Nikon Coolpix AW110 Waterproof Compact Camera

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

73% Silver Award
Overall, the Nikon Coolpix AW110 is a full-featured rugged camera that performs well and takes photos that'll please all but the most discerning photographers.”

Read more of the review

Key Features

  • 16 MP 1/2.3" CMOS sensor
  • 28-140mm equivalent F3.9-4.8 lens
  • 1080/30 fps HD video
  • 3 inch OLED screen with 614,000 dots
  • Lens-shift and electronic VR image stabilization
  • Built-in GPS and Wi-Fi
  • Waterproof, Shockproof, and Freezeproof

Product Description

The Nikon Coolpix AW110 features a 16MP BSI CMOS sensor, OLED screen and a 28-140mm equivalent stabilized zoom. It's waterproof to 18m (59ft), shockproof from a height of 2m (6.7ft), and freezeproof to 14° F . The AW110 also has built-in Wi-Fi that will connect to any compatible smartphone or tablet and GPS mapping. The GPS interfaces with Google Earth, has an electronic compass, maps, and points of interest such as scenic outlooks and landmarks.

Specs

Body type
Body type Compact
Sensor
Max resolution 4608 x 3456
Effective pixels 16 megapixels
Sensor photo detectors 17 megapixels
Sensor size 1/2.3" (6.17 x 4.55 mm)
Sensor type CMOS
Image
ISO Auto, 125, 200, 400, 800, 1600
White balance presets 7
Custom white balance Yes
Image stabilization Optical
Image stabilization notes Lens-shift and Electronic VR (still pictures), Lens-shift VR (movies)
Uncompressed format Unknown
Optics & Focus
Focal length (equiv.) 28–140 mm
Optical zoom 5×
Maximum aperture F3.9 - F4.8
Autofocus
  • Contrast Detect (sensor)
  • Center
  • Tracking
  • Face Detection
Digital zoom Yes (up to 4x)
Manual focus Yes (with 99 focus areas)
Normal focus range 50 cm (19.69)
Macro focus range 1 cm (0.39)
Number of focus points 9
Screen / viewfinder
Articulated LCD Fixed
Screen size 3
Screen dots 614,000
Screen type OLED monitor
Viewfinder type None
Photography features
Minimum shutter speed 4 sec
Maximum shutter speed 1/1500 sec
Aperture priority No
Shutter priority No
Manual exposure mode No
Subject / scene modes Yes
Built-in flash Yes
Flash range 5.20 m
Continuous drive 8 fps
Metering modes
  • Multi
  • Center-weighted
  • Spot
Exposure compensation ±2 (at 1/3 EV steps)
Videography features
Format MPEG-4, H.264
Videography notes Full HD: 1920x1080p / 30fps HD: 1280x720p / 30fps HS 1920x1080 / 15fps HS 1280x720 / 60fps HS 640x480 / 120fps HS 320x240 / 240fps iFrame® 540: 960x540 / 30fps Movie file format: MPEG-4 AVC H.264 VGA: 640x480
Microphone Stereo
Speaker Mono
Storage
Storage types SD / SDHC/SDXC
Connectivity
USB USB 2.0 (480 Mbit/sec)
Wireless Built-In
Physical
Environmentally sealed Yes (Waterproof, Shockproof, Dustproof, Freezeproof)
Battery Battery Pack
Battery description Nikon EN-EL12 Lithium-Ion battery
Battery Life (CIPA) 250
Weight (inc. batteries) 193 g (0.43 lb / 6.81 oz)
Dimensions 110 x 65 x 25 mm (4.33 x 2.56 x 0.98)
Other features
GPS BuiltIn

Reviews

DPReview Conclusion

Scoring is relative only to the other cameras in the same category at the time of review.

Score Breakdown
Poor Excellent
Build quality
Ergonomics & handling
Features
Exposure and focus accuracy
Image quality (jpeg)
Flash performance
Low light / high ISO performance
Optics
Performance (speed)
Movie / video mode
Connectivity
Value
Silver Award
Silver Award
73 %
Overall Score

The Coolpix AW110 is a capable rugged camera with good photo quality for its class, an elaborate GPS feature, Wi-Fi for remote camera control, and a nice movie mode - all without breaking the bank. It can also go further underwater than any of its peers. Downsides include smudged details, blue color casts underwater, poor outdoor display visibility, and below average battery life.

Good For

Divers, serious GPS lovers, or anyone who wants a easy-to-use rugged camera that takes good pictures and movies. Wi-Fi connectivity and a low price make it even more appealing.

Not So Good For

Photographers who don't want to color correct underwater photos. Those taking photos in bright outdoor sunlight, or expect to get a full day of shooting on a single battery charge.

