Nikon D3200 DSLR Camera Kit with 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 AF-S DX VR Lens

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

73% Silver Award
All in all the Nikon D3200 is a through and through solid entry-level camera that offers good image quality, decent performance and intuitive operation.”

Read more of the review

Key Features

  • 24MP CMOS DX-format sensor
  • 4 frames per second continuous shooting
  • 11 AF points (with 3D tracking)
  • ISO 100-6400 (plus ISO 12,800-equivalent Hi1 setting)
  • Full HD 1080p video
  • 3.0 inch LCD with 920,000 dots
  • Expeed 3 processing
  • Microphone input
  • Twin IR remote receivers
  • Beginner-friendly Guide mode

Product Description

The Nikon D3200's most notable feature is its 24MP DX-format CMOS sensor. The D3200 also offers full 1080p HD video capture, a step higher in terms of resolution over its predecessor, the D3100. An optional WU-1a WiFi transmitter is designed specifically for this camera. Connecting to the camera by way of its USB port, the transmitter allows shooters to send photos from the camera to nearby smartphones and tablets running a Nikon app. The D3200's user interface is intuitive, and those moving up from a compact camera will find it pleasantly uncomplicated. Even enthusiasts will find something to like, including full manual control and a decent level of customization.

Specs

Body type
Body type Compact SLR
Sensor
Max resolution 6016 x 4000
Other resolutions 4512 x 3000, 3008 x 2000
Image ratio w:h 3:2
Effective pixels 24 megapixels
Sensor photo detectors 25 megapixels
Sensor size APS-C (23.2 x 15.4 mm)
Sensor type CMOS
Processor Expeed 3
Image
ISO Auto, 100, 200, 400, 800, 1600, 3200, 6400 (12800 with boost)
White balance presets 12
Custom white balance Yes (1)
Image stabilization No
Uncompressed format RAW
JPEG quality levels Fine, Normal, Basic
Optics & Focus
Autofocus
  • Contrast Detect (sensor)
  • Phase Detect
  • Multi-area
  • Selective single-point
  • Tracking
  • Single
  • Continuous
  • Face Detection
  • Live View
Digital zoom No
Manual focus Yes
Number of focus points 11
Lens mount Nikon F
Focal length multiplier 1.5×
Screen / viewfinder
Articulated LCD Fixed
Screen size 3
Screen dots 921,000
Touch screen No
Screen type TFT LCD with 160° viewing angle
Live view Yes
Viewfinder type Optical (pentamirror)
Viewfinder coverage 95%
Viewfinder magnification 0.8×
Photography features
Minimum shutter speed 30 sec
Maximum shutter speed 1/4000 sec
Aperture priority Yes
Shutter priority Yes
Manual exposure mode Yes
Subject / scene modes Yes
Built-in flash Yes (Pop-up)
Flash range 12.00 m (at ISO 100)
External flash Yes (Hot-shoe, Wireless plus sync connector)
Flash modes Auto, Red-Eye, Slow, Red-Eye Slow, Rear curtain
Continuous drive 4 fps
Self-timer Yes
Metering modes
  • Multi
  • Center-weighted
  • Spot AF-area
Exposure compensation ±5 (at 1/3 EV steps)
WB Bracketing No
Videography features
Resolutions 1920 x 1080 (30,25, 24 fps), 1280 x 720 (60, 50 fps), 640 x 424 (30, 25 fps)
Format MPEG-4, H.264
Videography notes Frame rates of 30p (actual frame rate 29.97 fps) and 60p (actual frame rate 59.94 fps) are available when NTSC is selected for video mode; 25p and 50p are available when PAL is selected for video mode; Actual frame rate when 24p is selected is 23.976 fps
Microphone Mono
Speaker Mono
Storage
Storage types SD/SDHC/SDXC UHS-I compliant
Storage included None
Connectivity
USB USB 2.0 (480 Mbit/sec)
HDMI Yes (Mini Type C)
Wireless Optional
Wireless notes WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter
Remote control Yes (Optional)
Physical
Environmentally sealed No
Battery Battery Pack
Battery description Lithium-Ion EN-EL14 rechargeable battery & charger
Battery Life (CIPA) 540
Weight (inc. batteries) 505 g (1.11 lb / 17.81 oz)
Dimensions 125 x 96 x 77 mm (4.92 x 3.78 x 3.03)
Other features
Orientation sensor Yes
GPS Optional
GPS notes GP-1

Reviews

DPReview Conclusion

Scoring is relative only to the other cameras in the same category at the time of review.

