Nikon COOLPIX P330 Compact Camera

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

Key Features

  • 12 MP 1/1.7" CMOS sensor
  • 24-120mm equivalent F1.8-5.6 VR lens (5x optical zoom)
  • ISO 80-3200 (expandable to 12800)
  • 10 fps continuous shooting (up to 10 shots)
  • 1080 (60, 50, 30, 25, 24 fps), 720 (30, 25 fps) HD video (H.264, MPEG-4)
  • 3" LCD with 921,000 dots
  • PSAM plus auto and scene modes
  • Built-in GPS
  • Wi-Fi compatible (sold separately)
  • RAW + JPEG

Product Description

The Nikon Coolpix P330 is Nikon's latest small form-factor enthusiast compact camera. It features PASM exposure modes, raw capture and a larger, (1/1.7in) lower-resolution sensor (almost certainly the same 12MP one found in the Coolpix P7700), without sacrificing what was good about its predecessors - a compact body, relatively fast lens, good build quality, and a useful zoom range. As such it represents Nikon's most serious attempt to offer a real competitor to the Canon PowerShot S110 and its popular predecessors the S100 and S95.

Specs

Body type
Body type Compact
Sensor
Max resolution 4000 x 3000
Image ratio w:h 4:3
Effective pixels 12 megapixels
Sensor photo detectors 13 megapixels
Sensor size 1/1.7" (7.44 x 5.58 mm)
Sensor type BSI-CMOS
Image
ISO Auto 100, 200, 400, 800, 1600, 2000, 3200, 6400, 12800
White balance presets 5
Custom white balance Yes
Image stabilization Optical
Uncompressed format RAW
Optics & Focus
Focal length (equiv.) 24–120 mm
Optical zoom 5×
Maximum aperture F1.8 - F5.6
Autofocus
  • Contrast Detect (sensor)
  • Multi-area
  • Center
  • Tracking
  • Face Detection
Digital zoom Yes (2x)
Manual focus Yes
Normal focus range 30 cm (11.81)
Macro focus range 3 cm (1.18)
Screen / viewfinder
Articulated LCD Fixed
Screen size 3
Screen dots 921,000
Touch screen No
Screen type TFT-LCD
Live view Yes
Viewfinder type None
Photography features
Minimum shutter speed 60 sec
Maximum shutter speed 1/4000 sec
Aperture priority Yes
Shutter priority Yes
Manual exposure mode Yes
Subject / scene modes Yes
Built-in flash Yes (Pop-up)
Flash range 6.50 m
Continuous drive 10 fps
Self-timer Yes (2 or 10 sec)
Metering modes
  • Multi
  • Center-weighted
  • Spot
  • Spot AF-area
Exposure compensation ±2 (at 1/3 EV steps)
AE Bracketing (at 1/3 EV steps)
WB Bracketing No
Videography features
Resolutions 1920 x 1080 (60, 50, 30, 25, 24 fps), 1280 x 720p (30, 25 fps), 640 x 480 (30, 25fps)
Format MPEG-4, H.264
Videography notes 1080 (60i, 50i, 30p, 25p, 24p)
Microphone Stereo
Speaker Mono
Storage
Storage types SD/SDHC/SDXC
Connectivity
USB USB 2.0 (480 Mbit/sec)
Wireless Optional
Wireless notes Optional WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter
Physical
Environmentally sealed No
Battery Battery Pack
Battery description Nikon EN-EL12 Lithium-Ion battery
Battery Life (CIPA) 200
Weight (inc. batteries) 200 g (0.44 lb / 7.05 oz)
Dimensions 103 x 58 x 32 mm (4.06 x 2.28 x 1.26)
Other features
GPS BuiltIn

Videos

Nikon Coolpix P330 by DPReview

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

Sony Cybershot Hx50v vs Nikon p330 vs Pentax MX-1

I'm trying to get a new camera and I've narrowed it down to these 3 I've compared them several times and they are all similar i can get them all for just around $250 which one do you think is the best bang for your buck i do a lot of videos and also look forward to taking great pictures also using manual controls which do you recommend me getting

mikey201 asked
18 days ago

ANSWERS

Don't know about video. Specs say the Sony HX50v and the Nikon p330 can do 1080p60, while Pentax can do only p30. But it is not about actual quality. For picture quality, in bright sunlight all are OK (although the Sony and to much lesser degree Nikon will have lower resolution at longer focal lengths - higher zoom levels - due to diffraction). In lower light, here is about what you are going to get: MX-1 Sony HX200v (similar in quality to HX50v ), 2 stops higher ISO due to about 2 stop slower lens These are crops from the images at parameters the cameras will give you in moderate (but not low) light. In even lower light, Sony will be even worse (DPR's image quality comparison for HX200v does not even have the setting). This is a comparison for wide end. At the long end of the lens the difference will be higher: in low and even moderate light, shutter speed required on HX50v will be so long, that in addition to very high noise at maximum ISO you will also see subject movement and ... Continue Reading

