Nikon Coolpix P7800 Compact Camera

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

Key Features

  • 12.2MP 1/1.7"-type CMOS sensor
  • 8 frames per second continuous shooting
  • 28-200mm equivalent F2-4.0 VR lens (7.1x optical zoom)
  • ISO 80-1600, expandable up to 6400
  • 1080p HD video
  • 3.0 inch LCD with 921,000 dots
  • Electronic viewfinder with 921,000 dots
  • Lens accepts 40.5mm screw-in filters
  • Built-in ND filter
  • SD/SDHC/SDXC card slot

Product Description

The Coolpix P7800 is Nikon's flagship compact camera, and the replacement to the P7700. The main difference between the two is the addition of an electronic viewfinder, which required the removal of the Quick Control dial. Other features are unchanged. They include a 12.2MP BSI-CMOS sensor and a 28-200mm equivalent zoom lens, a relatively long telephoto reach in this class. Full 1080p video is offered, along with 8fps continuous shooting and a fully articulated 3.0 inch LCD.

The P7800 provides lots of options for expansion. It's compatible with the GP-1 GPS unit, and includes a hot shoe that works with the full range of Nikon's Speedlight flashguns. Ergonomics are top-notch, with dual command dials for DSLR-like operation along with a generous, textured grip.

Specs

Body type
Body type Compact
Sensor
Max resolution 4000 x 3000
Other resolutions 3264 x 2448, 2272 x 1704, 1600 x 1200, 640 x 480, 3984 x 2656 (3:2), 3968 x 2232 (16:9), 3000 x 3000 (1:1)
Image ratio w:h 1:1, 4:3, 3:2, 16:9
Effective pixels 12 megapixels
Sensor photo detectors 13 megapixels
Sensor size 1/1.7" (7.44 x 5.58 mm)
Sensor type BSI-CMOS
Image
White balance presets 7
Custom white balance Yes (2)
Image stabilization Optical
Uncompressed format RAW
Optics & Focus
Focal length (equiv.) 28–200 mm
Optical zoom 7.1×
Maximum aperture F2.0 - F4.0
Autofocus
  • Contrast Detect (sensor)
  • Multi-area
  • Center
  • Tracking
  • Single
  • Continuous
  • Face Detection
Digital zoom Yes (4x)
Manual focus Yes
Normal focus range 50 cm (19.69)
Macro focus range 5 cm (1.97)
Number of focus points 99
Screen / viewfinder
Articulated LCD Fully articulated
Screen size 3
Screen dots 921,000
Touch screen No
Live view Yes
Viewfinder type Electronic
Viewfinder coverage 100%
Viewfinder resolution 921,000
Photography features
Minimum shutter speed 60 sec
Maximum shutter speed 1/4000 sec
Aperture priority Yes
Shutter priority Yes
Manual exposure mode Yes
Subject / scene modes Yes
Built-in flash Yes (Pop-up)
Flash range 10.00 m
External flash Yes (via hot-shoe or wireless)
Continuous drive 8 fps
Self-timer Yes (10 or 2 seconds)
Metering modes
  • Multi
  • Center-weighted
  • Spot
Exposure compensation ±3 (at 1/3 EV steps)
WB Bracketing Yes
Videography features
Resolutions 1920 x 1080 (25p, 30p), 1280 x 720 (30p); high-speed: 1920 x 1080 (15 fps), 1280 x 720 (60 fps), 640 x 480 (120 fps)
Format MPEG-4, H.264
Microphone Stereo
Speaker Mono
Storage
Storage types SD/SDHC/SDXC
Storage included 86 MB
Connectivity
USB USB 2.0 (480 Mbit/sec)
HDMI Yes (Mini)
Wireless Optional
Wireless notes via WU-1a
Remote control Yes
Physical
Environmentally sealed No
Battery Battery Pack
Battery description Nikon EN-EL14 Lithium-Ion & charger
Battery Life (CIPA) 350
Weight (inc. batteries) 399 g (0.88 lb / 14.07 oz)
Dimensions 119 x 78 x 50 mm (4.69 x 3.07 x 1.97)
Other features
Orientation sensor Yes
Timelapse recording Yes
GPS Optional
GPS notes via GP-1A

Reviews

User Reviews

3.875 out of 5 stars
  • SRHEdD, Oct 2, 2013 GMT:
    Loving #503!

