Nikon AF-S DX 35mm f/1.8 G Lens

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

86% Gold Award
This lens produces finely detailed images at all apertures, focuses quickly and accurately, and handles well in a small, light package.”

Read more of the review

Key Features

  • 35mm focal length
  • 52.5mm equivalent focal length on DX cameras
  • F1.8 maximum aperture; F22 minimum
  • Ultrasonic-type AF motor with full-time manual focusing
  • 52mm filters
  • 0.30m/11.81" minimum focus
  • Nikon F mount for for DX DSLRs

Product Description

The AF-S DX Nikkor 35mm f/1.8G is a relatively inexpensive fast normal prime for Nikon’s DX SLRs. Its large maximum aperture makes it ideal for shooting indoors without flash, and its built-in AF-S motor means it will autofocus on entry-level Nikon SLRs. It offers a winning combination of high image quality, large aperture and low price, and is therefore a lens which deserves to be on many a Nikon shooter's shopping list.

Specs

Principal specifications
Lens type Prime lens
Max Format size APS-C / DX
Focal length 35 mm
Image stabilisation No
Lens mount Nikon F (DX)
Aperture
Maximum aperture F1.8
Minimum aperture F22.0
Aperture ring No
Number of diaphragm blades 7
Optics
Elements 8
Groups 6
Focus
Minimum focus 0.30 m (11.81)
Maximum magnification 0.16×
Autofocus Yes
Motor type Ring-type ultrasonic
Full time manual Yes
Focus method Internal
Focus notes internal rear focus
Distance scale No
DoF scale No
Physical
Weight 210 g (0.46 lb)
Diameter 70 mm (2.76)
Length 53 mm (2.07)
Materials Plastic barrel, metal mount
Colour Black
Power zoom No
Filter thread 52 mm
Hood supplied Yes
Hood product code HB-46
Tripod collar No

Reviews

DPReview Conclusion

Scoring is relative only to the other lenses in the same category at the time of review.

Score Breakdown
Poor Excellent
Build Quality
Ergonomics and Handling
Features
Image Quality
Value
Gold Award
Gold Award
86 %
Overall Score

The 35mm F1.8G DX delivers impressive performance. It produces finely detailed images at all apertures (although with somewhat low contrast wide open), focuses quickly and accurately, and handles well in a small, light package. As such, it deserves to be on many a Nikon shooter's shopping list for its winning combination of high image quality, large maximum aperture and low price.

Good For

Everyday use on Nikon's DX-format APS-C DSLRs, where this sharp and inexpensive 35mm becomes a useful 'standard'.

Not So Good For

User Reviews

  • errikwong, Feb 18, 2013 GMT:
    Top Lens without paying Top Dollar

    This lens was originally bought in 2011, and having spent 2 years with it, I can safely say that 85% of my street images were taken with this lens. I love its large aperture, light weight, ease of use, fast AF and incredible sharpness. It already yields excellent image quality wide open, but stopped down to f/2.8 the sharpness is simply amazing. With my D7000, movement tracking is very good, with the AFS motor performing very well. However, I do tend to stick with the standard AF-single mode, ...

    Continue Reading

  • nunocm, Dec 13, 2012 GMT:
    What a GREAT lens!

    Just fantastic, walking arround inside and outside with just this one. Zoom with your feet, and take part of the scene... In the DX mount it makes a PERFECT 50 mm focal distance. Enjoy it, don't be afraid of buying this one.

    Continue Reading

  • shihanc, Dec 3, 2012 GMT:
    Must have lens

    Must have lens for photography enthusiast... Low light image quality is amazing...

    Continue Reading

  • DS PhotoGraphix, Oct 28, 2012 GMT:
    Great Bokeh!!

    Amazing Lens. Great for close ups with beautiful Bokeh affect. Problems: None at all. Will recommend.

    Continue Reading

Videos

Nikon AF-S DX 35mm f/1.8 G Lens by DPReview

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

What should I buy? Flash or lens

Hello, I'm new to photography, I have a Nikon D5300 with the kit lens 18-55 VRII and I'm thinking of getting a nem lens ( 50mm or a 35mm) or a flash ( nissin di600) . I don't do any style of photography in partivular but I think the lens I'm going to use more and probably let my kit one behind and the flash I think will let me think more out of the box and get more creative. What do you guys think?

lesteves asked
1 month ago

ANSWERS

IMO while the lens might be more fun...everyone seems to be enamored with shallow depth of field and out-of-focus backgrounds...you would learn more and get more use out a flash. Continue Reading

trekkeruss answered
1 month ago

+1 and agree! I use my (camera + zoom lens + flash) combo way more than the (camera + 50mm) combo. The 50mm on a D5300 is very limiting, but is a very good starter lens if you want to do portraits. Get the 35mm f/1.8 instead if you want something more versatile for street photography. Continue Reading

PenPix answered
1 month ago

Used 50mm 1.8D lens and a Yongnuo 565EXII flash to try out both? http://www.amazon.com/Yongnuo-YN-565EX-Speedlite-Flash-Nikon/dp/B006R6TUJI https://www.keh.com/246573/nikon-50mm-f-1-8-d-autofocus-lens-52 Then save up for Sigma's 50mm 1.4 once you get hooked. Continue Reading

1 month ago

QUESTION

Nikon D3300 for professional photography?!

