Nikon D5300 DSLR Camera

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

79% Silver Award
If you're looking for a DSLR and want something approachable yet serious, but not quite as pro as the D7100, the D5300 is an excellent option.”

Read more of the review

Key Features

  • 24MP DX-format CMOS sensor with no optical low-pass filter
  • 39-point AF system with 3D tracking and 3D matrix metering II
  • 5 frames per second continuous shooting
  • ISO 100 - 12800 (Expandable to 25600)
  • 3.2" Vari-angle LCD with 1,037,000 dots
  • 1080 (60p, 30p, 24p) and 720 (60p, 50p) HD video (H.264/MPEG-4)
  • Built-in Wi-Fi (for sharing and remote camera control) and GPS
  • Raw and Raw+ JPG shooting
  • SD/SDHC/SDXC memory

Product Description

The Nikon D5300 is an upper entry-level DSLR that improves on the D5200 by removing the optical low-pass filter (OLPF) from its 24MP CMOS sensor, and featuring true 60p HD video capability, and a slightly larger 3.2-inch side-articulated tilt/swivel LCD. The D5300 features a 39-point AF system, based around the same Multi-Cam 4800DX AF sensor used in the D7100, and the same 2016-pixel RGB metering sensor. The D5300 is Nikon's first DSLR to feature built-in Wi-Fi and GPS.

Specs

Body type
Body type Compact SLR
Sensor
Max resolution 6000 x 4000
Other resolutions 4496 x 3000, 2992 x 2000
Image ratio w:h 3:2
Effective pixels 24 megapixels
Sensor photo detectors 25 megapixels
Sensor size APS-C (23.5 x 15.6 mm)
Sensor type CMOS
Processor Expeed 4
Image
ISO Auto, 100 - 12800 (25600 with boost)
White balance presets 12
Custom white balance Yes (1)
Image stabilization No
Uncompressed format RAW
JPEG quality levels Fine, Normal, Basic
Optics & Focus
Autofocus
  • Contrast Detect (sensor)
  • Phase Detect
  • Multi-area
  • Center
  • Selective single-point
  • Tracking
  • Single
  • Continuous
  • Face Detection
  • Live View
Digital zoom No
Manual focus Yes
Number of focus points 39
Lens mount Nikon F
Focal length multiplier 1.5×
Screen / viewfinder
Articulated LCD Fully articulated
Screen size 3.2
Screen dots 1,037,000
Touch screen No
Screen type TFT LCD monitor
Live view Yes (With contrast-detect AF, face detection and subject tracking)
Viewfinder type Optical (pentamirror)
Viewfinder coverage 95%
Viewfinder magnification 0.82×
Photography features
Minimum shutter speed 30 sec
Maximum shutter speed 1/4000 sec
Aperture priority Yes
Shutter priority Yes
Manual exposure mode Yes
Subject / scene modes Yes
Built-in flash Yes (Pop-up)
Flash range 12.00 m (at ISO 100)
External flash Yes (Hot-shoe)
Flash modes Auto, On, Off, Red-eye, Slow sync, Rear curtain
Continuous drive 5.0 fps
Self-timer Yes (2, 5, 10 or 20 sec)
Metering modes
  • Multi
  • Center-weighted
  • Spot
Exposure compensation ±5 (at 1/3 EV, 1/2 EV steps)
AE Bracketing ±2 (3 frames at 1/3 EV, 1/2 EV steps)
WB Bracketing Yes (3 frames in either blue/amber or magenta/green axis)
Videography features
Resolutions 1920 x 1080 (60, 50, 30, 25, 24 fps), 1280 x 720 (60, 50 fps), 640 x 424 (30, 25 fps)
Format MPEG-4, H.264
Microphone Stereo
Speaker Mono
Storage
Storage types SD/SDHC/SDXC
Connectivity
USB USB 2.0 (480 Mbit/sec)
HDMI Yes (Mini Type C)
Wireless Built-In
Remote control Yes (Optional ML-L3 or WR-R10)
Physical
Environmentally sealed No
Battery Battery Pack
Battery description Lithium-Ion EN-EL14a or EN-EL14 rechargeable battery & charger
Battery Life (CIPA) 600
Weight (inc. batteries) 480 g (1.06 lb / 16.93 oz)
Dimensions 125 x 98 x 76 mm (4.92 x 3.86 x 2.99)
Other features
Orientation sensor Yes
Timelapse recording Yes
GPS BuiltIn

Reviews

DPReview Conclusion

Scoring is relative only to the other cameras in the same category at the time of review.

