Nikon Coolpix P7800 Compact Camera

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

Key Features

  • 12.2MP 1/1.7"-type CMOS sensor
  • 8 frames per second continuous shooting
  • 28-200mm equivalent F2-4.0 VR lens (7.1x optical zoom)
  • ISO 80-1600, expandable up to 6400
  • 1080p HD video
  • 3.0 inch LCD with 921,000 dots
  • Electronic viewfinder with 921,000 dots
  • Lens accepts 40.5mm screw-in filters
  • Built-in ND filter
  • SD/SDHC/SDXC card slot

Product Description

The Coolpix P7800 is Nikon's flagship compact camera, and the replacement to the P7700. The main difference between the two is the addition of an electronic viewfinder, which required the removal of the Quick Control dial. Other features are unchanged. They include a 12.2MP BSI-CMOS sensor and a 28-200mm equivalent zoom lens, a relatively long telephoto reach in this class. Full 1080p video is offered, along with 8fps continuous shooting and a fully articulated 3.0 inch LCD.

The P7800 provides lots of options for expansion. It's compatible with the GP-1 GPS unit, and includes a hot shoe that works with the full range of Nikon's Speedlight flashguns. Ergonomics are top-notch, with dual command dials for DSLR-like operation along with a generous, textured grip.

Specs

Body type
Body type Compact
Sensor
Max resolution 4000 x 3000
Other resolutions 3264 x 2448, 2272 x 1704, 1600 x 1200, 640 x 480, 3984 x 2656 (3:2), 3968 x 2232 (16:9), 3000 x 3000 (1:1)
Image ratio w:h 1:1, 4:3, 3:2, 16:9
Effective pixels 12 megapixels
Sensor photo detectors 13 megapixels
Sensor size 1/1.7" (7.44 x 5.58 mm)
Sensor type BSI-CMOS
Image
White balance presets 7
Custom white balance Yes (2)
Image stabilization Optical
Uncompressed format RAW
Optics & Focus
Focal length (equiv.) 28–200 mm
Optical zoom 7.1×
Maximum aperture F2.0 - F4.0
Autofocus
  • Contrast Detect (sensor)
  • Multi-area
  • Center
  • Tracking
  • Single
  • Continuous
  • Face Detection
Digital zoom Yes (4x)
Manual focus Yes
Normal focus range 50 cm (19.69)
Macro focus range 5 cm (1.97)
Number of focus points 99
Screen / viewfinder
Articulated LCD Fully articulated
Screen size 3
Screen dots 921,000
Touch screen No
Live view Yes
Viewfinder type Electronic
Viewfinder coverage 100%
Viewfinder resolution 921,000
Photography features
Minimum shutter speed 60 sec
Maximum shutter speed 1/4000 sec
Aperture priority Yes
Shutter priority Yes
Manual exposure mode Yes
Subject / scene modes Yes
Built-in flash Yes (Pop-up)
Flash range 10.00 m
External flash Yes (via hot-shoe or wireless)
Continuous drive 8.0 fps
Self-timer Yes (10 or 2 seconds)
Metering modes
  • Multi
  • Center-weighted
  • Spot
Exposure compensation ±3 (at 1/3 EV steps)
WB Bracketing Yes
Videography features
Resolutions 1920 x 1080 (25p, 30p), 1280 x 720 (30p); high-speed: 1920 x 1080 (15 fps), 1280 x 720 (60 fps), 640 x 480 (120 fps)
Format MPEG-4, H.264
Microphone Stereo
Speaker Mono
Storage
Storage types SD/SDHC/SDXC
Storage included 86 MB
Connectivity
USB USB 2.0 (480 Mbit/sec)
HDMI Yes (Mini)
Wireless Optional
Wireless notes via WU-1a
Remote control Yes
Physical
Environmentally sealed No
Battery Battery Pack
Battery description Nikon EN-EL14 Lithium-Ion & charger
Battery Life (CIPA) 350
Weight (inc. batteries) 399 g (0.88 lb / 14.07 oz)
Dimensions 119 x 78 x 50 mm (4.69 x 3.07 x 1.97)
Other features
Orientation sensor Yes
Timelapse recording Yes
GPS Optional
GPS notes via GP-1A

Reviews

User Reviews

3.875 out of 5 stars
  • SRHEdD, Oct 2, 2013 GMT:
    Loving #503!