Hello everyone, I know that most professional photographers would use a full frame camera like the Canon 5D or Nikon D810, and maybe a crop like D7100 or Canon 70D But i wonder if i can use my D3300 for professional shooting like Weddings and events, specially combined with a 35mm f1.8 i noticed a very sharp images and i think maybe better than the 7100 and i think with proper on-flash it can take a very good images But i know it lacks alot of features and controls like professional cameras, but still wouldn't the customer care about the image quality above all?!

Keroles asked
2 months ago

ANSWERS

I would say you need a lot more experience than a camera. My feeling is that you should forget weddings completely for several years. Get any DSLR and learn some photography skills, mos important of which is composition and light. The cost of setting up as a wedding photographer makes the cost of the camera a minor detail. It's a business and like all businesses the tools are only a small part of the cost and the photography a surprisingly small part of the business. Continue Reading

darklamp answered
2 months ago

Could it be used for a pro wedding shoot ? Yes. Should it be used for a pro wedding shoot ? No. There are three main reasons it should not be used : (1) Inadequate controls. Weddings are stressful, high demand events to shoot and you need a lot of key controls easily accessible. The D3300 does not have all the control I'd want and many of those controls are buried in menus, which is no place to go looking at a wedding shoot. (2) Viewfinder inferior. It's a wedding, often in challenging lighting. The OVF on the D3300 is based on a penta-mirror and inherently these are not as bright as "proper" penta-prism OVFs. Continue Reading

darklamp answered
2 months ago

Professional simply means someone is paying you. Now you could make a pinhole camera from a biscuit tin and get someone to pay you for your photos, and you're a professional using a professional camera! The hard part of doing a wedding say, is IHMO dealing with the people, and stress, of the day. You have to be quick, you have to get the photos the customers want, you have to herd the guests in or out of your shots, you have to get them to look good on camera, you need the people to like you, you need to make it fun! On top of all that you have to be able to operate your chosen equipment without much thought at all, it should be second nature. You need cameras/lenses which will simply deliver the goods each time. You want them to be sturdy and reliable. Same goes for any accessories you're using. And you need back-ups, ideally 2 bodies, 2 equivalent lenses and the other stuff like powerful flash, reflectors etc. The equipment is important, but in the order of things it's probably ... Continue Reading

COYQ answered
2 months ago

QUESTION

Need help with my first DSLR!

I am thinking of buying a DSLR and am on a budget of about 1000$ give or take a few hundred. I like portraits, street photography and night photography. Also, I live in a city with a harsh, long winter where the sunset comes early so I need something that's good in low light. I was considering maybe buying a cheaper Nikon D5200 with a standard lens and a 35mm f1.8. Is there any other models or systems that I should look at and consider at around this price range? I know there's also the option of the Canon 60D. any advice would be helpful, thank you.

edsoniebla asked
18 days ago

ANSWERS

Why have you limited yourself to a dslr?    The days when an slr was a gold standard have long gone.  It really is better to ask what camera would best suit your requirements than to plump for a specific technology Dave Continue Reading

Dave Stott answered
18 days ago

Sorry but the DSLR and its lens selection is still the "gold standard" as you put it.  Anything else is a compromise in image quality either due to sensors or lenses.  You might think a DSLR is "not your thing" for any number of reasons, but they are still the standard against which all other camera types are measured.  Not to see if they beat them but how close they come and if they come close enough for your specific use to be considered. Continue Reading

Bjorn_L answered
18 days ago

Let's agree to disagree :-)     It's all about compromises,  and what matters to me may mean less to you. Dave Continue Reading

Dave Stott answered
18 days ago

WHAT'S IN THE BOX?

  • Nikon AF-S 35mm f/1.8 DX lens
  • HB-46 Bayonet Lens Hood
  • LC-52 Snap-On Front Lens Cap
  • LF-1 Rear Lens Cap
  • CL-0913 Soft Case

Warranty Information

"No registration or "warranty" card is included or needed with a Nikon D-SLR or Coolpix camera. Keep your original, dated proof of purchase from the Authorized Nikon Inc. dealer in case warranty service is ever needed. These products do include either a mail-in form or a paper with a web link to our registration page:
https://support.nikonusa.com/app/product_registration
It's advised to register your product with Nikon so that we can send you information about future updates or service issues that may arise.


Nikkor lenses come with a standard one year warranty and Nikon Inc. lenses sold by authorized Nikon Inc. dealers will have a Nikon Inc. Five Year Extension. To register for the five year extension, one copy of the included form must be mailed in as indicated. Keep the Customer copy of the form as well as the original proof of purchase (sales receipt)."


Read the full warranty.

DPReview GearShop is an authorized Nikon dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.