Nikon COOLPIX P600 Compact Camera

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

Key Features

  • 16MP 1/2.3"-type CMOS sensor
  • 24-1440mm F3.3-6.5 equivalent lens with lens-shift VR (60x optical zoom)
  • ISO 100-6400 (expandable to 12800)
  • 3" vari-angle LCD with 921,000 dots
  • Electronic viewfinder with 201,000 dots and 100% coverage
  • PSAM + auto and scene modes
  • 1080/30p HD video (.MOV/MPEG-4/H.264)
  • SD/SDHC/SDXC memory

Product Description

The bridge-style Nikon Coolpix P600 camera features a 24-1440mm zoom lens with lens-shift vibration reduction and a 16MP BSI CMOS sensor. It offers built-in Wi-Fi, letting you wirelessly share your photos to an Android or iOS device. The P600 will let you have full control with P, S, A, M modes or full auto and scene modes for quick snapshots. The P600's scene modes also include two new modes: new Moon and Bird Watching.

Specs

Body type
Body type SLR-like (bridge)
Sensor
Max resolution 4608 x 3456
Effective pixels 16 megapixels
Sensor photo detectors 17 megapixels
Sensor size 1/2.3" (6.17 x 4.55 mm)
Sensor type BSI-CMOS
Image
White balance presets 8
Custom white balance Yes
Image stabilization Optical
Uncompressed format No
Optics & Focus
Focal length (equiv.) 24–1440 mm
Optical zoom 60×
Maximum aperture F3.3 - F6.5
Autofocus
  • Contrast Detect (sensor)
  • Tracking
  • Single
  • Face Detection
Digital zoom Yes (4x)
Normal focus range 50 cm (19.69)
Macro focus range 1 cm (0.39)
Screen / viewfinder
Articulated LCD Fully articulated
Screen size 3
Screen dots 921,000
Touch screen No
Screen type TFT-LCD with Anti-reflection coating
Live view Yes
Viewfinder type Electronic
Photography features
Minimum shutter speed 15 sec
Maximum shutter speed 1/4000 sec
Aperture priority Yes
Shutter priority Yes
Manual exposure mode Yes
Subject / scene modes Yes
Built-in flash Yes
Flash range 7.50 m
Flash modes TTL auto flash with monitor preflashes
Continuous drive 7 fps
Self-timer Yes
Metering modes
  • Multi
  • Center-weighted
  • Spot
Exposure compensation ±2 (at 1/3 EV steps)
Videography features
Resolutions 1920 x 1080 (30/25p, 60/50i) 1280 x 720 (60/50/30/25/15/12.5p) 960 x 540 (30/25p) 640 x 480 (120/100/30/25p)
Format MPEG-4, H.264
Microphone Stereo
Speaker Mono
Storage
Storage types SD/SDHC/SDXC
Storage included 56MB
Connectivity
USB USB 2.0 (480 Mbit/sec)
HDMI Yes
Wireless Built-In
Physical
Battery Battery Pack
Battery description Lithium-ion EN-EL23
Battery Life (CIPA) 330
Weight (inc. batteries) 565 g (1.25 lb / 19.93 oz)
Dimensions 125 x 85 x 107 mm (4.92 x 3.35 x 4.21)
Other features
GPS None

Reviews

User Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
  • al porfido, Mar 5, 2014 GMT:
    Super Zoom

    Just got mine today, pre-ordered from Nikon, zoom is great manual focus has been improved greatly. After day one very happy.

    Continue Reading

  • RetiredPhotog, Mar 7, 2014 GMT:
    New Nikon P600

    Have had my new P600 one day which is replacing my Canon SX50 HS. The zoom is great, Image Stabilization seems as good as the Canon. Some new features on the Nikon are also nice. Built in Wifi, the manual focus feature is more user friendly and easier to use on the Nikon, has a host of scene modes, one being the Birding mode. Everything setup like I would with my D7100. This will be a great camera for anyone one wanting to shoot wildlife or nature shots. One drawback is no shooting Raw and ...

