Nikon D5200 DSLR Camera

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

79% Silver Award
Overall the D5200 is perfectly pleasant and capable little SLR, which is nice to use, delivers great results and offers a specification that wouldn't have looked out of place on a top-end SLR only a few years ago.”

Read more of the review

Key Features

  • 24MP DX-format CMOS sensor
  • 39-point (9 cross type) dynamic area AF system with 3D tracking
  • Up to 5 frames per second continuous shooting
  • 1080p 30FPS HD video (1080p, 60i) with full-time contrast-detect AF
  • ISO 100-6400, expandable to 25,600 equivalent
  • 3 inch vari-angle LCD with 921,000 dots
  • Wi-Fi (for sharing and remote camera control) and GPS compatible (sold separately)

Product Description

The Nikon D5200 is an upper entry-level DSLR that improves on the D5100 by offering a 24MP CMOS sensor, 1080p at 30FPS movie capability, a side-articulated 921K dot 3" tilt/swivel LCD and new processing filters. The D5200 is also equipped with a significantly upgraded AF system, based around the same Multi-Cam 4800DX AF sensor that is used in the D7000, and the same 2016-pixel RGB metering sensor. The D5200 is also compatible with Nikon's optional WU-1b WiFi module. You also have the option of taking full control over all exposure values while shooting video - aperture, shutter speed and ISO - in M mode, or letting the camera set the latter two for you.

Specs

Body type
Body type Compact SLR
Sensor
Max resolution 6000 x 4000
Other resolutions 4496 x 3000, 2992 x 2000
Image ratio w:h 3:2
Effective pixels 24 megapixels
Sensor photo detectors 25 megapixels
Sensor size APS-C (23.5 x 15.6 mm)
Sensor type CMOS
Processor Expeed 3
Image
ISO Auto, 100 - 6400 (25600 with boost)
White balance presets 12
Custom white balance Yes (5)
Image stabilization No
Uncompressed format RAW
JPEG quality levels Fine, Normal, Basic
Optics & Focus
Autofocus
  • Contrast Detect (sensor)
  • Phase Detect
  • Multi-area
  • Selective single-point
  • Tracking
  • Single
  • Continuous
  • Face Detection
  • Live View
Digital zoom No
Manual focus Yes
Number of focus points 39
Lens mount Nikon F
Focal length multiplier 1.5×
Screen / viewfinder
Articulated LCD Fully articulated
Screen size 3
Screen dots 921,000
Touch screen No
Screen type TFT LCD monitor
Live view Yes (With contrast-detect AF, face detection and subject tracking)
Viewfinder type Optical (pentamirror)
Viewfinder coverage 95%
Viewfinder magnification 0.78×
Photography features
Minimum shutter speed 30 sec
Maximum shutter speed 1/4000 sec
Aperture priority Yes
Shutter priority Yes
Manual exposure mode Yes
Subject / scene modes Yes
Built-in flash Yes (Pop-up)
Flash range 12.00 m (at ISO 100)
External flash Yes (Hot-shoe)
Flash modes Auto, On, Off, Red-eye, Slow sync, Rear curtain
Continuous drive 3.0 fps
Self-timer Yes (2, 5, 10 or 20 sec)
Metering modes
  • Multi
  • Center-weighted
  • Spot
Exposure compensation ±5 (at 1/3 EV, 1/2 EV steps)
AE Bracketing ±2 (3 frames at 1/3 EV, 1/2 EV steps)
WB Bracketing Yes (3 frames in either blue/amber or magenta/green axis)
Videography features
Resolutions 1920 x 1080 (60, 50, 30, 25, 24 fps), 1280 x 720 (60, 50 fps), 640 x 424 (30, 25 fps)
Format MPEG-4, H.264
Videography notes 1920 x 1080, 60i (59.94 fields/s)/ 50i (50 fields/s), high/normal 1920 x 1080, 30 p (progressive)/25p/24p, high/normal
Microphone Stereo
Speaker Mono
Storage
Storage types SD/SDHC/SDXC
Connectivity
USB USB 2.0 (480 Mbit/sec)
HDMI Yes (Mini Type C)
Wireless Optional
Remote control Yes (Optional ML-L3 or WR-R10)
Physical
Environmentally sealed No
Battery Battery Pack
Battery description Lithium-Ion EN-EL14 rechargeable battery & charger
Weight (inc. batteries) 555 g (1.22 lb / 19.58 oz)
Dimensions 129 x 98 x 78 mm (5.08 x 3.86 x 3.07)
Other features
Orientation sensor Yes
Timelapse recording Yes
GPS Optional
GPS notes GP-1

Reviews

DPReview Conclusion

Scoring is relative only to the other cameras in the same category at the time of review.

Score Breakdown
Poor Excellent
Build quality
Ergonomics & handling
Features
Metering & focus accuracy
Image quality (raw)
Image quality (jpeg)
Low light / high ISO performance
Viewfinder / screen rating
Performance
Movie / video mode
Value
Silver Award
Silver Award
79 %
Overall Score

The Nikon D5200 is a solid performer that delivers excellent image quality and impressive high-ISO performance, along with an articulated screen and a control interface that's appropriate for users stepping up to a DSLR.

