Nikon AF-S Nikkor 35mm f/1.8G Lens

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

Key Features

  • 35mm focal length
  • 52.5mm equivalent focal length on DX cameras
  • F1.8 maximum aperture; F16 minimum
  • Ultrasonic-type AF motor with full-time manual focusing
  • 58mm filters
  • 0.25m/9.84" minimum focus

Product Description

The AF-S Nikkor 35mm f/1.8G is a moderate wide angle prime for FX format SLRs. It uses a Silent Wave Motor for fast, quiet autofocus, and includes one ED and one aspheric element in its optical construction. It's not to be confused with the cheaper AF-S DX Nikkor 35mm f/1.8G, which is for DX format cameras only.

Specs

Principal specifications
Lens type Prime lens
Max Format size 35mm FF
Focal length 35 mm
Image stabilisation No
Lens mount Nikon F (FX)
Aperture
Maximum aperture F1.8
Minimum aperture F16.0
Aperture ring No
Number of diaphragm blades 7
Aperture notes rounded
Optics
Elements 11
Groups 8
Special elements / coatings 1 ED glass element, 1 aspheric element
Focus
Minimum focus 0.25 m (9.84)
Maximum magnification 0.24×
Autofocus Yes
Motor type Ring-type ultrasonic
Full time manual Yes
Focus method Internal
Distance scale Yes
DoF scale Yes
Physical
Weight 305 g (0.67 lb)
Diameter 72 mm (2.83)
Length 72 mm (2.83)
Filter thread 58 mm
Hood supplied Yes
Hood product code HB-70
Tripod collar No

Reviews

User Reviews

  • Blindphotographer, Mar 2, 2014 GMT:
    two out of five!

    Honestly I haven't been impressed with this one. When comparing image quality and price, it doesn't worth buying at all. Its kinda disappointing to see this much of flaw in a so called FX lens from Nikon! (there is tons of vignetting at 1.8 and so much distortion) I'd recommend everyone to take a look at sample images and seriously give it a second thought if you wanna buy this.

    Continue Reading

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

Nikkor 35mm 1.8g FX out of stock?

Hello, I was just curious to see if anyone knows why this lens can't be found anywhere? A few people have it from what I've read around the internet but not one single store (online or off) seems to have it. The only place that "seems" to have it is BestBuy which doesn't ship internationally :( I live in Dubai, UAE and the stores that I checked here haven't even heard of it lol they keep saying oh you mean the DX version? Did I miss something? Did Nikon stop making them or something? Thanks

Sash716 asked
5 months ago

ANSWERS

Nikon make lenses in batches. When they introduce a new lens they and the retailers have to "quess" how many they will sell quickly. Nikon accounts confirm they are keeping stock inventory low to help profits so it is a reasonable assumption Nikon did not make and retailers did not hold several months supply. If you want one, others seem to have been quicker off the mark and got one from the first batch. Maybe some-one knows where there is still one in stock. Digressing slightly if you seriously want a particular lens, as I did for the original 80-400 VR and the 105 VR macro and you regularly do business with one retailer the wise retailer looks after you and you usually get one from the first batch. Continue Reading

Leonard Shepherd answered
5 months ago

First batch hasnt even come to Sweden. I think some retailers got review samples though.. Continue Reading

a swede answered
5 months ago

Same here in the UK. I get the impression the first batch was very small, and all of it got shipped to the US. Continue Reading

elliotn answered
5 months ago

QUESTION

Changing Nikon lenses

Hi guys, I have a few Nikon lenses which I'm considering changing some or all of them. I've read reviews on them all and on the prospective replacements but have been unable to get direct comparisons to know if I'm going to be losing image quality. Mostly I'm shooting family snaps but here and there I like to take nice nature / product shots too. I'm currently using a D80 and may change to the D7100 or similar in the future so these lenses or their replacements could end up being used in video setups. Question 1. Should I change from Nikon 24-85mm f/3.5-4.5 G AF-S and Nikon 70-300mm f/4-5.6 to the Nikon 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6 G VR/VRII ? I originally bought these two above for my F80 and they've been doing just fine on the D80. I use the 70-300 infrequently but that focal length can be useful. The 24-85 has been the regular shooter and sounds to be a great lens even by today's standards according to http://www.kenrockwell.com/nikon/2485afs.htm (hope this link is OK, I'm not connected ...

GregP1 asked
7 months ago

ANSWERS

engineer is unfair on engineers. He is a writer of fiction. never trust people that "review" products they have not touched he also shoots JPEG medium quality set in camera to a low resolution. Not someone anyoue should be taking advise for. he also begs for money, and lies and deliberately misleads purely to drive traffic to his site. Continue Reading

golf1982 answered
6 months ago

Ken Rockwell’s site is good to be used as a database, not so much for reviews (he is reviewing lenses /bodies before they're launched eg D4s). If you want to read reviews, check others (also): photozone, ephotozine, lenstip, dpreview… I suggest you to consider other lenses (beside the Nikon 18-200mm): 1. Sigma 17-70mm f/2.8-4 OS Contemporary (DX) 2. Nikon 16-85mm f/3.5-5.6 VR (DX) 3. Tamron 70-300mm f/4-5.6 VC (FX) to complement one of the above 4. Nikon 18-140mm f/3.5-5.6 VR (DX) 5. Sigma 18-200mm f/3.5-6.3 OS Contemporary (DX) – wait until reviews are out Continue Reading

ceaiu answered
7 months ago

may I suggest that having 2 good FX lens's you might consider getting a D600 (As the price is very good at the moment). I've had the 18-200, whilst it is a good lens it is a compromise in performance. If you want to go FX (APS Sensor) the 18-140 has had some very good reviews. Continue Reading

Araldite answered
7 months ago

QUESTION

Should i trade my Dx gears and go Full frame?

Hi i was wondering if its worth trading my dx gear for full frame I would be trading D7100 with Nikon 35mm 1.8 Nikon 17-55 2.8 Sigma 50-150 2.8 Nikon 10.5 fish eye 2.8 Nikon 50-300 f4:5 Nikon 40mm macro 2.8 For a D800 , nikon 24-70mm and 50mm 1.8 I shoot all types and i mainly use the 17-55 and 35mm 1.8 often. So is full frame really worth trading my DX family for.

chrizzy asked
1 month ago

ANSWERS

I know this will be ignored, but could we see some of your shots so we know whether so-called "FULL FRAME" would make a difference? Usually, it doesn't. Continue Reading

Les Berkley answered
1 month ago

I'd like to hit the like button more than 10 times for the "but could we see some of your shots". 22 hours later and the OP didn't even say a thank you. Continue Reading

gianstam answered
1 month ago

What do you find lacking in the DX gear? Continue Reading

Ido S answered
1 month ago

Warranty Information

"No registration or "warranty" card is included or needed with a Nikon D-SLR or Coolpix camera. Keep your original, dated proof of purchase from the Authorized Nikon Inc. dealer in case warranty service is ever needed. These products do include either a mail-in form or a paper with a web link to our registration page:
https://support.nikonusa.com/app/product_registration
It's advised to register your product with Nikon so that we can send you information about future updates or service issues that may arise.


Nikkor lenses come with a standard one year warranty and Nikon Inc. lenses sold by authorized Nikon Inc. dealers will have a Nikon Inc. Five Year Extension. To register for the five year extension, one copy of the included form must be mailed in as indicated. Keep the Customer copy of the form as well as the original proof of purchase (sales receipt)."


Read the full warranty.

DPReview GearShop is an authorized Nikon dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.