Score Breakdown
Poor Excellent
Build quality
Ergonomics & handling
Features
Metering & focus accuracy
Image quality (raw)
Image quality (jpeg)
Low light / high ISO performance
Viewfinder / screen rating
Performance
Movie / video mode
Connectivity
Value
Silver Award
Silver Award
79 %
Overall Score

The D5300 is a very good upper-entry-level DSLR with a high-resolution sensor and solid video features. It's bigger than mirrorless competitors and it's priced on the high end of its class, but it won't let down a budding photographer, especially those who plan to upgrade from the kit lens to higher-quality optics.

Good For

Those looking for high-resolution image quality, photographers likely to upgrade from kit lens, enthusiast videographers and those who place a priority on connectivity.

Not So Good For

User Reviews

  • PawPawDog, Nov 21, 2013 GMT:
    The new GPS function is a BIG let down!

    The primary reason for me to upgrade from Nikon's D5100 to D5300 was new GPS location recording function. A secondary reason was hoping a sharper image without the low pass filter. With limited use so far, I would not say D5300 is a must have upgrade from D5100. Pro: (1) It is slightly lighter than D5100. I like it but others may not. (2) LCD screen is bigger than D5100. (3) There is an added ...

    Continue Reading

  • amarc1, Dec 15, 2013 GMT:
    Fabulous First Camera

    As my first DSLR this camera is really user friendly.  With a few weeks of understanding the basics of photography prior to getting the camera, I've only shot in Aperture and Shutter priority.  I have it matched with the 18-140. It certainly allows you to set your parameters to your liking, then expand as your knowledge expands. I find it is  easy to manipulate and does not feel cheep but built strong.  I think its a quality product from Nikon. Cant wait to see the full review from Dp.

    Continue Reading

  • PanosR, Feb 21, 2014 GMT:
    New to photography

    I just got this camera with the kit lens 18-140mm. I think it's one of the best entry-level cameras and even something more than that i'd say. I had to choose between Nikon D7100, Canon 70d and Nikon D5300. In a nutshell, Nikon D7100 has more "pro" features that i wouldn't need. Like built in motor, robust quality, etc. Sure i would love to have the much higher battery capacity and more buttons but i can live with that. No big deal for me. Canon 70D .. well, if i'd prefer videography than ...

    Continue Reading

  • HussainJanjua, Apr 26, 2014 GMT:
    Best entry lvl camera

    The Nikon D5300 has removed the optical low-pass filter (OLPF) from its 24MP CMOS sensor which gives it best photo quality both indoor and out door Its 3.2in side-articulated 1.0M-dot tilt/swivel LCD is smart feature of the series.The D5300 features a 39-point AF system, based around the same Multi-Cam 4800DX AF sensor that is used in the D7100, and the same 2016-pixel RGB metering sensor. The D5300 is Nikon's first DSLR to feature built-in Wi-Fi and GPS.

    Continue Reading

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

I have a NIKON D5300,Is this camera good enough to take nightclub photos?

I have a NIKON D5300,Is this camera good enough to take nightclub photos? :-) Would the built in flash be okay or would i need a new flash? What do you think. If so any ideas what? Thanks.

1 month ago

ANSWERS

The build in flash is junk.  Not just on the d5300 but on all cameras.  Also check before you start using a flash.  Many would consider it rude or disruptive in that environment.  Instead use a fast lens (f/1.4 or f/1.8) and shoot high ISO.  Your d5300 is going to struggle some in most night clubs, but so would any camera.  It will be a learning experiance. Continue Reading

Bjorn_L answered
1 month ago

Have you tried taking nightclub photos with the camera? If not then go give it a try and see for yourself. Let us know your results. Continue Reading

tcg550 answered
1 month ago

The built in flash isn't junk, but it is widely misunderstood and that leads to asking it to perform functions it wasn't engineered for, so in the hands of the under-informed it performs as though it were junk. It can work at relatively close distances to fill in a bit, but it is not so much a flash as a trigger for optically slaved flashes. When all else fails, you can deploy it and hope for improvement. Far better to get a compatible external, even if it's just Nikon's SB-400, but I'd suggest you get something that does TTL and has a greater range than that, then never, ever point it directly at what you've got in the frame. Bounce it off a light-colored wall or ceiling, don't expect it to work from across the room. See: http://strobist.blogspot.com/2006/03/lighting-101.html Continue Reading

1 month ago

QUESTION

Which Camera...Nikon D5300, D7100, Olympus OM-D EM-10, OM-D E-M5?