    Mine came today! #509. Still playing and adjusting, but it FEELS great, somehow more solid than 7700 (which I loved!). Macro shot below just for the pixel peepers to tear apart. If it has the same sensor as the 7700, and the same results, the build alone lets me give it 5 stars. I love having my beloved P7700 WITH a viewfinder when I want it. ISO400, 1/20 f2.8 Macro setting, natural light. Handheld, and just noticed date on watch was wrong... doh!

    Continue Reading

  • Canis42, Nov 28, 2013 GMT:
    Two Flaws of P7800

    Nikon made a lot of things right again. Everybody talks about the good things, so let me just add two flaws I found. FIRST flaw is the sensor: Why did Nikon not use a chip with more than 24bit (8 bit/pixel). The comnpetitor has 36bits/pixels. That allows to correct little over- or underexposures and handle problematic light situations to do something HDR-alike in the photo editor. SECOND flaw is, that other formats than 3:4 are not available in display are not storable as raw. I want to ...

    Continue Reading

  • Crac1, Dec 24, 2013 GMT:
    Nikon Coolpix P7800 First impressions

    Merry Christmas and Sorry for my bad english! I often wonder if people who make negative comments about a particular camera: Have they tried? I had not bought the Nikon Coolpix P7700 because it had no viewfinder. At the announcement of the P7800, I said at last! The man always wants more than what you give it ... I took the P7800 and I went to do what it was made: take pictures. I have not explored everything with this compact camera, but I can say that this is a very good camera that my ...

    Continue Reading

  • Chimere, Apr 4, 2014 GMT:
    P7800's rating ?

    Very impressed with the P7800, specially with the JPEG image quality, the good range of the zoom - it makes it a good all-round travel light camera. These are very important items. In contrast the drawbacks, such as poor EVF are not that important for my use, easy to live with. Slow write times in RAW ? With fast ultra cards hardly noticeable! Very good value for the money. The interface is a bit confusing, but, finally, it is a P & S - I can live with it, considering the final product: good ...

    Continue Reading

Videos

On the Trail with the P7800 by Nikon

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

What is a good compact pro-sumer camera that allows the following

back button focusing. Or something similar to that. I'm coming from a Nikon D300 and I'm so used to using back button focusing I just really really want that feature in my compact cam I've looked at the NIkon P7800 and while it has a lot of things I like I realize that you can't reassign the AE-L/AF-L button to function as back button focus button. anyone know of any brands that would allow this?

noobphoto asked
16 days ago

ANSWERS

Hello noobphoto, I use this function ALOT with my Fz200 (but its also on other Panasonic cams)(some ppl like me name it PUSH-focus..) Its the side button on the barrel, right where it should be, under your left thumb. It says FOCUS, and normaly, this button will give you the ability to switch between 4 sizes of the target box, (roughly...) 23% 14% 3.4% and a amazing usable 0.7%!! for really tough/hided subjects, and you can move it around where you want it to be, with the same screen(works fast) BUT... when you set the switch next to it to MF... the same FOCUS button will give you the nice BBF functionality and i love it. Combined with the AE-lock under your right-thumb it will give you freedom in creativity and its working fast.. REAL fast. I hope this information is /was usefull to you. Regards Continue Reading

MissingLinkie answered
16 days ago

It is a mistake. In the page 89 of the Reference Section from P7800 English edition user´s manual you will find clearly you can configure the AE/AF Lock for any of four function: (1) AE/AF lock (default) (2) AE lock only (3) AE lock (hold) (4) AF lock only Menu -> Tab -> AE/AF Lock button I think it is standard in Nikon cameras as all Nikon I had saw with AE/AF button had those possibilities. I use that in my P7800. Works as expected. All the best, Continue Reading

Osvaldo Cristo answered
15 days ago

I saw the 4 options when I was playing with the camera but AF-L is a bit different than what I want. I want the AF-on button from the D300 Continue Reading

noobphoto answered
15 days ago

QUESTION

Nikon P7800 Video: Difference between 1080*("star")/30p and 1080/30p settings?

