Fujifilm XF1 Compact Camera

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

Tried & Tested
The XF1 is undoubtedly a pretty camera that does a good job of balancing the needs of different potential users - it works well as a stylish point-and-shoot, but is still quick and enjoyable to take control over.”

Key Features

  • 12MP 2/3"-type CMOS sensor
  • 10 frames per second continuous shooting
  • 4x F1.8-4.9 optical zoom lens (25-100mm equivalent)
  • ISO 100-3200, expandable up to 12,800 at reduced resolution
  • 1080 HD video
  • 3.0 inch LCD with 460,000 dots
  • Built-in ND filter
  • Raw and Raw + JPEG shooting
  • Pop-up flash
  • Electronic level
  • SD/SDHC/SDXC card slot
  • In-camera Raw conversion

Product Description

Designed with a nod to retro rangefinder-type cameras, the stylish Fujifilm XF1 offers a relatively large-for-a-compact 12MP EXR sensor. It features a mechanically-operated 4x optical zoom lens covering a 25-100mm equivalent range with a bright F1.8 maximum aperture at wide angle. Unlike most cameras in its class, the XF1's manually operated zoom affords a level of precision in framing that powered zoom lenses don't. Full 1080 HD video is included with built-in stereo microphones. The camera's design incorporates plenty of physical controls, and an E-Fn button is provided, shifting each button on the back panel to a user-defined setting. Fujifilm's familiar EXR modes are represented, including a useful Dynamic Range mode that produces 6MP JPEGs.

Specs

Body type
Body type Compact
Sensor
Max resolution 4000 x 3000
Other resolutions 4000 x 2664, 4000 x 2248, 2992 x 2992, 2816 x 2112, 2816 x 1864, 2816 x 1584, , 2112 x 2112, 2048 x x 1536, 2048 x 1360, 1920 x 1080, 1536 x 1536
Image ratio w:h 1:1, 4:3, 3:2, 16:9
Effective pixels 12 megapixels
Sensor size 2/3" (8.8 x 6.6 mm)
Sensor type EXRCMOS
Image
ISO Auto, 100, 200, 250, 320, 400, 500, 640, 800, 1000, 1250, 1600, 2000, 2500, 3200, (4000, 5000, 6400, 12800 with boost)
White balance presets 7
Custom white balance Yes (1)
Image stabilization Optical
Uncompressed format RAW
JPEG quality levels Fine, Normal
Optics & Focus
Focal length (equiv.) 25–100 mm
Optical zoom 4×
Maximum aperture F1.8 - F4.9
Autofocus
  • Contrast Detect (sensor)
  • Multi-area
  • Center
  • Single
  • Continuous
  • Live View
Digital zoom No
Manual focus Yes
Normal focus range 50 cm (19.69)
Macro focus range 3 cm (1.18)
Screen / viewfinder
Articulated LCD Fixed
Screen size 3
Screen dots 460,000
Touch screen No
Screen type TFT color LCD monitor
Live view Yes
Viewfinder type None
Photography features
Minimum shutter speed 30 sec
Maximum shutter speed 1/4000 sec
Aperture priority Yes
Shutter priority Yes
Manual exposure mode Yes
Subject / scene modes Yes
Built-in flash Yes (Pop-up)
External flash No
Flash modes Auto, On, Off, Red-Eye, Slow Sync, Rear-curtain
Continuous drive 7 fps
Self-timer Yes (2 or 10 sec)
Metering modes
  • Multi
  • Average
  • Spot
Exposure compensation ±2 (at 1/3 EV steps)
AE Bracketing (3 frames at 1/3 EV, 2/3 EV, 1 EV steps)
WB Bracketing No
Videography features
Resolutions 1920 x 1080 (30 fps), 1280 x 720 (30 fps), 640 x 480 (30 fps)
Format H.264
Microphone Stereo
Speaker Mono
Storage
Storage types SD/SDHC/SDXC
Storage included 25 MB
Connectivity
USB USB 2.0 (480 Mbit/sec)
HDMI Yes (Mini connector)
Remote control No
Physical
Environmentally sealed No
Battery Battery Pack
Battery description Lithium-Ion NP-50 rechargeable battery & charger
Weight (inc. batteries) 255 g (0.56 lb / 8.99 oz)
Dimensions 108 x 62 x 33 mm (4.25 x 2.44 x 1.3)
Other features
Orientation sensor Yes
GPS None

