Nikon 1 AW1 Mirrorless Waterproof Camera Kit

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

Key Features

  • 14.2MP 1"-type CMOS sensor
  • 15 frames per second continuous shooting
  • Hybrid phase and contrast detect AF system
  • ISO 160-6400
  • 1080 HD video
  • 3.0 inch LCD with 921,000 dots
  • Raw and Raw + JPEG shooting
  • Pop-up flash
  • Built-in GPS
  • SD/SDHC/SDXC memory
  • Creative mode in-camera filter effects + PSAM and underwater mode
  • Waterproof to 15m/49'; shockproof from 2m/6.6'; freezeproof to +14F/-10C
  • Compatible with WU-1b wi-fi adapter (sold separately)
  • Compatible with all Nikon 1 series lenses (but only AW lenses are waterproof/shockproof)

Product Description

The Nikon 1 AW110 is the world's first rugged mirrorless camera. The camera body is able to dive 15 meters underwater, be dropped from 2 meters, or be exposed to temperatures as low as +14F/-10C. Do note that only certain 1 System lenses will be able to hold up to those conditions. At the time of the AW1's release, the choices include the 11.0-27.5mm and 10mm F2.8 'AW' lenses. The AW1 sports a GPS receiver, along with an e-compass and altimeter/depth meter, so you'll be able to share where you took your photos.

The AW1 features a 14.2 megapixel CX-format CMOS sensor and Nikon's latest Expeed 3A processor. Focusing is achieved via a hybrid contrast and phase detect system which, in combination with the AW1's processing power, allows for 15 fps continuous shooting with autofocus (with focus locked that number jumps to 60 fps).

Other notable features include a 3-inch LCD, manual controls, scene auto selection, 1080p video recording, and optional Wi-Fi.

Specs

Body type
Body type Rangefinder-style mirrorless
Sensor
Max resolution 4608 x 3072
Image ratio w:h 3:2, 16:9
Effective pixels 14 megapixels
Sensor photo detectors 15 megapixels
Sensor size 1″ (13.2 x 8.8 mm)
Sensor type CMOS
Processor EXPEED 3A
Image
ISO 160-6400
White balance presets 7
Custom white balance Yes (1)
Image stabilization No
Uncompressed format RAW
JPEG quality levels Fine, normal, basic
Optics & Focus
Autofocus
  • Contrast Detect (sensor)
  • Phase Detect
  • Multi-area
  • Selective single-point
  • Tracking
  • Single
  • Continuous
  • Face Detection
  • Live View
Digital zoom No
Manual focus Yes
Number of focus points 135
Lens mount Nikon 1
Focal length multiplier 2.7×
Screen / viewfinder
Articulated LCD No
Screen size 3
Screen dots 921,000
Touch screen No
Screen type TFT LCD
Live view Yes
Viewfinder type None
Photography features
Minimum shutter speed 30 sec
Maximum shutter speed 1/16000 sec
Aperture priority Yes
Shutter priority Yes
Manual exposure mode Yes
Subject / scene modes Yes
Built-in flash Yes (pop-up)
Flash range 5.00 m (at ISO 100)
External flash No
Flash modes Fill flash, fill w/slow sync, rear curtain sync, rear w/slow sync, redeye reduction, redeye w/slow sync, off
Continuous drive 60 fps
Self-timer Yes (2, 5, 10 secs)
Metering modes
  • Multi
  • Center-weighted
  • Spot
Exposure compensation ±3 (at 1/3 EV steps)
WB Bracketing No
Videography features
Resolutions 1920 x 1080 (60i, 30p), 1280 x 720 (60p, 30p), 640 x 240 (400 fps), 320 x 120 (1200 fps)
Format MPEG-4, H.264
Microphone Stereo
Speaker Mono
Storage
Storage types SD/SDHC/SDXC card
Connectivity
USB USB 2.0 (480 Mbit/sec)
HDMI Yes (mini-HDMI)
Wireless Optional
Wireless notes via WU-1b wireless adapter
Remote control Yes (Optional ML-L3)
Physical
Environmentally sealed Yes (waterproof to 15m, shockproof from 2m)
Battery Battery Pack
Battery description Lithium-Ion EN-EL20 rechargeable battery & charger
Battery Life (CIPA) 220
Weight (inc. batteries) 201 g (0.44 lb / 7.09 oz)
Dimensions 114 x 72 x 37 mm (4.47 x 2.81 x 1.46)
Other features
Orientation sensor Yes
GPS BuiltIn
GPS notes includes compass and altimeter/depth meter

