Nikon COOLPIX P600 Compact Camera

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

Key Features

  • 16MP 1/2.3"-type CMOS sensor
  • 24-1440mm F3.3-6.5 equivalent lens with lens-shift VR (60x optical zoom)
  • ISO 100-6400 (expandable to 12800)
  • 3" vari-angle LCD with 921,000 dots
  • Electronic viewfinder with 201,000 dots and 100% coverage
  • PSAM + auto and scene modes
  • 1080/30p HD video (.MOV/MPEG-4/H.264)
  • SD/SDHC/SDXC memory

Product Description

The bridge-style Nikon Coolpix P600 camera features a 24-1440mm zoom lens with lens-shift vibration reduction and a 16MP BSI CMOS sensor. It offers built-in Wi-Fi, letting you wirelessly share your photos to an Android or iOS device. The P600 will let you have full control with P, S, A, M modes or full auto and scene modes for quick snapshots. The P600's scene modes also include two new modes: new Moon and Bird Watching.

Specs

Body type
Body type SLR-like (bridge)
Sensor
Max resolution 4608 x 3456
Effective pixels 16 megapixels
Sensor photo detectors 17 megapixels
Sensor size 1/2.3" (6.17 x 4.55 mm)
Sensor type BSI-CMOS
Image
White balance presets 8
Custom white balance Yes
Image stabilization Optical
Uncompressed format No
Optics & Focus
Focal length (equiv.) 24–1440 mm
Optical zoom 60×
Maximum aperture F3.3 - F6.5
Autofocus
  • Contrast Detect (sensor)
  • Tracking
  • Single
  • Face Detection
Digital zoom Yes (4x)
Normal focus range 50 cm (19.69)
Macro focus range 1 cm (0.39)
Screen / viewfinder
Articulated LCD Fully articulated
Screen size 3
Screen dots 921,000
Touch screen No
Screen type TFT-LCD with Anti-reflection coating
Live view Yes
Viewfinder type Electronic
Photography features
Minimum shutter speed 15 sec
Maximum shutter speed 1/4000 sec
Aperture priority Yes
Shutter priority Yes
Manual exposure mode Yes
Subject / scene modes Yes
Built-in flash Yes
Flash range 7.50 m
Flash modes TTL auto flash with monitor preflashes
Continuous drive 7 fps
Self-timer Yes
Metering modes
  • Multi
  • Center-weighted
  • Spot
Exposure compensation ±2 (at 1/3 EV steps)
Videography features
Resolutions 1920 x 1080 (30/25p, 60/50i) 1280 x 720 (60/50/30/25/15/12.5p) 960 x 540 (30/25p) 640 x 480 (120/100/30/25p)
Format MPEG-4, H.264
Microphone Stereo
Speaker Mono
Storage
Storage types SD/SDHC/SDXC
Storage included 56MB
Connectivity
USB USB 2.0 (480 Mbit/sec)
HDMI Yes
Wireless Built-In
Physical
Battery Battery Pack
Battery description Lithium-ion EN-EL23
Battery Life (CIPA) 330
Weight (inc. batteries) 565 g (1.25 lb / 19.93 oz)
Dimensions 125 x 85 x 107 mm (4.92 x 3.35 x 4.21)
Other features
GPS None

Reviews

User Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
  • al porfido, Mar 5, 2014 GMT:
    Super Zoom

    Just got mine today, pre-ordered from Nikon, zoom is great manual focus has been improved greatly. After day one very happy.

    Continue Reading

  • RetiredPhotog, Mar 7, 2014 GMT:
    New Nikon P600

    Have had my new P600 one day which is replacing my Canon SX50 HS. The zoom is great, Image Stabilization seems as good as the Canon. Some new features on the Nikon are also nice. Built in Wifi, the manual focus feature is more user friendly and easier to use on the Nikon, has a host of scene modes, one being the Birding mode. Everything setup like I would with my D7100. This will be a great camera for anyone one wanting to shoot wildlife or nature shots. One drawback is no shooting Raw and ...

    Continue Reading

  • ShaikhJD, May 13, 2014 GMT:
    Excellent Zoom

    Recently received Nikon Coolpix P600, the more I use it the more I like, Still to explore various options. Off course zoom is the main point and it takes great picture of moon without any big fuss and without tripod too I was able to capture great picture. Nikon Coolpxi P600 Nikon Coolpxi P600

    Continue Reading

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

P600 vs Fuji S1?

