Nikon AF-S Nikkor 70-200mm f/2.8 G ED VR II Lens

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

85% Gold Award
Overall this lens simply delivers the shot with the minimum of fuss, time after time after time - exactly what you need from a professional workhorse.”

Read more of the review

Key Features

  • 70-200mm focal length
  • 105-300mm equivalent focal length on DX cameras
  • F2.8 constant maximum aperture; F22 minimum
  • Ultrasonic-type AF motor with full-time manual focusing
  • Image stabilization, VR II, up to 4 stops claimed
  • 77mm filters
  • 1.40m/55.12" minimum focus
  • Nikon F mount for FX and DX DSLRs

Product Description

The AF-S Nikkor 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II is a completely revised version of the company’s fast professional telephoto zoom, offering better performance on full frame cameras than its predecessor. Overall it’s a superb lens, with excellent optics, autofocus and image stabilization, plus weather-sealed construction. It's an equally accomplished performer on both DX and FX bodies that will satisfy the most demanding of photographers.

Specs

Principal specifications
Lens type Zoom lens
Max Format size 35mm FF
Focal length 70–200 mm
Image stabilisation Yes (VR II, up to 4 stops claimed)
Lens mount Nikon F (FX)
Aperture
Maximum aperture F2.8
Minimum aperture F22.0
Aperture ring No
Number of diaphragm blades 9
Aperture notes rounded blades
Optics
Elements 21
Groups 16
Special elements / coatings 7 ED glass elements Nano Crystal Coating
Focus
Minimum focus 1.40 m (55.12)
Autofocus Yes
Motor type Ultrasonic
Full time manual Yes
Focus method Internal
Distance scale Yes
DoF scale Yes
Physical
Weight 1540 g (3.40 lb)
Diameter 87 mm (3.43)
Length 209 mm (8.23)
Materials Magnesium alloy barrel, metal mount
Sealing Yes
Colour Black
Zoom method Rotary (internal)
Filter thread 77 mm
Hood supplied Yes
Hood product code HB-48
Tripod collar Yes

Reviews

DPReview Conclusion

Scoring is relative only to the other lenses in the same category at the time of review.

Score Breakdown
Poor Excellent
Optical Quality
Build Quality
Autofocus
Image Stabilization
Ergonomics and Handling
Value
Gold Award
Gold Award
85 %
Overall Score

Nikon's 'Mark II' 70-200mm telezoom fixes the problems suffered by the previous version on full frame bodies, while updating to the latest and greatest VR system. It's an equally accomplished performer on both DX and FX that will satisfy the most demanding of photographers.

Good For

Professional shooters and advanced amateurs demanding the finest optical performance available in a telephoto zoom

Not So Good For

User Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
  • Martyn McMad, Dec 10, 2012 GMT:
    Nikon AF-S 70-200mm f/2.8 G VR II

    I thought long and hard about getting this lens. I was looking at the VR 1 version and the 80-200mm but the Superb optics, almost instant AF, incredible modern build quality and VR, and it takes the Teleconverter, plus the whole thang looks almost beautiful. I'm so pleased I finally took the plunge and bought it - It has a fabulous weight and balance to it that reminds you that it is a quality piece of kit. VR II lets you take handheld shots at quite amazing low shutter speeds - I managed ...

    Continue Reading

  • nikheat, Aug 29, 2012 GMT:
    The definition of awesome!

    My Nikon 180mmF2,8 was stolen a year an a half ago, and I had nothing in the 100-300mm range So while looking around the internet for a replacement, I was staggered at the prices for lenses in this range at the time, even second hand. Then I happened on a very good price for a new 70-200mm VRII, which made the second hand stuff out there suddenly seem expensive, jumped on it before anyone else did. Well, despite still being an expensive item, it has got to be the best purchase I have made in ...

    Continue Reading

  • D1cky, May 1, 2012 GMT:
    A phenomenal telezoom!

    My very best and (DX) mostly used lens. I love it - especially at 200 mm!

    Continue Reading

  • Lance B, Sep 28, 2011 GMT:
    Basically perfect.

    What Gabbo says in his/her review sums it up perfectly. A superb lens that really has no faults. Problems: None whatsoever

    Continue Reading

Videos

Other Videos About this Product

Nikon AF-S Nikkor 70-200mm f/2.8 G ED VR II Lens by DPReview

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

How does the Nikon VR 70-200mm 2.8 zoom hold up against the VR II at 200mm in the center?

