Nikon AF-S 70-200mm f/4 G ED VR Lens

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

Stuff We Love

Key Features

  • 70-200mm focal length
  • 105-300mm equivalent focal length on DX cameras
  • Ultrasonic-type AF motor with full-time manual focusing
  • Image stabilization, VR, 5 stops
  • Nikon F mount for FX and DX DSLRs

Product Description

The Nikon AF-S Nikkor 70-200mm F4G ED VR is a relatively lightweight telephoto zoom lens with a constant maximum aperture of F4, designed for use on Nikon's FX (full-frame) and DX (APS-C) DSLRs. On a cropped sensor, this lens covers an effective focal range of 105-300m. The 70-200mm F4 includes Nikon's 'third generation' vibration reduction, which allows for sharp hand-held images at shutter speeds up to five stops slower than would otherwise be possible. Optical construction comprises 20 elements in 14 groups, including three ED (extra low-dispersion) glass elements, one HRI (high refractive index) element. We like this lens for its portability, excellent image quality, and effective image stabilization.

Specs

Principal specifications
Lens type Zoom lens
Max Format size 35mm FF
Focal length 70–200 mm
Image stabilisation Yes (VR, 5 stops)
Lens mount Nikon F (FX)
Aperture
Maximum aperture F4.0
Minimum aperture F32.0
Aperture ring No
Number of diaphragm blades 9
Aperture notes Rounded diaphragm
Optics
Elements 20
Groups 14
Special elements / coatings 3 ED lens elements, 1 HRI lens element
Focus
Minimum focus 1.00 m (39.37)
Maximum magnification 0.27×
Autofocus Yes
Motor type Ring-type ultrasonic
Full time manual Yes
Focus method Internal
Distance scale Yes
DoF scale No
Physical
Weight 850 g (1.87 lb)
Diameter 78 mm (3.07)
Length 179 mm (7.05)
Sealing No
Colour Black
Zoom method Rotary (internal)
Filter thread 67 mm
Hood supplied Yes
Optional accessories Optional RT-1 tripod collar

Reviews

User Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
  • cendrowski, Jan 28, 2013 GMT:
    sharpness

    best rating !! replace please my previous post!!

    Continue Reading

  • cendrowski, Jan 28, 2013 GMT:
    sharpness

    I bought this lens in Nov.2012. The second lens (after micro 60mm) I'm using, which has sufficient resolution for D800, It is incredibly sharp and the VR works great! The upgrade from 80-200 f/2,8D ED is very visible. Problems: none

    Continue Reading

  • NorCalAl, Jan 5, 2013 GMT:
    Superb (and long overdue) Dark Side tele-zoom

    Would get five stars if the collar came with it. Wonderful addition to the pro-level (without designation) f4 VR lineup. Like the 24-120/4 VR, this lens fills a gap that Canon has had solutions for for years. I personally, except from a financial standpoint, don't understand why Canon chose to have four variations of the 70-200 focal length, but I've always been impressed that they do. I've owned all of them, some twice. When I moved to the Dark Side in 2008, I immediately missed my f4 L ...

    Continue Reading

  • xelarox, Apr 26, 2013 GMT:
    review

    excellent in every way:-P-- xelarox

    Continue Reading

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

Lens advice...

I recently purchased a Nikon 70-200 f/4, but i think there is something not right with the captured images, i hope someone can help either by any known dedicated forum or by telling me with the upload image if there is something wrong with... what do you call this thing on the left top corner and right down corner ( kind of a blur) but weird... Thank you in advance guys

HB2 asked
5 months ago

ANSWERS

Are all images taken with this lens like that? It almost looks like jpeg artifacts manifesting themselves in the out-of-focus patterns. Continue Reading

paulski66 answered
5 months ago

QUESTION

Will the D600 + 70-200 F4 fit?

I'm trying to find a minimalistic bag for my D600 + 3 lenses and flash. I would want one where I could store my longest lens attached to the camera, which would be the 70-200 F4. Anyone have a bag they would recommend? Right now I'm really interested in the Lowepro Slingshot 202AW, but I'm not sure if it will be wide enough to fit the camera in the normal way where it's easily accessible. Anyone have any other good suggestions?

