Nikon AF-S DX 35mm f/1.8 G Lens

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

86% Gold Award
This lens produces finely detailed images at all apertures, focuses quickly and accurately, and handles well in a small, light package.”

Read more of the review

Key Features

  • 35mm focal length
  • 52.5mm equivalent focal length on DX cameras
  • F1.8 maximum aperture; F22 minimum
  • Ultrasonic-type AF motor with full-time manual focusing
  • 52mm filters
  • 0.30m/11.81" minimum focus
  • Nikon F mount for for DX DSLRs

Product Description

The AF-S DX Nikkor 35mm f/1.8G is a relatively inexpensive fast normal prime for Nikon’s DX SLRs. Its large maximum aperture makes it ideal for shooting indoors without flash, and its built-in AF-S motor means it will autofocus on entry-level Nikon SLRs. It offers a winning combination of high image quality, large aperture and low price, and is therefore a lens which deserves to be on many a Nikon shooter's shopping list.

Specs

Principal specifications
Lens type Prime lens
Max Format size APS-C / DX
Focal length 35 mm
Image stabilisation No
Lens mount Nikon F (DX)
Aperture
Maximum aperture F1.8
Minimum aperture F22.0
Aperture ring No
Number of diaphragm blades 7
Optics
Elements 8
Groups 6
Focus
Minimum focus 0.30 m (11.81)
Maximum magnification 0.16×
Autofocus Yes
Motor type Ring-type ultrasonic
Full time manual Yes
Focus method Internal
Focus notes internal rear focus
Distance scale No
DoF scale No
Physical
Weight 210 g (0.46 lb)
Diameter 70 mm (2.76)
Length 53 mm (2.07)
Materials Plastic barrel, metal mount
Colour Black
Power zoom No
Filter thread 52 mm
Hood supplied Yes
Hood product code HB-46
Tripod collar No

Reviews

DPReview Conclusion

Scoring is relative only to the other lenses in the same category at the time of review.

Score Breakdown
Poor Excellent
Build Quality
Ergonomics and Handling
Features
Image Quality
Value
Gold Award
Gold Award
86 %
Overall Score

This lens produces finely detailed images at all apertures, focuses quickly and accurately, and handles well in a small, light package.

Good For

Everyday use on Nikon's DX-format APS-C DSLRs, where this sharp and inexpensive 35mm becomes a useful 'standard'.

Not So Good For

Shooting wide open, where CA can be an issue, even with in-camera JPEG correction.

User Reviews

4.58333 out of 5 stars
  • errikwong, Feb 18, 2013 GMT:
    Top Lens without paying Top Dollar

    This lens was originally bought in 2011, and having spent 2 years with it, I can safely say that 85% of my street images were taken with this lens. I love its large aperture, light weight, ease of use, fast AF and incredible sharpness. It already yields excellent image quality wide open, but stopped down to f/2.8 the sharpness is simply amazing. With my D7000, movement tracking is very good, with the AFS motor performing very well. However, I do tend to stick with the standard AF-single mode, ...

    Continue Reading

  • nunocm, Dec 13, 2012 GMT:
    What a GREAT lens!

    Just fantastic, walking arround inside and outside with just this one. Zoom with your feet, and take part of the scene... In the DX mount it makes a PERFECT 50 mm focal distance. Enjoy it, don't be afraid of buying this one.

    Continue Reading

  • shihanc, Dec 3, 2012 GMT:
    Must have lens

    Must have lens for photography enthusiast... Low light image quality is amazing...

    Continue Reading

  • DS PhotoGraphix, Oct 28, 2012 GMT:
    Great Bokeh!!

    Amazing Lens. Great for close ups with beautiful Bokeh affect. Problems: None at all. Will recommend.

    Continue Reading

Videos

Nikon AF-S DX 35mm f/1.8 G Lens by DPReview

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

RX100 - Sensor Size and DOF

I have always believed that having a smaller sensor means not having shallow DOF. However, I was interested in how my DOF would be impacted if I went to an RX100 from my APS-C D5000. I checked for DOF at dofmaster.com and looks like at 35mm, F1.8 and the subject at 5 feet, the DOF of an RX100 is 0.23ft compared to 0.43ft for my APS-C Nikon. So obviously I don't know my optics... But how is that possible? Does this mean an RX100 has better bokeh at 35mm than my D5000 with the Nikkor 35mm F1.8?

