Nikon D3100 DSLR Camera Kit

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

72% Silver Award
There's no doubt that the D3100 is one of the best entry-level SLRs available, offering very good image quality coupled with speedy operation and straightforward handling.”

Read more of the review

Key Features

  • 14.2 megapixel DX-format CMOS sensor
  • 3.0 inch LCD with 230,000 dots
  • 1080p HD video with full-time AF
  • 11 AF points (with 3D tracking)
  • IS0 100-3200 range (12800 expanded)
  • RAW + JPEG shooting

Product Description

The Nikon D3100 is a beginner-friendly 14.2MP DX-format DSLR, boasting full 1080p HD video and helpful Guide Modes for a first-time SLR owner. The D3100's 11-point AF system with 3D tracking is highly sophisticated for this entry-level class, and a full-time AF mode is available in live view. More advanced photographers will find all of the manual controls they'd want at hand. RAW files can be converted in camera, with several processing options available. The D3100 should be uncomplicated enough to appeal to a beginner while offering the sort of features and handling experience that more experienced shooters will appreciate.

Reviews

User Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
  • lufotocj, Nov 22, 2012 GMT:
    Quite a good camera for its money

    After shooting almost 25000 pics with my D3100, I can say I am quite content with the camera, which proved even more reliable than I had expected from an entry-level model: I shot as many as 850 pics in some 4 hours, with no problems at all. Very intuitive for learning photography, it may also serve as an effective instrument for (budget) events, as small weddings or christenings - at least until you want something more potent. Though, I would rather recommend you put quality lenses - a ...

    Continue Reading

  • gnawledge wurker, Oct 15, 2012 GMT:
    one function missing auto bracketing

    overall a good camera, no autobracketing feature which shocked me when I went to use it. silly omission

    Continue Reading

  • ace123, Dec 23, 2011 GMT:
    Love it

    I love my Nikon My 1st good camera

    Continue Reading

  • CDNPHOTO12, Sep 7, 2013 GMT:
    Great Body

    This Camera Is Amazing Not The Best FPS But Great Overall Beginner Body 100% Recommend £300 With A 18-55 Great Buy. NIKON RULES

    Continue Reading

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

Getting into DSLR world

For sometime, I've been reading reviews and going through the spces of DSLRs to pick the right one for me. After some careful selection, it has narrowed down to these three, Nikon 5200, Nikon 5100, Canon 650D * Even though there is the new Canon 700D, I've simply taken it out of consideration due to lack of improvement from the predecessor. * The question is between these three cameras. Since I'm getting into DSLR world, there is no issue in selecting either one of them. (like lenses, build of cameras, GUI & etc.) * According to many reviews, the Nikon duo stands ahead of the Canon 650D. And also, I'm not a big fan of the touch screen. It's only going to leave marks on the screen after using the touch screen. * I'm more of a travel photographer (that includes both day and night shots with low light). Therefore, I feel that the Nikkor 18-105mm lens would suit me as the kit lens. And also, it's cheaper compared to Canon 18-135mm STM. * The biggest question remains between the Nikon ...

9 months ago

ANSWERS

There has always been, and will always be greener grass on the other side of the fence. I am not all that familiar with the D5100/5200, and know nothing about Canon offerings. It sounds like the D5100/5200 is pretty much like the D7000/7100. Rather than the 18-105, I would recommend the 16-85. It costs a little more, but is a better lens. Later I would add a 70-300. Check this link to the D5200/70-300. He may have a better opinion than I do. http://www.dpreview.com/forums/post/51727418 Continue Reading

Cope answered
9 months ago

I just bought my first DSLR a few months ago. Previously I had been using an Olympus EPL-3. I went with the D5100, 18-105 and 35 1.8g and I could not be happier. The better AF of the D5200 would be nice, but when you factor in price, I don't think you can beat the D5100 right now. There is always something that is a little better and little more expensive, but the D5100 does everything I need and more, and my whole kit cost less than $800. ETA: the Sensor in the D5100 is excellent. I think you'd need really expensive glass, or real pro level talent to pull anything noticeably better out of the D5200 in that regard. Continue Reading

DaveInPhilly answered
9 months ago

I started with a factory refurbished Nikon D3100 and 18-55 kit lens a few months ago. It was around $350 which I feel was a real bargain. The D3100 was my first DSLR and made an excellent learning platform IMO. I wanted the additional features like 39 focus points, auto bracketing, better video, articulating screen, 24 megapixels and more of the D5200. But as the knowledgable and generous members of this forum suggested, I could do fine with the D3100 body and better lenses. So for $200 I bought the Nikon 35mm f/1.8G lens and it was a BIG jump in image quality. The next lens I wanted for the D3100 would be the 70-300 VR. Then in June Nikon ran a "buy more and save" promotion and I could buy the D5200 body with 70-300 VR lens and save $200 off the individual purchase prices. I went for it. No regrets. I love the camera and lens. My 35mm f/1.8 lens works beautifully on the D5200 and I recently bought a wide angle lens. I'm going to do my best to make this a "three lens kit" and stop ... Continue Reading