Reviews

User Reviews

4.25 out of 5 stars
  • SergeyMS, Nov 24, 2012 GMT:
    Great camera

    Recently bought it. Excellent quality of pictures, very stylish and small. Exclusively convenient programmable menu system - you may reach all needed functions just in two clicks. New record of Fuji. Perfectionism in all details. They have somebody like Steve Jobs, I think, because their X-100, X-10, X-Pro ans XF are so brilliant, like Apple production.

    Continue Reading

  • dpmaster, Nov 4, 2012 GMT:
    a stylist camera that everyone is talking it !

    i just try out the xf1 for a night shoot. i find out that the nightshoot is very godd and iso control is excellent ! i have more advanced filters to try it as well.

    Continue Reading

  • Kokeen4231, Oct 10, 2012 GMT:
    Great first impressions.

    I have not tested the x f1 for long but image quality is reasonably well. somewhat like the x10 since the same sensor is used. It is really sleek and has design is classy. In other words, its got the 'brains and brawns'. Problems: F4.9 at longest end.

    Continue Reading

  • dpmaster, Sep 30, 2012 GMT:
    cool stylish design

    i like this camera alot . i like the design n the performance on this xf1 !

    Continue Reading

Videos

Fujifilm XF1 Compact Enthusiast Camera by DPReview

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

XF1 dust issues?

Is anybody having problems with dust already in/on... or getting in/on their XF1’s sensor, lens, etc.? A few buyers at B&H are already complaining about it...

Joe186 asked
1 year ago

ANSWERS

Joe186 wrote: (1) Currently twenty reviews there, of which just two mention dust. (2) The two reviews that mention dust are by the same person (fewer than "a few"). (3) In the later of the two reviews, that person plugs a different camera that it appears he (or she) has not yet purchased, and implies that the other camera has better quality control. Sounds like either a one-off bad unit of the XF1 or a crank with an agenda, or both. Continue Reading

prime answered
1 year ago

Joe186 wrote: Not yet, in three months of use in some pretty dusty environments on two continents. Continue Reading

prime answered
1 year ago

Continue Reading

jimr answered
1 year ago

QUESTION

Choosing between xf35mm and xf23mm?

Hi guys, I'm having trouble deciding between these 2 lenses and would love to hear what you guys have to say. I own the xf18-55 mm and after taking a look at my most used focal lengths (using Exposureplot), I found that I use both almost equally, with 35mm slightly more. That being said I use the 35mm the most among all focal lengths, although the difference isn't far from the 23mm. I feel that I tend to favor the 35mm more, but I really want the new manual focusing ring that they have on the 23mm (here I assume that it would allow for a faster manual focusing). According to a review i've read, the 35mm also tends to make a louder noise when focusing, also something that I take into consideration. Currently, I couldn't find any reviews on the differences between these two lenses optically, at least both in resolution and color rendition, but I expect one to not be too far from the other. Please advise.

adrienaoe asked
8 months ago

ANSWERS

I really don't think you should let the technicalities decide this. Everything I've read and seen of those two says they are fine lenses. What is much more important is how you see your photographs. It is very sensible to look at which focal lengths you actually use, as you have done. But more than that, which focal length(s) have helped you make your favorite pictures?  If you select your best pictures (let's say a portfolio of 20-30) what focal lengths did you use there? I'm sure you won't go wrong with either, as long as it suits your way of seeing. HTH, Antony. Continue Reading

frontal_lobe answered
8 months ago

I own the 18-55 and if I could have only one of these two primes I would go for the 35mm. The reason is that since it is a longer FL the ability to blur background is significantly enhanced relative to 23mm. Also, the 35mm seems superb for portraits and separating subject from background. So I think the 35mm compliments the 18-55 better. You mentioned that you incline a little more to 35mm vs 23, so there you go. Continue Reading

Al Valentino answered
8 months ago

23mm is more versatile. The 35 has a magic quality though Continue Reading

DonSantos answered
8 months ago

QUESTION

Soft highlight + shadow VS DR 200 400?

