Nikon COOLPIX P530 Compact Camera

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

Key Features

  • 16MP 1/2.3"-type CMOS sensor
  • 24-1000mm F3-5.9 equivalent lens with lens-shift VR (42x optical zoom)
  • ISO 100-160 (expandable to 12,800)
  • 3" LCD with 921,000 dots
  • Electronic viewfinder with 201,000 dots and 100% coverage
  • Up to 7 fps continuous shooting
  • 1080/30 HD video (.MOV/MPEG-4/H.264)
  • Wi-Fi connectivity with optional WU-1a adapter

Product Description

The Nikon Coolpix P530 is an update to the P520, offering a 16.1MP BSI CMOS sensor. It's a bridge-style camera with a 42x optical zoom range (24-1000mm equivalent), and provides automatic as well as manual and automatic exposure modes. The camera has a 3-inch LCD and electronic viewfinder. It provides Wi-Fi connectivity by way of Nikon's optional WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter.

Specs

Body type
Body type SLR-like (bridge)
Sensor
Max resolution 4608 x 3456
Effective pixels 16 megapixels
Sensor photo detectors 17 megapixels
Sensor size 1/2.3" (6.17 x 4.55 mm)
Sensor type BSI-CMOS
Image
White balance presets 7
Custom white balance Yes
Image stabilization Optical
Uncompressed format No
Optics & Focus
Focal length (equiv.) 24–1000 mm
Optical zoom 41.7×
Maximum aperture F3.0 - F5.9
Autofocus
  • Contrast Detect (sensor)
  • Multi-area
  • Tracking
  • Face Detection
Digital zoom Yes (4x)
Normal focus range 50 cm (19.69)
Macro focus range 0 cm (0.16)
Screen / viewfinder
Articulated LCD Fixed
Screen size 3
Screen dots 921,000
Touch screen No
Screen type TFT-LCD with Anti-reflection coating
Live view Yes
Viewfinder type Electronic
Photography features
Minimum shutter speed 15 sec
Maximum shutter speed 1/4000 sec
Aperture priority Yes
Shutter priority Yes
Manual exposure mode Yes
Subject / scene modes Yes
Built-in flash Yes
Flash range 8.00 m
Flash modes TTL auto flash with monitor preflashes
Continuous drive 7 fps
Self-timer Yes
Metering modes
  • Multi
  • Center-weighted
  • Spot
Exposure compensation ±2 (at 1/3 EV steps)
Videography features
Resolutions 1920 x 1080 (30/25p, 60/50i) 1280 x 720 (60/50/30/25/15/12.5p) 960 x 540 (30/25p) 640 x 480 (120/100/30/25p)
Format MPEG-4, H.264
Microphone Stereo
Speaker Mono
Storage
Storage types SD/SDHC/SDXC
Storage included 56 MB
Connectivity
USB USB 2.0 (480 Mbit/sec)
HDMI Yes
Wireless Optional
Wireless notes WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter
Physical
Battery Battery Pack
Battery description Lithium-ion EN-EL5
Battery Life (CIPA) 240
Dimensions 123 x 84 x 98 mm (4.83 x 3.31 x 3.87)
Other features
GPS None

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

Please suggest which camera to buy among these.

Hi All, I am a novice and I am looking for a camera around 250 to 300$ range. I have really surfed the internet a lot and I am getting some mixed views about the cameras which I intend to buy. After all of my search, I have narrowed down the following cameras falling in my budget. I have listed them below: 1) Fujifilm FinePix S8500 16MP Point-and-Shoot Digital Camera 2) Fuji HS28 EXR 16MP Point-and-Shoot Digital Camera 3) Canon PowerShot SX500 IS 16 MP Point and Shoot Camera 4) Nikon Coolpix P530 16.1 MP Point-and-Shoot Digital Camera Of the above four, I have really liked the Fuji Finepix camera HS28 and S8500. Shall I go with Fuji, if yes then which one HS28 or S8500? Most of my friends are suggesting me to stick with Canon or Nikon but Fuji. If there is any other camera which you think beats these four, please let me know in that case. Please suggest, your help will be highly appreciated. Thanks & Regards,

Sphinx19 asked
2 months ago

ANSWERS

I would go with the S8500 Just because of lower Prize point and Longer Zoom Range + Lowest ISO @64. The downside is it takes AA batteries. Here is a side by side comparison of the specs so that you can decide better http://www.dpreview.com/products/compare/side-by-side?products=fujifilm_s8500&products=fujifilm_hs20exr&products=canon_sx500is&products=nikon_cpp530 If you are enjoying photography. Do consider OMD EM-1. -- Sharing the joys of photography http://robertevangelista.blogspot.com/ Continue Reading