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

Coolpix AW120 LCD Dimensions

Hi, I have an AW120 on back-order and I'm looking for a GGS glass screen protector to fit when it arrives. If any member has the AW120 (or AW110) would you let me know the dimensions (hxw) in mm please? (Heading of to the South Pacific in a few weeks and would like to have the screen protector ready to be fitted when the camera arrives) Thanks, Bob

tygher_2 asked
22 days ago

ANSWERS

Converting from inches to cm it is: 5.715 x 6.985 Inches is 2 1/4 x 2 3/4 Continue Reading

sabieru answered
22 days ago

Many thanks. Continue Reading

tygher_2 answered
20 days ago

QUESTION

Nikon Coolpix AW110 VS AW120

Hello Guys, I would like to get one two. I found two links http://snapsort.com/compare/Nikon-Coolpix-AW110-vs-Nikon-Coolpix-AW120 http://www.nikonindex.com/CoolpixAW/Nikon-Coolpix-AW110/Nikon-Coolpix-AW110-vs-Nikon-Coolpix-AW120.html Although AW120 is newer , AW110 got much more features like 3d pictures, HDR, Cheaper ,and faster. Can you help me please!!!!

HASSONI asked
19 days ago

ANSWERS

I haven't snorkeled for a long, long time.  I don't have hands-on experience with the new AW120. Those disclaimers having been made, my guess is that 24mm f2.8 could be an advantage for snorkeling over the 28mm f3.9 AW110. Continue Reading

martingrumet answered
13 days ago

http://www.ephotozine.com/article/nikon-coolpix-aw120-review-24270 I also believe that the AW120 is the one to go for of these two. Olympus TG-3 and Canon Powershot D30 could be two good alternatives. Like the older AW110 the Canon D30 also have slow aperture, 3.9 at 28mm. But from what I've seen in a sample image it looks like it uses very little noise reduction like the previous Canon Powershot D20. http://dpreview.com/forums/post/53108891 I've not managed to find a review of the D30 yet and not of the even newer TG-3 either. Continue Reading

schaki answered
5 days ago

Another advantage of the AW120 over the AW110 is that the newer model has USB charging, so you don't have to be tied to the electric grid. Battery life is longer, using the same battery. Moreover the charger on the AW110 is really rinky-dink with a cord you must attach to the battery holder. Fujifilm stopped doing this 5 years ago, so I was surprised and disappointed to see it when I opened the box. Continue Reading

CAcreeks answered
4 days ago

QUESTION

Can you explain why Nikon AW110 Sport Mode displays smaller size picture in LCD?

The Nikon AW110 Sport Mode displays a smaller size picture in the LCD. Can you explain it? Does it mean the image quality will be low if it is printed? Thank you for your answer.

ckeek asked
1 month ago

ANSWERS

How much smaller are you talking about? According to the manual, the AW110 takes up to 6 photos at 8 frames per second when shooting in Sports mode. This lets the camera have the advantage of a faste shutter speed (each photo using about 1/6 the shutter time per photo) but then the camera has to create an edited composite photo, where each of the 6 subjects are realigned to reduce what would otherwise appear to be a blurry, overlapping image. Then the edges are cropped slightly to produce a rectangular image that's slightly smaller than usual. If this is what's happening, the images quality (based on the number of megapixels) will only be slightly less, still good enough for printing, unless the subject was moving too quickly for the shutter speed. Then it would produce a blurry print. If you shoot a stationary subject using Sports mode with the camera on a tripod, the 6 images should be almost perfectly aligned, so the resulting composite (I think) would not need to appear to be ... Continue Reading

photoreddi answered
1 month ago

Nikon AW110 Sport Mode shows small size of image on the LCD How is the image quality affected in the Sport mode? Continue Reading

ckeek answered
1 month ago

I don't think that the image quality is affected. Your photo of the screen display shows that my guess was wrong. Other cameras combine multiple shots to get the benefit of a faster shutter speed by that's not what seems to be happening here. Notice the two frame lines surrounding the small photo in the display? That suggests that you're only seeing one of the "up to 6 photos" that were shot and you just need to figure out how to change the display mode that will let you see each of the photos in the sequence. From the manual, on page 57 it mentions how to change the Sequence display option. The default is "Key picture only" and this can be changed to "Individual pictures" where each picture in the sequence is displayed. I must admit that the manual's description of how and what to do is a little confusing, but if you can't figure out what to do, I'm almost certain that each of the photos are available on the memory card, and if you transfer them to your computer, they'll be ... Continue Reading

photoreddi answered
1 month ago

Warranty Information

"No registration or "warranty" card is included or needed with a Nikon D-SLR or Coolpix camera. Keep your original, dated proof of purchase from the Authorized Nikon Inc. dealer in case warranty service is ever needed. These products do include either a mail-in form or a paper with a web link to our registration page:
https://support.nikonusa.com/app/product_registration
It's advised to register your product with Nikon so that we can send you information about future updates or service issues that may arise.


Nikkor lenses come with a standard one year warranty and Nikon Inc. lenses sold by authorized Nikon Inc. dealers will have a Nikon Inc. Five Year Extension. To register for the five year extension, one copy of the included form must be mailed in as indicated. Keep the Customer copy of the form as well as the original proof of purchase (sales receipt)."


Read the full warranty.

DPReview GearShop is an authorized Nikon dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.