I've had my eyes on the announced Fuji S1 http://www.fujifilm.com/news/n140106_03.html and just this Nikon P600 announcement today. This one is being released earlier that the Fuji. which I have pre-ordered on B&H. I am very interested to see how this compares to the Fuji. The price is identical. I think one of these two will be a good compliment to the Fuji x100s for an upcoming trip to Hawaii. Looks like I will have a tough choice ahead of me.

5 months ago

ANSWERS

if they made less super-zoom, like 24-800mm, but put better glass in the lens, I would be happier. for hand-held tele-1440mm shooting, the no-blurring ratio could be very low. ;-) Continue Reading

yudi answered
5 months ago

The lack of raw is a killer for me. I didn't pick up on that. I shoot raw exclusively (although I am starting to use raw+jpg on the x100s, but that's another story) and with these smaller sensors, it helps pull out as much data as possible from an image. Thanks for pointing that out. — Tony Canon EOS 5D Mark III :: Canon EOS 7D :: Canon EOS 30D :: Canon S95 :: Fuji x100s :: GoPro HERO2 Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS :: Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM Lens :: Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L :: Canon EF 50mm f/1.4 USM :: Tokina 12-24mm f/4 AT-X Pro DX II Continue Reading

5 months ago

The P600 EVF is 201k dots, vs. 920k for the S1. (HS50EXR EVF is very nice.) If one prefers using the VF for shooting, this may also impact selection. Continue Reading

Craig R K answered
5 months ago

QUESTION

P600 Freeze/Lock-Up

I just recently purchased a Nikon Coolpix P600 as a graduation gift for my daughter. So far she likes the camera, although I can't help thinking, in retrospect, that for an extra $70 a D3200 might have been a better choice especially as it comes with a 18-50mm lens included. However, I digress. On to my question(s). We went out to the backyard today, my daughter and I, to start testing the camera out. My daughter was taking shots experimenting with the different features and settings to get a feel for the device. She went into the playback mode to bulk delete some of the shots that didn't turn out and the camera completely froze, or locked up, if you prefer. It was completely unresponsive to any controls including the power button. With the camera sitting in front of me I frantically went online in an attempt to trouble shoot the problem, that's how I found this place. While in the process of researching the problem, the camera finally reset itself and appears to be functioning ...

good sound asked
1 month ago

ANSWERS

Reset the camera and then try a different SD card-could have just been a issue with your card. Take some more pictures and try it again. If it happens a 2nd time take it back. The Nikon D3200 does not replace the P600 they are different kettles of fish but a good pair to have together. Best of luck. Continue Reading

allenns answered
29 days ago

The same thing happened to me when I first got the camera and was checking it out like you and your daughter were. I just removed the battery and put it back in and 3000 pictures later it is still working wonderful. In my case i think it was operator error. Continue Reading

Mcbrig answered
29 days ago

QUESTION

Nikon coolpix cameras - p520 vs p600

I have a coolpix p520 and really like it.  I am looking for a second camera as a backup or so I can have each camera set to certain parameters (black and white for one, color for the other that I would have already configured for each camera) when I am in a situation where I would need to change modes very quickly.  As I am on a fixed income I need to keep within the price range of these two cameras.  Also, I feel that anything I want to do with a camera can be done with either of these cameras as I am an amateur.  I was in photography as a serious amateur about 30 years ago and at that time it was a bit cumbersome carrying two cameras (SLR film cameras) plus several lenses with me when out and about.  Plus with all the advancements since then, these cameras will do much more than my old Nikons from 30 yrs ago. So, I am looking for suggestions; should I get another p520 or a different model? Thanks

whodat101 asked
6 days ago

ANSWERS

whodat101, have you tried shooting in P mode and applying the color effects later, on your computer? That should be much easier than carrying and juggling with 2 rather big cameras. And cheaper, of course. To choose a proper backup camera, you need to think about how and when you are shooting, what results you are getting, what do you like and miss in P520. If most of your photos are below say 200mm (35mm eq.), then cameras with larger sensor and brighter lens (premium compacts, entry-level mirrorless) will give you better low light performance and better overall picture quality. They are also often less bulky and lighter. Continue Reading

errant answered
4 days ago

Well if you read all the posts so far on the P600 it gives excellent images and if you want to shoot that bit further out get it. Atleast you'll have moved up a rung on the ladder at same time. From my experience it gives great indoor low light shots. Continue Reading

allenns answered
5 days ago
  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.