Fujifilm XQ1 Compact Camera

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

Key Features

  • 12 MP 2/3" X-Trans II CMOS sensor
  • Up to 12 FPS continuous shooting (9 frames max)
  • 25-100mm equivalent F1.8-4.9 (4x optical zoom lens)
  • ISO 100-12,800
  • 1080 60p/30p HD video (MOV/H.264)
  • 3 inch LCD with 920,000 dots
  • PSAM and automatic shooting modes
  • Raw and Raw + JPEG shooting
  • Pop-up flash
  • Customizable control ring for shutter, exposure, zoom, etc.
  • SD/SDHC/SDXC card slot
  • Built-in Wi-Fi

Product Description

The XQ1 is an ultra-compact camera that uses Fujifilm's X-Trans II sensor, which uses a unique pixel arrangement that removes the need for an anti-aliasing filter. Fuji says that X-Trans technology produces higher resolution, with less moiré and false color than traditional sensors. Other features include a fast F1.8-4.9, 25-100mm equivalent lens, a customizable control ring, manual controls (with Raw support), Wi-Fi, and 1080/60p video recording.

Specs

Body type
Body type Compact
Sensor
Max resolution 4000 x 3000
Other resolutions 4000 x 2664, 4000 x 2248, 2992 x 2992, 2816 x 2112, 2816 x 1864, 2816 x 1584, , 2112 x 2112, 2048 x x 1536, 2048 x 1360, 1920 x 1080, 1536 x 1536
Image ratio w:h 1:1, 4:3, 3:2, 16:9
Effective pixels 12 megapixels
Sensor photo detectors 15 megapixels
Sensor size 2/3" (8.8 x 6.6 mm)
Sensor type CMOS
Image
ISO Auto (100-3200), 100 - 12800
White balance presets 7
Custom white balance Yes (1)
Image stabilization Optical
Uncompressed format RAW
JPEG quality levels Fine, Normal
Optics & Focus
Focal length (equiv.) 25–100 mm
Optical zoom 4×
Maximum aperture F1.8 - F4.9
Autofocus
  • Contrast Detect (sensor)
  • Phase Detect
  • Multi-area
  • Center
  • Single
  • Continuous
  • Live View
Digital zoom Yes (4X)
Manual focus Yes
Normal focus range 50 cm (19.69)
Macro focus range 3 cm (1.18)
Screen / viewfinder
Articulated LCD Fixed
Screen size 3
Screen dots 920,000
Touch screen No
Screen type TFT color LCD monitor
Live view Yes
Viewfinder type None
Photography features
Minimum shutter speed 30 sec
Maximum shutter speed 1/4000 sec
Aperture priority Yes
Shutter priority Yes
Manual exposure mode Yes
Subject / scene modes Yes
Built-in flash Yes (Pop-up)
Flash range 7.40 m (at Auto ISO)
External flash No
Flash modes Auto, on, off, slow syncho
Continuous drive 12.0 fps
Self-timer Yes (2 or 10 sec)
Metering modes
  • Multi
  • Average
  • Spot
Exposure compensation ±3 (at 1/3 EV steps)
AE Bracketing ±1 (3 frames at 1/3 EV, 2/3 EV, 1 EV steps)
WB Bracketing No
Videography features
Resolutions 1920 x 1080 (60p, 30p), 1280 x 720 (60p, 30p), 640 x 480 (30p)
Format MPEG-4, H.264
Microphone Stereo
Speaker Mono
Storage
Storage types SD/SDHC/SDXC
Storage included 66MB
Connectivity
USB USB 2.0 (480 Mbit/sec)
HDMI Yes (micro-HDMI)
Wireless Built-In
Wireless notes Image playback/sharing, geo-tagging
Remote control No
Physical
Environmentally sealed No
Battery Battery Pack
Battery description Lithium-Ion NP-48 rechargeable battery & charger
Battery Life (CIPA) 240
Weight (inc. batteries) 206 g (0.45 lb / 7.27 oz)
Dimensions 100 x 59 x 33 mm (3.94 x 2.32 x 1.3)
Other features
Orientation sensor Yes
Timelapse recording No
GPS None

Reviews

User Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
  • Michael Perham, May 15, 2014 GMT:
    Fuji XQ1

    I am impressed. I actually sold my Fuji X100s to fund a new lens for my DSLR system and needed a compact camera to replace it for family events etc.. The X100s was not pocketable (but a very good camera) and I really wanted something that I could just put in my pocket, hence the XQ1. I just love the direct access to basic camera controls, ISO, exposer and exposure compensation and it shoots RAW.  I also like the easy access to flash and macro.  For flash I just leave the setting on forced ...

