Nikon COOLPIX P520 Compact Camera

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

Key Features

  • 18 MP 1/2.3" CMOS sensor
  • 24-1000mm equivalent F3-5.9 VR lens (42x optical zoom)
  • ISO 80-3200 (expandable to 12800)
  • 1080/15fps, 30fps, 60i HD video
  • 201,000 dot electronic viewfinder with diopter adjustment
  • 3.2" vari-angle LCD with 921,000 dots
  • PSAM + auto and scene modes
  • Built-in GPS
  • Wi-Fi compatible ( WU-1a module sold separately)

Product Description

The bridge camera-style Nikon Coolpix P520 features the same 24-1000mm equivalent zoom seen in the P510 but has been upgraded with an 18MP BSI CMOS sensor. It's compatible with the optional WU-1a Wi-Fi module, letting you control it from your Android or iOS smartphone or tablet, and wirelessly share your photos. The P520 will let you have full control with P, S, A, M modes or full auto and scene modes for quick snapshots. Built-GPS logs your trips and shows you nearby points of interest like scenic lookouts and landmarks.

Specs

Body type
Body type SLR-like (bridge)
Sensor
Effective pixels 18 megapixels
Sensor type BSI-CMOS
Image
ISO Auto,80, 100, 200, 400, 800, 1600, 2000, 3200
Image stabilization Optical
Uncompressed format Unknown
Optics & Focus
Focal length (equiv.) 24–1000 mm
Optical zoom 41.7×
Autofocus
  • Contrast Detect (sensor)
Manual focus Yes
Screen / viewfinder
Articulated LCD Unknown
Screen size 3.2
Screen type TFT-LCD with Anti-reflection coating
Viewfinder type Electronic
Photography features
Aperture priority Yes
Shutter priority Yes
Manual exposure mode Yes
Subject / scene modes Yes
Videography features
Resolutions 1920 x 1080
Microphone Stereo
Speaker Mono
Storage
Storage types SD/SDHC/SDXC
Storage included 15 MB
Connectivity
Wireless Optional
Wireless notes WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter
Physical
Battery Battery Pack
Battery description Nikon EN-EL5 Lithium-Ion battery
Battery Life (CIPA) 200
Weight (inc. batteries) 550 g (1.21 lb / 19.40 oz)
Dimensions 125 x 84 x 102 mm (4.92 x 3.31 x 4.02)
Other features
GPS BuiltIn

Reviews

User Reviews

3.875 out of 5 stars
  • ScreamingRashid, May 1, 2013 GMT:
    Far exceeded expectations

    Bought the camera 2 hours before a concert. Entry requirements were 'no pro cameras' but security interpret this to be no detachable lenses, ie I had to find a compact quickly. Phenomenal performance!! Seated over 100m from the stage, seats bouncing around, difficult lighting that is constantly changing, movement from band members (Black Sabbath) admittedly Ozzie may not be the fastest mover. Unbelievable that the camera could clearly focus on the individual guitar strings! (you can even see ...

    Continue Reading

  • Kiong003, Sep 11, 2013 GMT:
    Nikon Coolpix P520

    THIS IS A GREAT CAMERA AS FAR AS FOCUSING SPEED AND ZOOM IS CONCERNED FOR THIS CATEGORY. It would be great if Nikon could improve/enhance the size of sensor :-

    Continue Reading

  • Azumi, Jan 14, 2014 GMT:
    Wide to Telephoto pictures

    Have just purchased Nikon P520 and just used camera from open window. Totally love the articulated viewfinder, which is beautifully clear and easy to read. I'm 'happy' with the pictures so far, don't forget the chip is so small, and for the price of just over £220 it's a bargain. Sending just few hand held pictures of the zoom, from wide to telephoto.