neod asked
4 months ago

ANSWERS

The short answer is no, the RX100 will not have shallower DoF than a prime on an APS-C camera. If the calculator suggests that, the math is wrong (probably the inputs are not apples to apples). Here are the rules of thumb: (1) RX100 at wide end is marginally shallower DoF than an APS-C camera with kit zoom (18-55 3.5-5.6, as example). The difference is negligible. (2) RX100 i or ii at tele end is slower than an APS-C camera with kit zoom. By a stop or more, so enough to notice. (3) RX100 iii at tele end is marginally shallower DoF than an APS-C camera with kit zoom. Again, not enough to notice, but the new v3 model now keeps up with kit zoom APS-C cameras. Continue Reading

saintz answered
4 months ago

Did you put in the correct sensor size for the RX100?  I don't think it's 35mm; it's 1" x 1", I believe.  I am not familiar with the website and there are plenty of smarter people on this forum, so apologies if I'm off base. Continue Reading

JimMoyer answered
4 months ago

No, it's called a "one inch" sensor, which means it's only 13.2 x 8.2 mm. See http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Image_sensor_format#Table_of_sensor_formats_and_sizes Continue Reading

Digital Nigel answered
4 months ago

QUESTION

Back-Focusing on D7000

Hi All, After seeing a few soft pictures from my D7000, I suspect the camera I have suffers from back-focusing (or soft focus issues). To test it out, I setup a simple experiment - I shot the tip of a leaf with AF Fine Tune Values varying from +20 to -20 and AF Fine Tune Set to 0 (zero), OFF and a shot with Live View as well. Note that the plant in question (and the setup) was indoors and did not have any influence of wind/stray movements that may have altered the final result. The camera was on a tripod and was set to a timer of 2s after shutter press - that way I am eliminating any vibrations during the shutter press. I have posted the pics below - each with the description of the AF Fine Tune status at the time of the shot. Settings common to all shots below: (1) Lens: AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G (2) Distance from the leaf tip: ~ 4ft . (3) Flash: OFF (4) ISO: 400 (5) Aperture: f/1.8 (6) Shutter:

pixelfusion asked
6 months ago

ANSWERS

-10 looks better to me but...determining AF-fine tune setting using a target that is not completely flat across the FoV, of the focus array being used, can lead to AF Fine tune settings that aren't actually correct. The FoV of the focus arrays are much large than the focus box suggests. In this case, PDAF may be locking on to the body of the leaf and not the tip like CDAF is. Using a target that is close to the camera (not 50x focal length away) can also cause the results to be inaccurate. The 35mm f1.8g is also very susceptible to focus issues in artificial light on the D7000. Be careful of that. Best to use this method to determine AF Fine tune settings if you are serious. http://camerafocustest.blogspot.com/ Good Luck Continue Reading

Mako2011 answered
6 months ago

The D7000's AF system has larger than what you see AF sensors, and they tend to lock on the higher contrast part of what is under it, sometime not exactly what you'd like it to use. RE AF FT, use a flat target full of fine contrasty detail. All my Nikkors FT close to 0, only a Sigma required more, with the D7000. Continue Reading

rhlpetrus answered
6 months ago

did it with a couple of my lenses and it works simply and effectively youtube dot tuning if you go to Northern light you can find a nice pattern for your computer screen which help greatly for this method Northern light Continue Reading

Wu Jiaqiu answered
6 months ago

QUESTION

how to shoot a timelapse using the video feature of nikon d7000 ?

i have seen lots of videos in youtube showing us on how to shoot timplase using the bulit-in intervelometer and then stacking those still images to create a time-lapse video. But is it possbile to directly shoot a timpelapse using the video mode ? I am using a Nikon D7000 with a 35mm f/1.8G lense for this case. Rgds, Soham

xssoham asked
1 month ago

ANSWERS

WHAT'S IN THE BOX?

  • Nikon AF-S 35mm f/1.8 DX lens
  • HB-46 Bayonet Lens Hood
  • LC-52 Snap-On Front Lens Cap
  • LF-1 Rear Lens Cap
  • CL-0913 Soft Case

Warranty Information

"No registration or "warranty" card is included or needed with a Nikon D-SLR or Coolpix camera. Keep your original, dated proof of purchase from the Authorized Nikon Inc. dealer in case warranty service is ever needed. These products do include either a mail-in form or a paper with a web link to our registration page:
https://support.nikonusa.com/app/product_registration
It's advised to register your product with Nikon so that we can send you information about future updates or service issues that may arise.


Nikkor lenses come with a standard one year warranty and Nikon Inc. lenses sold by authorized Nikon Inc. dealers will have a Nikon Inc. Five Year Extension. To register for the five year extension, one copy of the included form must be mailed in as indicated. Keep the Customer copy of the form as well as the original proof of purchase (sales receipt)."


Read the full warranty.

DPReview GearShop is an authorized Nikon dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.