Score Breakdown
Poor Excellent
Build quality
Ergonomics & handling
Features
Metering & focus accuracy
Image quality (raw)
Image quality (jpeg)
Low light / high ISO performance
Viewfinder / screen rating
Performance
Movie / video mode
Value
Silver Award
Silver Award
73 %
Overall Score

The Nikon D3200 is a no-nonsense , ‘traditional style’ entry-level DSLR that is a solid performer on all levels. It doesn't offer much in terms of innovative features but comes with the highest pixel-count in its class and good image quality across the ISO range. Just consider getting some high quality Nikkor glass with it to make the most out of its high pixel-count.

Good For

Novice photographers that want a capable, versatile DSLR that they won't outgrow in a hurry and experienced photographers looking for a good-value second camera to a more expensive DSLR.

Not So Good For

Fans of LCD image composition, who will be disappointed by the slow AF, and anyone who wants filter effects at the point of capture.

User Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
  • BenBoy, Jan 27, 2013 GMT:
    Nikon D3200

    The Nikon D3200 takes very high quality pictures. I especially like the high megapixels. It is the BEST for nature/landscape photography. Problems: The problems are that the file sizes are HUGE and the auto modes are bad.

    Continue Reading

  • budi0251, Nov 20, 2012 GMT:
    Good Resolve

    Bought this for my large prints craze, sure I should get a full frame for better details, but then there were no D600 (expensive too today) and D800/E still way too expensive. So, here I am with Nikon 50/1.4 Ai, maybe NEX-7 will do the job just fine, but heck, D3200 is the king of cheap 24MP APS-C. One thing to remember though, "Great MP Resolution (should) comes (and/or accompanied) with great lens too". So, nothing less than excellent prime lens for the D3200, zoom just won't resolve the ...

    Continue Reading

  • DS PhotoGraphix, Oct 28, 2012 GMT:
    Nikon D3200

    Great camera for beginners. Perfect Entry Level Camera. Problems: As of this date. No problems encountered with the camera's performance.

    Continue Reading

  • al porfido, Jun 10, 2012 GMT:
    Almost perfect

    I bought the camera for no real reason, just wanted a new toy. I shot some dance school photos with it and was very impressed with the results. I used manual white balance and shot manual with strobes and all photos came out with great color and skin tone. Auto focus still is an issue but overall I was very pleased with the camera. It out performed my D300 in every aspect except focus. Problems: Just slow focus

    Continue Reading

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

Nikon D3200 - a solid upgrade for beginners?

Greetings, I want to dive into photography and wanted to change to a DSRL. My camera so far is an old Canon Power Shot SD770 with Digital ELPH, but I wanted to move to a DSRL for better results and more liberty of composition. I wanted a camera that's going to be both an upgrade and an opening of possibilities for me into photography. However, I wanted a camera who also could be used by my family, for everyday photos as well. I was deciding on the D3200 since it's in a good price these days, but I wanted to check something with you, a last doubt prior to making the purchase. Does the camera offer a good experience with the LCD screen for taking pictures, instead of the regular optical viewfinder? Is it similar (or better) than the PowerShot I had? I'm concerned with LCD because my family is very used with it for photos, and I didn't want to make an upgrade to DSLR with only my interests in perspective. I had an experience with a D3100 at work and thought it wouldn't be good for my ...