    Continue Reading

  • MoinMubarak, Apr 10, 2014 GMT:
    Overall a Good Choice for a Novice

    I bought this camera in June last year. Since then I have been using it extensively. Here are a few few things I liked and didn´t like about the camera. Pros: 1. ZOOM. This is most probably the best feature available in this camera. The 42X lets you get really close to the subject. Yea it does have some little focus limitations but overall its really good. 2. Tilt-able display. You can click any angle using it. It even makes selfies so much fun(I usually use my tripod for that) 3. Zoom Speed: ...

    Continue Reading

Videos

Other Videos About this Product

Nikon Coolpix P520 by DPReview

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

image stabilization on the Nikon P520

Where is the VR compensation located in the setup menu?

Andew asked
27 days ago

ANSWERS

Page 103 shows that it's near the top of the Setup Menu. From the top, going down on the first page of the Setup Menu : (1) Welcome Screen (2) Time zone and date (3) Monitor settings (4) Print date (5) Vibration reduction (6) Motion detection (7) AF assist Page 104 shows that Vibration Reduction has 3 options, Normal, Active and Off. It also mentions that the VR options can be assigned to the Fn button if you wish. Continue Reading

photoreddi answered
27 days ago

QUESTION

P520 remote control video

I've got the app to run my P520 remotely from my 'phone and it works great with stills, including zoom but don't see any way to run the video remotely. In remote control, the record button on the camera is de-activated and there's no record button showing in the phone display. Does anyone know if the video function can be accessed remotely ??  I did try to do a search but came up with nothing on the subject. Thanks............Lars

Big Lar asked
3 months ago

ANSWERS

Nobody out there in Nikon Land knows about remote control videos ??  I've really been hoping for an answer.                         Lar. Continue Reading

Big Lar answered
2 months ago

QUESTION

Nikon coolpix cameras - p520 vs p600

I have a coolpix p520 and really like it.  I am looking for a second camera as a backup or so I can have each camera set to certain parameters (black and white for one, color for the other that I would have already configured for each camera) when I am in a situation where I would need to change modes very quickly.  As I am on a fixed income I need to keep within the price range of these two cameras.  Also, I feel that anything I want to do with a camera can be done with either of these cameras as I am an amateur.  I was in photography as a serious amateur about 30 years ago and at that time it was a bit cumbersome carrying two cameras (SLR film cameras) plus several lenses with me when out and about.  Plus with all the advancements since then, these cameras will do much more than my old Nikons from 30 yrs ago. So, I am looking for suggestions; should I get another p520 or a different model? Thanks

whodat101 asked
6 days ago

ANSWERS

whodat101, have you tried shooting in P mode and applying the color effects later, on your computer? That should be much easier than carrying and juggling with 2 rather big cameras. And cheaper, of course. To choose a proper backup camera, you need to think about how and when you are shooting, what results you are getting, what do you like and miss in P520. If most of your photos are below say 200mm (35mm eq.), then cameras with larger sensor and brighter lens (premium compacts, entry-level mirrorless) will give you better low light performance and better overall picture quality. They are also often less bulky and lighter. Continue Reading

errant answered
4 days ago

Well if you read all the posts so far on the P600 it gives excellent images and if you want to shoot that bit further out get it. Atleast you'll have moved up a rung on the ladder at same time. From my experience it gives great indoor low light shots. Continue Reading

allenns answered
5 days ago

Warranty Information

"No registration or "warranty" card is included or needed with a Nikon D-SLR or Coolpix camera. Keep your original, dated proof of purchase from the Authorized Nikon Inc. dealer in case warranty service is ever needed. These products do include either a mail-in form or a paper with a web link to our registration page:
https://support.nikonusa.com/app/product_registration
It's advised to register your product with Nikon so that we can send you information about future updates or service issues that may arise.


Nikkor lenses come with a standard one year warranty and Nikon Inc. lenses sold by authorized Nikon Inc. dealers will have a Nikon Inc. Five Year Extension. To register for the five year extension, one copy of the included form must be mailed in as indicated. Keep the Customer copy of the form as well as the original proof of purchase (sales receipt)."


Read the full warranty.

DPReview GearShop is an authorized Nikon dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.