Nikon COOLPIX P600 Compact Camera

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

Key Features

  • 16MP 1/2.3"-type CMOS sensor
  • 24-1440mm F3.3-6.5 equivalent lens with lens-shift VR (60x optical zoom)
  • ISO 100-6400 (expandable to 12800)
  • 3" vari-angle LCD with 921,000 dots
  • Electronic viewfinder with 201,000 dots and 100% coverage
  • PSAM + auto and scene modes
  • 1080/30p HD video (.MOV/MPEG-4/H.264)
  • SD/SDHC/SDXC memory

Product Description

The bridge-style Nikon Coolpix P600 camera features a 24-1440mm zoom lens with lens-shift vibration reduction and a 16MP BSI CMOS sensor. It offers built-in Wi-Fi, letting you wirelessly share your photos to an Android or iOS device. The P600 will let you have full control with P, S, A, M modes or full auto and scene modes for quick snapshots. The P600's scene modes also include two new modes: new Moon and Bird Watching.

Reviews

User Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
  • al porfido, Mar 5, 2014 GMT:
    Super Zoom

    Just got mine today, pre-ordered from Nikon, zoom is great manual focus has been improved greatly. After day one very happy.

    Continue Reading

  • RetiredPhotog, Mar 7, 2014 GMT:
    New Nikon P600

    Have had my new P600 one day which is replacing my Canon SX50 HS. The zoom is great, Image Stabilization seems as good as the Canon. Some new features on the Nikon are also nice. Built in Wifi, the manual focus feature is more user friendly and easier to use on the Nikon, has a host of scene modes, one being the Birding mode. Everything setup like I would with my D7100. This will be a great camera for anyone one wanting to shoot wildlife or nature shots. One drawback is no shooting Raw and ...

    Continue Reading

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

Nikon P600 HELP!?!?

Just purchased my first Nikon Cool pIx P600, need it primarily for taking close ups of jewelry items. Please help me with all the settings, I am lost! Thank you!

NEWCOMER18 asked
6 days ago

ANSWERS

1). read the cameras operation manual. 2). if there are parts of the manual that you do not understand, repeat step one. Quite seriously, most operation manuals are just that, they tell you what settings are available and in what situations to use them in. They should be your very first go-to for info regarding using your camera. After you master using your camera then you can work on capturing the type of photos you want with a degree of eye appeal. Continue Reading

FrankieJ answered
6 days ago

Well I think you need to get a book on basic photography technique and note that for jewelry the most important thing is lighting. You certainly need to check into the following items : (1) A light Tent ( try googling "DIY Light Tent" (2) A tripod (3) Some lighting ( they do sell desktop kits for this, BTW ). Good jewelry photography is not trivial, but your camera is not a problem. Continue Reading

darklamp answered
6 days ago

Point and shoot cameras usually have good macro capabilities but need to be very close to the object for it to fill the frame. Be careful that you're not positioning the camera so it blocks the light hitting the object. And make sure to use a tripod. A good resource is http://tabletopstudio.com/ They sell light tents and lighting kits and have good example images on their web site. I use their 20 inch cube for photographing jewelry because it gives me room to position the camera without running out of background. Also, the top unzips and they sell plexiglass rods and clips so you can suspend jewelry. Continue Reading

Larry Berman answered
6 days ago

QUESTION

Close Ups Nikon P600

Just purchased my first Nikon Cool pIx P600, need it primarily for taking close ups of jewelry items.  Please help me with all the settings, I am lost!  Thank you!

NEWCOMER18 asked
7 days ago

ANSWERS

Hi number 18 and welcome to the forum. Here is how to start for your macro work. The easiest setting to find is the close up setting in the Scene choices. First of all, for finest quality be sure you are shooting in FINE mode and the ISO 100 setting. You can set this while still in the full auto mode (green camera on the top dial), press the "MENU" button on the back of the camera and choose your image quality. Turn the dial on top of the camera to "SCENE", press the menu button and then choose the "Close-up" setting. You can start shooting immediately from there. Your focus will be on all the time so keep an eye on your battery drain. I would prefer to use the Aperture Priority setting which is the A setting on the top dial. I would then choose the smallest f stop. I would also use a tripod unless you are satisfied with the on-board flash as the shutter speed will be slow. You can get a small table-top tripod for under $10. Another feature you can use is the 2sec or 10sec delay for ... Continue Reading

Photo Geezer answered
6 days ago

Hi Photo Geezer Great tips - I will try them myself sometime over the weekend. Previously I had just pressed down on the jog wheel and selected the Macro function. Looking forward to using your method. Continue Reading

Windyclc answered
5 days ago

Point and shoot cameras usually have good macro capabilities but need to be very close to the object for it to fill the frame. Be careful that you're not positioning the camera so it blocks the light hitting the object. And make sure to use a tripod. A good resource is http://tabletopstudio.com/ They sell light tents and lighting kits and have good example images on their web site. I use their 20 inch cube for photographing jewelry because it gives me room to position the camera without running out of background. Also, the top unzips and they sell plexiglass rods and clips so you can suspend jewelry. Continue Reading

Larry Berman answered
5 days ago

QUESTION

P600 vs Fuji S1?

I've had my eyes on the announced Fuji S1 http://www.fujifilm.com/news/n140106_03.html and just this Nikon P600 announcement today. This one is being released earlier that the Fuji. which I have pre-ordered on B&H. I am very interested to see how this compares to the Fuji. The price is identical. I think one of these two will be a good compliment to the Fuji x100s for an upcoming trip to Hawaii. Looks like I will have a tough choice ahead of me.

2 months ago

ANSWERS

if they made less super-zoom, like 24-800mm, but put better glass in the lens, I would be happier. for hand-held tele-1440mm shooting, the no-blurring ratio could be very low. ;-) Continue Reading

yudi answered
2 months ago

The lack of raw is a killer for me. I didn't pick up on that. I shoot raw exclusively (although I am starting to use raw+jpg on the x100s, but that's another story) and with these smaller sensors, it helps pull out as much data as possible from an image. Thanks for pointing that out. — Tony Canon EOS 5D Mark III :: Canon EOS 7D :: Canon EOS 30D :: Canon S95 :: Fuji x100s :: GoPro HERO2 Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS :: Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM Lens :: Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L :: Canon EF 50mm f/1.4 USM :: Tokina 12-24mm f/4 AT-X Pro DX II Continue Reading

2 months ago

The P600 EVF is 201k dots, vs. 920k for the S1. (HS50EXR EVF is very nice.) If one prefers using the VF for shooting, this may also impact selection. Continue Reading

Craig R K answered
2 months ago

Have your own question?

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.