Fujifilm XF 55-200mm F3.5-4.8 Lens

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

83% Silver Award
We've found the 55-200mm to be an impressive performer, with very good image quality across its entire zoom range and a useful minimum focus distance for close range shooting.”

Read more of the review

Key Features

  • 55-200mm focal length
  • 83-300mm equivalent focal length on APS-C cameras
  • F3.5-4.8 maximum aperture; F22 minimum
  • Stepper-type AF motor
  • Image stabilization (4.5 stops claimed)
  • 62mm filters
  • 1.10m/43.41" minimum focus
  • Fujifilm X mount for X series interchangeable lens cameras

Product Description

The Fujinon XF 55-200mm F3.5-4.8 R LM OIS is the first telephoto zoom for Fujifilm's X system cameras, and offers an 83-300mm equivalent angle of view. It has built-in optical image stabilisation with 4.5 stops claimed benefit, and uses linear stepper motors for silent autofocus. The lens features an (unmarked) aperture control ring, and offers high quality all-metal barrel construction.

Specs

Principal specifications
Lens type Zoom lens
Max Format size APS-C / DX
Focal length 55–200 mm
Image stabilisation Yes (4.5 stops claimed)
Lens mount Fujifilm X
Aperture
Maximum aperture F3.5 - F4.8
Minimum aperture F22.0
Aperture ring Yes
Number of diaphragm blades 7
Aperture notes rounded diaphragm
Optics
Elements 14
Groups 10
Special elements / coatings Two ED glass elements, one Super ED glass element
Focus
Minimum focus 1.10 m (43.31)
Maximum magnification 0.18×
Autofocus Yes
Motor type Stepper motor
Full time manual Yes
Focus method Internal
Distance scale No
DoF scale No
Physical
Weight 580 g (1.28 lb)
Diameter 75 mm (2.95)
Length 118 mm (4.65)
Materials Metal barrel, metal mount
Zoom method Rotary (extending)
Power zoom No
Zoom lock No
Filter thread 62 mm
Filter notes Does not rotate on focusing
Hood supplied Yes

Reviews

DPReview Conclusion

Scoring is relative only to the other lenses in the same category at the time of review.

Score Breakdown
Poor Excellent
Optical Quality
Build Quality
Autofocus
Image Stabilization
Ergonomics and Handling
Value
Silver Award
Silver Award
83 %
Overall Score

The XF 55-200mm F3.5-4.8 R LM OIS is a relatively portable, well-made telephoto zoom that delivers consistently fine images. Focusing is essentially silent and reasonably fast, at least with static subjects, and the optical image stabilisation works very well. It's a natural complement to the XF 18-55mm F2.8-4 R LM OIS zoom.

Good For

X-system owners looking to extend their lens set into the genuine telephoto range without sacrificing build or image quality.

Not So Good For

Photographers shooting fast-moving subjects

User Reviews

4.625 out of 5 stars
  • Paul Crouse, May 31, 2013 GMT:
    This is a great lens

    I have only had this lens for a week, so I haven't had too much experience with it, but this is a great lens. It is really solidly built -- it reminds me a little of old manual focus Nikkors. The zoom ring is very stiff, but I like it. The aperture ring has just the right feel. And the images are really good. My main purpose is for this lens is shooting portraits with my X-E1. Wow -- very nice stuff. The bokeh is really good for a zoom lens. The images are sharp and clear with a bit of ...

    Continue Reading

  • baobob, Jun 11, 2013 GMT:
    First impressions...

    Pros: Very high IQ 5* Compactness 5* Excellent OIS allowing 1/10sec shoot at 200mm !! Build 4* : the aperture ring is much too easy to move and change like the 18-55mm (see cons) Reasonable price tag given the global quality of the product 3.5* Cons: Little play on the Xf bayonet that exists with others but which is detectable with this one due to a too tighten focal length ring, a bit unpleasant AF might be slow in dim light Fixation of the hood for transport is uneasy like with the 60mm and ...

    Continue Reading

  • Dietr, Sep 26, 2013 GMT:
    Not without it's flaws.

    As with all of Fuji's lenses, the aperture seems a little loose to me, and I wish that the apertures were marked on the body akin to the 35mm f1.4.  But the optics are superb. Out of focus rendering is beautiful and the focus "hot spot" is very sharp. This kind of lens is rarely used in a situation that requires border sharpness, but my copy seems to be fairly sharp from edge to edge. I have read DP Review's complaint that the borders are soft due to in camera processing to remove pincushion ...

    Continue Reading

  • SaltLakeGuy, Mar 21, 2014 GMT:
    The "L" of the Fuji Zooms

    This lens is currently my favorite go to lens of those I own. It is fast to focus, has great bokeh and is built like a pro lens would be. Tight tolerances and smooth operation. It does everything right. The contrast and color rendition is top flight. the lens could easily sell for 2x it's price but with some of the recent sales offer it becomes a MUST HAVE.

    Continue Reading

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

Vignetting with the Raynox macro/close-up conversion lens?