Good For

Users who demand the utmost in image detail at low ISO values and videographers who can make use of uncompressed video footage.

Not So Good For

Photographers who work primarily in live view and videographers who want high quality 60i output.

User Reviews

4.25 out of 5 stars
  • ARC, Dec 31, 2012 GMT:
    Nikon D5200 first hands on impressions

    Just received new D5200 today body only from Amazon UK- using it with Nikon 35mm 1.8 mm lens and is a good combination. Fast quiet and light weight. The autofocus is quick to lock on and flash is well balanced with minimal overexposures. So far only playing about with camera inside but will try it out on New Year's Day outside. Not a big video user but it works quickly and takes good videos with reasonable sound Reminds me of the D7000 but lighter weight and hinged LCD is useful and ...

    Continue Reading

  • Scottelly, Dec 19, 2012 GMT:
    Logical Next Step, But Wish It Would Have Weather Seals

    Like the others who have rated/reviewed this camera before it has actually shipped, meaning that the review is based on specs and sample images posted by Nikon or some other company, I have to say that my "review" is based on the fact that I am expecting this camera to retail for $1,000 at launch (probably $995 or $899 on the street). With that in mind, if it comes on the market for a couple hundred dollars less than that, I would give it an extra star. Like other people here, I have not ...

    Continue Reading

  • NIKON5200, Dec 10, 2012 GMT:
    Advantages of the Nikon D5200--Nikon D90

    Advantages of the Nikon D5200 True resolution Much higher true resolution 24 MP vs 12.2 MP Help Capture around 2x more detail in your photos Movie format Higher resolution movies 1080p @ 30fps vs 720p @ 24fps Help Shoots higher resolution Full HD (1080p) video at a higher frame rate Focus points Many more focus points 39 vs 11 Help Set focus accurately within the frame External mic jack Has an external mic jack Yes vs No Help Record high quality audio with an external microphone Cross ...

    Continue Reading

  • a43anshi, Nov 12, 2012 GMT:
    image quality

    image quality is excellent,

    Continue Reading

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

Why does this subsection still exist?

I understand when there was the D2x and the D300 why the differentiation between "pro" and "non-pro" DX cameras. But since 2010 there have been cameras like the D5200 and D7000 that were far better cameras than these "pro" DX cameras in almost every respect. I had the D2x, D3, D300 and all their predecessors, and now have the D800e and the D7100 cameras. The IQ from the D7100 surpasses all of these DX cameras by a wide margin. It produces images at ISO 3200 that compare well to those from the D3 and the D800e. Autofocus with telephotos and teleconverters is noticeably better with the D7100 than with any of these other cameras. So what really constitutes a "pro DX" camera at the present time?

calson asked
2 months ago

ANSWERS

Since you have so many cameras, I would have thought that you would have noticed the difference. If not ... what exactly have you been doing with all those machines? And why do you need so many models if they are all the same? JC Some cameras, some lenses, some computers Continue Reading

n057 answered
2 months ago

wasn't satisfied with the answer the last time he posted the question two months ago! http://www.dpreview.com/forums/post/53545455 Alternatively he has severe memory lapses, is trolling, or is just bored and has nothing better to do? Continue Reading

Phil_L answered
2 months ago

"at least8 fps", The way Nikon has been intentionally limiting the speed of their lesser than top of the line pro bodies I'm not convinced. I'd guess at least 7, maybe 8, doubt much higher. Hope I'm wrong. But will it have controls that are similar to the D800/D810/D4? Will it have a round eye piece with curtain? Or the pathetic square eye piece of the less than pro cameras? 10 pin port? I'm inclined to think not sadly. Nikon needs to be touting their pro build and features on an increasing number of their cameras, not less. They need to solidly take the high end. The fight for the small margins on consumer cameras and wide variety of competition leave them less able to distinguish themselves.  There are LOTS of great consumer cameras out there by many brands. But Nikon's pro/semi-pro (D200-D4) camera build quality, ergonomics, physical features are a huge advantage. Only Canon can compete with that and I personally think the Nikon designs are worlds better. For Nikon to restrict ... Continue Reading

dylanear answered
2 months ago

QUESTION

DSLR for beginner

Im looking for a good quality DSLR camera to get in December. Trying to widen my search as I have taken high interest in the Nikon D5200 but still want to look into other cameras to make up my mind. I am a beginner to photography and plan on becoming one, so something good for beginner level and powerful to acquire amazing/stunning photos. -not expensive im willing to spend a max of $750-$800 -good autofocus -decent to good in low lighting/nighttime -comes with lense -good FPS for sports/moving objects -good for beginner/entry -decent battery (not totally important) -easy to hold/use

