Nikon 1 AW1 Mirrorless Waterproof Camera Kit

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

Key Features

  • 14.2MP 1"-type CMOS sensor
  • 15 frames per second continuous shooting
  • Hybrid phase and contrast detect AF system
  • ISO 160-6400
  • 1080 HD video
  • 3.0 inch LCD with 921,000 dots
  • Raw and Raw + JPEG shooting
  • Pop-up flash
  • Built-in GPS
  • SD/SDHC/SDXC memory
  • Creative mode in-camera filter effects + PSAM and underwater mode
  • Waterproof to 15m/49'; shockproof from 2m/6.6'; freezeproof to +14F/-10C
  • Compatible with WU-1b wi-fi adapter (sold separately)
  • Compatible with all Nikon 1 series lenses (but only AW lenses are waterproof/shockproof)

Product Description

The Nikon 1 AW110 is the world's first rugged mirrorless camera. The camera body is able to dive 15 meters underwater, be dropped from 2 meters, or be exposed to temperatures as low as +14F/-10C. Do note that only certain 1 System lenses will be able to hold up to those conditions. At the time of the AW1's release, the choices include the 11.0-27.5mm and 10mm F2.8 'AW' lenses. The AW1 sports a GPS receiver, along with an e-compass and altimeter/depth meter, so you'll be able to share where you took your photos.

The AW1 features a 14.2 megapixel CX-format CMOS sensor and Nikon's latest Expeed 3A processor. Focusing is achieved via a hybrid contrast and phase detect system which, in combination with the AW1's processing power, allows for 15 fps continuous shooting with autofocus (with focus locked that number jumps to 60 fps).

Other notable features include a 3-inch LCD, manual controls, scene auto selection, 1080p video recording, and optional Wi-Fi.

Specs

Body type
Body type Rangefinder-style mirrorless
Sensor
Max resolution 4608 x 3072
Image ratio w:h 3:2, 16:9
Effective pixels 14 megapixels
Sensor photo detectors 15 megapixels
Sensor size 1″ (13.2 x 8.8 mm)
Sensor type CMOS
Processor EXPEED 3A
Image
ISO 160-6400
White balance presets 7
Custom white balance Yes (1)
Image stabilization No
Uncompressed format RAW
JPEG quality levels Fine, normal, basic
Optics & Focus
Autofocus
  • Contrast Detect (sensor)
  • Phase Detect
  • Multi-area
  • Selective single-point
  • Tracking
  • Single
  • Continuous
  • Face Detection
  • Live View
Digital zoom No
Manual focus Yes
Number of focus points 135
Lens mount Nikon 1
Focal length multiplier 2.7×
Screen / viewfinder
Articulated LCD No
Screen size 3
Screen dots 921,000
Touch screen No
Screen type TFT LCD
Live view Yes
Viewfinder type None
Photography features
Minimum shutter speed 30 sec
Maximum shutter speed 1/16000 sec
Aperture priority Yes
Shutter priority Yes
Manual exposure mode Yes
Subject / scene modes Yes
Built-in flash Yes (pop-up)
Flash range 5.00 m (at ISO 100)
External flash No
Flash modes Fill flash, fill w/slow sync, rear curtain sync, rear w/slow sync, redeye reduction, redeye w/slow sync, off
Continuous drive 60.0 fps
Self-timer Yes (2, 5, 10 secs)
Metering modes
  • Multi
  • Center-weighted
  • Spot
Exposure compensation ±3 (at 1/3 EV steps)
WB Bracketing No
Videography features
Resolutions 1920 x 1080 (60i, 30p), 1280 x 720 (60p, 30p), 640 x 240 (400 fps), 320 x 120 (1200 fps)
Format MPEG-4, H.264
Microphone Stereo
Speaker Mono
Storage
Storage types SD/SDHC/SDXC card
Connectivity
USB USB 2.0 (480 Mbit/sec)
HDMI Yes (mini-HDMI)
Wireless Optional
Wireless notes via WU-1b wireless adapter
Remote control Yes (Optional ML-L3)
Physical
Environmentally sealed Yes (waterproof to 15m, shockproof from 2m)
Battery Battery Pack
Battery description Lithium-Ion EN-EL20 rechargeable battery & charger
Battery Life (CIPA) 220
Weight (inc. batteries) 201 g (0.44 lb / 7.09 oz)
Dimensions 114 x 72 x 37 mm (4.47 x 2.81 x 1.46)
Other features
Orientation sensor Yes
GPS BuiltIn
GPS notes includes compass and altimeter/depth meter

Reviews

User Reviews

4.125 out of 5 stars
  • dock, Oct 4, 2013 GMT:
    a safety warning!

