Nikon COOLPIX P600 Compact Camera

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

Key Features

  • 16MP 1/2.3"-type CMOS sensor
  • 24-1440mm F3.3-6.5 equivalent lens with lens-shift VR (60x optical zoom)
  • ISO 100-6400 (expandable to 12800)
  • 3" vari-angle LCD with 921,000 dots
  • Electronic viewfinder with 201,000 dots and 100% coverage
  • PSAM + auto and scene modes
  • 1080/30p HD video (.MOV/MPEG-4/H.264)
  • SD/SDHC/SDXC memory

Product Description

The bridge-style Nikon Coolpix P600 camera features a 24-1440mm zoom lens with lens-shift vibration reduction and a 16MP BSI CMOS sensor. It offers built-in Wi-Fi, letting you wirelessly share your photos to an Android or iOS device. The P600 will let you have full control with P, S, A, M modes or full auto and scene modes for quick snapshots. The P600's scene modes also include two new modes: new Moon and Bird Watching.

Specs

Body type
Body type SLR-like (bridge)
Sensor
Max resolution 4608 x 3456
Effective pixels 16 megapixels
Sensor photo detectors 17 megapixels
Sensor size 1/2.3" (6.17 x 4.55 mm)
Sensor type BSI-CMOS
Image
White balance presets 8
Custom white balance Yes
Image stabilization Optical
Uncompressed format No
Optics & Focus
Focal length (equiv.) 24–1440 mm
Optical zoom 60×
Maximum aperture F3.3 - F6.5
Autofocus
  • Contrast Detect (sensor)
  • Tracking
  • Single
  • Face Detection
Digital zoom Yes (4x)
Normal focus range 50 cm (19.69)
Macro focus range 1 cm (0.39)
Screen / viewfinder
Articulated LCD Fully articulated
Screen size 3
Screen dots 921,000
Touch screen No
Screen type TFT-LCD with Anti-reflection coating
Live view Yes
Viewfinder type Electronic
Photography features
Minimum shutter speed 15 sec
Maximum shutter speed 1/4000 sec
Aperture priority Yes
Shutter priority Yes
Manual exposure mode Yes
Subject / scene modes Yes
Built-in flash Yes
Flash range 7.50 m
Flash modes TTL auto flash with monitor preflashes
Continuous drive 7.0 fps
Self-timer Yes
Metering modes
  • Multi
  • Center-weighted
  • Spot
Exposure compensation ±2 (at 1/3 EV steps)
Videography features
Resolutions 1920 x 1080 (30/25p, 60/50i) 1280 x 720 (60/50/30/25/15/12.5p) 960 x 540 (30/25p) 640 x 480 (120/100/30/25p)
Format MPEG-4, H.264
Microphone Stereo
Speaker Mono
Storage
Storage types SD/SDHC/SDXC
Storage included 56MB
Connectivity
USB USB 2.0 (480 Mbit/sec)
HDMI Yes
Wireless Built-In
Physical
Battery Battery Pack
Battery description Lithium-ion EN-EL23
Battery Life (CIPA) 330
Weight (inc. batteries) 565 g (1.25 lb / 19.93 oz)
Dimensions 125 x 85 x 107 mm (4.92 x 3.35 x 4.21)
Other features
GPS None

Reviews

User Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
  • al porfido, Mar 5, 2014 GMT:
    Super Zoom

    Just got mine today, pre-ordered from Nikon, zoom is great manual focus has been improved greatly. After day one very happy.

    Continue Reading

  • RetiredPhotog, Mar 7, 2014 GMT:
    New Nikon P600

    Have had my new P600 one day which is replacing my Canon SX50 HS. The zoom is great, Image Stabilization seems as good as the Canon. Some new features on the Nikon are also nice. Built in Wifi, the manual focus feature is more user friendly and easier to use on the Nikon, has a host of scene modes, one being the Birding mode. Everything setup like I would with my D7100. This will be a great camera for anyone one wanting to shoot wildlife or nature shots. One drawback is no shooting Raw and ...

    Continue Reading

  • ShaikhJD, May 13, 2014 GMT:
    Excellent Zoom

    Recently received Nikon Coolpix P600, the more I use it the more I like, Still to explore various options. Off course zoom is the main point and it takes great picture of moon without any big fuss and without tripod too I was able to capture great picture. Nikon Coolpxi P600 Nikon Coolpxi P600

    Continue Reading

  • SA FOX MULDER, Oct 23, 2014 GMT:
    Almost, but not quite.

    Initially I really liked this camera after I purchased it. I was taking pictures of eagles, buntings, woodpeckers, bears, deer, and beavers in no time. However the longer I used it the more and more shots I lost due to super slow auto focusing or super heavy noise reduction. Not to mention all the ruined video I have because of the noisy zoom. I got some good photos with it and I may have kept it if it were weatherproof, but at the price tag it was and the options available I decided to ...

    Continue Reading

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

WiFi on Nikon Coolpix P600 & IPad

I have upgraded to a Nikon Coolpix P600 WiFi and am trying to connect it to my IPad.  I have the manual and got the mobility app it said to get but still am having no success.  It says no access on the camera screen.  I also do not get the screens in the app to enter anything.  Help!