    Mine came today! #509. Still playing and adjusting, but it FEELS great, somehow more solid than 7700 (which I loved!). Macro shot below just for the pixel peepers to tear apart. If it has the same sensor as the 7700, and the same results, the build alone lets me give it 5 stars. I love having my beloved P7700 WITH a viewfinder when I want it. ISO400, 1/20 f2.8 Macro setting, natural light. Handheld, and just noticed date on watch was wrong... doh!

    Continue Reading

  • Canis42, Nov 28, 2013 GMT:
    Two Flaws of P7800

    Nikon made a lot of things right again. Everybody talks about the good things, so let me just add two flaws I found. FIRST flaw is the sensor: Why did Nikon not use a chip with more than 24bit (8 bit/pixel). The comnpetitor has 36bits/pixels. That allows to correct little over- or underexposures and handle problematic light situations to do something HDR-alike in the photo editor. SECOND flaw is, that other formats than 3:4 are not available in display are not storable as raw. I want to ...

    Continue Reading

  • Crac1, Dec 24, 2013 GMT:
    Nikon Coolpix P7800 First impressions

    Merry Christmas and Sorry for my bad english! I often wonder if people who make negative comments about a particular camera: Have they tried? I had not bought the Nikon Coolpix P7700 because it had no viewfinder. At the announcement of the P7800, I said at last! The man always wants more than what you give it ... I took the P7800 and I went to do what it was made: take pictures. I have not explored everything with this compact camera, but I can say that this is a very good camera that my ...

    Continue Reading

  • Chimere, Apr 4, 2014 GMT:
    P7800's rating ?

    Very impressed with the P7800, specially with the JPEG image quality, the good range of the zoom - it makes it a good all-round travel light camera. These are very important items. In contrast the drawbacks, such as poor EVF are not that important for my use, easy to live with. Slow write times in RAW ? With fast ultra cards hardly noticeable! Very good value for the money. The interface is a bit confusing, but, finally, it is a P & S - I can live with it, considering the final product: good ...

    Continue Reading

Videos

On the Trail with the P7800 by Nikon

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

p7800 used with sb600 flash question.

How do I set up the p7800 to work in programmed auto mode with sb600 flash? Camera and flash work well together with camera if full auto mode and flash set to iTTL. Good exposure, no problem. However I can not figure out how to have the flash fire with camera in programmed auto mode. I have read both camera and flash manuals and am still confused. According to Nikon website the sb600 is fully compatable with the p7800. Please help. Thank you in advance.

powerclip asked
19 days ago

ANSWERS

In P mode the flash can be set to Auto, or to fire all the time, or to not fire. My guess is that your camera is set for the flash to not fire. The manual will show you how to set the flash. Continue Reading

mgd43 answered
18 days ago

QUESTION

P7800, flare using 58mm CPL on lens hood

Hello. This is my first post in this forum, and on Dpreview for that matter. I have been shooting Nikon DX format for the past several years, but recently purchased a P7800 to lighten the load when traveling on business (always like to have a decent camera along, but the DSLR kit really adds to the weight and bulk). Also nice that the P7800 uses the same batteries as my D5100. I also purchased a lens hood along with the P7800. My question is related to which size CPL to purchase for use with this camera/hood combo. My concern is that if I place a 58mm CPL on the end of the hood I might be defeating the purpose of it (the hood), inviting flare by having a piece of glass on the end of it.  On the other hand, mounting or removing the CPL will be more cumbersome if I select the 40.5mm CPL and attach it between the lens and the hood. Does anyone have any recommendations that would help me make the right choice? Perhaps there are other considerations I have not thought of ?

