Nikon D3200 DSLR Camera Kit with 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 AF-S DX VR Lens

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

73% Silver Award
All in all the Nikon D3200 is a through and through solid entry-level camera that offers good image quality, decent performance and intuitive operation.”

Read more of the review

Key Features

  • 24MP CMOS DX-format sensor
  • 4 frames per second continuous shooting
  • 11 AF points (with 3D tracking)
  • ISO 100-6400 (plus ISO 12,800-equivalent Hi1 setting)
  • Full HD 1080p video
  • 3.0 inch LCD with 920,000 dots
  • Expeed 3 processing
  • Microphone input
  • Twin IR remote receivers
  • Beginner-friendly Guide mode

Product Description

The Nikon D3200's most notable feature is its 24MP DX-format CMOS sensor. The D3200 also offers full 1080p HD video capture, a step higher in terms of resolution over its predecessor, the D3100. An optional WU-1a WiFi transmitter is designed specifically for this camera. Connecting to the camera by way of its USB port, the transmitter allows shooters to send photos from the camera to nearby smartphones and tablets running a Nikon app. The D3200's user interface is intuitive, and those moving up from a compact camera will find it pleasantly uncomplicated. Even enthusiasts will find something to like, including full manual control and a decent level of customization.

Specs

Body type
Body type Compact SLR
Sensor
Max resolution 6016 x 4000
Other resolutions 4512 x 3000, 3008 x 2000
Image ratio w:h 3:2
Effective pixels 24 megapixels
Sensor photo detectors 25 megapixels
Sensor size APS-C (23.2 x 15.4 mm)
Sensor type CMOS
Processor Expeed 3
Image
ISO Auto, 100, 200, 400, 800, 1600, 3200, 6400 (12800 with boost)
White balance presets 12
Custom white balance Yes (1)
Image stabilization No
Uncompressed format RAW
JPEG quality levels Fine, Normal, Basic
Optics & Focus
Autofocus
  • Contrast Detect (sensor)
  • Phase Detect
  • Multi-area
  • Selective single-point
  • Tracking
  • Single
  • Continuous
  • Face Detection
  • Live View
Digital zoom No
Manual focus Yes
Number of focus points 11
Lens mount Nikon F
Focal length multiplier 1.5×
Screen / viewfinder
Articulated LCD Fixed
Screen size 3
Screen dots 921,000
Touch screen No
Screen type TFT LCD with 160° viewing angle
Live view Yes
Viewfinder type Optical (pentamirror)
Viewfinder coverage 95%
Viewfinder magnification 0.8×
Photography features
Minimum shutter speed 30 sec
Maximum shutter speed 1/4000 sec
Aperture priority Yes
Shutter priority Yes
Manual exposure mode Yes
Subject / scene modes Yes
Built-in flash Yes (Pop-up)
Flash range 12.00 m (at ISO 100)
External flash Yes (Hot-shoe, Wireless plus sync connector)
Flash modes Auto, Red-Eye, Slow, Red-Eye Slow, Rear curtain
Continuous drive 4.0 fps
Self-timer Yes
Metering modes
  • Multi
  • Center-weighted
  • Spot AF-area
Exposure compensation ±5 (at 1/3 EV steps)
WB Bracketing No
Videography features
Resolutions 1920 x 1080 (30,25, 24 fps), 1280 x 720 (60, 50 fps), 640 x 424 (30, 25 fps)
Format MPEG-4, H.264
Videography notes Frame rates of 30p (actual frame rate 29.97 fps) and 60p (actual frame rate 59.94 fps) are available when NTSC is selected for video mode; 25p and 50p are available when PAL is selected for video mode; Actual frame rate when 24p is selected is 23.976 fps
Microphone Mono
Speaker Mono
Storage
Storage types SD/SDHC/SDXC UHS-I compliant
Storage included None
Connectivity
USB USB 2.0 (480 Mbit/sec)
HDMI Yes (Mini Type C)
Wireless Optional
Wireless notes WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter
Remote control Yes (Optional)
Physical
Environmentally sealed No
Battery Battery Pack
Battery description Lithium-Ion EN-EL14 rechargeable battery & charger
Battery Life (CIPA) 540
Weight (inc. batteries) 505 g (1.11 lb / 17.81 oz)
Dimensions 125 x 96 x 77 mm (4.92 x 3.78 x 3.03)
Other features
Orientation sensor Yes
GPS Optional
GPS notes GP-1

Reviews

DPReview Conclusion

Scoring is relative only to the other cameras in the same category at the time of review.