Has anyone investigated the cameras (X10, X10, XF1, XS1, HSnn) that have a setting for highlight and shadow treatment (soft means more detail) to see how well it works compared to DR 200 + 400? I was just reading the X-M1 review and it seems that soft highlight and shadow settings do not increase ISO, as does the DR setting.

CAcreeks asked
8 months ago

ANSWERS

As promised! I have other examples, but of the ones I was looking at tonight, this is my favorite for how it shows the effect on both highlights and shadows. Original photo: highlight and shadow tones at STD. Processed in-camera: highlight and shadow tones both at SOFT. In this case, I much prefer the second image. The clouds show more texture, and the bushes, more foliage. The tree goes from all black (or nearly) to clear definition in the bark! The shadows in the columns and the building likewise seem more natural, or at least pleasing, than in the first shot. This is not always the case; oftentimes, SOFT can produce images that seem to give an unnatural glow, especially to skin tones. As noted, both shots come from the same exposure(s), using in-camera Raw processing. I changed only the highlight & shadow tones: no noise reduction, sharpness,  film simulation, etc! So this should provide an accurate demonstration of what's meant by those terms. I read somewhere that all the X ... Continue Reading

cantanima answered
8 months ago

My interpretation of "soft" is not "more detail", but "greater dynamic range in the JPG", "more color retained in JPG", or "smoother tone curve," something to that effect. In fact, I tend to use them with DR 200, 400, etc. to obtain a more pleasing JPG. I suppose that can mean more detail, but I think of it as recovering blocked shadows and blown highlights in the resulting JPG. I frequently apply this on the X10, either when there's a backlit or when the contrast is high. I might not be describing the effect correctly, having discovered it on my own, & finding the effect pleasing in certain situations. In all the talk about sizes & DR, I don't recall anyone talking about this (recently). Well, except myself in one thread, but no one seemed to pay attention then. I might be able to provide an example of what I mean later, but I'm at work now, don't know when I'll be able to get my hands on the computer I can use for these things (kids at home all week), & besides, you can test it ... Continue Reading

cantanima answered
8 months ago

Was this on the Finepix forum or the Fuji X forum? I searched for posts about this, but only went a few yeas back, and might not have used the correct terms, so I missed yours. The XF1 manual describes the settings (highlight tone and shadow tone) on page 106, but gives no useful information about them. Guess I will have to buy this camera and try it, especially because it comes in red! Continue Reading

CAcreeks answered
8 months ago

Warranty Information

"Your Fujifilm equipment has been manufactured to precise standards, and with rigid quality control through every process of manufacturing. It is warranted by Fujifilm U.S.A. against defective workmanship or materials for one full year from date of purchase. Fujifilm U.S.A. will, at its option, either repair or replace (with a reconditioned unit of like condition) free of charge equipment which is returned either in person or postpaid and insured to one of the Fujifilm U.S.A. Repair Centers listed on the reverse side. The product must be accompanied by some proof of date of purchase, such as the original sales slip. This warranty does not cover batteries or flash equipment and accessories not manufactured by Fujifilm Holdings Corp. This warranty does not apply if the equipment has been damaged by accident, abuse (including, but not limited to, sand, dirt, water, liquid, impact battery corrosion, etc.), failure to follow operating or maintenance instructions or if the equipment has been modified or serviced by anyone other than a Fujifilm U.S.A. Repair Center. This warranty cannot be resold or transferred."

View Fujifilm USA warranty.

DPReview GearShop is an authorized Fujifilm dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.