Reviews

User Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
  • dock, Oct 4, 2013 GMT:
    a safety warning!

    For divers the orange case protector would be a great thing I lost my Nikonos somewhere while diving when I came to the vessel I noticed I did not have it. We waited our surface interval made a second dive and at the end of our tank. I found it directly under the boat I must have let go while going aboard. The orange attracted me to it.

    Continue Reading

  • Adrian Gopal, Nov 26, 2013 GMT:
    Nikon 1 AW1 - a personal encounter

    It has been a while since Nikon has excited me as a photographer.  Having been using Nikon bodies from the likes of the F2, FM2N, F90, F4, D70s, D100, D90, D3100 and various other Nikon's over the years including the Nikonos V. Boom! Out came the 1 AW1.  When Nikon announced the 1 series several years back, I was skeptical on how good Nikon's smaller sensors were, have had a few Coolpix cameras and the P310, but the AW1 drew me like no Nikon camera has in the last 10 years.  Loving to shoot ...

    Continue Reading

  • Bobby Handal, Mar 18, 2014 GMT:
    Real Life review of AW1

    I was finally able to take a close look at the Nikon 1 AW1, just came back from Roatan from 4 full days snorkeling with the AW1 and kit lens. Background: I have been a photographer for over 35 years, and have used a variety of underwater cameras from film days: Nikonos and Housed 35mm and in the Digital age: Olympus m4/3, Panasonic GF3 w/housing, and waterproofed point and shoot from Canon, panasonic, etc. I own several brands, and emphasis in Nikon, including V1, V2 and the AW1. This camera ...

    Continue Reading

Videos

Loading the player ...

First Look at the AW1 by Nikon

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

Nikon 1 AW1 - Amazon has discontinued, but why?

Does anyone know why Amazon has stopped carrying the AW1 after only a few months? This is a very unusually short length of time for Amazon. Even if something better were just around the corner, Amazon usually will overlap the sales period (for example, the Pany FZ150 kept on long after the FZ200 came out). I was thinking of getting the AW1, but now I'm having second thoughts. Does this discontinuance mean that there is a problem with the AW1?

Kawika Nui asked
2 months ago

ANSWERS

It isn't necessarily discontinued. Amazon seems very conservative in when they list out of stock items as to when they come back. I had a return for my Nikon 50mm 1.8G and they send me a note saying sorry that the item would be out of stock until march. Then it shipped a few days later. The AW1 listing for me states: "Currently unavailable. We don't know when or if this item will be back in stock." Not "This item has been discontinued by the manufacturer" which I've seen before. All it means is that whomever was supplying Amazon with AW1s ran out.  Whether that's Nikon or some retail shop I can't tell from the current listing.  If you look at one of the Nikon J3 listings the supplier is Beach Camera and they have 13 left in stock.  If those all sell you might see that J3 kit option show the same "Currently Unavailable" tag.  Adorama has the 2-lens kit option that could run out as well although Amazon evidently has a few collecting dust somewhere for $200 more than Adorama wants. B&H ... Continue Reading

nigelht answered
2 months ago

I much prefer your happy story, myself.  We'll have a better idea, tomorrow, after which I hope we can all take off our fortune-teller hats (at least for a little while) and concentrate on taking photos. Continue Reading

MattZisk answered
2 months ago

And we're back in stock: http://www.amazon.com/Nikon-Waterproof-Shockproof-Digital-11-27-5mm/dp/B00FA4UJY8 There's only 1 in stock so by the time you click the link maybe not again.  Shipped by Bel Air Camera. Continue Reading

nigelht answered
2 months ago

QUESTION

What happened to the AW1 ?

