Nikon COOLPIX P600 Compact Camera

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

Key Features

  • 16MP 1/2.3"-type CMOS sensor
  • 24-1440mm F3.3-6.5 equivalent lens with lens-shift VR (60x optical zoom)
  • ISO 100-6400 (expandable to 12800)
  • 3" vari-angle LCD with 921,000 dots
  • Electronic viewfinder with 201,000 dots and 100% coverage
  • PSAM + auto and scene modes
  • 1080/30p HD video (.MOV/MPEG-4/H.264)
  • SD/SDHC/SDXC memory

Product Description

The bridge-style Nikon Coolpix P600 camera features a 24-1440mm zoom lens with lens-shift vibration reduction and a 16MP BSI CMOS sensor. It offers built-in Wi-Fi, letting you wirelessly share your photos to an Android or iOS device. The P600 will let you have full control with P, S, A, M modes or full auto and scene modes for quick snapshots. The P600's scene modes also include two new modes: new Moon and Bird Watching.

Specs

Body type
Body type SLR-like (bridge)
Sensor
Max resolution 4608 x 3456
Effective pixels 16 megapixels
Sensor photo detectors 17 megapixels
Sensor size 1/2.3" (6.17 x 4.55 mm)
Sensor type BSI-CMOS
Image
White balance presets 8
Custom white balance Yes
Image stabilization Optical
Uncompressed format No
Optics & Focus
Focal length (equiv.) 24–1440 mm
Optical zoom 60×
Maximum aperture F3.3 - F6.5
Autofocus
  • Contrast Detect (sensor)
  • Tracking
  • Single
  • Face Detection
Digital zoom Yes (4x)
Normal focus range 50 cm (19.69)
Macro focus range 1 cm (0.39)
Screen / viewfinder
Articulated LCD Fully articulated
Screen size 3
Screen dots 921,000
Touch screen No
Screen type TFT-LCD with Anti-reflection coating
Live view Yes
Viewfinder type Electronic
Photography features
Minimum shutter speed 15 sec
Maximum shutter speed 1/4000 sec
Aperture priority Yes
Shutter priority Yes
Manual exposure mode Yes
Subject / scene modes Yes
Built-in flash Yes
Flash range 7.50 m
Flash modes TTL auto flash with monitor preflashes
Continuous drive 7.0 fps
Self-timer Yes
Metering modes
  • Multi
  • Center-weighted
  • Spot
Exposure compensation ±2 (at 1/3 EV steps)
Videography features
Resolutions 1920 x 1080 (30/25p, 60/50i) 1280 x 720 (60/50/30/25/15/12.5p) 960 x 540 (30/25p) 640 x 480 (120/100/30/25p)
Format MPEG-4, H.264
Microphone Stereo
Speaker Mono
Storage
Storage types SD/SDHC/SDXC
Storage included 56MB
Connectivity
USB USB 2.0 (480 Mbit/sec)
HDMI Yes
Wireless Built-In
Physical
Battery Battery Pack
Battery description Lithium-ion EN-EL23
Battery Life (CIPA) 330
Weight (inc. batteries) 565 g (1.25 lb / 19.93 oz)
Dimensions 125 x 85 x 107 mm (4.92 x 3.35 x 4.21)
Other features
GPS None

Reviews

User Reviews

  • al porfido, Mar 5, 2014 GMT:
    Super Zoom

    Just got mine today, pre-ordered from Nikon, zoom is great manual focus has been improved greatly. After day one very happy.

    Continue Reading

  • RetiredPhotog, Mar 7, 2014 GMT:
    New Nikon P600

    Have had my new P600 one day which is replacing my Canon SX50 HS. The zoom is great, Image Stabilization seems as good as the Canon. Some new features on the Nikon are also nice. Built in Wifi, the manual focus feature is more user friendly and easier to use on the Nikon, has a host of scene modes, one being the Birding mode. Everything setup like I would with my D7100. This will be a great camera for anyone one wanting to shoot wildlife or nature shots. One drawback is no shooting Raw and ...

    Continue Reading

  • ShaikhJD, May 13, 2014 GMT:
    Excellent Zoom

    Recently received Nikon Coolpix P600, the more I use it the more I like, Still to explore various options. Off course zoom is the main point and it takes great picture of moon without any big fuss and without tripod too I was able to capture great picture. Nikon Coolpxi P600 Nikon Coolpxi P600

    Continue Reading

  • SA FOX MULDER, Oct 23, 2014 GMT:
    Almost, but not quite.