    For divers the orange case protector would be a great thing I lost my Nikonos somewhere while diving when I came to the vessel I noticed I did not have it. We waited our surface interval made a second dive and at the end of our tank. I found it directly under the boat I must have let go while going aboard. The orange attracted me to it.

    Continue Reading

  • Adrian Gopal, Nov 26, 2013 GMT:
    Nikon 1 AW1 - a personal encounter

    It has been a while since Nikon has excited me as a photographer.  Having been using Nikon bodies from the likes of the F2, FM2N, F90, F4, D70s, D100, D90, D3100 and various other Nikon's over the years including the Nikonos V. Boom! Out came the 1 AW1.  When Nikon announced the 1 series several years back, I was skeptical on how good Nikon's smaller sensors were, have had a few Coolpix cameras and the P310, but the AW1 drew me like no Nikon camera has in the last 10 years.  Loving to shoot ...

    Continue Reading

  • Bobby Handal, Mar 18, 2014 GMT:
    Real Life review of AW1

    I was finally able to take a close look at the Nikon 1 AW1, just came back from Roatan from 4 full days snorkeling with the AW1 and kit lens. Background: I have been a photographer for over 35 years, and have used a variety of underwater cameras from film days: Nikonos and Housed 35mm and in the Digital age: Olympus m4/3, Panasonic GF3 w/housing, and waterproofed point and shoot from Canon, panasonic, etc. I own several brands, and emphasis in Nikon, including V1, V2 and the AW1. This camera ...

    Continue Reading

  • JanMatthys, Sep 4, 2014 GMT:
    The most fun vacation camera ever.

    I purchased this camera before our labor day vacation and it was the best decision I could have made. We planned a 7-day Caribbean vacation I couldn't decide which camera to take. I own a J3 but I was afraid it may get water damage. I looked at the alternatives but the AW1 seemed the most appealing and I was familiar with it's AF system and FPS which I liked. We went on a cruise, on beaches, snorkeling, on excursions and the AW1 was totally worry free, very fast focusing, fast FPS, excellent ...

    Continue Reading

Videos

First Look at the AW1 by Nikon

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

LEICA X2 vs FUJIFILM X100T

I am moving to a different country for 6 months and am tired of bringing m yD-SLR around with me. I currently own the Nikon D3100. I am looking to purchase something smallish, compact yet will take beautiful photos. The LEICA X2 seems beautiful but is the extra money worth it compared to the FUJIFILM X100T? Would I be better of saving my money and just getting a Nikon 1 AW1? Is there other camera models that I would be better off looking at? If I am spending $1000 I want something that really is worth every dollar. Thanks!

rjones22 asked
22 days ago

ANSWERS

The Leica and the Fujifilm X100T are both APS-C sensor fixed lens/fixed focal length cameras, i.e. no zoom.  Is that what you want?  The Nikon AW1 is a 1" sensor waterproof interchangeable lens camera.  Very, very different to the Leica and Fujifilm. There are a large number of camera available that might suit your needs, so here are a few suggestions. I would suggest looking at the Sony RX100 MkIII, the Canon G7X, the Panasonic LX100 which are all largish sensor fixed lens cameras with a zoom lens. If you want more zoom and don't mind something larger, look at the Sony RX10 and Panasonic FZ1000. If you want interchangeable lenses you could also look at Nikon 1 Series cameras like the J4 and V3 but probably not the AW1 unless you need a waterproof camera.  You could also look at the Samsung NX Mini (1"), Micro 4/3 cameras like the Panasonic GM1/GM5 and Olympus E-PL7 or  EM-10 and APS-C mirrorless cameras like the Sony A5100 and A6000. Continue Reading

Chris R-UK answered
21 days ago

This is covered by practically any camera, including phones. Any P&S would seem fine. You have not defined what you require from the camera in a technical sense. Continue Reading

darklamp answered
21 days ago

No one actually answered your question about these two specific cameras so I'll give you my opinion (everybody has one). First, Leica cameras are built like tanks and Leica has an excellent warranty that usually covers the camera for 3 years. Leica made lenses are also very good. Fuji is also excellent and their lenses are some of the best a person can buy. When it comes to a choice between the two cameras you mentioned, the best choice, for most people, would probably be the Fuji. The Leica X2 is almost two years old, the Fuji X-100T is brand new. A lot has changed in sensor technology and processor ability in the last couple of years. The Leica doesn't have a viewfinder and has a very low resolution LCD that's a problem in bright sunlight. The Fuji has both a viewfinder and a better LCD. Image quality from either camera will be good but the Fuji will be better in low light/high ISO situations. I wouldn't fault anyone for buying either camera but I do think you'll get a lot more ... Continue Reading

