Nikon D3100 DSLR Camera Kit

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

72% Silver Award
There's no doubt that the D3100 is one of the best entry-level SLRs available, offering very good image quality coupled with speedy operation and straightforward handling.”

Read more of the review

Key Features

  • 14.2 megapixel DX-format CMOS sensor
  • 3.0 inch LCD with 230,000 dots
  • 1080p HD video with full-time AF
  • 11 AF points (with 3D tracking)
  • IS0 100-3200 range (12800 expanded)
  • RAW + JPEG shooting

Product Description

The Nikon D3100 is a beginner-friendly 14.2MP DX-format DSLR, boasting full 1080p HD video and helpful Guide Modes for a first-time SLR owner. The D3100's 11-point AF system with 3D tracking is highly sophisticated for this entry-level class, and a full-time AF mode is available in live view. More advanced photographers will find all of the manual controls they'd want at hand. RAW files can be converted in camera, with several processing options available. The D3100 should be uncomplicated enough to appeal to a beginner while offering the sort of features and handling experience that more experienced shooters will appreciate.

Specs

Body type
Body type Compact SLR
Sensor
Max resolution 4608 x 3072
Other resolutions 3456 x 2304, 2304 x 1536
Image ratio w:h 3:2
Effective pixels 14 megapixels
Sensor photo detectors 15 megapixels
Sensor size APS-C (23.1 x 15.4 mm)
Sensor type CMOS
Processor Expeed 2
Image
ISO Auto, 100, 200, 400, 800, 1600, 3200 (12800 with boost)
White balance presets 12
Custom white balance Yes (1)
Image stabilization No
Uncompressed format RAW
JPEG quality levels Fine, Normal, Basic
Optics & Focus
Autofocus
  • Contrast Detect (sensor)
  • Phase Detect
  • Multi-area
  • Selective single-point
  • Tracking
  • Single
  • Continuous
  • Face Detection
  • Live View
Digital zoom No
Manual focus Yes
Number of focus points 11
Lens mount Nikon F
Focal length multiplier 1.5×
Screen / viewfinder
Articulated LCD Fixed
Screen size 3
Screen dots 230,000
Touch screen No
Screen type TFT LCD monitor
Live view Yes
Viewfinder type Optical (pentamirror)
Viewfinder coverage 95%
Viewfinder magnification 0.8×
Photography features
Minimum shutter speed 30 sec
Maximum shutter speed 1/4000 sec
Aperture priority Yes
Shutter priority Yes
Manual exposure mode Yes
Subject / scene modes Yes
Built-in flash Yes (Pop-up)
Flash range 12.00 m (at ISO 100)
External flash Yes (Hot-shoe, Wireless plus sync connector)
Flash modes Auto, Red-Eye, Slow, Red-Eye Slow, Rear curtain
Continuous drive 3 fps
Self-timer Yes
Metering modes
  • Multi
  • Center-weighted
  • Average
Exposure compensation ±5 (at 1/3 EV steps)
WB Bracketing No
Videography features
Resolutions 1920 x 1080 (24 fps), 1280 x 720 (30, 25, 24 fps), 640 x 424 (24 fps)
Format MPEG-4
Microphone Mono
Speaker None
Storage
Storage types SD/SDHC/SDXC
Storage included None
Connectivity
USB USB 2.0 (480 Mbit/sec)
HDMI Yes (Mini Type C)
Wireless Eye-Fi Connected
Remote control Yes (Optional)
Physical
Environmentally sealed No
Battery Battery Pack
Battery description Lithium-Ion EN-EL14 rechargeable battery & charger
Weight (inc. batteries) 505 g (1.11 lb / 17.81 oz)
Dimensions 124 x 96 x 75 mm (4.88 x 3.78 x 2.95)
Other features
Orientation sensor Yes
GPS Optional
GPS notes GP-1

Reviews

DPReview Conclusion

Scoring is relative only to the other cameras in the same category at the time of review.

Score Breakdown
Poor Excellent
Build quality
Ergonomics & handling
Features
Metering & focus accuracy
Image quality (raw)
Image quality (jpeg)
Low light / high ISO performance
Viewfinder / screen rating
Performance
Movie / video mode
Value
Silver Award
Silver Award
72 %
Overall Score

With the addition of video and live view, Nikon has given its entry-level DSLR all the features its predecessor seemed to be missing. The result is an excellent beginners camera that encourages the user to grow into it whatever their existing level of knowledge. However, it's not alone in offering this and, though it's a great DSLR, there are plenty of equally attractive mirrorless alternatives.

