Nikon D600 DSLR Camera

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

87% Gold Award
There's a lot to like in the Nikon D600. In fact, really, there are very few areas in which it can be legitimately criticized given its market position and price point.”

Read more of the review

Key Features

  • 24.3MP full-frame CMOS sensor
  • 39-point AF system (9 cross-type)
  • ISO 100-6400 expandable up to 25,600
  • 3.2 inch LCD with 921,000 dots
  • Full 1080p HD video
  • 5.5 frames per second continuous shooting
  • 100% viewfinder coverage
  • 2,016-pixel RGB TTL metering sensor
  • Single-axis level in viewfinder, dual-axis level in live view
  • 10.5MP DX-format crop mode
  • Uncompressed video recording via HDMI
  • Dual SD card slots

Product Description

The Nikon D600 is a more affordable alternative to the 36MP D800. It boasts a 24.3MP full-frame CMOS sensor and offers burst shooting at a top speed of 5.5 frames per second, an in-camera AF motor and a 39-point AF system. A 10.5MP DX crop mode provides some versatility for those who might be upgrading from Nikon's APS-C format DSLRs. Build quality and ergonomics are close to that of the prosumer Nikon D7100, but in terms of functionality and video features, it has more in common with the D800. The D600 is capable of 1080p video, providing input for an external microphone. Uncompressed video recording is possible via an HDMI connection. With sturdy environmental sealing, the camera body is resistant to dust and water damage.

Specs

Body type
Body type Mid-size SLR
Sensor
Max resolution 6016 x 4016
Other resolutions 4512 x 3008, 3936 x 2624, 3008 x 2008, 3008 x 1688, 2944 x 1968
Image ratio w:h 3:2
Effective pixels 24 megapixels
Sensor photo detectors 25 megapixels
Sensor size Full frame (35.9 x 24 mm)
Sensor type CMOS
Processor Expeed 3
Image
ISO 100 - 6400 in 1, 1/2 or 1/3 EV steps (50 - 25600 with boost)
White balance presets 12
Custom white balance Yes (4)
Image stabilization No
Uncompressed format RAW
JPEG quality levels Fine, Normal, Basic
Optics & Focus
Autofocus
  • Contrast Detect (sensor)
  • Phase Detect
  • Multi-area
  • Center
  • Selective single-point
  • Tracking
  • Single
  • Continuous
  • Face Detection
  • Live View
Digital zoom No
Manual focus Yes
Number of focus points 39
Lens mount Nikon F
Focal length multiplier 1×
Screen / viewfinder
Articulated LCD Fixed
Screen size 3.2
Screen dots 921,000
Touch screen No
Screen type TFT LCD monitor
Live view Yes
Viewfinder type Optical (pentaprism)
Viewfinder coverage 100%
Viewfinder magnification 0.7×
Photography features
Minimum shutter speed 30 sec
Maximum shutter speed 1/4000 sec
Aperture priority Yes
Shutter priority Yes
Manual exposure mode Yes
Subject / scene modes Yes
Built-in flash Yes (Pop-up)
Flash range 12.00 m (at ISO 100)
External flash Yes (Hot-shoe, Wireless)
Flash modes Auto, On, Off, Red-eye, Slow sync, Rear curtain
Continuous drive 5.5 fps
Self-timer Yes
Metering modes
  • Multi
  • Center-weighted
  • Average
  • Spot
Exposure compensation ±5 (at 1/3 EV, 1/2 EV, 2/3 EV, 1 EV steps)
AE Bracketing (2, 3 frames at 1/3 EV, 1/2 EV, 2/3 EV, 1 EV, 2 EV steps)
WB Bracketing Yes (2 or 3 frames in steps of 1, 2 or 3 mired)
Videography features
Resolutions 1920 x 1080 (30, 25, 24 fps), 1280 x 720 (60, 50, 30, 25 fps)
Format MPEG-4, H.264
Microphone Mono
Speaker Mono
Storage
Storage types SD/SDHC/SDXC x 2 slots
Connectivity
USB USB 2.0 (480 Mbit/sec)
HDMI Yes (Mini Type C)
Wireless Optional
Wireless notes Wu-1b mobile adapter
Remote control Yes (Optional, wired or wireless )
Physical
Environmentally sealed Yes (Water and dust resistant)
Battery Battery Pack
Battery description Lithium-Ion EN-EL15 rechargeable battery & charger
Battery Life (CIPA) 900
Weight (inc. batteries) 850 g (1.87 lb / 29.98 oz)
Dimensions 141 x 113 x 82 mm (5.55 x 4.45 x 3.23)
Other features
Orientation sensor Yes
Timelapse recording Yes
GPS Optional
GPS notes GP-1

Reviews

DPReview Conclusion

Scoring is relative only to the other cameras in the same category at the time of review.