Amayberry asked
2 months ago

ANSWERS

Your question really suggests you expect the camera to do the work and make the difference. The reality is that you need to develop some technique to do what you want so I'd suggest you grab a book on basic photographic technique first and then, after you've got an idea of what's realistically possible and roughly how, decide on what equipment you want. Continue Reading

darklamp answered
2 months ago

lots of options it all depends on the shooting situation.  You have to understand the focus system in the camera and how it behaves.  Many cameras have center focus points that are more accurate than other points.  Additionally, some cameras are better than others in low light.  Some cameras are better at continuously tracking subjects that move through focal planes.  If you're shooting in low light, having wide aperture lenses or flash (which uses an assist beam to help focus) can greatly help.  Any ILC of current generation is going to perform better than fixed-lens cameras.  But, some do a better job than others in different circumstances. Again it depends on what YOU believe is decent.  Any ILC will have better high ISO performance than fixed lens cameras.  But a camera with kit lens can't do miracles.  Some times you need a good flash, some times a wide aperture lens or some times both to acheive the results you want. Every ILC today at your price point can come with a kit ... Continue Reading

John_A_G answered
2 months ago

Just about any entry level DSLR from Canon, Nikon, Pentax or Sony (SLT) would probably meet your requirements as would many entry level mirrorless interchangeable lens cameras. For low light or nightime shooting you will need either and extra lens with a large maximum aperture, an external flash or a tripod depending on what you want to shoot. Some cameras will have faster fps rates than others - what exactly do you want to photograph. My suggestion is that you go into a camera store and handle as many different interchangeable cameras as possible and find out which you personally find easy to hold and use.  That is a good way to start. Continue Reading

Chris R-UK answered
2 months ago

QUESTION

What is the best DX Nikon for noise?

I'll admit this is a bit of a long shot, as it's a very technical question, but here we go... Which is the best Nikon DX camera for low-light performance? That is, which performs best in terms of noise? It's time to upgrade my D60, and it's a great time to do it because Nikon has so many models on the market, past models are an absolute steal on ebay. It's a choice between the D3100, D3200, D3300, D5100, D5200, D5300. Although the D7000 is lovely, I don't want a camera that big and heavy - the small size and weight of the smaller models is important for me. I've scoured dpreview.com and there doesn't seem to be much difference between these models. Higher resolution = more noise BUT = more detail which kind of makes up for the increased noise. Very confusing!

4 months ago

ANSWERS

The D3200, D3300, D5200 and D5300 all have very similar noise levels at the same ISO. The D5300 and D5200 do 14 bit in the camera for the image processing pipeline, so they are a bit better than the D3200 and D3300, but only at the very, very extremes. As for even older models, the D3000 has the same 10 MP sensor that is found in your D60, but without the old Nikon colors so skip it, so matter how cheap it is. The D3100 is 14 MP and a decent camera, but the D3200 and D3300 are better. The D5000 has the same sensor as the D90 and is a slight step up regarding noise and White Balance in incandescent light, however the D5100, D5200 and D5300 are even better. The D5100 is a fine camera at 16 MP and the first camera (in this series) that you can get decent results at ISO 6400 if you are careful with exposure and if you are shooting in light near 5000-5600 Kelvin (sunlight). So I would put the D5000 as very marginal unless bought for a song, the D3100 and D5100 are only worth looking into ... Continue Reading

Catallaxy answered
4 months ago

You are correct! It used to be bad... Here is a shot I took last week at ISO 1600 using my D200: I applied some Topaz Denoise and its usable: So yes, the older cameras are BAD for high ISO. However, they type of noise they create does clean up very easily.  I don't shoot high ISO much so I still use the D200. Continue Reading

Retzius answered
4 months ago

Once you hit the 12Mp pixels sensors the sensors all about the same for noise (but not dynamic range) Continue Reading

john Clinch answered
4 months ago

WHAT'S IN THE BOX?

  • D5200 Camera Body
  • Lens kit includes either AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR OR AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR Lens
  • EN-EL14 Rechargeable Li-ion Battery
  • MH-24 Quick Charger
  • DK-20 Rubber Eyecup
  • UC-E17 USB Cable
  • EG-CP16 Audio Video Cable
  • AN-DC3 Camera Strap
  • DK-5 Eyepiece Cap
  • BF-1B Body Cap
  • BS-1 Accessory Shoe Cover
  • Nikon ViewNX 2 CD-ROM

Compatible Products

Warranty Information

"No registration or "warranty" card is included or needed with a Nikon D-SLR or Coolpix camera. Keep your original, dated proof of purchase from the Authorized Nikon Inc. dealer in case warranty service is ever needed. These products do include either a mail-in form or a paper with a web link to our registration page:
https://support.nikonusa.com/app/product_registration
It's advised to register your product with Nikon so that we can send you information about future updates or service issues that may arise.


Nikkor lenses come with a standard one year warranty and Nikon Inc. lenses sold by authorized Nikon Inc. dealers will have a Nikon Inc. Five Year Extension. To register for the five year extension, one copy of the included form must be mailed in as indicated. Keep the Customer copy of the form as well as the original proof of purchase (sales receipt)."


Read the full warranty.

DPReview GearShop is an authorized Nikon dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.