RobBobTom asked
6 days ago

ANSWERS

If you can see the sun when the polarizer is mounted, you're shooting at an angle that the polarizer won't have an effect. You would have to remove it. Continue Reading

Larry Berman answered
5 days ago

Thanks for the reply Larry. I agree with your statement, but perhaps I should have been more specific . . . . I was actually referring to flare being induced by light coming in from the side, which a hood is actually designed to help reduce. Not light coming in directly from the front, which the hood would provide no protection from anyway. It has been my understanding that having the hood after the last piece of glass, somewhat prevents side angled light from hitting the foremost element. If there was a filter (which now becomes the foremost element) mounted on the end of the hood then then it would seem that the hood would provide no benefit. Maybe I am looking at this all wrong. Regards, RobBobTom Continue Reading

RobBobTom answered
5 days ago

You are not seing it wrong. You'd like to have the hood always on the lens and attach the CPL quickly when needed. That depends on the style of the hood. A snap-on would be swell... I have a buttelfy type hood which I never use, because it adds bulk and the combo is to big for my bag. I do have a 40.5 mm cpl which I rarely use, only for awkward flare. I have always mounted a UV filter and for flares I use my hand to block the side light. Continue Reading

natna answered
4 days ago

QUESTION

Decent compact camera for travels,

Well I'm going abroad again and this will be my last time cause the project is over :/ and I want to capture every moment of this trip because I wasn't able to capture the other trips. I want a compact camera to capture my travels, I will be taking pictures of 1.Friends/big group photos 2. Scenery (buildings,stages,the outside) What I want to be on the Camera 1.VİEW FİNDER 90%+ is a must for me. 2. 500-600 Dollars 3. Easy to use and good. 4.decent megapixels (I was thinking around 12-14mp) 5.Also I want a camera that I can manually use i.e Adjust settings like Iso,Shutter speed etc. I looked around and found 3 that popped out to me the Canon G1 X, Canon G16 and the Nikon P7800,I don't know If these cameras have a manual mode though so If you can tell me about the a little It'd be great., Also I just don't know which to get or If there is a better out there, can you guys recommend me some more or help me pick one out of these three? The reason why I'm asking is because I live in ...

SinanLayk asked
19 days ago

ANSWERS

Check the Panasonic LF1 and the Panasonic ZS40 (TZ60 in Europe) Continue Reading

kcdogger answered
19 days ago

Why you want viewfinder for?  Grizzled veterans rabidly favor them, and sometimes I can see them being useful in bright sun.  But you are 17.  You should be used to using an LCD screen to compose shots, like young-uns do nowdays with their iphones and stuff. I would be careful not to get too large of a camera. It needs to be pocketable.  G1X is NOT pocketable.  It big!   G16/G15 are larger too. Same camera as the S120/S110 basically...except with the viewfinder and more bulk. I agree with the LF1 being an awesome pick on paper.  Small, great 7.1x zoom for versatility, and you even get your precious viewfinder. :-) Dont worry about its megapixels being lower.  This makes NO real difference. Its the same sensor, just chopped up into bigger pixels (more noise resistance), vs smaller ones.   Unlikely that the optics can even resolve to 10MP worth anyways.  Its like a person without their glasses looking at a 720p vs 1080p screen. They would just have smaller segments of blurriness. Continue Reading

Joseph Mama answered
19 days ago

For some reason I hate using the Lcd to take my pictures, I even favor any camera with a viewfinder over my Samsung phone to take pictures, I don't get any pleasure from taking pictures with an Lcd, I mean the point of having a hobby is to have fun isn't it? and viewfinders just make it more fun for me :D Also just to clear the air, when I mean compact I don't mean pockatable, I mean now big like a Dslr compact, hope that isn't to much to ask for. Continue Reading

SinanLayk answered
19 days ago

Warranty Information

"No registration or "warranty" card is included or needed with a Nikon D-SLR or Coolpix camera. Keep your original, dated proof of purchase from the Authorized Nikon Inc. dealer in case warranty service is ever needed. These products do include either a mail-in form or a paper with a web link to our registration page:
https://support.nikonusa.com/app/product_registration
It's advised to register your product with Nikon so that we can send you information about future updates or service issues that may arise.


Nikkor lenses come with a standard one year warranty and Nikon Inc. lenses sold by authorized Nikon Inc. dealers will have a Nikon Inc. Five Year Extension. To register for the five year extension, one copy of the included form must be mailed in as indicated. Keep the Customer copy of the form as well as the original proof of purchase (sales receipt)."


Read the full warranty.

DPReview GearShop is an authorized Nikon dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.