I'm looking for a versatile beginnerish camera as you can clearly infer by my price range. With that being said my main interests lie mostly in street photography, but some scenary, and close-mid range shots of still-nature would be nice as well. I really enjoy the feel of the D5300, while I tend to think the D7100 is a tad clunkier, which I think I could get used to.  On the other hand, the OM-D EM-5 feels nice with the extra grip, but the OM-D EM-10, while I haven't held it with an external grip, feels a bit miniature in my hands. I really can't get this DSLR vs Mirrorless battle out of my head even though I shouldn't let it distract me so much from diving into another piece of equipment (Although I definitely have some more valid reasons, for example below) I've probably looked at all of the pros and cons to each in the book, but can't seem to come to a decision. I had a Nikon D5000 a couple years back until it was stolen from me, but I didn't collect a lot of lenses, so I began ...

PonDeLeonce asked
7 months ago

ANSWERS

^ Continue Reading

Serickmetz answered
7 months ago

If you don't mind putting up with the weight then D7100. Continue Reading

nandbytes answered
7 months ago

Hi. As DSLR user it´s not easy to help on mirrorless. Only fair thing I can say is that both designs have it´s advantages so it´s hard to decide anyway. There are things I´d love to have on my DSLR from mirrorless, there are many things I´d like to see on mirrorless (so I could finally buy it), and there are things I hate on both DSLRs and Mirrorless. That´s just.... Life! :-) For DSLR I believe D5300 should work sufficiently for your decision of cam, so you learn about new technologies and techniques and workflow. You have to find what you like anyway, and for that you need to pay money and buy pretty "any" cam. D5300 is very good representation to realize If you like DSLRs or not, and If you need better body or not. I believe Mirrorless cam are not worth image quality/price wise, but those are excellent refined devices with very stretched/advanced functionality, so it´s often more easy to work with it and take that shot. (Tad better) IQ (of DSLRs for that price) itself does not ... Continue Reading

crashpc answered
7 months ago

QUESTION

Nikon D5300 really worth of money?

Hey all, Nikon D5300 really worth? I like so much Nikon D3300 it in my budget also. Iam thinking to buy D3300 and 55-200mm extra lens is it really good idea. Please suggest me. Which one is better?

15 days ago

ANSWERS

You could read the reviews here and elsewhere discussing the cameras with some comparisons to the various competitive cameras.  I would kind of like one but because I have an older Nikon lens or two which require an in body focus drive, any price differential between the lower priced Nikons and the D7100 would be used up in replacing those lenses.  The entry level cameras are fairly simple in some ways and take more effort for more advanced functionality to get past the simpler controls, extended menu structures, etc. My gut feel is that in a lot of ways, you are going to have to actually start taking pictures with a camera or two to get to understand what you want, what you don't like, what the differences are.  Everybody has different needs and preferences so it's hard to translate our experiences and preferences to another person. Continue Reading

Craig Gillette answered
14 days ago

Warranty Information

"No registration or "warranty" card is included or needed with a Nikon D-SLR or Coolpix camera. Keep your original, dated proof of purchase from the Authorized Nikon Inc. dealer in case warranty service is ever needed. These products do include either a mail-in form or a paper with a web link to our registration page:
https://support.nikonusa.com/app/product_registration
It's advised to register your product with Nikon so that we can send you information about future updates or service issues that may arise.


Nikkor lenses come with a standard one year warranty and Nikon Inc. lenses sold by authorized Nikon Inc. dealers will have a Nikon Inc. Five Year Extension. To register for the five year extension, one copy of the included form must be mailed in as indicated. Keep the Customer copy of the form as well as the original proof of purchase (sales receipt)."


Read the full warranty.

DPReview GearShop is an authorized Nikon dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.