Nikon AF-S Nikkor 70-200mm f/2.8 G ED VR II Lens

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

85% Gold Award
Overall this lens simply delivers the shot with the minimum of fuss, time after time after time - exactly what you need from a professional workhorse.”

Read more of the review

Key Features

  • 70-200mm focal length
  • 105-300mm equivalent focal length on DX cameras
  • F2.8 constant maximum aperture; F22 minimum
  • Ultrasonic-type AF motor with full-time manual focusing
  • Image stabilization, VR II, up to 4 stops claimed
  • 77mm filters
  • 1.40m/55.12" minimum focus
  • Nikon F mount for FX and DX DSLRs

Product Description

The AF-S Nikkor 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II is a completely revised version of the company’s fast professional telephoto zoom, offering better performance on full frame cameras than its predecessor. Overall it’s a superb lens, with excellent optics, autofocus and image stabilization, plus weather-sealed construction. It's an equally accomplished performer on both DX and FX bodies that will satisfy the most demanding of photographers.

Specs

Principal specifications
Lens type Zoom lens
Max Format size 35mm FF
Focal length 70–200 mm
Image stabilisation Yes (VR II, up to 4 stops claimed)
Lens mount Nikon F (FX)
Aperture
Maximum aperture F2.8
Minimum aperture F22.0
Aperture ring No
Number of diaphragm blades 9
Aperture notes rounded blades
Optics
Elements 21
Groups 16
Special elements / coatings 7 ED glass elements Nano Crystal Coating
Focus
Minimum focus 1.40 m (55.12)
Autofocus Yes
Motor type Ultrasonic
Full time manual Yes
Focus method Internal
Distance scale Yes
DoF scale Yes
Physical
Weight 1540 g (3.40 lb)
Diameter 87 mm (3.43)
Length 209 mm (8.23)
Materials Magnesium alloy barrel, metal mount
Sealing Yes
Colour Black
Zoom method Rotary (internal)
Filter thread 77 mm
Hood supplied Yes
Hood product code HB-48
Tripod collar Yes

Reviews

DPReview Conclusion

Scoring is relative only to the other lenses in the same category at the time of review.

Score Breakdown
Poor Excellent
Optical Quality
Build Quality
Autofocus
Image Stabilization
Ergonomics and Handling
Value
Gold Award
Gold Award
85 %
Overall Score

Overall this lens simply delivers the shot with the minimum of fuss, time after time after time - exactly what you need from a professional workhorse.

Good For

Professional shooters and advanced amateurs demanding the finest optical performance available in a telephoto zoom

Not So Good For

Anyone who values portability and convenience over all-out image quality

User Reviews

  • Martyn McMad, Dec 10, 2012 GMT:
    Nikon AF-S 70-200mm f/2.8 G VR II

    I thought long and hard about getting this lens. I was looking at the VR 1 version and the 80-200mm but the Superb optics, almost instant AF, incredible modern build quality and VR, and it takes the Teleconverter, plus the whole thang looks almost beautiful. I'm so pleased I finally took the plunge and bought it - It has a fabulous weight and balance to it that reminds you that it is a quality piece of kit. VR II lets you take handheld shots at quite amazing low shutter speeds - I managed ...

    Continue Reading

  • nikheat, Aug 29, 2012 GMT:
    The definition of awesome!

    My Nikon 180mmF2,8 was stolen a year an a half ago, and I had nothing in the 100-300mm range So while looking around the internet for a replacement, I was staggered at the prices for lenses in this range at the time, even second hand. Then I happened on a very good price for a new 70-200mm VRII, which made the second hand stuff out there suddenly seem expensive, jumped on it before anyone else did. Well, despite still being an expensive item, it has got to be the best purchase I have made in ...

    Continue Reading

  • D1cky, May 1, 2012 GMT:
    A phenomenal telezoom!

    My very best and (DX) mostly used lens. I love it - especially at 200 mm!

    Continue Reading

  • Lance B, Sep 28, 2011 GMT:
    Basically perfect.

    What Gabbo says in his/her review sums it up perfectly. A superb lens that really has no faults. Problems: None whatsoever

    Continue Reading

Videos

Other Videos About this Product

Nikon AF-S Nikkor 70-200mm f/2.8 G ED VR II Lens by DPReview

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

Nikon 28-300 f3.5-5.6G versus 70-200 2.8 VRII

I have a Nikon 28-300 f3.5-5.6G lens and was looking to purchase the Nikon 70-200 2.8 VRII lens. My question is, will my current lens set at 200mm be the same quality as the faster 2.8 lens, which cost twice as much if both are set to F22? I know the speed will be faster on the 2.8 lens, but if I have plenty of light and there is no motion issues, is the Nikon 70-200 2.8 that much better overall?

