Leica M Digital Rangefinder Camera, Body Only (Silver/Black)

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

Key Features

  • 24MP full frame CMOS sensor
  • 3 frames per second continuous shooting
  • Manual focus with Live View Zoom 10x magnification; Live View Focus peaking
  • ISO 100-6400
  • 1080 HD video
  • 3.0 inch LCD with 920,000 dots
  • Optical rangefinder
  • Flash hot shoe
  • Compatibility with EVF2 electronic viewfinder; handgrip-M with GPS
  • Raw and Raw +JPEG shooting
  • SD/SDHC/SDXC card slot
  • Adobe Photoshop Lightroom included

Product Description

Leica's latest M series rangefinder, the 24MP CMOS Leica M becomes the first of its rangefinders to feature live view, and offers a choice of magnified view or focus peaking for precise through-the-lens focusing, allowing Leica to promise compatibilty with R-mount lenses. It also becomes the first M capable of movie shooting - capturing 1080p footage at 25 or 24 frames per second. It includes a 920k dot LCD with smartphone-style Gorilla Glass cover, and accepts the same plug-in EVF as used by the X2.

Reviews

User Reviews

3.9375 out of 5 stars
  • wilsonlaidlaw, Mar 6, 2013 GMT:
    A decent advance on the M9

    Only had a morning to play with it so far but it seems a fair advance in every direction on my M9. The ability to use long lenses and an EVF will be very useful. The auto switch on/off of live view seems a bit odd and various levels and settings in menus will need playing with before it is right. The noise levels seem about 2 stops better than the M9 and the nasty clumps of chrominance noise at higher ISO's have disappeared. The only major issue at the moment is red edges on wider lenses but ...

    Continue Reading

  • Johnnie, Mar 20, 2013 GMT:
    Leica's first full frame HDSLR - is the M240 video capable?

    See the related article and video at http://www.cinema5d.com/?p=17037 Leica M type 240- video review. (Non of the written here is relevant to the photo section of this camera) Deep into the 4th year of the HDSLR revolution Leica released the M 240, their full frame camera costing $6950. Spending a day with the camera left me wondering, was Leica ever talking to any professional cameraman before implementing HD recording for this unit or just decided to “join a trend” without really meaning ...

    Continue Reading

  • Robert Judelson, May 27, 2013 GMT:
    LeicaM TYP 240

    Rather disappointing.Leica made the fun and easy to use M9( (and previous non digital Ms) complicated, cumbersome. and not fun. In fact, it's not really an M camera. In terms of results, generally speaking, I failed to notice any qualitative difference in prints; even 33 x24. I sold my M9. What a mistake.

    Continue Reading

  • Clint009, May 31, 2013 GMT:
    Only Leica M in US Courts

    Leica M sets the standard of shutter noise in many US courtrooms Read more on LeicaRumors.com: http://leicarumors.com/2013/05/02/leica-m-the-only-camera-allowed-in-many-us-courtrooms.aspx/#ixzz2Usc1f100

    Continue Reading

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

Leica M (240)

Dear Forum members, I am going stay near Leeds around April 8. Do you know if there is a Leica dealer there, or an advanced camera store which may have the new Leica M in stock? I have searched the internet about this, but I did not manage to find any. Sincerely "gautebn"

gautebn asked
1 year ago

ANSWERS

i believe the nearest leica shop to leeds is `stephens photo center` st anns square, manchester. they have a good website, and they are very helpful. pc Continue Reading

meagre offerings answered
1 year ago

Thank you very much, pc, for your kind answer. Regards gautebn Continue Reading

gautebn answered
1 year ago

gautebn wrote: Dear Forum members, I am going stay near Leeds around April 8. Do you know if there is a Leica dealer there, or an advanced camera store which may have the new Leica M in stock? I have searched the internet about this, but I did not manage to find any. Sincerely "gautebn" Have you seen Dale Photographic? They are in Leeds and they are Leica dealers. http://www.dalephotographic.co.uk/ Continue Reading

Daedalus2000 answered
1 year ago

QUESTION

Questions about the Leica M 240 operation.