Score Breakdown
Poor Excellent
Build quality
Ergonomics & handling
Features
Metering & focus accuracy
Image quality (raw)
Image quality (jpeg)
Low light / high ISO performance
Viewfinder / screen rating
Performance
Movie / video mode
Value
Silver Award
Silver Award
73 %
Overall Score

The Nikon D3200 is a no-nonsense, ‘traditional style’ entry-level DSLR that is a solid performer on all levels. It doesn't offer much in terms of innovative features, but comes with the highest pixel-count in its class and good image quality across the ISO range. Just consider getting some high-quality Nikkor glass with it to make the most out of its high pixel count.

Good For

Novice photographers that want a capable, versatile DSLR that they won't outgrow in a hurry and experienced photographers looking for a good-value second camera to a more expensive DSLR.

Not So Good For

Fans of LCD image composition, who will be disappointed by the slow AF, and anyone who wants filter effects at the point of capture.

User Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
  • BenBoy, Jan 27, 2013 GMT:
    Nikon D3200

    The Nikon D3200 takes very high quality pictures. I especially like the high megapixels. It is the BEST for nature/landscape photography. Problems: The problems are that the file sizes are HUGE and the auto modes are bad.

    Continue Reading

  • budi0251, Nov 20, 2012 GMT:
    Good Resolve

    Bought this for my large prints craze, sure I should get a full frame for better details, but then there were no D600 (expensive too today) and D800/E still way too expensive. So, here I am with Nikon 50/1.4 Ai, maybe NEX-7 will do the job just fine, but heck, D3200 is the king of cheap 24MP APS-C. One thing to remember though, "Great MP Resolution (should) comes (and/or accompanied) with great lens too". So, nothing less than excellent prime lens for the D3200, zoom just won't resolve the ...

    Continue Reading

  • DS PhotoGraphix, Oct 28, 2012 GMT:
    Nikon D3200

    Great camera for beginners. Perfect Entry Level Camera. Problems: As of this date. No problems encountered with the camera's performance.

    Continue Reading

  • al porfido, Jun 10, 2012 GMT:
    Almost perfect

    I bought the camera for no real reason, just wanted a new toy. I shot some dance school photos with it and was very impressed with the results. I used manual white balance and shot manual with strobes and all photos came out with great color and skin tone. Auto focus still is an issue but overall I was very pleased with the camera. It out performed my D300 in every aspect except focus. Problems: Just slow focus

    Continue Reading

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

What is the best DX Nikon for noise?

I'll admit this is a bit of a long shot, as it's a very technical question, but here we go... Which is the best Nikon DX camera for low-light performance? That is, which performs best in terms of noise? It's time to upgrade my D60, and it's a great time to do it because Nikon has so many models on the market, past models are an absolute steal on ebay. It's a choice between the D3100, D3200, D3300, D5100, D5200, D5300. Although the D7000 is lovely, I don't want a camera that big and heavy - the small size and weight of the smaller models is important for me. I've scoured dpreview.com and there doesn't seem to be much difference between these models. Higher resolution = more noise BUT = more detail which kind of makes up for the increased noise. Very confusing!