Ed B answered
21 days ago

QUESTION

Nikon 1 AW1 vs Olympus Tough tg-3

Hey all! I'm an Aussie about to embark on the trip of a lifetime - heading to Canada for a year, and then who knows where after that?  Possiblities include a road trip through USA, a good 6 months travelling through Eastern Europe, a good 6 months travelling through Central America or all of the above! I currently have a nikon D610, with 50mm f1.8, 16-35mm f4, and a 70-200mm f2.8.  About to purchase a sb-700 speedlite, and already have a lightweight tripod.  I feel pretty comfortable with these lenses, and although the whole kit is heavy I am a fit, young chappy who is happy enough to carry this gear around.  (mini side question - I assume that gear will be OK in the snow assuming I am careful with it??) I also have an olympus e-pm1 with underwater housing and a strobe.  I'll be selling this, as it's far too bulky to take all that kit with me, but I want to replace it with a camera that will be mainly for underwater use (snorkelling and shallow dives, once I get deep enough to ...

Schpeet asked
6 days ago

ANSWERS

IMHO - AW1 hands down. The AW1 is, a the moment, arguably the best all weather camera on the market. Snorkeling? AF speed means you'll get the shot. Built in flash should you need it & the 11-27.5 lens is very good. I often reach for the AW1 out of a group of D7100, V3, & V1 simply because it can handle it all. Pool, beach, rain, bumps & bruises = it's good to go. Example - I was in Portland Maine last week - it was raining & all the other tourists were trying to take pictures & keep the camera under cover...........not me, just left it hanging on the sling = no worries. Continue Reading

Bailey151 answered
6 days ago

I have both.  The AW1 is far superior to the TG-3 in terms of focus speed and accuracy, dynamic range, low contrast detail. However, my AW1 has leaked twice.  Both times water entered through the front of the 11-27.5 lens.  Both times after fewer than half a dozen snorkel or dive outings.  First time I thought it might have been due to my less than fanatic attention to post-dive rinse procedures.  Second time I was fanatic about post-dive care, and the thing still leaked.  Nikon has cheerfully replaced the lens twice now (the original body has never gotten any water damage inside, and seems to be watertight), but I'm kind of apprehensive about diving with the AW1 anymore. The TG-3 (and the TG-1 that it replaced) has been bulletproof over many snorkel and dive outings, so, despite its poorer photographic performance has become my go-to underwater camera.  I reserve the AW1 for special occasions and have purchased flood insurance for it.  Frustrating. Continue Reading

peterak answered
6 days ago

And to counter Peter's experience mine has lived in the pool & the ocean with no issues???? (knock on wood). Not to minimize his issues, if it leaks you're screwed & two bad lenses doesn't bode well. Continue Reading

Bailey151 answered
6 days ago

WHAT'S IN THE BOX?

  • Nikon 1 AW1 Camera Body
  • 1 NIKKOR AW 11-27.5mm f/3.5-5.6 waterproof lens
  • (2-lens kits also includes 1 NIKKOR AW 10mm f/2.8 waterproof lens)
  • AN-N3000 Strap
  • UC-E15 USB Cable
  • EN-EL20 Rechargeable Li-ion Battery
  • MH-27 Battery Charger
  • BF-N2000 Body Cap
  • WP-O2000 O-Ring
  • PA-N1000 O-Ring Protector
  • ViewNX 2
  • Short Movie Creator CD
  • User's Manual
  • Reference Manual CD

Warranty Information

"No registration or "warranty" card is included or needed with a Nikon D-SLR or Coolpix camera. Keep your original, dated proof of purchase from the Authorized Nikon Inc. dealer in case warranty service is ever needed. These products do include either a mail-in form or a paper with a web link to our registration page:
https://support.nikonusa.com/app/product_registration
It's advised to register your product with Nikon so that we can send you information about future updates or service issues that may arise.


Nikkor lenses come with a standard one year warranty and Nikon Inc. lenses sold by authorized Nikon Inc. dealers will have a Nikon Inc. Five Year Extension. To register for the five year extension, one copy of the included form must be mailed in as indicated. Keep the Customer copy of the form as well as the original proof of purchase (sales receipt)."


Read the full warranty.

DPReview GearShop is an authorized Nikon dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.