peevee1 answered
17 days ago

Even without second hand, if you don't need all metal build and advanced controls, these days you can buy a E-PM2 2 lens kit or a3000 for $300 or so. Continue Reading

peevee1 answered
17 days ago

The Sony is not similar at all to the other 2. It is a superzoom with a small sensor and slow lens with large zoom range. p330 and MX-1 are enthusiast cameras, with somewhat larger sensor, much brighter lenses and better controls. But even they differ in class, while MX-1 is a bigger compact, maybe jacket-pocketable but far from shirt pocketable, in the class of Olympus XZ-2 (from which it borrowed the lens and sensor), Panasonic LX7, Canon G16, Nikon P7700, Fuji X20, while Nikon P330 is in the class of "flat" enthusiast subcompacts, like Canon S100/110/120, Olympus XZ-10, Fuji XQ1. HX50 is useless in low light but has great zoom range. p330 is OK in low light at wide end but not at long end. MX-1 is OK both at wide and at its long end. But the zoom range of both MX-1 and p330 is nowhere near HX50. Whatever is more important to you. MX-1 is also much heavier. Continue Reading

peevee1 answered
18 days ago

QUESTION

Now thinking Nikon p330 or Cannon S110

Hi all, I posted last week about a good point and shoot.  I was wanting to buy the Nikon L830.  From all of your comments on my post and some other posts, I've concluded either of the above would be better then the L830. Correct?  If yes, which of these 2 do you prefer and why? Thank you!

1 month ago

ANSWERS

It's hard to say without knowing what features you are looking for and where you would like to use the camera. The L830 is very different from either of those cameras, since it has a super zoom. If that's something you would like to have in a camera, it will not be in either of those choices. I like to use SnapSort to compare cameras. Occasionally there are errors in their database, but it's generally a good tool to see what features one camera might have that another one doesn't. Of the two, I would choose the P330, just because it does panoramic shots, and is a little better in low light. But someone else might like the S110 for shooting super slow motion video clips to analyze their golf swing. Different factors come into play at a personal level. Do you have a good camera store in your area? That might be the best place to get an idea of how cameras compare. Keep in mind what you want to use the camera for and what features you would like. http://snapsort.com/compare/Canon-Power ... Continue Reading

McQuestion answered
1 month ago

I'm looking for a good zoom.  Looking for use in low light.  I'm not advanced at all.  Using for 2 big scenery/wildlife vacations:  Hawaii and Alaska and maybe inside a concert. Thanks! Continue Reading

travelingoutofTX answered
1 month ago

Okay, now we're cooking! That's a good place to start. Sounds like you have an exciting trip planned! When are you planning to go? Here are a few more questions to help narrow down the choices... Do you have a strict budget or range you'd like to stay in? Do you have other equipment, memory cards and such? If so, what do you have? How important is form factor to you, do you want something with a big grip, or do you want something that will fit in your pocket? Is there anything in particular you need to accommodate, such as big hands or eyeglasses? Continue Reading

McQuestion answered
1 month ago

QUESTION

Nikon P330 and Canon S110 WiFi remote control

Hello, I'm considering two cameras. Nikon P330 and Canon S110. I wonder if there is opprotunity to control those cameras remotely by WiFi. I mean if user is able to see live preview of image on PC, tablet or smartphone screen. Like in Lumix TZ40. I would buy this lumix if it has the same image quality like Nikon and Canon but unfortunately it has smaller sensor and I think worse lens because of its super zoom. Could you tell me if there is opportunity to live preview image and take image remotely with WiFi? For me it is compulsory feature if camera doesn't have flipout screen.

Marian Pazwe asked
1 year ago

ANSWERS

Warranty Information

"No registration or "warranty" card is included or needed with a Nikon D-SLR or Coolpix camera. Keep your original, dated proof of purchase from the Authorized Nikon Inc. dealer in case warranty service is ever needed. These products do include either a mail-in form or a paper with a web link to our registration page:
https://support.nikonusa.com/app/product_registration
It's advised to register your product with Nikon so that we can send you information about future updates or service issues that may arise.


Nikkor lenses come with a standard one year warranty and Nikon Inc. lenses sold by authorized Nikon Inc. dealers will have a Nikon Inc. Five Year Extension. To register for the five year extension, one copy of the included form must be mailed in as indicated. Keep the Customer copy of the form as well as the original proof of purchase (sales receipt)."


Read the full warranty.

DPReview GearShop is an authorized Nikon dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.