5 months ago

ANSWERS

The D3200, D3300, D5200 and D5300 all have very similar noise levels at the same ISO. The D5300 and D5200 do 14 bit in the camera for the image processing pipeline, so they are a bit better than the D3200 and D3300, but only at the very, very extremes. As for even older models, the D3000 has the same 10 MP sensor that is found in your D60, but without the old Nikon colors so skip it, so matter how cheap it is. The D3100 is 14 MP and a decent camera, but the D3200 and D3300 are better. The D5000 has the same sensor as the D90 and is a slight step up regarding noise and White Balance in incandescent light, however the D5100, D5200 and D5300 are even better. The D5100 is a fine camera at 16 MP and the first camera (in this series) that you can get decent results at ISO 6400 if you are careful with exposure and if you are shooting in light near 5000-5600 Kelvin (sunlight). So I would put the D5000 as very marginal unless bought for a song, the D3100 and D5100 are only worth looking into ... Continue Reading

Catallaxy answered
5 months ago

You are correct! It used to be bad... Here is a shot I took last week at ISO 1600 using my D200: I applied some Topaz Denoise and its usable: So yes, the older cameras are BAD for high ISO. However, they type of noise they create does clean up very easily.  I don't shoot high ISO much so I still use the D200. Continue Reading

Retzius answered
4 months ago

Once you hit the 12Mp pixels sensors the sensors all about the same for noise (but not dynamic range) Continue Reading

john Clinch answered
5 months ago

QUESTION

What is the best camera for a visually-impaired photographer?

Hello, guys and gals! I am thinking about buying a DSLR/mirrorless camera and I need your help in choosing one. If I had to describe my vision problem, I would say that normal vision is like a long telephoto lens, while my eyes are wide-angle primes. I see everything much smaller than people with normal vision, but colors and focus/sharpness are not a problem. I would like to find a camera more suited for me, but it also MUST be a good interchangeable-lens camera, I won't buy another compact again. I bought the Fujifilm FinePix S4000 2 years ago and I only like one thing about it: its looong zoom (one of the longest at the time, equiv. to 700mm+ on a FF.) Image quality is bad even in good light, white balance and focus are terrible in low light. I went for a cheaper "superzoom" and I regretted not buying a DSLR. I compose using both the LCD screen and the EVF, since I rely on autofocus and I see well enough to frame the picture. However, it would be nice if I had a larger viewfinder. ...

4 months ago

ANSWERS

Viewfinders have three ratings: Magnification, coverage, and crop factor. The image size is: Magnification * coverage / crop factor If you want a big image, you want a low crop factor. Full frame is the way to go. If you cannot do full frame, a decent EVF will beat even the nicest APS OVFs. A Sony A77 viewfinder has a magnification of 0.72x. For comparison, a D7100 is 0.61x. A 70D is 0.59x, and only 95% coverage. An A6000 is 0.70x. I have good vision, and I really don't enjoy using APS OVFs all that much, even on the very high end. If you step down to a 100D or a D3200, the OVFs are painfully bad -- 0.54x and 0.5x respectively with 95% coverage. On the Sony end, I would look much more at the A-mount than E-mount. A-mount lens options are probably better in your price range than Canon/Nikon, at least if you want image stabilization. Wide aperture primes on A-mount all become stabilized. That's super-nice. Continue Reading

Alphoid answered
4 months ago

Difficult to say what you need to assist you with using a camera, but I cam across the following for videography. It clips over the lcd screen on your camera and magnifies the display a little. Might be worth visiting a store somewhere to try one out. I've only seen one on a canon camera, but am sure they are available for other makes and models.. http://paulmichaelegan.wordpress.com/2012/02/05/2-8x-lcd-view-finder-viewer-extender-v2-for-canon-550d-nikon-d90/ Hope that helps a little! Continue Reading

cnw180 answered
4 months ago

Thanks. I've seen a video of something like that on Youtube. But I'd probably end up not using it because it makes the camera so much bigger. Maybe a magnified eyepiece would be better? http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/387769-REG/Nikon_4793_DK_17M_Magnifying_Eyepiece_for.html Continue Reading