- In full manual mode, does the back LCD screen brighten in bright light and dim is dark light? My Canon 5DII does not do this, but my Fuji X cameras indeed do this. I prefer when this does not happen, I want to see the exposure I am getting. - What button do you use to zoom in and out to check focus in Live View? - Might their be any complication in using M42 lenses with an M42 to Leica adaptor on this camera? Thanks in advance.  -Mick

10 months ago

ANSWERS

Mick Cantarella wrote: - In full manual mode, does the back LCD screen brighten in bright light and dim is dark light? My Canon 5DII does not do this, but my Fuji X cameras indeed do this. I prefer when this does not happen, I want to see the exposure I am getting. If I point the camera to a dark area the lcd shows an image that is a lot brighter than the actual scene.  I guess this is to help you focus. If I point then at a bright scene the image looks very very bright but within a second or so it dims down and you can see the scene properly. It is almost like the lcd adjusts to a view as if you had the proper exposure set up. If you press the shutter lightly though, then you can preview the actual image as it will be recorded. - What button do you use to zoom in and out to check focus in Live View? There is a button at the front that you can use if you have it on manual, but if you use automatic as soon as you rotate the focus ring the image zooms in. I like the automatic one! :-) ... Continue Reading

Daedalus2000 answered
10 months ago

Daedalus2000 wrote: Mick Cantarella wrote: - In full manual mode, does the back LCD screen brighten in bright light and dim is dark light? My Canon 5DII does not do this, but my Fuji X cameras indeed do this. I prefer when this does not happen, I want to see the exposure I am getting. If I point the camera to a dark area the lcd shows an image that is a lot brighter than the actual scene.  I guess this is to help you focus. If I point then at a bright scene the image looks very very bright but within a second or so it dims down and you can see the scene properly. It is almost like the lcd adjusts to a view as if you had the proper exposure set up. If you press the shutter lightly though, then you can preview the actual image as it will be recorded. - What button do you use to zoom in and out to check focus in Live View? There is a button at the front that you can use if you have it on manual, but if you use automatic as soon as you rotate the focus ring the image zooms in. I like ... Continue Reading

Mick Cantarella answered
10 months ago

Is there any setting to stop the LCD screen from changing it's relative brightness to lighting conditions? Thanks a bunch, -Mick Continue Reading

Mick Cantarella answered
10 months ago

QUESTION

To Leica or not to Leica

I have been thinking, reading about purchasing a Leica M lately. I have been shooting for the last couple of years with my DSLR and 35 mm and wondered about it for the last couple of months. I know that the results depends on the user more than the camera but I would like to know a bit about experiences with LEICA after coming from a DSLR background such as mine. Thanks a lot! AG-

AG78 asked
1 year ago

ANSWERS

My advice, rent a M9 for at least a long weekend and shoot, shoot and shoot with it. The M8 and M9 set new digital camera standards as far as IQ in compact bodies are concerned and the market did not offer any alternatives. But competition has caught up big time and mirrorless systems grew out of infancy status since. So what is left with the M is the unique RF exprience, the Leica gestalt and the superb Leica lenses, all at a very steep price premium. I will continue to enjoy my M9 and am confident that FF Nex and Fuji compatible with M-lenses will be available in the foreseeable future, with electronics and sensor superior to Leica`s. Continue Reading

ekaton answered
1 year ago

AG78 wrote: Thanks for helping me....I love shooting street mainly, some portrait and landscape. But 70% is street photography. I am more than willing to leave the comfort zone of AF. Thanks! There is something you leave behind other than the comfort zone of AF.  You leave behind a lot of gear . . . and that's a good thing.  I can carry my old M8 with lens attached and three extra lenses in a case just a little bigger than a shoebox.  Try to do that with a DSLR and extra lenses. I like DSLRs.  I have a few.  But I enjoy the "Leica experience" more. Good luck on your quest. Continue Reading

gfspencer answered
1 year ago

AG78 wrote: Thanks for helping me....I love shooting street mainly, some portrait and landscape. But 70% is street photography. I am more than willing to leave the comfort zone of AF. I have several lenses on my nikon but end using the 35mm for 90% of my shots. Love to get involved with the composition of my photos but the bulkiness of my slr can be a problem. While your internal checklist may be very specific, what you posted in this thread is generic enough that there are likely several options that cater to someone that prefers to shoot 35mm in a small form factor. If you want a leica buy a leica, just be sure to get a leica lens too unless you buy a vintage lens. I would recommend you consider renting an m9 and 35 cron from an online agency, lens rental, etc. Give it a go for yourself. Continue Reading

Toccata47 answered
1 year ago

Have your own question?

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.