Gabriel Alt asked
4 months ago

ANSWERS

You are definitely not for a dSLR. First is that you require using LCD for taking photos. This is not how dSLRs are designed to work. You are used with the small cameras that have only this type of framing. You rather are the target for mirrorless offerings. They don't offer you the possibility to look through the lens but show you what sensor sees. There are different mirrorless manufacturers, some offering similar quality as a dSLR but without the AF speed of the latter. I heard good things about Fuji X (they seem to fix the bugs of the sensor). Another option would be Sony NEX series (that is replaced lately with Sony Ax000). Good luck! All will give you a night and day difference in quality compared with your old camera. Continue Reading

baloo_buc answered
4 months ago

If you want to use live view, don't get a DSLR! Get a mirrorless camera instead. Live view is an emergency function for DSLR, but for mirrorless cameras it's the normal way of functioning. You don't lose any image quality by selecting a mirrorless camera (as long as it has APS-C sensor). What is important, is the camera sensor size, and not the camera size. DSLR are good if you want to shoot action, or if you like optical viewfinder, or if you like to look like a professional. Mirrorless are good if you want a smaller camera + lens system with fast auto focus when using the screen, or if you want autofocus when shooting video. Things like face detection are also available on mirrorless cameras, too. Continue Reading

pannumon answered
4 months ago

If I read the OP correctly, he used the OVF on the D3100 and liked it. However, his concern was that his family was used to LiveView and would miss having that feature. Since pretty much all DSLR's since 2010 have LV and OVF, it's a moot point. Continue Reading

l_d_allan answered
4 months ago

QUESTION

What is the best DX Nikon for noise?

I'll admit this is a bit of a long shot, as it's a very technical question, but here we go... Which is the best Nikon DX camera for low-light performance? That is, which performs best in terms of noise? It's time to upgrade my D60, and it's a great time to do it because Nikon has so many models on the market, past models are an absolute steal on ebay. It's a choice between the D3100, D3200, D3300, D5100, D5200, D5300. Although the D7000 is lovely, I don't want a camera that big and heavy - the small size and weight of the smaller models is important for me. I've scoured dpreview.com and there doesn't seem to be much difference between these models. Higher resolution = more noise BUT = more detail which kind of makes up for the increased noise. Very confusing!

2 months ago

ANSWERS

The D3200, D3300, D5200 and D5300 all have very similar noise levels at the same ISO. The D5300 and D5200 do 14 bit in the camera for the image processing pipeline, so they are a bit better than the D3200 and D3300, but only at the very, very extremes. As for even older models, the D3000 has the same 10 MP sensor that is found in your D60, but without the old Nikon colors so skip it, so matter how cheap it is. The D3100 is 14 MP and a decent camera, but the D3200 and D3300 are better. The D5000 has the same sensor as the D90 and is a slight step up regarding noise and White Balance in incandescent light, however the D5100, D5200 and D5300 are even better. The D5100 is a fine camera at 16 MP and the first camera (in this series) that you can get decent results at ISO 6400 if you are careful with exposure and if you are shooting in light near 5000-5600 Kelvin (sunlight). So I would put the D5000 as very marginal unless bought for a song, the D3100 and D5100 are only worth looking into ... Continue Reading

Catallaxy answered
2 months ago

You are correct! It used to be bad... Here is a shot I took last week at ISO 1600 using my D200: I applied some Topaz Denoise and its usable: So yes, the older cameras are BAD for high ISO. However, they type of noise they create does clean up very easily.  I don't shoot high ISO much so I still use the D200. Continue Reading