    Continue Reading

Videos

Introduction to the XQ1 by Fujifilm

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

New P&S for Vacation

My current P&S is a Sony DSC-W80... until I got my iPhone 5S and realized how much better my pictures could be.  But after 6 months with the new phone I know that any picture heavy trips, such as my upcoming trip to Europe, would benefit from a new stand alone camera with modern specs.  It really doesn't seem like I bought the Sony *that* long ago but I guess I did.  It's nice to not be storage space restricted as you would be on a smartphone that is competing for space with apps/music/movies, as well as not spend the day draining the phone battery taking pictures all the time.  I also do a lot of cycling, which the phone is already draining doing the GPS tracking for my bike ride, I don't want to drain it more taking candid pictures of the ride. Looking at my previous vacation pictures I definitely like taking scenery and shots of the outdoors and plant life as well as candid portraits with friends and family.  I really enjoy doing macros in the spring when everything is in full ...

trickycoolj asked
6 months ago

ANSWERS

You missed a classic with the ELPH 330, I got what was probably the last one in my town and it was the demo one, for $AU169. See the results here: http://www.dpreview.com/galleries/5128303546/albums/ixus-255 I would get one with a bit of zoom for travelling as you can't always get near your subject, but apart from the excellent canon SX700 there is not much around. Here is my results from the SX260 its predecessor from my last trip: http://www.dpreview.com/galleries/5128303546/albums/great-ocean-road Brian Continue Reading

brianj answered
6 months ago

It looks like the ELPH 330 is still available on Amazon-US for $240-280 but I see it was originally less than that so I'm hesitant but might go for it anyway. The SX series wasn't really on my radar but I like what I'm seeing in the albums I'm finding with them. Loss of RAW probably isn't going to bother me much. Bummer that they don't have panorama mode but you're right about additional zoom, I recall trips to the zoo thinking if only I could get closer with my zoom!  If I have to have a panorama my 5S would do just fine. I think I need to get to a store and check some of these out in person size wise. I can't really tell if the SX series is "gigantic" or not. I did see the Sony RX100 and HX50 at Costco and didn't find them offensively large (probably because of my vintage 2003 CyberShot). Photos from both the 280 and 700 look great and are reasonably priced, any reason to go for one over the other besides the $100? Really enjoyed your albums and the macros of the iridescent bugs! ... Continue Reading

trickycoolj answered
6 months ago

People have had a lot of trouble with the SX270/280 model due to batteries going flat quickly especially in video mode, otherwise for the few that this didn't happen they are happy with theirs. If I had a choice I would buy another SX240/260 but they are mostly gone now. There is a forum documenting the battery issue here, its up to page 111 now and still no real solution to a lot of unhappy customers. http://forums.usa.canon.com/t5/PowerShot/SX280-battery-life-shooting-video/td-p/22489 That's a lot for the ELPH330, although it is possibly a bit sharper than the longer zoom SX models and has a slightly wider lens at 24mm. The SX series is about as big and heavy as a large cake of soap, and the 330 is noticable smaller and lighter. Its an extremely capable camera unless you really need the super zoom. You can see the settings I use here, I also don't use raw: http://www.dpreview.com/forums/post/53507519 Brian Continue Reading

brianj answered
6 months ago

QUESTION

Replace finepix F11 with?