Good For

First time DSLR users who want a camera that will encourage them to make the most of its capabilities.

Not So Good For

People wanting a camera that behaves just like their existing compact. Users for whom compactness is a priority.

User Reviews

3.91667 out of 5 stars
  • lufotocj, Nov 22, 2012 GMT:
    Quite a good camera for its money

    After shooting almost 25000 pics with my D3100, I can say I am quite content with the camera, which proved even more reliable than I had expected from an entry-level model: I shot as many as 850 pics in some 4 hours, with no problems at all. Very intuitive for learning photography, it may also serve as an effective instrument for (budget) events, as small weddings or christenings - at least until you want something more potent. Though, I would rather recommend you put quality lenses - a ...

    Continue Reading

  • gnawledge wurker, Oct 15, 2012 GMT:
    one function missing auto bracketing

    overall a good camera, no autobracketing feature which shocked me when I went to use it. silly omission

    Continue Reading

  • ace123, Dec 23, 2011 GMT:
    Love it

    I love my Nikon My 1st good camera

    Continue Reading

  • CDNPHOTO12, Sep 7, 2013 GMT:
    Great Body

    This Camera Is Amazing Not The Best FPS But Great Overall Beginner Body 100% Recommend £300 With A 18-55 Great Buy. NIKON RULES

    Continue Reading

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

Nikon D3200 - a solid upgrade for beginners?

Greetings, I want to dive into photography and wanted to change to a DSRL. My camera so far is an old Canon Power Shot SD770 with Digital ELPH, but I wanted to move to a DSRL for better results and more liberty of composition. I wanted a camera that's going to be both an upgrade and an opening of possibilities for me into photography. However, I wanted a camera who also could be used by my family, for everyday photos as well. I was deciding on the D3200 since it's in a good price these days, but I wanted to check something with you, a last doubt prior to making the purchase. Does the camera offer a good experience with the LCD screen for taking pictures, instead of the regular optical viewfinder? Is it similar (or better) than the PowerShot I had? I'm concerned with LCD because my family is very used with it for photos, and I didn't want to make an upgrade to DSLR with only my interests in perspective. I had an experience with a D3100 at work and thought it wouldn't be good for my ...

Gabriel Alt asked
4 months ago

ANSWERS

You are definitely not for a dSLR. First is that you require using LCD for taking photos. This is not how dSLRs are designed to work. You are used with the small cameras that have only this type of framing. You rather are the target for mirrorless offerings. They don't offer you the possibility to look through the lens but show you what sensor sees. There are different mirrorless manufacturers, some offering similar quality as a dSLR but without the AF speed of the latter. I heard good things about Fuji X (they seem to fix the bugs of the sensor). Another option would be Sony NEX series (that is replaced lately with Sony Ax000). Good luck! All will give you a night and day difference in quality compared with your old camera. Continue Reading

baloo_buc answered
4 months ago

If you want to use live view, don't get a DSLR! Get a mirrorless camera instead. Live view is an emergency function for DSLR, but for mirrorless cameras it's the normal way of functioning. You don't lose any image quality by selecting a mirrorless camera (as long as it has APS-C sensor). What is important, is the camera sensor size, and not the camera size. DSLR are good if you want to shoot action, or if you like optical viewfinder, or if you like to look like a professional. Mirrorless are good if you want a smaller camera + lens system with fast auto focus when using the screen, or if you want autofocus when shooting video. Things like face detection are also available on mirrorless cameras, too. Continue Reading

pannumon answered
4 months ago

If I read the OP correctly, he used the OVF on the D3100 and liked it. However, his concern was that his family was used to LiveView and would miss having that feature. Since pretty much all DSLR's since 2010 have LV and OVF, it's a moot point. Continue Reading

l_d_allan answered
4 months ago

QUESTION

What is the best DX Nikon for noise?

