Nikon AF-S 24-85mm f/3.5-4.5 G ED VR Lens

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

Tried & Tested

Key Features

  • 24-85mm focal length
  • 36-127.5mm equivalent focal length on DX cameras
  • F3.5-4.5 maximum aperture; F22-29 minimum
  • Ultrasonic-type AF motor with full-time manual focusing
  • Image stabilization
  • 72mm filters
  • 0.38m/14.96" minimum focus
  • Nikon F mount for FX and DX DSLRs

Product Description

The AF-S Nikkor 24-85mm F3.5-4.5G ED VR is a comparatively affordable, optically-stabilized standard zoom lens for Nikon's FX format (full-frame) DSLRs. If used on a DX (APS-C) format camera, it offers an effective focal length span of 36-127.5mm, but this lens is really designed for the current enthusiast full-frame Nikon D600 and its inevitable successors. Optically, it's impressive without being outstanding, and as a relatively low-cost, carry-everywhere zoom for everyday photography, the 24-85mm is very attractive.

Specs

Principal specifications
Lens type Zoom lens
Max Format size 35mm FF
Focal length 24–85 mm
Image stabilisation Yes
Lens mount Nikon F (FX)
Aperture
Maximum aperture F3.5 - F4.5
Minimum aperture F22.0 - F29.0
Aperture ring No
Number of diaphragm blades 7
Aperture notes Rounded blades
Optics
Elements 16
Groups 11
Special elements / coatings 1 ED glass element, 3 aspherical elements
Focus
Minimum focus 0.38 m (14.96)
Maximum magnification 0.22×
Autofocus Yes
Motor type Ultrasonic
Full time manual Yes
Focus method Internal
Distance scale Yes
DoF scale No
Physical
Weight 485 g (1.07 lb)
Diameter 78 mm (3.07)
Length 82 mm (3.23)
Sealing No
Colour Black
Zoom method Rotary (extending)
Power zoom No
Zoom lock No
Filter thread 72 mm
Hood supplied Yes
Hood product code HB-63
Tripod collar No

Reviews

User Reviews

  • Jim Forever, Apr 23, 2013 GMT:
    Superb Kit lens at a great price!!!

    though this is a kit lens which bundles with D600, it is by no mean acheap lens!!! the IQ is really sharp when stopped down. it very light and focuses very fast. its a great multipurpose zoom lens. the best results i got were from F/5.6 to f/11. and with a price tag of around $500 i dont think u can get ny better!!!! its the lens which i mostly use and is stuck on the camera most of the times.

    Continue Reading

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

Do you see seeming whitish specks or dust inside Nikon 24-85mm f/3.5-4.5G ED VR AF-S Nikkor Lens?

I bought brand new D610 with Nikon 24-85mm f/3.5-4.5G ED VR AF-S Nikkor Lens kit. I noticed that 2 things do not seem normal on a brand new lens. 1. seeming whitish specks or dust inside the lens 2. top circle metal ring inside seems to have chipped-off paint. I attached 2 photos, and could you please make comments if you have this lens? Thank you very much. whitish specks around the inside lens glass same photo as above, enlarged and clipped. if you can zoom in the photo, this is same as above photo, enlarged and clipped.

jkmin asked
8 months ago

ANSWERS

The 24-85 is not worth $600 new, but is an absolute steal as a refurb or unused "used" kit lens for around $300 ... or in a kit. As for quality, it is built from the same cloth as its big brother, the 24-120, and performs the same.  And people are shelling out $1,300 for that. This is a good lens for good light, stopped down to f5.6 to more. Continue Reading

ne beginner answered
8 months ago

If you shine a bright light at a sharp angle into any lens you will, generally, see all sorts of strange things as a result of the reflections off the inside of the barrel or the attachment surfaces of the lens elements. Continue Reading

abcdefghijklmnop answered
8 months ago

Just had a look at my 24-85 and it doesn't show either of these issues. I can only suggest you take it back unless someone else says its OK. I didn't shine any bright lights into it though. Continue Reading

romfordbluenose answered
8 months ago

QUESTION

D300 and Nikon 25-85 VR

I'm looking for a good GP zoom , since I only have the nikon18-70 and was thinking to buy the 24-85 VR. In a forum i read about problems with the combo Nikon 24-85 and the D300. Any experience with this combo ? thanks

schipp asked
1 year ago

ANSWERS

It's a decent lens, but only decent. I'd rather the 18-70 on a DX just knowing what I've read about it vs. what I experience with my own 24-85 VR. I use it on an FX body, but the results aren't any better when you use it on a DX and you end up with a weird focal length range. Hope this helps. Continue Reading

stevo23 answered
1 year ago

QUESTION

Nikon 24-85mm AF-S: Is it a good backup lens for Tamron 24-70 VC?

Hello everyone, I was wondering if Nikon 24-85mm AF-S VR is a good backup lens for Tamron 24-70mm VC? I basically need to buy a mid-zoom lens and I am thinking towards Tamron 24-70 VC, and I am also thinking of a backup (Crazy I know, my bank account also disagreeing at the moment), but everything else aside, how does the IQ hold up with a D800? I found this lens new and quite cheap and am thinking of getting one, but would really like to get the real-life user reviews. Many thanks everyone.

mfahim27753 asked
1 year ago

ANSWERS

I picked up one for a good price off E-bay that was part of a D600 kit. I am very pleased with the IQ on my D800. This image was taken handheld. Bob Continue Reading

Bob Wolf answered
1 year ago

I know what you're saying about once in a lifetime trips, but there may be another way to give yourself some peace of mind rather than taking a back-up of the same focal length: Take a wide angle (the new 18-35 would be ideal for hiking) and a 50 1.8 D. That way you have the flexibility of being able to use a wider lens as needed, and the 50 for people photography etc, and, IF the 24-70 does die, you can improvise across most of it's focal length by combining those two lenses. I basically did the above in Patagonia during my D300 days when my 18-50 died - Used a 12-24 and a 35 - as an emergency measure it worked out really well. Continue Reading

J Craig H answered
1 year ago

The 24-85 is an excellent lens and I use it all the time as a walkaround lens. In terms as to whether its a good backup lens, the bottom line is any lens is a good backup lens if you use it as a part of a set. Your camera is much more likely to fail than your lens. So as backup I'd take a good P&S rather than lump around an extra lens. That way you get a camera and a lens as a backup. Continue Reading

romfordbluenose answered
1 year ago

Warranty Information

"No registration or "warranty" card is included or needed with a Nikon D-SLR or Coolpix camera. Keep your original, dated proof of purchase from the Authorized Nikon Inc. dealer in case warranty service is ever needed. These products do include either a mail-in form or a paper with a web link to our registration page:
https://support.nikonusa.com/app/product_registration
It's advised to register your product with Nikon so that we can send you information about future updates or service issues that may arise.


Nikkor lenses come with a standard one year warranty and Nikon Inc. lenses sold by authorized Nikon Inc. dealers will have a Nikon Inc. Five Year Extension. To register for the five year extension, one copy of the included form must be mailed in as indicated. Keep the Customer copy of the form as well as the original proof of purchase (sales receipt)."


Read the full warranty.

DPReview GearShop is an authorized Nikon dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.