Cirrisky asked
10 months ago

ANSWERS

Since nobody is giving you answers this would be my suggestion. You can look up the lens dimensions. Read reviews on a site like b&h photo for the bag. People always say what they are able to fit. Hopefully some will mention that lens, or a larger lens like the 2.8, will fit in there attached. I know that is not immediately helpful, but this is what I would do if nobody was able to respond. Continue Reading

Placation101 answered
10 months ago

Yea, I guess it's tough to find this exact combination since the lens is rather new. I'll keep looking around, or if not, see if I can find a camera shop with a good stock, bring all my stuff, and try them out :). Thank you for replying though Continue Reading

Cirrisky answered
10 months ago

I looked at the specs of my two straps Lowepro and your bag, used the ruler, fitted the d600 with 70-200/4 and I suspect you would be short of a space about one inch horizontally, 2cm more precisely. Continue Reading

HSway answered
10 months ago

QUESTION

What would you do - 80-400 AF-S vs. 300/4 VR

I know, the 300/4 VR doesn't exist yet, but there has been a lot of discussion about it and I think there is a good chance it will eventually be introduced.  VR would be a great addition just as AF-S was on the 80-400. Background: I use a D800E; for telephotos I have a 70-200/2.8 VR I (good for sports but not landscapes), a 70-200/4 VR (great at many things and smaller/lighter), and a 300/4 AF-S (great quality, near-macro focusing, 400/5.6 with a TC). My typical "heavier" travel kit includes both the 70-200/4 and 300/4 with 1.4 TC.  It's a very capable kit, but I definitely miss VR on the 300. Since the 80-400 is on sale now, I could get it and wind up with a lighter weight two-zoom kit (24-70 plus 80-400), but lose close focusing and magnification from focus breathing at the long end. I usually use the 300 for wildlife.  I could sit back and accept that what I have works pretty well, and wait for the 300/4 VR; or I could pull the trigger now on the 80-400. What would you do?

1 month ago

ANSWERS

Better than the Nikkor --- based on what? Continue Reading

stevef1961 answered
1 month ago

I would take a good look at the Tamron 150-600mm VC USD. Better than the Nikkor 80-400mm, and much more affordable. Continue Reading

brightcolours answered
1 month ago

I seriously doubt your "view". Concerning MTF at 400mm: "The bottom line, though, is at 400mm the Tamron 150-600 VC and Canon 100-400 IS are virtually identical" "One note for Nikon shooters: I’m sorry I won’t have time to run the same tests on Nikon cameras when the Nikon mount is released. However, the new Nikon 80-400 AF-S zoom is, as near as we can tell, equivalent to the Canon 100-400 IS as far as resolution goes, so you should be able to extrapolate pretty easily." http://www.lensrentals.com/blog/2014/01/tamron-150-600-telezoom-shootout Yeah right. You are comparing Tamron 600mm f6.3 with Nikkor 400mm f 5.6 there. How about comparing Tamron 400mm f5.6 with Nikkor 400mm f5.6? And by the way, your idea of what a stop is is a bit out of wack too (f5.6 to f8 is 1 stop). You have no idea, do you? Both have negligible distortion figures... One will not be able to tell them apart. Nonsense. In reality both lenses have very low CA, very comparable. http://www.ephotozine.com/article/ta ... Continue Reading

brightcolours answered
1 month ago

Warranty Information

"No registration or "warranty" card is included or needed with a Nikon D-SLR or Coolpix camera. Keep your original, dated proof of purchase from the Authorized Nikon Inc. dealer in case warranty service is ever needed. These products do include either a mail-in form or a paper with a web link to our registration page:
https://support.nikonusa.com/app/product_registration
It's advised to register your product with Nikon so that we can send you information about future updates or service issues that may arise.


Nikkor lenses come with a standard one year warranty and Nikon Inc. lenses sold by authorized Nikon Inc. dealers will have a Nikon Inc. Five Year Extension. To register for the five year extension, one copy of the included form must be mailed in as indicated. Keep the Customer copy of the form as well as the original proof of purchase (sales receipt)."


Read the full warranty.

DPReview GearShop is an authorized Nikon dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.