    Continue Reading

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

Filter mounting capability

I'm considering one of the new super-zoom.  Am pretty sure P600 can't use a polarizer filter - that's why I like FUJI - how important is it really for bridge camera's to be able to use a filter?  Thanks in advance for your help.

cedric88 asked
1 month ago

ANSWERS

Well, you can still hold it against the front of the lens.  But certainly not as convenient as having threads. I went with the Panasonic FZ-200 because it has 1.  600mm @ f/2.8,  2. filter threads,  3. hotshoe, 4.  RAW BTW, you don't need circular polarizers, cheaper linear ones work OK on any camera w/out a mirror. Continue Reading

JoePhoto answered
1 month ago

dear friends, I am a coolpix p 520 owner, after having performed a long and deep research and (just today) got the answer from a professional photografer (who owns a big shop in Athens), it is not recommended to use any kind of adapters since the manufacturer has not predicted it, and more over does not approve it. for sure, opinions vary as well as fake statements exist, from people that just want their items to be sold, ignoring the fact that some of us just spent our last sent to get a camera no matter how cheap-expensive it may be. so just bare in mind, that if you purchase sthg that you are not supposed to use......you waste time, money and more likely your camera's quality and potentials will be jeopardised. you can only mount a lens by using a patent of your own and its diameter should not be wider than 49mm to be inserted to the lens barrel of your camera and somehow "glued" or stabilized onto it.!!!!! as a last word, use the return policy and get a camera with exchangable ... Continue Reading

ioannisthom answered
1 month ago

I've been reading some of the Nikon Q&A's on the P520 and this is a question frequently asked. One person indicated that you could indeed add a filter by purchasing a 52 mm adapter ring first. Whether this is correct, I can't say, but I do plan on trying it if I go ahead and purchase the P520. I assume this would also hold true for the P600 since they are basically the same camera, but I could very well be wrong, especially about the size you might need. Hope this helps somewhat. Continue Reading

BreiaLee answered
1 month ago

QUESTION

P600 vs Fuji S1?

I've had my eyes on the announced Fuji S1 http://www.fujifilm.com/news/n140106_03.html and just this Nikon P600 announcement today. This one is being released earlier that the Fuji. which I have pre-ordered on B&H. I am very interested to see how this compares to the Fuji. The price is identical. I think one of these two will be a good compliment to the Fuji x100s for an upcoming trip to Hawaii. Looks like I will have a tough choice ahead of me.

2 months ago

ANSWERS

if they made less super-zoom, like 24-800mm, but put better glass in the lens, I would be happier. for hand-held tele-1440mm shooting, the no-blurring ratio could be very low. ;-) Continue Reading

yudi answered
2 months ago

The lack of raw is a killer for me. I didn't pick up on that. I shoot raw exclusively (although I am starting to use raw+jpg on the x100s, but that's another story) and with these smaller sensors, it helps pull out as much data as possible from an image. Thanks for pointing that out. — Tony Canon EOS 5D Mark III :: Canon EOS 7D :: Canon EOS 30D :: Canon S95 :: Fuji x100s :: GoPro HERO2 Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS :: Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM Lens :: Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L :: Canon EF 50mm f/1.4 USM :: Tokina 12-24mm f/4 AT-X Pro DX II Continue Reading

2 months ago

The P600 EVF is 201k dots, vs. 920k for the S1. (HS50EXR EVF is very nice.) If one prefers using the VF for shooting, this may also impact selection. Continue Reading

Craig R K answered
2 months ago

QUESTION

GEO-Tagging via Wi-Fi to smart phone

Hi, Can the Nikon P600 do geo-tagging via wi-fi to a smart phone?

Be Nice asked
1 month ago

ANSWERS

http://www.nikonusa.com/en/Nikon-Products/Product/Compact-Digital-Cameras/26462/COOLPIX-P600.html Continue Reading

Beezodog answered
1 month ago
  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.