Hello, It is well established that the VR I is very soft in the corners and along the edges, contrary to the VR II, but I have not seen much reported about its center sharpness wide open at 200mm? I own the VR I but have no other lens with the focal range to compare it to. I shoot the D810. I plan to use the lens for portrait work at 200mm (as I have lower focal ranges well covered with primes already), so don't care that much about corners if they are in the blur anyway, but of course I need the center where the face would be to be tack sharp. I would appreciate people with experience with both lenses to comment. Thanks, Xerberus

Xerberus asked
2 months ago

ANSWERS

I had the first one & I could not detect any difference at all on DX between the  two but it was as you described on FX. In the center I noticed no difference in center of DX or FX. Still have a little light fall off in corners of FX but 10 sec correction in LightRoom. Either is a great lens. Continue Reading

AikenMooney answered
2 months ago

I have the 70-200 VR 1 and it is simply awesome.  LOVE LOVE LOVE that lens.  Sharp and contrasty all over with amazing bokeh.  I don't think I ever really peeped at the corners.  I use it for portraits/weddings. Continue Reading

Bender73 answered
2 months ago

Many thanks for sharing your amazement with this lens! What body are you shooting it with? Continue Reading

Xerberus answered
2 months ago

QUESTION

Slingbag for Nikon DSLR w/70-200mm VR II ?

will understand if this gets moved to 'Accessories' forum area, but am looking for feedback from those that specifically use any type of sling bag for Nikon DSLR with the newer 70-200mm mounted. From the quick searches I've done so far this morning, there aren't many sling-type bags that will properly fit, and give quick access to a DSLR with the 70-200 VR II mounted. The one I am most seriously looking at is the Lowepro SlingShot 302 AW. I also like the Lowepro Toploader Pro 75 AW(not a sling-bag, but a more modest looking bag that looks like it can handle the dimension required.) Anyone have personal experience with these or other recommended bags with the 70-200 mounted for quick access?

gstadter asked
2 months ago

ANSWERS

Dismayed, I agree.  I've played around with those type bags.   I'm sold on the ability to grab my camera and then slide it back.   I'm considering the 75 model because it would fit the lens, with camera mounted, in a vertical(perpendicular to the ground), or optionally diagonal fit.   I don't want something on my hip all the time that is long enough to fit a 70-200 with body mounted, in an orientation 'parallel' to the ground. Phathom, Thank you though for taking the time to so descriptivly share your thoughts.   Though I may not go with a like-model as you described, others looking for a solution with differing needs will certainly benefit from your words. Continue Reading

gstadter answered
2 months ago

I ise them with D4 & Sigma 50-500 OS. The sling can hold the lens fitted on camera WITH tripod mount also on lens. One disadvantage is that it's heavy. I cal also put another lens, extension tubes and other accessories. 75aw is good enough for just camera and lens. It won't hold the combo with tripod mount mounted. In the small side pouch, I can carry 24-85 vr lens too. I think 70-200 is smaller than 50-500. If you are using a body without grip look into 200 series sling too.. Hope this helps. -- Thanks Jemini Joseph http://wildbirdimages.com/favorites.aspx Continue Reading

jeminijoseph answered
2 months ago

Thank you for your comment on my images :-). I'm trying to get some not so ordinary images from wild. Behavioural or distinct lighting. I totally understand what you are trying to do. I too tried finding a sling bag that's same size as 75. It should be very useful for walk around shooting or shooting during hiking. Now I use both in different situations. I'd love to have a lighter version of 302. I even thought about converting 75 into sling myself. Still looking.. Let's know what you end up doing. -- Thanks Jemini Joseph http://wildbirdimages.com/favorites.aspx Continue Reading

jeminijoseph answered
2 months ago

QUESTION

70-200mm zoom ring

Hi, The zoom ring in this picture looks slightly out of place, and I wonder if anyone might have seen this before or know if its likely to cause a problem in use? Thanks :)

Tckay asked
6 months ago

ANSWERS

Hi Tc Yes, have seen it quite often. not only with my own lenses, but also that of others. Not only with the 70-200mm F/2.8G but also with the 24-70mm F/2.8G (I'm on my third ring now.) I photograph a lot in (extreme) humid conditions, strong sunlight and temperature differences this in combination with somewhat sweaty hands is not the best thing for rubber. I'ts geting worn out, that is what you see now. The rubber ring on the older 70-200mm F/2.8 VR-I was of an slightly harder (mixture) rubber, I'm still on my first ring. and have this lens almost 10 years now. Michel Continue Reading

M Lammerse answered
6 months ago

Hi Michel, Thank you for taking the time to reply, I appreciate it. I haven't received the lens yet shim not sure  how severe it might b, is it expensive/difficult to replace the ring? Tracy Continue Reading

Tckay answered
6 months ago

There are a number of YouTube videos about replacing the rubber rings. If I remember correctly, the rings are available from Nikon at a reasonable price. Aloha. Continue Reading

NikonHaoleboy answered
6 months ago

Warranty Information

"No registration or "warranty" card is included or needed with a Nikon D-SLR or Coolpix camera. Keep your original, dated proof of purchase from the Authorized Nikon Inc. dealer in case warranty service is ever needed. These products do include either a mail-in form or a paper with a web link to our registration page:
https://support.nikonusa.com/app/product_registration
It's advised to register your product with Nikon so that we can send you information about future updates or service issues that may arise.


Nikkor lenses come with a standard one year warranty and Nikon Inc. lenses sold by authorized Nikon Inc. dealers will have a Nikon Inc. Five Year Extension. To register for the five year extension, one copy of the included form must be mailed in as indicated. Keep the Customer copy of the form as well as the original proof of purchase (sales receipt)."


Read the full warranty.

DPReview GearShop is an authorized Nikon dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.