1 day ago

ANSWERS

QUESTION

P600 vs Fuji S1?

I've had my eyes on the announced Fuji S1 http://www.fujifilm.com/news/n140106_03.html and just this Nikon P600 announcement today. This one is being released earlier that the Fuji. which I have pre-ordered on B&H. I am very interested to see how this compares to the Fuji. The price is identical. I think one of these two will be a good compliment to the Fuji x100s for an upcoming trip to Hawaii. Looks like I will have a tough choice ahead of me.

10 months ago

ANSWERS

if they made less super-zoom, like 24-800mm, but put better glass in the lens, I would be happier. for hand-held tele-1440mm shooting, the no-blurring ratio could be very low. ;-) Continue Reading

yudi answered
10 months ago

The lack of raw is a killer for me. I didn't pick up on that. I shoot raw exclusively (although I am starting to use raw+jpg on the x100s, but that's another story) and with these smaller sensors, it helps pull out as much data as possible from an image. Thanks for pointing that out. — Tony Canon EOS 5D Mark III :: Canon EOS 7D :: Canon EOS 30D :: Canon S95 :: Fuji x100s :: GoPro HERO2 Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS :: Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM Lens :: Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L :: Canon EF 50mm f/1.4 USM :: Tokina 12-24mm f/4 AT-X Pro DX II Continue Reading

10 months ago

The P600 EVF is 201k dots, vs. 920k for the S1. (HS50EXR EVF is very nice.) If one prefers using the VF for shooting, this may also impact selection. Continue Reading

Craig R K answered
10 months ago

QUESTION

Raynox Macro Compatibility with Nikon P600

I have one Nikon D5100 with 18-55mm kit-lens (52 mount) and another Nikon P600. Can anyone suggest me 1. Whether Raynox DCR250 macro is compatible with these two camera? 2. Whether Raynox MSN202 macro is compatible with these two? 3. If both are compatible, which one is better to have?

Sumandira asked
14 days ago

ANSWERS

P600 does not have a proper filter threads for Raynox to be securely mounted. It can be attached, but it falls off easily. So yes, both DCR250 and MSN202 can be used on P600, but you will need to be very careful. MSN202 is barely usable on P520 because of heavy vignetting, it should be about the same on P600. DCR250 works pretty good. For P600, maybe DCR150 will be even better, but i haven't tried it myself. Both Raynoxes should work on your 18-55. DCR250 has a working distance of about 12cm, MSN202 - 3cm. DCR250 also has much larger depth of field. It is more useful for general applications while MSN202 is better for some special tasks because of its "microscopic" nature. Continue Reading

errant answered
14 days ago

That is why I wrote that it can be mounted, but won't hold securely - the adaptor has only two narrow contact points which does not provide a good grip. In fact, my MSN202's adaptor just fell off from P520 and broke for the second time. Can not be fixed now, will try to replace it with a step down ring (like this one ). If you say P600 holds standard filter well - maybe it will be safer to use Raynox with step down ring rather than with it's adaptor. I have DSLR for only like 2 days and haven't yet tested it well for macro performance. I'm also not familiar with D5100 and it's live view abilities - it could be hard to set focus where you need it to be. DCR250 seems like a safer bet - if you won't like the results from DSLR, you could use it on P600. Here are few examples from my 18-55, but keep in mind - your camera and lens are different and will provide more or less different results: 55mm, no filters 55mm, with Raynox DCR-250 55mm, with Raynox MSN-202 I had to push the lens ... Continue Reading

errant answered
13 days ago

Thank you for your reply and I am grateful to you as you have answered all my quarries very precisely and to the point. Still, I am bothering you again for further suggestions. Yes, that is one of the greatest disadvantages of Nikon Coolpix compared to its Canon cousins, but as far as I have seen in pictures, Raynox lens are mounted on the main lens with clip-type adopters and I thought, it can be attached on P600 with its groove made inside the barrel of lens for attaching lens cap. Personally, I often use a HOYA UV filter on P 600 as it can be tightly kept on the grooves of the main lens (originally provided for lens cap) with the thread of the filter. I have only 18-55 mm lens kit with Nikon D5100 and I don’t want to spend again on another 55-300 mm lens. DCR 250 has a greater depth of field and I know it is more handy and convenient to use, particularly a moving insect or an androecium of a flower swaying in air. But as for magnification, I prefer to have MSN202 as my zoom lens ... Continue Reading

Sumandira answered
14 days ago

Warranty Information

"No registration or "warranty" card is included or needed with a Nikon D-SLR or Coolpix camera. Keep your original, dated proof of purchase from the Authorized Nikon Inc. dealer in case warranty service is ever needed. These products do include either a mail-in form or a paper with a web link to our registration page:
https://support.nikonusa.com/app/product_registration
It's advised to register your product with Nikon so that we can send you information about future updates or service issues that may arise.


Nikkor lenses come with a standard one year warranty and Nikon Inc. lenses sold by authorized Nikon Inc. dealers will have a Nikon Inc. Five Year Extension. To register for the five year extension, one copy of the included form must be mailed in as indicated. Keep the Customer copy of the form as well as the original proof of purchase (sales receipt)."


Read the full warranty.

DPReview GearShop is an authorized Nikon dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.