Retzius answered
2 months ago

Once you hit the 12Mp pixels sensors the sensors all about the same for noise (but not dynamic range) Continue Reading

john Clinch answered
2 months ago

QUESTION

Getting into DSLR world

For sometime, I've been reading reviews and going through the spces of DSLRs to pick the right one for me. After some careful selection, it has narrowed down to these three, Nikon 5200, Nikon 5100, Canon 650D * Even though there is the new Canon 700D, I've simply taken it out of consideration due to lack of improvement from the predecessor. * The question is between these three cameras. Since I'm getting into DSLR world, there is no issue in selecting either one of them. (like lenses, build of cameras, GUI & etc.) * According to many reviews, the Nikon duo stands ahead of the Canon 650D. And also, I'm not a big fan of the touch screen. It's only going to leave marks on the screen after using the touch screen. * I'm more of a travel photographer (that includes both day and night shots with low light). Therefore, I feel that the Nikkor 18-105mm lens would suit me as the kit lens. And also, it's cheaper compared to Canon 18-135mm STM. * The biggest question remains between the Nikon ...

1 year ago

ANSWERS

There has always been, and will always be greener grass on the other side of the fence. I am not all that familiar with the D5100/5200, and know nothing about Canon offerings. It sounds like the D5100/5200 is pretty much like the D7000/7100. Rather than the 18-105, I would recommend the 16-85. It costs a little more, but is a better lens. Later I would add a 70-300. Check this link to the D5200/70-300. He may have a better opinion than I do. http://www.dpreview.com/forums/post/51727418 Continue Reading

Cope answered
1 year ago

I just bought my first DSLR a few months ago. Previously I had been using an Olympus EPL-3. I went with the D5100, 18-105 and 35 1.8g and I could not be happier. The better AF of the D5200 would be nice, but when you factor in price, I don't think you can beat the D5100 right now. There is always something that is a little better and little more expensive, but the D5100 does everything I need and more, and my whole kit cost less than $800. ETA: the Sensor in the D5100 is excellent. I think you'd need really expensive glass, or real pro level talent to pull anything noticeably better out of the D5200 in that regard. Continue Reading

DaveInPhilly answered
1 year ago

I started with a factory refurbished Nikon D3100 and 18-55 kit lens a few months ago. It was around $350 which I feel was a real bargain. The D3100 was my first DSLR and made an excellent learning platform IMO. I wanted the additional features like 39 focus points, auto bracketing, better video, articulating screen, 24 megapixels and more of the D5200. But as the knowledgable and generous members of this forum suggested, I could do fine with the D3100 body and better lenses. So for $200 I bought the Nikon 35mm f/1.8G lens and it was a BIG jump in image quality. The next lens I wanted for the D3100 would be the 70-300 VR. Then in June Nikon ran a "buy more and save" promotion and I could buy the D5200 body with 70-300 VR lens and save $200 off the individual purchase prices. I went for it. No regrets. I love the camera and lens. My 35mm f/1.8 lens works beautifully on the D5200 and I recently bought a wide angle lens. I'm going to do my best to make this a "three lens kit" and stop ... Continue Reading

BlueJakester answered
1 year ago

WHAT'S IN THE BOX?

  • D3200 Camera Body
  • AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR Lens
  • EN-EL14 Battery
  • MH-24 Battery Charger
  • UC-E17 USB Cable
  • DK-5 Eyepiece Cap
  • DK-20 Rubber Eyecap
  • AN-DC3 Camera Strap
  • BS-1 Accessory Shoe Cover
  • BF-1B Body Cap
  • Nikon ViewNX 2 CD-ROM

Compatible Products

Warranty Information

"No registration or "warranty" card is included or needed with a Nikon D-SLR or Coolpix camera. Keep your original, dated proof of purchase from the Authorized Nikon Inc. dealer in case warranty service is ever needed. These products do include either a mail-in form or a paper with a web link to our registration page:
https://support.nikonusa.com/app/product_registration
It's advised to register your product with Nikon so that we can send you information about future updates or service issues that may arise.


Nikkor lenses come with a standard one year warranty and Nikon Inc. lenses sold by authorized Nikon Inc. dealers will have a Nikon Inc. Five Year Extension. To register for the five year extension, one copy of the included form must be mailed in as indicated. Keep the Customer copy of the form as well as the original proof of purchase (sales receipt)."


Read the full warranty.

DPReview GearShop is an authorized Nikon dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.