BlueJakester answered
9 months ago

QUESTION

New lens for nikon d3100 body

Hi I looking to buy a new lens in 2-3 days , I am beginner I have a default 18-55mm lens which I am using for last 4-5 months. I am looking to upgrade my lens. Since I don't have much experience I am looking for cheaper and good lens may be sigma I cam across 2 lenses please suggest which one should I go for or if any other suggestion please let me know. I am currently leaving in Pune http://www.snapdeal.com/product/NikonAFZoo/59647?pos=0;11 http://www.snapdeal.com/product/sigma-70300456-dg-macro-for/270805?pos=10;11 I am looking for lens for Nature/wildlife photography

1 year ago

ANSWERS

I would recommend the tamron 70 300. http://www.tamron.com/en/photolens/di_telephoto/a005.html Continue Reading

Kokeen4231 answered
1 year ago

rossphotography wrote: Hi I looking to buy a new lens in 2-3 days , I am beginner I have a default 18-55mm lens which I am using for last 4-5 months. I am looking to upgrade my lens. Since I don't have much experience I am looking for cheaper and good lens may be sigma I cam across 2 lenses please suggest which one should I go for or if any other suggestion please let me know. I am currently leaving in Pune http://www.snapdeal.com/product/NikonAFZoo/59647?pos=0;11 http://www.snapdeal.com/product/sigma-70300456-dg-macro-for/270805?pos=10;11 I am looking for lens for Nature/wildlife photography Both of these lenses are made for full frame sensors so the quality is not optimised for the d3100. You should have a look at the 55-200mm or 55-300mm instead. Continue Reading

junyeu answered
1 year ago

QUESTION

Nikon D3200 - a solid upgrade for beginners?

Greetings, I want to dive into photography and wanted to change to a DSRL. My camera so far is an old Canon Power Shot SD770 with Digital ELPH, but I wanted to move to a DSRL for better results and more liberty of composition. I wanted a camera that's going to be both an upgrade and an opening of possibilities for me into photography. However, I wanted a camera who also could be used by my family, for everyday photos as well. I was deciding on the D3200 since it's in a good price these days, but I wanted to check something with you, a last doubt prior to making the purchase. Does the camera offer a good experience with the LCD screen for taking pictures, instead of the regular optical viewfinder? Is it similar (or better) than the PowerShot I had? I'm concerned with LCD because my family is very used with it for photos, and I didn't want to make an upgrade to DSLR with only my interests in perspective. I had an experience with a D3100 at work and thought it wouldn't be good for my ...

Gabriel Alt asked
1 month ago

ANSWERS

You are definitely not for a dSLR. First is that you require using LCD for taking photos. This is not how dSLRs are designed to work. You are used with the small cameras that have only this type of framing. You rather are the target for mirrorless offerings. They don't offer you the possibility to look through the lens but show you what sensor sees. There are different mirrorless manufacturers, some offering similar quality as a dSLR but without the AF speed of the latter. I heard good things about Fuji X (they seem to fix the bugs of the sensor). Another option would be Sony NEX series (that is replaced lately with Sony Ax000). Good luck! All will give you a night and day difference in quality compared with your old camera. Continue Reading

baloo_buc answered
1 month ago

If you want to use live view, don't get a DSLR! Get a mirrorless camera instead. Live view is an emergency function for DSLR, but for mirrorless cameras it's the normal way of functioning. You don't lose any image quality by selecting a mirrorless camera (as long as it has APS-C sensor). What is important, is the camera sensor size, and not the camera size. DSLR are good if you want to shoot action, or if you like optical viewfinder, or if you like to look like a professional. Mirrorless are good if you want a smaller camera + lens system with fast auto focus when using the screen, or if you want autofocus when shooting video. Things like face detection are also available on mirrorless cameras, too. Continue Reading

pannumon answered
1 month ago

If I read the OP correctly, he used the OVF on the D3100 and liked it. However, his concern was that his family was used to LiveView and would miss having that feature. Since pretty much all DSLR's since 2010 have LV and OVF, it's a moot point. Continue Reading

l_d_allan answered
1 month ago

Have your own question?

WHAT'S IN THE BOX?

  • D3100 Camera Body
  • AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR Lens
  • (2 Lens kit also includes AF-S 55-200mm f/4-5.6 G ED IF DX VR Lens)
  • EN-EL14 Battery
  • MH-24 Battery Charger
  • DK-5 Eyepiece Cap
  • DK-20 Rubber Eyecap
  • AN-DC3 Camera Strap
  • BS-1 Accessory Shoe Cover
  • BF-1B Body Cap
  • ViewNX 2 CD-ROM

Warranty Information

"No registration or "warranty" card is included or needed with a Nikon D-SLR or Coolpix camera. Keep your original, dated proof of purchase from the Authorized Nikon Inc. dealer in case warranty service is ever needed. These products do include either a mail-in form or a paper with a web link to our registration page:
https://support.nikonusa.com/app/product_registration
It's advised to register your product with Nikon so that we can send you information about future updates or service issues that may arise.


Nikkor lenses come with a standard one year warranty and Nikon Inc. lenses sold by authorized Nikon Inc. dealers will have a Nikon Inc. Five Year Extension. To register for the five year extension, one copy of the included form must be mailed in as indicated. Keep the Customer copy of the form as well as the original proof of purchase (sales receipt)."


Read the full warranty.

DPReview GearShop is an authorized Nikon dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.