wideangleprime answered
4 months ago

QUESTION

Interested in object photography, thinking about a a5000 as my first real camera

Hi everyone. I've become increasingly interested in photography the last years, and especially object/macro photography, but I'm currently only shooting with my phone (xperia Z). I went through my dropbox camera folder recently and was totally dejected by what I saw there. Every picture is grainy, lacks colour-depth and has "too much background". I got a lightbox a few months ago, hoping it'd give me more hours of the day to take pics, but it seems the phone's sensor is "corrupted" by the lighting conditions outside the lightbox (and it can't handle the white or black background). Here's 2 unedited pics from my 2 latest shoots: Bunny taken during a sunny morning: https://flic.kr/p/oRPeW5 (and one of the few pics from that shoot that's not too bright/washed out by too much light) Figma taken during the night: https://flic.kr/p/oRR5NK Edited version of last pic where I've compensated more than enhanced (:S): https://flic.kr/p/oD4Yge I'm kinda in a position now where I want to either ...

1 month ago

ANSWERS

So you'll be shooting stuff that stays still, maybe even in a studio environment? Not surprising. Phone cameras, apert from their technical limitations, are designed to get as much into the picture as possible with a wide angle. Definitely a studio environment.! Surprisingly good considering your equipment and lack of experience. For your studio-style shooting you don't need 'a camera that's good at low-light' but some simple lights and a tripod. Similarly you need to be able to focus manually and control the exposure effectively. If your outside shooting has any special requirements then tell us about them. Is that likely to be in low light? Are we talking social pictures (parties, evenings in the bar....) or stuff like landscapes, architecture... So that's for non-studio shooting. Do you have any particular subjects in mind? Choose the camera you need in terms of its photographic capabilities. If you also get wifi then it's a bonus. Transferring from an SD card to a computer -- ... Continue Reading

AlbertInFrance answered
1 month ago

There is an almost infinite choice with a Sony mirrorless camera. That includes all the classic Nikon macro equipment, such as the PB-4 bellows. I have used mainly Nikon lenses with my Sony 5N. The AI lenses work extremely well. As Sony seem to bring out an updated camera every week, I think development of the E mount range is not a worry. The A mount reflex cameras may have a more limited future. Continue Reading

D Cox answered
1 month ago

And I use Nikkors with my Fuji X-E1. That doesn't mean that it is as easy to work with as having native kit. Just the small matter of having automatic stop-down to shooting aperture rather than either focusing stopped down (less good for critical focus) or stopping down manually after focusing (time you can't afford if shooting live subjects) makes a big difference. Maybe not a worry this year. The owners of A mounts probably thought the same way. I don't know how long Fuji will support the X mount that I use, but Nikon have about the best track record of any manufacturer for maintaining compatibility. Continue Reading

AlbertInFrance answered
1 month ago

WHAT'S IN THE BOX?

  • D3200 Camera Body
  • AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR Lens
  • EN-EL14 Battery
  • MH-24 Battery Charger
  • UC-E17 USB Cable
  • DK-5 Eyepiece Cap
  • DK-20 Rubber Eyecap
  • AN-DC3 Camera Strap
  • BS-1 Accessory Shoe Cover
  • BF-1B Body Cap
  • Nikon ViewNX 2 CD-ROM

Warranty Information

"No registration or "warranty" card is included or needed with a Nikon D-SLR or Coolpix camera. Keep your original, dated proof of purchase from the Authorized Nikon Inc. dealer in case warranty service is ever needed. These products do include either a mail-in form or a paper with a web link to our registration page:
https://support.nikonusa.com/app/product_registration
It's advised to register your product with Nikon so that we can send you information about future updates or service issues that may arise.


Nikkor lenses come with a standard one year warranty and Nikon Inc. lenses sold by authorized Nikon Inc. dealers will have a Nikon Inc. Five Year Extension. To register for the five year extension, one copy of the included form must be mailed in as indicated. Keep the Customer copy of the form as well as the original proof of purchase (sales receipt)."


Read the full warranty.

DPReview GearShop is an authorized Nikon dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.