I'll admit this is a bit of a long shot, as it's a very technical question, but here we go... Which is the best Nikon DX camera for low-light performance? That is, which performs best in terms of noise? It's time to upgrade my D60, and it's a great time to do it because Nikon has so many models on the market, past models are an absolute steal on ebay. It's a choice between the D3100, D3200, D3300, D5100, D5200, D5300. Although the D7000 is lovely, I don't want a camera that big and heavy - the small size and weight of the smaller models is important for me. I've scoured dpreview.com and there doesn't seem to be much difference between these models. Higher resolution = more noise BUT = more detail which kind of makes up for the increased noise. Very confusing!

2 months ago

ANSWERS

The D3200, D3300, D5200 and D5300 all have very similar noise levels at the same ISO. The D5300 and D5200 do 14 bit in the camera for the image processing pipeline, so they are a bit better than the D3200 and D3300, but only at the very, very extremes. As for even older models, the D3000 has the same 10 MP sensor that is found in your D60, but without the old Nikon colors so skip it, so matter how cheap it is. The D3100 is 14 MP and a decent camera, but the D3200 and D3300 are better. The D5000 has the same sensor as the D90 and is a slight step up regarding noise and White Balance in incandescent light, however the D5100, D5200 and D5300 are even better. The D5100 is a fine camera at 16 MP and the first camera (in this series) that you can get decent results at ISO 6400 if you are careful with exposure and if you are shooting in light near 5000-5600 Kelvin (sunlight). So I would put the D5000 as very marginal unless bought for a song, the D3100 and D5100 are only worth looking into ... Continue Reading

Catallaxy answered
2 months ago

You are correct! It used to be bad... Here is a shot I took last week at ISO 1600 using my D200: I applied some Topaz Denoise and its usable: So yes, the older cameras are BAD for high ISO. However, they type of noise they create does clean up very easily.  I don't shoot high ISO much so I still use the D200. Continue Reading

Retzius answered
2 months ago

Once you hit the 12Mp pixels sensors the sensors all about the same for noise (but not dynamic range) Continue Reading

john Clinch answered
2 months ago

QUESTION

New lens for nikon d3100 body

Hi I looking to buy a new lens in 2-3 days , I am beginner I have a default 18-55mm lens which I am using for last 4-5 months. I am looking to upgrade my lens. Since I don't have much experience I am looking for cheaper and good lens may be sigma I cam across 2 lenses please suggest which one should I go for or if any other suggestion please let me know. I am currently leaving in Pune http://www.snapdeal.com/product/NikonAFZoo/59647?pos=0;11 http://www.snapdeal.com/product/sigma-70300456-dg-macro-for/270805?pos=10;11 I am looking for lens for Nature/wildlife photography

1 year ago

ANSWERS

I would recommend the tamron 70 300. http://www.tamron.com/en/photolens/di_telephoto/a005.html Continue Reading

Kokeen4231 answered
1 year ago

Both of these lenses are made for full frame sensors so the quality is not optimised for the d3100. You should have a look at the 55-200mm or 55-300mm instead. Continue Reading

junyeu answered
1 year ago

WHAT'S IN THE BOX?

  • D3100 Camera Body
  • AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR Lens
  • (2 Lens kit also includes AF-S 55-200mm f/4-5.6 G ED IF DX VR Lens)
  • EN-EL14 Battery
  • MH-24 Battery Charger
  • DK-5 Eyepiece Cap
  • DK-20 Rubber Eyecap
  • AN-DC3 Camera Strap
  • BS-1 Accessory Shoe Cover
  • BF-1B Body Cap
  • ViewNX 2 CD-ROM

Compatible Products

Warranty Information

"No registration or "warranty" card is included or needed with a Nikon D-SLR or Coolpix camera. Keep your original, dated proof of purchase from the Authorized Nikon Inc. dealer in case warranty service is ever needed. These products do include either a mail-in form or a paper with a web link to our registration page:
https://support.nikonusa.com/app/product_registration
It's advised to register your product with Nikon so that we can send you information about future updates or service issues that may arise.


Nikkor lenses come with a standard one year warranty and Nikon Inc. lenses sold by authorized Nikon Inc. dealers will have a Nikon Inc. Five Year Extension. To register for the five year extension, one copy of the included form must be mailed in as indicated. Keep the Customer copy of the form as well as the original proof of purchase (sales receipt)."


Read the full warranty.

DPReview GearShop is an authorized Nikon dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.