Nikon D3300 DSLR Camera with Nikon AF-S DX Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR II Lens

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

77% Silver Award
Some in-camera tools for creativity and processing are provided, but the D3300's real strength is high quality, high resolution images that will more than satisfy a beginner.”

Read more of the review

Key Features

  • 24.2 MP CMOS DX-format sensor
  • 5 frames per second continuous shooting
  • 11 AF points with 3D tracking
  • ISO 100-12800 (expandable to 25600)
  • 1080 (60, 50, 30, 25, 24 fps) HD video (MPEG-4/H.264/MOV)
  • 3 inch LCD with 921,000 dots
  • Expeed 4 processing
  • Easy panorama mode and beginner-friendly Guide mode
  • Wi-Fi enabled with WU-1a Wireless Adapter and compatible smartphone or tablet (not included)
  • SD/SDHC/SDXC memory

Product Description

The Nikon D3300 continues on the path of its entry-level DSLR predecessors, with plenty of built-in shooting and retouch modes, a small footprint, and beginner-friendly user interface. It has a 24.2 megapixel CMOS sensor with no optical low-pass filter, as well as an Expeed 4 image processor. The camera's ISO range tops out at 25,600 and continuous shooting up to 5 fps. The D3300 can also record 1080/60p full HD video. A newly redesigned collapsible, 18-55mm F3.5-5.6 VR II kit lens comes with the D3300. Optional wireless sharing to smartphones or tablets can be accomplished via Nikon's WU-1a module or an Eye-Fi SD card.

Reviews

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

What are the entry level cameras right now?

Canon has the 1200D, Nikon has the D3300, Olympus has the E-PM2, Panasonic has the GM1 and Fujifilm has the X-M1 (w/ x-trans color filter array) and X-A1 (w/ bayer). What are the offerings from Pentax, Sony and Samsung. Is there a brand I forgot? What's the lowest priced one among them? What do you think has the best bang for the buck? Which would you choose for a back-up can and why? Thanks in advance.

2 days ago

ANSWERS

We bought the camera at Bedford's in NLR, Ar. on the way to the Hot Rod Power Tour stopover in Little Rock last June. These were among the very first shots he took with the camera. Straight out of the camera jpegs, very bright day, Sony default in camera processing. Considering the dynamic range challenge I was impressed. Lens distorts quite a bit at the wide end but is easily corrected (these are not corrected). 1 of 2 S.C. 427s. '37 Buick from Louisiana, on a pickup frame. Yours truly with D800/24-70. Ol' Fuzz Farms out of Ash Grove Missouri Continue Reading

ormdig answered
1 day ago

I will only talk about sony because I don´t really know much about pentax or samsung entry level cameras. sony a3000 for 260$ with kit lens, apsc looks like dlsr but its mirrorless with very good sensor but poor built quality and low res evf. sony nex3n for 300$ with kit lens, apsc, really great small camera for its price, I ordered one from amazon : D the a58 for 400$ with kit lens is more like a tradition dlsr great camera for its price. Continue Reading

pew pew answered
2 days ago

You have the Pentax K50 if you want a weather sealed camera in that price range, or the Olympus PEN E-PL5, which is an Olympus OMD E-M5 in anything but name... Then there is the Samsung NX300. I don't understand the loathsome response every time someone recommends a Pentax DSLR? They have an equally decent lens lineup to Sony. Continue Reading

Lumixdude answered
2 days ago

QUESTION

D 3300 good enough for wildlife back up?

I use FX cameras and pro grade lenses as my main system but would not mind to have this 24 MP APS-C sensor for the occasional distant wildlife shoot. I'm mainly worried about the focus on slow moving or static objects, for action I can just switch to my FX bodies. I have not used an APS-C body since I sold my D200 years ago and wonder how the D3300 would perform. I'm quite aware of it being a light plastic body with few controls etc. But I don't know if there is more 'mirror slab vibration' going on than I'm used to with the D 800 for example. Lenses used are 70-200 and 500 VR Thank you for any info on this. William

MrCrowley asked
2 days ago

ANSWERS

If you have FX body and lenses,then the D7100 or the D7000 APSC seems like more sensible back up bodies than the D3300. Also there are  the D5100/5200/5300. Continue Reading

joyclick answered
2 days ago

(Full disclosure: I've never used or tried the D3300) I agree with joyclick; the D7100 would be the better back up to an FX body for wildlife (long reach shooting). I have a D800E and now have a D7100 as a backup. The D7100 also has AF-Fine Tune (as do the D800/D800E.) My 300 f/2.8 VR1 and teleconverters needs a little AF fine tune thus I bought the D7100. The D3300 does not have fine tune, neither does the D5300 which I considered. The D7100 has a much more comprehensive AF system compared to the D3300 and the D5300. The D3300 and the D7100 both have no AA filter and both have 24mp. So that parts the same. Yes, the D7100 is more expensive, While the D3300 seems like a great camera for the price, I think the D7100 is a better backup for long focal length, action (wildlife) shooting. Continue Reading

Jim F answered
2 days ago

All modern DSLR's from Nikon are excellent. I have the D3200 and use it for wildlife and air shows without any problems. If you are an experienced photographer you won't have any issues and the extra crop factor of the APSC sensor will be handy for wildlife. Continue Reading

Sonyshine answered
2 days ago

QUESTION

D3300 Focus Test Question

I'm  beginner, so bare with me. I just bought a D3300 a couple of months ago with the kit lens. I saw where I could print a focus test chart, so I gave it a try. I'm not sure if what to think of the result. I put the camera on a tripod outside, 10 sec delay, 45mm, f5.0, 125ss, about six feet from the chart. I turned off distortion, NR. I see a lot of pink/purple noise in the test photo. Is this normal?  Or is this a moire problem? I printed the chart with a HP laser, 1200dpi.

jllinko asked
2 days ago

ANSWERS

I would not be betting on the printer's ability to print a solid shade, a 1200dpi print should be easily out resolved by the D3300 so all the imperfections of the print should be visible from half toning, to dithering. Continue Reading

blue_cheese answered
2 days ago

At f5 the Depth of Field (DoF) is pretty large so any focus issue are not going to show up unless things are really off. Compare with the same shot using LiveView (CDAF) and if they look about the same, I would not worry much. Was the target exact flat to the camera? Right side is just a little soft...might be the kit lens being slightly de-centered. Recheck making sure that target and camera are perfectly flat to each other Regards noise and moire...hard to say from a print as I don't know how well that HP prints. Continue Reading

Mako2011 answered
2 days ago

Thank you, no I'm not sure it was exactly flat. I will try again, being a little more exact. Thanks again! Continue Reading

jllinko answered
2 days ago

Have your own question?

Warranty Information

"No registration or "warranty" card is included or needed with a Nikon D-SLR or Coolpix camera. Keep your original, dated proof of purchase from the Authorized Nikon Inc. dealer in case warranty service is ever needed. These products do include either a mail-in form or a paper with a web link to our registration page:
https://support.nikonusa.com/app/product_registration
It's advised to register your product with Nikon so that we can send you information about future updates or service issues that may arise.


Nikkor lenses come with a standard one year warranty and Nikon Inc. lenses sold by authorized Nikon Inc. dealers will have a Nikon Inc. Five Year Extension. To register for the five year extension, one copy of the included form must be mailed in as indicated. Keep the Customer copy of the form as well as the original proof of purchase (sales receipt)."


Read the full warranty.

DPReview GearShop is an authorized Nikon dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.