Yesterday when I checked, Amazon showed only one AW1 for sale, and every color and kit was back-ordered or out of stock at B&H. Did Nikon have a short manufacturing run, quality control problems, or did they create a shortage to keep prices high? 'Tis the season for a waterproof camera (in the northern hemisphere).

CAcreeks asked
28 days ago

ANSWERS

If we are all putting on our conspiracy hats: The only fact is that the AW1 is scare, really scarce, worldwide. Just checked the online retail situation here in Japan. It's 100% out of stock, scheduled end of March availability. Now on to the wild speculation, rumor, and hearsay: These must be fairly difficult/expensive cameras to make, sold at low margin, and I have this suspicion that the return / warranty repair claims must be pretty horrendous as any misuse or even improper maintenance can cause the seals to fail. You give ordinary people this complex ILC and tell them to do extreme sports with it... sounds like a recipe for disaster to me. So my pet theory is Nikon is deliberately limiting supply to a trickle to avoid a flood of red ink from the warranty claims. A related theory is that its not misuse, but there are flaws in the design which causes it to fail to fail more frequently than planned, so Nikon is keeping availability low while working on an improved model. Third and ... Continue Reading

Richard Murdey answered
27 days ago

Per Nikon Rumors, B&H has them in stock right now! Continue Reading

KnightPhoto2 answered
27 days ago

May just be indicative of the whole company - Nikon isn't have a good run. http://www.dpreview.com/forums/thread/3641903 Lots of problems throughout the company. I've had a delay getting pretty much everything for the AW1 - covers, o-rings, etc. Continue Reading

Bailey151 answered
28 days ago

QUESTION

Shipping Date

I am very interested in purchasing the 1 aw1 but they are impossible to get.  Does anyone have any insight to when they will be available in the U.S.?

tthompson asked
2 months ago

ANSWERS

As of 9:49 am EDT (February 3, 2014), Roberts has two in stock. One white and one black. Good luck. http://robertscamera.com/1-aw1-with-11-27-5mm-lens.html Continue Reading

bitcoin answered
2 months ago

WOW! Thanks.  Just ordered a black one.:-) Continue Reading

tthompson answered
2 months ago

WHAT'S IN THE BOX?

  • Nikon 1 AW1 Camera Body
  • 1 NIKKOR AW 11-27.5mm f/3.5-5.6 waterproof lens
  • (2-lens kits also includes 1 NIKKOR AW 10mm f/2.8 waterproof lens)
  • AN-N3000 Strap
  • UC-E15 USB Cable
  • EN-EL20 Rechargeable Li-ion Battery
  • MH-27 Battery Charger
  • BF-N2000 Body Cap
  • WP-O2000 O-Ring
  • PA-N1000 O-Ring Protector
  • ViewNX 2
  • Short Movie Creator CD
  • User's Manual
  • Reference Manual CD

Warranty Information

"No registration or "warranty" card is included or needed with a Nikon D-SLR or Coolpix camera. Keep your original, dated proof of purchase from the Authorized Nikon Inc. dealer in case warranty service is ever needed. These products do include either a mail-in form or a paper with a web link to our registration page:
https://support.nikonusa.com/app/product_registration
It's advised to register your product with Nikon so that we can send you information about future updates or service issues that may arise.


Nikkor lenses come with a standard one year warranty and Nikon Inc. lenses sold by authorized Nikon Inc. dealers will have a Nikon Inc. Five Year Extension. To register for the five year extension, one copy of the included form must be mailed in as indicated. Keep the Customer copy of the form as well as the original proof of purchase (sales receipt)."


Read the full warranty.

DPReview GearShop is an authorized Nikon dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.