the 18-55 but quieter than the external focusing 18mm and 35mm. The 23mm is internal focusing but it's a hefty piece of glass compared to the others, I guess that's where the noise comes from. Still, not really an issue to me. For me the 23mm is the best fuji lens to date for pure iq, its amazing how well it performs at 1.4 Continue Reading

DJF77 answered
10 months ago

Have a play with the 27 and then go to the 23... :) Continue Reading

57LowRider answered
10 months ago

QUESTION

Choosing between xf35mm and xf23mm?

Hi guys, I'm having trouble deciding between these 2 lenses and would love to hear what you guys have to say. I own the xf18-55 mm and after taking a look at my most used focal lengths (using Exposureplot), I found that I use both almost equally, with 35mm slightly more. That being said I use the 35mm the most among all focal lengths, although the difference isn't far from the 23mm. I feel that I tend to favor the 35mm more, but I really want the new manual focusing ring that they have on the 23mm (here I assume that it would allow for a faster manual focusing). According to a review i've read, the 35mm also tends to make a louder noise when focusing, also something that I take into consideration. Currently, I couldn't find any reviews on the differences between these two lenses optically, at least both in resolution and color rendition, but I expect one to not be too far from the other. Please advise.

adrienaoe asked
11 months ago

ANSWERS

I really don't think you should let the technicalities decide this. Everything I've read and seen of those two says they are fine lenses. What is much more important is how you see your photographs. It is very sensible to look at which focal lengths you actually use, as you have done. But more than that, which focal length(s) have helped you make your favorite pictures?  If you select your best pictures (let's say a portfolio of 20-30) what focal lengths did you use there? I'm sure you won't go wrong with either, as long as it suits your way of seeing. HTH, Antony. Continue Reading

frontal_lobe answered
11 months ago

I own the 18-55 and if I could have only one of these two primes I would go for the 35mm. The reason is that since it is a longer FL the ability to blur background is significantly enhanced relative to 23mm. Also, the 35mm seems superb for portraits and separating subject from background. So I think the 35mm compliments the 18-55 better. You mentioned that you incline a little more to 35mm vs 23, so there you go. Continue Reading

Al Valentino answered
11 months ago

23mm is more versatile. The 35 has a magic quality though Continue Reading

DonSantos answered
11 months ago

Warranty Information

"Your Fujifilm equipment has been manufactured to precise standards, and with rigid quality control through every process of manufacturing. It is warranted by Fujifilm U.S.A. against defective workmanship or materials for one full year from date of purchase. Fujifilm U.S.A. will, at its option, either repair or replace (with a reconditioned unit of like condition) free of charge equipment which is returned either in person or postpaid and insured to one of the Fujifilm U.S.A. Repair Centers listed on the reverse side. The product must be accompanied by some proof of date of purchase, such as the original sales slip. This warranty does not cover batteries or flash equipment and accessories not manufactured by Fujifilm Holdings Corp. This warranty does not apply if the equipment has been damaged by accident, abuse (including, but not limited to, sand, dirt, water, liquid, impact battery corrosion, etc.), failure to follow operating or maintenance instructions or if the equipment has been modified or serviced by anyone other than a Fujifilm U.S.A. Repair Center. This warranty cannot be resold or transferred."

View Fujifilm USA warranty.

DPReview GearShop is an authorized Fujifilm dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.