    Initially I really liked this camera after I purchased it. I was taking pictures of eagles, buntings, woodpeckers, bears, deer, and beavers in no time. However the longer I used it the more and more shots I lost due to super slow auto focusing or super heavy noise reduction. Not to mention all the ruined video I have because of the noisy zoom. I got some good photos with it and I may have kept it if it were weatherproof, but at the price tag it was and the options available I decided to ...

    Continue Reading

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

P600 vs Fuji S1?

I've had my eyes on the announced Fuji S1 http://www.fujifilm.com/news/n140106_03.html and just this Nikon P600 announcement today. This one is being released earlier that the Fuji. which I have pre-ordered on B&H. I am very interested to see how this compares to the Fuji. The price is identical. I think one of these two will be a good compliment to the Fuji x100s for an upcoming trip to Hawaii. Looks like I will have a tough choice ahead of me.

9 months ago

ANSWERS

if they made less super-zoom, like 24-800mm, but put better glass in the lens, I would be happier. for hand-held tele-1440mm shooting, the no-blurring ratio could be very low. ;-) Continue Reading

yudi answered
9 months ago

The lack of raw is a killer for me. I didn't pick up on that. I shoot raw exclusively (although I am starting to use raw+jpg on the x100s, but that's another story) and with these smaller sensors, it helps pull out as much data as possible from an image. Thanks for pointing that out. — Tony Canon EOS 5D Mark III :: Canon EOS 7D :: Canon EOS 30D :: Canon S95 :: Fuji x100s :: GoPro HERO2 Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS :: Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM Lens :: Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L :: Canon EF 50mm f/1.4 USM :: Tokina 12-24mm f/4 AT-X Pro DX II Continue Reading

9 months ago

The P600 EVF is 201k dots, vs. 920k for the S1. (HS50EXR EVF is very nice.) If one prefers using the VF for shooting, this may also impact selection. Continue Reading

Craig R K answered
9 months ago

QUESTION

Which ultra zoom point and shoot

I am planning to upgrade my point and shoot to an ultra zoom bridge type. But since the market provides me with a couple of options with similar configuration from different companies Products like Pan Lumix DMC-FZ70, Cybershot DSC-H400, Nikon Coolpix P600 are the ones in consideration. I am open to suggestions though. Please help me choose a camera with zoom but is fast to take pictures (good performance). Thankyou.

NEOJones asked
2 days ago

ANSWERS

A few questions: Budget? (preferably stated in a major currency) Do you want a viewfinder (not just the rear sceen) Do you want to work indoors without flash? Do you want to shoot anything really fast moving? Flying birds, motor sports... At the cheaper end an  'ultra zoom bridge type' is basically a P&S with a long zoom. If you want better quality you'll need to pay. Continue Reading

AlbertInFrance answered
2 days ago

I am just an enthusiastic. My use varies from indoor shooting to motorsport. But I'm not ready to invest for a highend DSLR as I'm just a beginner and prefer a P&S with a few adjustable parameters which I can experiment with. The amount in willing to pay is in par with my current selection of cams in my previous message. Help me out in choosing the best among the ones in that range of cost. Ty Continue Reading

NEOJones answered
1 day ago

Just about every camera out there has a zoom lens mounted on it. They all think they are the best. The owners of them probably think they are the best or they wouldn't have purchased them. If one was really the best, they would be the only ones sold and the others would go out of business. The rest of us who don't own these types of cameras will just base our suggestion on a few reviews we might have seen. The only thing that might really distinguish one from another is a feature or two related to a specific type of photography, but you won't really help us there. You are just saying your use varies to every possible type of photography. Also, instead of providing a specific budget, you vaguely suggest that budget would be similar to some cameras already mentioned. What you've done is to make it pretty impossible to actually try to fit a camera to your needs. Since nothing is really the "best" I suggest you use the tools on this site to do a bit more research then be more specific ... Continue Reading

Guidenet answered
1 day ago

QUESTION

date and time imprint

hi , i would like to know if it is possible to imprint date and time in the nikon coolpix p600 best regards , malik

2 days ago

ANSWERS

Yes, that's possible. Continue Reading

Steen Bay answered
2 days ago

Nikon stores the Date and Time (along with lots of other image information) when a photo was taken in the Shooting Information EXIF area of the image file. This data can be viewed by ViewNX and Capture NX 2 as well as many third-party programs that read EXIF tags. IT Company in Ghaziabad software companies in ghaziabad Ghaziabad Software Companies Continue Reading

priyagupta answered
4 hours ago
  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.