2 months ago

What do you want to be able to shoot with it? To be honest I would maybe just go for the cheapest one or one with longest zoom range. I don't think the IQ will be that different between them. If you don't really need that much zoom I would look at something like the Canon S120 or something else with a 1/1.7" sensor or larger that will give you better IQ. If you want to do a lot of wild life shooting where you need a ton of zoom, then a bridge camera like the ones you've listed may be an alright option. But if not, for that much money, there are compact system cameras and other point and shoots that will give you better IQ. If you still want a bridge camera and can up your budget, I would look at the Panasonic FZ200. -- Good luck and happy shooting! Continue Reading

thebustos answered
2 months ago

Thanks guys for your valuable inputs. I will be doing mostly nature photography with that. I am planning to go with Fuji S8500, as it is the cheapest and also has the maximum zoom and I have also read that Fuji is good in Bridge cameras, I was also considering Nikon p530 but did not feel right with it. I also checked out Fuji HS28 and it is really built smartly with DSLR like zoom ring though it is not smooth and also has a tilting screen but the compromise is on the zoom just 30x and also the review that i have read about HS28 are not good compared to S8500. Hence, I think S8500 will be a better option compared to HS28. Thanks All again! Regards, Sphinx Continue Reading

Sphinx19 answered
2 months ago

QUESTION

Decent digital camera to replace a 35mm SLR Minolta camera

I am new to digital photography. I am replacing a 35mm SLR Minolta camera.  I would like something comparable to take mostly social, vacation, etc. type pictures.  Looked at a Nikkon Coolpix P530(maybe a little too much camera for me), and a Fujufilm S4800?? which lacked a viewfinder which I prefer). Is there something out there that would suit my needs between these two cameras in a reasonable price range?  Any help would be greatly appreciated.  Thank you.

pdjackson asked
4 months ago

ANSWERS

Coming from a 35mm SLR you need to know that small sensor cameras have very limited control over depth of field compare to film SLRs. And budget is a factor ( please mention currency as well - this is an international website ). There are several DSLRs you get ( with a basic kit lens 18-55mm equivalent to about 28-80mm on a film SLR ). You might also look at a Panasonic G-series which has a good EVF. With a P&S sized small sensor a Panasonic FZ200 is an option as well. Continue Reading

darklamp answered
4 months ago

The two digital cameras that you mentioned are not SLRs/SLTs, and so are not directly comparable to your 35mm Minolta SLR.  A real (D)SLR has an optical viewfinder that lets you see through the same lens that will be taking the picture (even if it also has a Live View option); and will almost always have interchangeable lenses and a flash hot shoe. You did not indicate whether your Minolta SLR is a manual-focus type (MC/MD mount), or auto-focus one (A mount).  Sony bought out Minolta's consumer camera operations a few years ago, so many of the current Sony SLR/SLT bodies will work with Minolta A-mount lenses.  On a crop-sensor ("APS-C") Sony body, the least expensive type of Sony DSLR/DSLT body, the camera takes pictures using just a part of the 35mm negative area; so the combination a 50mm lens and a Sony crop body produces the same "field of view" as a 75mm lens on a Minolta 35mm film body.  On a full-frame Sony body, there is no change in the effective "field of view", but ... Continue Reading

Tom_N answered
4 months ago

In a similar situation like you, I have bought into the Nikon P7800, no regrets, very good IQ, good range of zoom, not too bad EVF. Little bit bigger than shirt sleeve format, expensive but a jewel. I can do with it about 80% what have done with my DSLR - perfect travel camera. Buy a superfast card for the P7800 if you shoot RAW formats. If you have lenses for the Minolta, of a certain age (up to 15 years ? check before you buy), you still can use them on the Sony Alfa's A mount cameras. If you can not let go of the SLR experience, I would look then into the Sony A58. Chimere Continue Reading

Chimere answered
4 months ago

QUESTION

Amateur Photographer

I'm an amateur photographer who is trying to get more involved in photography. What's a good beginner camera to get to do videos, photos, photoshoots etc. I take photos for a party bus company but they have their own camera they use and i was wanting to get my own. I was looking at the Canon PowerShot 5x50 HS Digital camera or the Nikon Coolpix P530 Digital Camera

Trehov asked
2 months ago

ANSWERS

Do you like the bus company's camera?  If you do, you might want to consider buying the same thing, since you are already familiar with it. If you don't like it, figure out why you don't like it, and concentrate on finding a camera that suits you better in those areas. Continue Reading

yardcoyote answered
2 months ago

http://www.dpreview.com/articles/3301669051/dpreview-recommends-best-cameras-for-beginners?utm_campaign=internal-link&utm_source=mainmenu&utm_medium=text&ref=mainmenu Continue Reading

2 months ago

Given nothing else to go on, you might want to get either the same thing, or something similar, since you already know how to operate it. Continue Reading

BobSC answered
2 months ago

Warranty Information

"No registration or "warranty" card is included or needed with a Nikon D-SLR or Coolpix camera. Keep your original, dated proof of purchase from the Authorized Nikon Inc. dealer in case warranty service is ever needed. These products do include either a mail-in form or a paper with a web link to our registration page:
https://support.nikonusa.com/app/product_registration
It's advised to register your product with Nikon so that we can send you information about future updates or service issues that may arise.


Nikkor lenses come with a standard one year warranty and Nikon Inc. lenses sold by authorized Nikon Inc. dealers will have a Nikon Inc. Five Year Extension. To register for the five year extension, one copy of the included form must be mailed in as indicated. Keep the Customer copy of the form as well as the original proof of purchase (sales receipt)."


Read the full warranty.

DPReview GearShop is an authorized Nikon dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.