Nikon Coolpix P7800 Compact Camera

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

Key Features

  • 12.2MP 1/1.7"-type CMOS sensor
  • 8 frames per second continuous shooting
  • 28-200mm equivalent F2-4.0 VR lens (7.1x optical zoom)
  • ISO 80-1600, expandable up to 6400
  • 1080p HD video
  • 3.0 inch LCD with 921,000 dots
  • Electronic viewfinder with 921,000 dots
  • Lens accepts 40.5mm screw-in filters
  • Built-in ND filter
  • SD/SDHC/SDXC card slot

Product Description

The Coolpix P7800 is Nikon's flagship compact camera, and the replacement to the P7700. The main difference between the two is the addition of an electronic viewfinder, which required the removal of the Quick Control dial. Other features are unchanged. They include a 12.2MP BSI-CMOS sensor and a 28-200mm equivalent zoom lens, a relatively long telephoto reach in this class. Full 1080p video is offered, along with 8fps continuous shooting and a fully articulated 3.0 inch LCD.

The P7800 provides lots of options for expansion. It's compatible with the GP-1 GPS unit, and includes a hot shoe that works with the full range of Nikon's Speedlight flashguns. Ergonomics are top-notch, with dual command dials for DSLR-like operation along with a generous, textured grip.

Specs

Body type
Body type Compact
Sensor
Max resolution 4000 x 3000
Other resolutions 3264 x 2448, 2272 x 1704, 1600 x 1200, 640 x 480, 3984 x 2656 (3:2), 3968 x 2232 (16:9), 3000 x 3000 (1:1)
Image ratio w:h 1:1, 4:3, 3:2, 16:9
Effective pixels 12 megapixels
Sensor photo detectors 13 megapixels
Sensor size 1/1.7" (7.44 x 5.58 mm)
Sensor type BSI-CMOS
Image
White balance presets 7
Custom white balance Yes (2)
Image stabilization Optical
Uncompressed format RAW
Optics & Focus
Focal length (equiv.) 28–200 mm
Optical zoom 7.1×
Maximum aperture F2.0 - F4.0
Autofocus
  • Contrast Detect (sensor)
  • Multi-area
  • Center
  • Tracking
  • Single
  • Continuous
  • Face Detection
Digital zoom Yes (4x)
Manual focus Yes
Normal focus range 50 cm (19.69)
Macro focus range 5 cm (1.97)
Number of focus points 99
Screen / viewfinder
Articulated LCD Fully articulated
Screen size 3
Screen dots 921,000
Touch screen No
Live view Yes
Viewfinder type Electronic
Viewfinder coverage 100%
Viewfinder resolution 921,000
Photography features
Minimum shutter speed 60 sec
Maximum shutter speed 1/4000 sec
Aperture priority Yes
Shutter priority Yes
Manual exposure mode Yes
Subject / scene modes Yes
Built-in flash Yes (Pop-up)
Flash range 10.00 m
External flash Yes (via hot-shoe or wireless)
Continuous drive 8 fps
Self-timer Yes (10 or 2 seconds)
Metering modes
  • Multi
  • Center-weighted
  • Spot
Exposure compensation ±3 (at 1/3 EV steps)
WB Bracketing Yes
Videography features
Resolutions 1920 x 1080 (25p, 30p), 1280 x 720 (30p); high-speed: 1920 x 1080 (15 fps), 1280 x 720 (60 fps), 640 x 480 (120 fps)
Format MPEG-4, H.264
Microphone Stereo
Speaker Mono
Storage
Storage types SD/SDHC/SDXC
Storage included 86 MB
Connectivity
USB USB 2.0 (480 Mbit/sec)
HDMI Yes (Mini)
Wireless Optional
Wireless notes via WU-1a
Remote control Yes
Physical
Environmentally sealed No
Battery Battery Pack
Battery description Nikon EN-EL14 Lithium-Ion & charger
Battery Life (CIPA) 350
Weight (inc. batteries) 399 g (0.88 lb / 14.07 oz)
Dimensions 119 x 78 x 50 mm (4.69 x 3.07 x 1.97)
Other features
Orientation sensor Yes
Timelapse recording Yes
GPS Optional
GPS notes via GP-1A

Reviews

User Reviews

  • SRHEdD, Oct 2, 2013 GMT:
    Loving #503!

    Mine came today! #509. Still playing and adjusting, but it FEELS great, somehow more solid than 7700 (which I loved!). Macro shot below just for the pixel peepers to tear apart. If it has the same sensor as the 7700, and the same results, the build alone lets me give it 5 stars. I love having my beloved P7700 WITH a viewfinder when I want it. ISO400, 1/20 f2.8 Macro setting, natural light. Handheld, and just noticed date on watch was wrong... doh!

    Continue Reading

  • Canis42, Nov 28, 2013 GMT:
    Two Flaws of P7800

    Nikon made a lot of things right again. Everybody talks about the good things, so let me just add two flaws I found. FIRST flaw is the sensor: Why did Nikon not use a chip with more than 24bit (8 bit/pixel). The comnpetitor has 36bits/pixels. That allows to correct little over- or underexposures and handle problematic light situations to do something HDR-alike in the photo editor. SECOND flaw is, that other formats than 3:4 are not available in display are not storable as raw. I want to ...