So I replaced my old Finepix F11 with a micro 4/3rds camera and I've found that it's really more camera than I like to lug around when I travel. I like the low light performance of the m43 and the wide angle of the fixed 14mm lumix lens, but I don't like the added bulk and I miss the ability to zoom. Any ideas for a replacement? The S120 and the XQ1 look good, however I wouldn't mind spending less. Some things I'm looking for: -better low light performance than the f11 -similar size or smaller -SD cards, not XD -Non proprietary data cable

burritoplex asked
2 months ago

ANSWERS

Seriously? You did no research at all to verify the difference in size? - FujiFilm XQ1 is 2% (1.5 mm) wider and 7% (3.6 mm) taller than Panasonic Lumix GM1. - FujiFilm XQ1 is 10% (2.9 mm) thicker than Panasonic Lumix GM1. - FujiFilm XQ1 [206 g] weights 1% (2 grams) more than Panasonic Lumix GM1 [204 g] (*inc. batteries and memory card). - FujiFilm XQ1 dimensions: 100x58.5x33.3 mm (camera body only, excluding protrusion) - Panasonic Lumix GM1 dimensions: 98.5x54.9x30.4 mm (camera body only, excluding protrusion) - See more at: http://camerasize.com/compare/#492,491 The GM1 does have a larger lens, but it does fold down and the camera remains pocketable in cargo pants etc ... The XQ1 is very nice and the xtrans sensor does a decent job. It is acceptable but the sensor is pretty small. Continue Reading

Kim Letkeman answered
2 months ago

Ok, did a little digging and I'm thinking powershot S110. it's $220 online right now, vs $370 for the S120. Haven't found any other competitive cameras that are as compact. Continue Reading

burritoplex answered
2 months ago

If you want to stick with Fuji, their small cameras are the XF1 and its replacement, the XQ1. The XF1 has the older 12/6mp EXR sensor and a collapsible mechanical zoom lens while the XQ1 has a motorized zoom lens and a 12mp X-Trans sensor. They both have larger than average sensors, the same 2/3" size used in the X10/X20/X-S1 so they do pretty well in low light. Amazon's price for the XQ1 is $369 and higher and also has the XF1 (discontinued, but new) for $219 and higher. For what it's worth, they're both small enough to fit in a shirt pocket and both use SD/SDHC cards, not xD cards. http://www.amazon.com/gp/offer-listing/B0095F5AFQ/ref=sr_1_1_olp?ie=UTF8&qid=1407527757&sr=8-1&keywords=fujifilm+xf1&condition=new http://www.amazon.com/gp/offer-listing/B00FPKDPXY/ref=sr_1_1_olp?ie=UTF8&qid=1407527808&sr=8-1&keywords=fujifilm+xq1&condition=new Continue Reading

photoreddi answered
2 months ago

QUESTION

Quick few questions - WiFi+BB, display info

Hello, I was thinking on some pocket camera to replace my old Olympus XZ-1 (normally I use Sony Alpha 580 with tons of lenses, so my bag is very heavy), like RX100 or Fuji XQ1. In the local shop I tested HX50 for a while and started to consider it. After reading positive review I think to change the decision. HX50 is comfortable in my hand. It has fast zooming lens (zooming in range of RX100 is much faster in HX50) and some other advantages. And is much cheaper. I was surprise about one thing: after pressing shutter half way, it was showing only aperture. Nothing about shutter speed. Is it same on your cameras or it was something wrong with it? Second question - does anyone use WiFi connection with Black Berry Q10 phone? Is really image quality so good that is comparable with other cameras (like RX100 mk ii or XQ1)? Greetings BTW, I also saw Sony HX60. Where is it on dpreview? :-)

Bodek asked
1 day ago

ANSWERS

Warranty Information

"Your Fujifilm equipment has been manufactured to precise standards, and with rigid quality control through every process of manufacturing. It is warranted by Fujifilm U.S.A. against defective workmanship or materials for one full year from date of purchase. Fujifilm U.S.A. will, at its option, either repair or replace (with a reconditioned unit of like condition) free of charge equipment which is returned either in person or postpaid and insured to one of the Fujifilm U.S.A. Repair Centers listed on the reverse side. The product must be accompanied by some proof of date of purchase, such as the original sales slip. This warranty does not cover batteries or flash equipment and accessories not manufactured by Fujifilm Holdings Corp. This warranty does not apply if the equipment has been damaged by accident, abuse (including, but not limited to, sand, dirt, water, liquid, impact battery corrosion, etc.), failure to follow operating or maintenance instructions or if the equipment has been modified or serviced by anyone other than a Fujifilm U.S.A. Repair Center. This warranty cannot be resold or transferred."

View Fujifilm USA warranty.

DPReview GearShop is an authorized Fujifilm dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.