4 months ago

ANSWERS

You should never need to set either lens to f22. It would be an awful setting for either. About about f8 or f16 ( depending on whether you have a full frame (FX) or crop frame (DX) body ), an effect called diffraction will result in reduced resolution from any lens you mount. It is the primary reason to get the 70-200, so if you do not need that wide aperture then you should not get the 70-200. If you need better resolution at the long end of the zoom, then get the cheaper and lighter 70-300. Not for your needs. Continue Reading

darklamp answered
4 months ago

Nikon 70-200mm f/2.8G IF-ED AF-S VR II Nikkor Lens Image Quality Continue Reading

TTMartin answered
4 months ago

To add slightly to darklamp's reply, the wider aperture is also useful for providing subject separation.  Say you are taking a photo of someone at bat in baseball.  With F2.8 shooting wide open, you can make that player stand out from the people or things behind them, and provide a much more interesting photo.  Same with birds or any photo where you want to draw emphasis to one subject, and blur out the rest. Continue Reading

Ferguson answered
4 months ago

QUESTION

70-200mm zoom ring

Hi, The zoom ring in this picture looks slightly out of place, and I wonder if anyone might have seen this before or know if its likely to cause a problem in use? Thanks :)

Tckay asked
2 months ago

ANSWERS

Hi Tc Yes, have seen it quite often. not only with my own lenses, but also that of others. Not only with the 70-200mm F/2.8G but also with the 24-70mm F/2.8G (I'm on my third ring now.) I photograph a lot in (extreme) humid conditions, strong sunlight and temperature differences this in combination with somewhat sweaty hands is not the best thing for rubber. I'ts geting worn out, that is what you see now. The rubber ring on the older 70-200mm F/2.8 VR-I was of an slightly harder (mixture) rubber, I'm still on my first ring. and have this lens almost 10 years now. Michel Continue Reading

M Lammerse answered
2 months ago

Hi Michel, Thank you for taking the time to reply, I appreciate it. I haven't received the lens yet shim not sure  how severe it might b, is it expensive/difficult to replace the ring? Tracy Continue Reading

Tckay answered
2 months ago

There are a number of YouTube videos about replacing the rubber rings. If I remember correctly, the rings are available from Nikon at a reasonable price. Aloha. Continue Reading

NikonHaoleboy answered
2 months ago

QUESTION

Nikon 70-200 F/2.8 Tripod Foot replacement for Vanguard Ball head.

All, I recently got the Nikon 70-200 f/2.8 and I'm looking for a quicker way to mount it to my monopod. Ideally I'd like to find a replacement lens plate that I could slide directly into my ball head. I have a Vanguard SBH-250 for my tripod that I could use on the monopod. I've seen replacements out there for arca-swiss ones but I don't think the Vanguard is compatible. Also, I need to be able to leave a BlackRapid hook attached at all times, as I wont have time to remove it. (if I did, i'd just screw in my monopod and save myself the trouble!) So, I could get the arca-swiss replacement foot and then find a bracket that I can mount directly to my monopod. I dont need any adjustment on the monopod "head" so even if i found something that was just a mounting bracket with a locking pin that'd work. So, replacement foot: http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/controller/home?sku=586141&Q=&O=&is=REG&A=details [Only problem with that one is it doesnt look like I can attach the BlackRapid hook...] ...

The Battery asked
6 months ago

ANSWERS

I don't know anything about the Vanguard ballhead but I prefer a tilt head on a monopod. I use this one that is arca compatible. http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/892554-REG/Sirui_bsrl10_L_Series_Monopod_Tilt.html I haven't gotten one yet but I intend to get an arca compatible clamp like the ones you listed. I can then screw the Black Rapid fastener to so I can clamp it onto the lens foot and then quickly transfer over to my tilt head. Continue Reading

Snapshott answered
6 months ago

I don't know if this is an option but I converted all my gear to be Arca Swiss compatible. I use the Kirk foot on my 70-200. I use a Manfrotto monopod head that has a Kirk platform. Just about everything I buy is Arca Swiss compatible these days including 2 tripods, focussing rails, the plate for my PN-11 extension tube and the collar I bought for the 300mm f4. I'll be buying a Fujifilm X-T1 soon and they make a grip that is Arca Swiss compatible too. It's quite a universal system. Continue Reading

slimandy answered
6 months ago

Warranty Information

"No registration or "warranty" card is included or needed with a Nikon D-SLR or Coolpix camera. Keep your original, dated proof of purchase from the Authorized Nikon Inc. dealer in case warranty service is ever needed. These products do include either a mail-in form or a paper with a web link to our registration page:
https://support.nikonusa.com/app/product_registration
It's advised to register your product with Nikon so that we can send you information about future updates or service issues that may arise.


Nikkor lenses come with a standard one year warranty and Nikon Inc. lenses sold by authorized Nikon Inc. dealers will have a Nikon Inc. Five Year Extension. To register for the five year extension, one copy of the included form must be mailed in as indicated. Keep the Customer copy of the form as well as the original proof of purchase (sales receipt)."


Read the full warranty.

DPReview GearShop is an authorized Nikon dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.