Fujifilm XF 56mm F1.2 R Lens

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

Key Features

  • 56mm focal length
  • 84mm equivalent focal length on APS-C cameras
  • F1.2 maximum aperture; F16 minimum
  • 62mm filter threads
  • 0.7 m / 27.56" minimum focus
  • 7 rounded aperture blades
  • Fujifilm X mount for X series interchangeable lens cameras

Product Description

The XF 56mm F1.2 R is a premium fast 'portrait' prime for Fujifilm's X system mirrorless cameras. It offers an angle of view equivalent to 85mm on full frame, and uses an inner focusing system for fast, silent autofocus. It has an aperture ring with detents at 1/3 stop intervals, but unlike the company's wide angle primes, no distance or depth of field scales.

Specs

Principal specifications
Lens type Prime lens
Max Format size APS-C / DX
Focal length 56 mm
Image stabilisation No
Lens mount Fujifilm X
Aperture
Maximum aperture F1.2
Minimum aperture F16.0
Aperture ring Yes
Number of diaphragm blades 7
Aperture notes Rounded diaphragm
Optics
Elements 11
Groups 8
Special elements / coatings 2 ED glass elements, 1 double-sided aspheric element
Focus
Minimum focus 0.70 m (27.56)
Maximum magnification 0.09×
Autofocus Yes
Motor type Micromotor
Full time manual Unknown
Focus method Internal
Distance scale No
DoF scale No
Physical
Weight 405 g (0.89 lb)
Diameter 73 mm (2.88)
Length 70 mm (2.74)
Materials Metal barrel, metal mount
Filter thread 62 mm

Reviews

User Reviews

  • avanbeek, Apr 14, 2014 GMT:
    Fuji vs Canon Lenses - 85mm F1.2 vs 56mm F1.2

    In case you are interested...   :-) http://andrewvanbeek.com/fuji-vs-canon-lenses/

    Continue Reading

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

Love the XR 56 f/1.2 -- what are alternatives?

I rented the Fuji XR 56 f/1.2 from Borrowlenses and absolutely love this lens.  The color rendition and the fast 1.2 aperture really makes shooting my newborn so much fun.  I thought I wouldn't like the focal length as I used to have an Nikon 85 f/1.8 back when I shot full frame Nikon with my D700. Something about this lens really is magical though, and perhaps my shooting style has evolved so now this focal length makes sense.. who knows :) However, the price tag of $1k is a little steep!  I have a Fotodiox Nikon adapter, that I've been messing with mounting an old Nikon 35 f/2 I had left over and don't mind the manual focus given the focus peaking. I'm wondering if anyone would recommend any old fast Nikon glass of 50mm or higher that would possibly be comparable to the Fuji 56? Wondering if I can pickup an old good performing Nikon lens off eBay... Or am I dreaming and not possible?

bobby_t1 asked
27 days ago

ANSWERS

Don't know, but if You like soft/creamy OOF, check the 35/85 F/1.4 Samyang and the old 50mm Sigma Lenses. Continue Reading

Carsten Pauer 2 answered
27 days ago

QUESTION

56mm lens noise during video mode and AF-S mode

Hi I just got 56mm lens and it makes constant noise when it's in movie mode and AF-S mode kinda sound like aperture ring moving. Do other people experience this?

kimmonoj asked
2 months ago

ANSWERS

QUESTION

Fuji 18mm f/2 and 35mm f/1.4 (or Zeiss 32mm f/1.8) vs. 23mm f/1.4?

Hi, I recently acquired a Fuji X-pro1 for a great price and I am looking at starting my kit.  I am splitting hairs over my decision on what to get to start the kit off. My first idea was to solely get the 23mm f/1.4.  I am well aware that this lens is absolutely fantastic optically as well as mechanically, and I love the depth of field scale for use of zone focusing.  I was very confident in my decision with this lens, but as I started thinking about its size, I got some cold feet, which brings me to my conundrum. The alternative kit for me would be the 18mm f/2 and either the 35mm f/1.4 or 32mm 1.8 Zeiss lens.  As far as the 18mm goes, I know that it is potentially the weakest optically from the Fuji X lens offerings, and I would use it primarily for landscapes, but I feel that the size could potentially make up for the slightly sub-par IQ.  The thing I am worried about is the high CA present on the lens for landscapes.  And as for the 50mm equivalents, I am drawn slightly more ...

Ty Madey asked
1 month ago

ANSWERS

With the rebate I got on the 14 and 35mm Fuji's I paid much less than I would for the Zeiss lenses even with the current offer. I would need to see a clear advantage and if anything the advantage goes to Fuji for my purposes. The Fuji 35mm has a wider aperture and the Fuji 14mm has a 58mm filter thread like some other Fuji lenses I own. Continue Reading

slimandy answered
1 month ago

Your reply is confusing.  You state you quit the Nikon plus zoom system because you got tired of the size.  The Fuji 18-55 zoom is not nearly as big or heavy as a DSLR zoom of comparable quality. The XPro1 plus 18-55 would weigh probably half of what the Nikon plus zoom did. The 18-55 is roughly comparable in weight to the 23 or 56 so is not a particularly heavy lens.  Hard to imagine much disadvantage of the 18-55 vs the 18 prime other than size either especially as the zoom has OIS. As another poster suggested, the 18-55 zoom plus the 27 might serve you well. Continue Reading

IslandTractor answered
1 month ago

Not trying to talk you out of primes but as many have discovered, the 18-55 zoom is good enough that you really don't give up much especially considering the OIS. It makes particular sense as a travel lens when space is a consideration. You might peruse the various lens tests at http://www.photozone.de/fuji_x to see just how well the 18-55 compares to it's prime siblings. Continue Reading

IslandTractor answered
1 month ago

Warranty Information

"Your Fujifilm equipment has been manufactured to precise standards, and with rigid quality control through every process of manufacturing. It is warranted by Fujifilm U.S.A. against defective workmanship or materials for one full year from date of purchase. Fujifilm U.S.A. will, at its option, either repair or replace (with a reconditioned unit of like condition) free of charge equipment which is returned either in person or postpaid and insured to one of the Fujifilm U.S.A. Repair Centers listed on the reverse side. The product must be accompanied by some proof of date of purchase, such as the original sales slip. This warranty does not cover batteries or flash equipment and accessories not manufactured by Fujifilm Holdings Corp. This warranty does not apply if the equipment has been damaged by accident, abuse (including, but not limited to, sand, dirt, water, liquid, impact battery corrosion, etc.), failure to follow operating or maintenance instructions or if the equipment has been modified or serviced by anyone other than a Fujifilm U.S.A. Repair Center. This warranty cannot be resold or transferred."

View Fujifilm USA warranty.

DPReview GearShop is an authorized Fujifilm dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.