    Continue Reading

  • Crac1, Dec 24, 2013 GMT:
    Nikon Coolpix P7800 First impressions

    Merry Christmas and Sorry for my bad english! I often wonder if people who make negative comments about a particular camera: Have they tried? I had not bought the Nikon Coolpix P7700 because it had no viewfinder. At the announcement of the P7800, I said at last! The man always wants more than what you give it ... I took the P7800 and I went to do what it was made: take pictures. I have not explored everything with this compact camera, but I can say that this is a very good camera that my ...

    Continue Reading

  • Chimere, Apr 4, 2014 GMT:
    P7800's rating ?

    Very impressed with the P7800, specially with the JPEG image quality, the good range of the zoom - it makes it a good all-round travel light camera. These are very important items. In contrast the drawbacks, such as poor EVF are not that important for my use, easy to live with. Slow write times in RAW ? With fast ultra cards hardly noticeable! Very good value for the money. The interface is a bit confusing, but, finally, it is a P & S - I can live with it, considering the final product: good ...

    Continue Reading

Videos

On the Trail with the P7800 by Nikon

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

Nikon P7800 Lens obstructed. Any built in safety?

Hi forum, recently i was in a rush and lay my camera with the lens facing downward onto the table and undeliberatly turned it on. I didn't realise straight away and am now worried i might have broke the lens mechanics, although it still works seemingly. I was wondering if there was any built in safety measures that stopped the lens from emerging if there was an obstacle hindering it.I couldn't find any technical explanation with a google search so i hope to find some answers here. Thx for advice and help.

dave22 asked
1 month ago

ANSWERS

I have had my Nikon Coolpix P7700 accidently turn on in my camera bag and carry it around. Opening the the bag and taking the camera out the lens fully extended.  No damage was done.  I did have the auto off setting on and set to 5 minutes before camera would turn off. Hope this helps. Continue Reading

Joseph Broz answered
1 month ago

Welcome to our forums. From my own experience there is some kind of protection in both P7100 and P7800 to avoid a disaster in case of some obstacle impeding the lens go out when the camera is turned on. I passed for this experience a few tines with no collateral consequences. Actually I think all cameras (or most of them) have similar protection. It is a very obvious potential reason for problems and serious damage otherwise. All the best, Continue Reading

Osvaldo Cristo answered
1 month ago

Thx for the replys guys. I'm confident now that nothing happened and i can still enjoy my cam:) Continue Reading

dave22 answered
1 month ago

QUESTION

Nikon P7800 & SB-910 weirdness

When using an SB-910 on my P7800 two things happen that I don't understand: A) The flash says ISO-AUTO even when I have clearly set the ISO on the camera. B) The flash only fires in Single shot mode, not when the camera is set to any of the Continuous shooting modes. Anybody out there have any answers? The P7800 manual doesn't address these topics.

weisman asked
2 months ago

ANSWERS

Probably it means the flash unit is not using its own ISO setup but receiving the value from the camera... are the pictures correct exposed? At page 77 from the English User Guide they stated under "Functions that cannot be used simultaneously", "Flash Mode" plus "Continuous Mode", "Auto Bracketing" and Focus Mode to Infinite". The manual is incomplete and several times confuse. I also was wandering why my SB-300 did not work at continuous mode also but I found it was not allowed in the manual. It looks logical for the small embedded camera flash but it does not look reasonable for an external more powerful unit... Regards, Continue Reading

Osvaldo Cristo answered
2 months ago

QUESTION

P7800 and Gorillapod hybrid quick release plate

Just curious if any P7700/P7800 owners are using the Gorillapod "hybrid" tripod. If so, does leaving the quick release plate attached to the camera conflict with the battery door opening? I was considering purchasing one but I don't want to have to remove the plate every time I want to access the battery or SD card. Regardz, RobBobTom

RobBobTom asked
1 month ago

ANSWERS

Hi Tom, unfortunately even the one from the "Gorillapod original" will do a bit. Greets, Matt Continue Reading

megamatze answered
1 month ago

Thanks Matt. I guess that it's inevitable since Nikon put the tripod socket so close to the battery door hinge. I suppose there's a $100 work around out there somewhere to compensate for this, LOL. Continue Reading

RobBobTom answered
1 month ago

The compacts seem all to be this way nowadays... a tribute to being compact I suppose :-/ However, I never leave them at the cam as it always catches at the camera bag then. Ooops... I just realize that I have the same problem with my D7000 and the Manfrotto tripod... :-x Continue Reading

megamatze answered
1 month ago

Warranty Information

"No registration or "warranty" card is included or needed with a Nikon D-SLR or Coolpix camera. Keep your original, dated proof of purchase from the Authorized Nikon Inc. dealer in case warranty service is ever needed. These products do include either a mail-in form or a paper with a web link to our registration page:
https://support.nikonusa.com/app/product_registration
It's advised to register your product with Nikon so that we can send you information about future updates or service issues that may arise.


Nikkor lenses come with a standard one year warranty and Nikon Inc. lenses sold by authorized Nikon Inc. dealers will have a Nikon Inc. Five Year Extension. To register for the five year extension, one copy of the included form must be mailed in as indicated. Keep the Customer copy of the form as well as the original proof of purchase (sales receipt)."


Read the full warranty.

DPReview GearShop is an authorized Nikon dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.