I am looking at getting a Raynox DCR-150 or DCR-250 for my X-E1.  I'm leaning towards the DCR-150 and using it on my 55-200; if I understand it correctly, that should result in almost a 1:1 reproduction ratio at 200mm and give me a working distance of somewhere around 7" or so. I considered the DCR-250, which should give a range of reproduction ratios of 1:0.5 to 1.6:1; however, I'm concerned that the short working distance would make it difficult to use.  Also, as the Raynox is 43mm and would be put onto my 55-200 (which as 62mm threads), I'd be concerned with vignetting. Does anyone have practical experience with either the DCR-150 or DCR-250 on either the 18-55 or the 55-200?  Do you experience vignetting at the wide end of your lenses?  Any help/feedback would be appreciated!

14 days ago

ANSWERS

Hello Mike I use the Raynox M-250 on the following lenses. I mostly use the diafragms between 16 and 22 to achieve some depth of field sharpness inspite the risk of diffraction. 18-55 2.8/4  Very strong vignetting even at 55mm at 18mm you have a large dark area. 16-50 3.5/5.6 very strong vignetting at 16mm and very little at 50mm 55-200 4.5/6.7 very little vignetting at 55mm and no vignetting at all at 200mm, but at 200mm you must use a very stable tripot to cancel movements. It can be done with a raynox lens because you have 16 mpx and cropping can be done to get rid of the vignetting. I have made these pictures just to show you the vignetting. I use the raynox too on an old Nikon 28-80 and there you have little or no vignetting at all at f22. I hope your reply will help you to make a decision Continue Reading

paul0250 answered
14 days ago

Paul- This is EXACTLY the information that I was looking for.  Thanks so much for the quick shots showing the differences between the 3 lenses, and at both extremes of the focal length. Continue Reading

Mike in Kansas answered
14 days ago

QUESTION

fuji FX 55-200 loose parts?

Hi folks, I recently bought a new 55-200mm F3.5-4.8 lens on Ebay for my new Fuji X-T1.The lens has strange sound when I flip it over. It sounds like there is a loose part inside. After a breif test the lens seems to be working, images do not have obvious issues. But this annoying sound is very frustrating. Does anybody have the same experience? Is it normal? Thanks.

Moebius17 asked
2 months ago

ANSWERS

Remember there is an OIS it means a floating element inside ou perceive the movements of this floating element when walking and holding the lens be sure to turn off the camera when changing lens that could account for some noise Continue Reading

baobob answered
2 months ago

yeah most lenses with OIS have some floating elements - it's quite normal to hear something loose in them. Continue Reading

machoman answered
2 months ago

Mine makes a noise when turned end for end downward. More so when the front element is turned downward. Continue Reading

Edward Chatlos answered
2 months ago

QUESTION

Fuji 55-200 f4-f5.6 for airshows

Hello. This is my first post here and apologies if it has been asked before. I have done a search and can't find it addressed. I am hoping I could get some opinions about the Fuji 55-200 f4-f5.6 and its suitability for airshows please. Airshows are just a part of my photography and I have never wanted to carry around large DSLRs and very large, heavy lenses. I currently have a Sony A7 with the 28-70mm kit lens which I really enjoy using. I also use it with legacy Rokkor lenses so don't want to abandon the A7. I have a NEX 6 with the E mount 55-210 mm lens but I found it to be sub par at a recent airshow. While the upcoming Sony 70-200 FE G lens will probably be very good it will also be quite heavy and is also expensive. Looking at current prices I could probably get a Fuji 55-200 and have around $1000 left over for a body for what the Sony G lens will cost. I have to do more research but to me that is quite appealing. I also see a super telephoto in the Fuji lens roadmap. Do those ...

Cobber55 asked
4 months ago

ANSWERS

I used to go to a lot of air shows and shot film cameras without AF.  If it's bright enough, I would usually set my camera to f/8, calculate the hyper focal distance (about 250 meters), and fire away without ever touching the focusing ring. I've only been to 2 air shows since switching to digital and used the same technique (Nikon D lenses are not fast focusing). Worked like a charm! Continue Reading

PenPix answered
4 months ago

A good techique Continue Reading

Cobber55 answered
4 months ago

The X-T1 would be the better body for airshows I think. As far as the 55-200 goes it might be a bit short if the action is at a distance. Even with the crop factor if the planes are small or far away it would be a struggle to get a big enough image to fill the frame. I am more than willing to stand corrected by any one who shoots airshows. My interest is limited as is my experience using a digital camera. I think the AF will keep up with it OK, especially if the light is good. I do know that combination will keep up for the most part in not so well lit hockey rinks. that is my two cents worth. Continue Reading

WT Jones answered
4 months ago

Warranty Information

"Your Fujifilm equipment has been manufactured to precise standards, and with rigid quality control through every process of manufacturing. It is warranted by Fujifilm U.S.A. against defective workmanship or materials for one full year from date of purchase. Fujifilm U.S.A. will, at its option, either repair or replace (with a reconditioned unit of like condition) free of charge equipment which is returned either in person or postpaid and insured to one of the Fujifilm U.S.A. Repair Centers listed on the reverse side. The product must be accompanied by some proof of date of purchase, such as the original sales slip. This warranty does not cover batteries or flash equipment and accessories not manufactured by Fujifilm Holdings Corp. This warranty does not apply if the equipment has been damaged by accident, abuse (including, but not limited to, sand, dirt, water, liquid, impact battery corrosion, etc.), failure to follow operating or maintenance instructions or if the equipment has been modified or serviced by anyone other than a Fujifilm U.S.A. Repair Center. This warranty cannot be resold or transferred."

View Fujifilm USA warranty.

DPReview GearShop is an authorized Fujifilm dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.