Page 30 of the Nikon P7800 Reference Section of the manual titled, "Qual Movie Options" gives this information: Option (Image size/ Frame rate, File format) 1080*/30p 1080*/25p (default setting) 1920 × 1080 (High) 1080/30p 1080/25p 1920 × 1080 So the difference between 1080*("star")/30p and 1080/30p settings is that the 1080*("star")/30p setting says "High". High what? High quality? Does that mean less compression? The manual does not elaborate. Files shot in each of the two settings seem to be the same size for the same length of take. Anybody got an answer?

weisman asked
1 month ago

ANSWERS

Not a good one. I also assumed that the 1080* (High) would be higher 'something' and that appears to be the case, but I don't yet know what that 'something' is. I thought that it might mean that the JPEGs that could be extracted from the video might be higher quality. I don't have a P7800 but my P520 has 1080*/30p and 1080/30p movie settings but the manual doesn't show the word "High" for the 1080* option. I recorded two video clips of the same subject using 1080*/30p and 1080/30p and then extracted and saved a JPEG from each, and they were both 2mp "NORM 16:9" JPEGs with approximately the same file sizes, so no difference there. Then I filled a folder with enough files so that the remaining space on the card was about 750MB. After setting the video option to 1080*/30p, the display showed 5m 10s remaining video time. Changing it to 1080/30p (no asterisk) increased the remaining time to 7m 44s so there's the difference. What the P520 manual has that I can't find in the P7800 manual ... Continue Reading

photoreddi answered
1 month ago

It makes perfect sense that the 1080*("star")/30P setting would mean a higher movie bitrate than the other setting. That's got to be the explanation. Thank you very much for your post, Photoreddi, I really appreciate it! Continue Reading

weisman answered
1 month ago

QUESTION

Please help with P7800 P mode

Hello!  I just got the P7800 a few days ago, and am working through learning how to use it properly.  I was wondering if someone more experienced (which would be just about everyone!) could give me some guidance. I am trying to shoot in Program mode.  I have it set to Auto-800 ISO.  Whenever I want to take a shot indoors, it wants the shutter speed to be 1/30 of a second, which is just too slow to take sharp pictures of my kids.  Rotating the command dial should give me the option to choose a faster shutter speed, provided I am not already at the top acceptable ISO of 800, correct?  The problem is that rotating the command dial does not ever let me choose a faster shutter speed, only a slower one, even when the ISO is only at 250, and I could get by with a fast shutter speed and a higher ISO.  Does anyone know what I am doing wrong? Thank you so much for any help you can give me.  I know this is a fantastic camera, but right now I am getting so frustrated by it.  Thanks again!

JenniZ asked
1 month ago

ANSWERS

Set it to 'auto ISO'. Continue Reading

Skipper494 answered
1 month ago

Thanks for the reply Skipper494.  I've tried that too, and it still won't let me increase shutter speed.  Right now, for example, I have it on Auto ISO, and it wants to take a picture at F2.0 and 1/40.  When I take it and check what ISO was used, it used ISO 80.  On my screen, to the left of the black rectangle that has shutter speed and aperture, there is the word ISO in white, and then at the top of the screen to the right of the black box that has the P in it, is a black rectangle with ISO in it as well.  Did I mess up the settings?  Can you think of a reason why it might want to maintain the lowest ISO and not let me increase shutter speed and ISO as I want?  I know I can always switch to S mode and increase my shutter speed to where I want it there, but it's just frustrating me that I can't get it to increase the shutter speed in P mode for when I don't want to be having to switch modes.  Thanks again for any insight! Continue Reading

JenniZ answered
1 month ago

Why don't you use M mode instead of P? You can adjust shutter speed and aperture. Set the aperture to the maximum, depending on the focal length used, and the SS at the minimum you think is OK. Set auto iso at 1600 or 3200. I'm afraid that indoors, auto iso 800 is not enough to give you a suitable SS. The P7800 is an excellent camera, but it won't give you excellent results indoors when shooting moving kids without flash. No compact will do. Even entry level DSLR with slow kit lenses won't do much better. You should use the flash. And,better, use an external flash, bounced. If you can't use an external flash, use iso400 or 800 with the flash set at 1/4, or even 1/8 of its full power. Just my 2 cts. Maybe some fellows will give you better tips André http://a.barelier.free.fr/ Continue Reading

andrbar answered
1 month ago

Warranty Information

"No registration or "warranty" card is included or needed with a Nikon D-SLR or Coolpix camera. Keep your original, dated proof of purchase from the Authorized Nikon Inc. dealer in case warranty service is ever needed. These products do include either a mail-in form or a paper with a web link to our registration page:
https://support.nikonusa.com/app/product_registration
It's advised to register your product with Nikon so that we can send you information about future updates or service issues that may arise.


Nikkor lenses come with a standard one year warranty and Nikon Inc. lenses sold by authorized Nikon Inc. dealers will have a Nikon Inc. Five Year Extension. To register for the five year extension, one copy of the included form must be mailed in as indicated. Keep the Customer copy of the form as well as the original proof of purchase (sales receipt)."


Read the full warranty.

DPReview GearShop is an authorized Nikon dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.