Score Breakdown
Poor Excellent
Build quality
Ergonomics & handling
Features
Metering & focus accuracy
Image quality (raw)
Image quality (jpeg)
Low light / high ISO performance
Viewfinder / screen rating
Performance
Movie / video mode
Value
Gold Award
Gold Award
87 %
Overall Score

The Nikon D600 brings full frame functionality to the masses, along with dual SD card slots and 100% viewfinder coverage. Image quality at high ISO sensitivities is outstanding, and a wealth of customization options enables quick access to shooting controls.

Good For

Full frame shooters looking for a smaller, lighter and less expensive alternative to pro-level DSLRs. Photographers who often shoot at high ISOs.

Not So Good For

Sports shooters who need wider AF coverage or videographers who demand real-time aperture control and fullscreen HDMI output.

User Reviews

4.20035 out of 5 stars
  • tallguy600, Feb 18, 2013 GMT:
    Best DSLR

    Excellent camera, best I've ever owned, first full frame for me, no complaints at all other that the need to clean the large sensor.

    Continue Reading

  • gsmithfam, Feb 5, 2013 GMT:
    bad colors, no aperture adj in live view, bad ergonomics, spots on sensor

    I've had this camera now for 4 months and I get more disappointed with it everyday. After spending so much on a camera you'd think there would be little room for disappointment. The reasons for this are listed in the subject line of this review. I wanted to love this camera. I read all the reviews and was super impressed with it sensor quality ratings from DxO Labs, but have come to learn the hard way that there is so much more to a camera than what the lab results produce. We live in the ...

    Continue Reading

  • deltaskyking, Jan 7, 2013 GMT:
    Update to my review...

    I originally rated the D600 5 stars. I put about 2,400 shots through my Nikon D600. Yes I had the oil/dust spot issue on the sensor that many others are complaining about. I cleaned the sensor (Manually) after 600 shots. Then again after 1,000 shots. Within a few hundred exposures after cleaning the sensor, the oil spots would reappear. Bottom line - I returned the camera. My feeling is that I shouldn't have to put up with this. I've heard from several sources that eventually the ...

    Continue Reading

  • Doug, Jan 6, 2013 GMT:
    Full frame. Priced right.

    Keep up with the hard drive size to relax on the edit or delete files. Works beautifully with any af, af Dx af Fx and older primary type lenses. Does quality before quantity. Do your research. This is a keeper by any standard. It does mean business. Problems: 11 fps? It's not a D4 or a D800E, check the cost.

    Continue Reading

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

D600 RAW noise beats 5D MKIII

The D600 beats the competition according the the graphs on: http://www.dpreview.com/previews/nikon-d600/8 So why do the sample images look worse?

rbirkby asked
2 years ago

ANSWERS

rbirkby wrote: The D600 does indeed have lower noise than the 5D3 in raw.  The part I found funny was how someone rated your post with a thumbs down.  I had to laugh as some Canon fanboy probably got upset, and voted it down.  This is what these forums have come to....fanboys and trolls pummelling posts with thumbs down ratings. Continue Reading

Dave Luttmann answered
2 years ago

Or... unless of course you want to see them. I'm not actually saying they're there or not there.  But I will say that people will see whatever they want to see.  You just have to look at the arguing between Canon and Nikon fanboys to realize this to be the case. Continue Reading

michaeladawson answered
2 years ago

The images are Jpegs and Canon use NR even if its off at higher ISO as far as i know, I think you will find the raw files will be cleaner Continue Reading

Dave Courtenay answered
2 years ago

QUESTION

Is there any loss of IQ when using ISO 50 on d600?

Particularly, is DR compromised? If yes, how big is the difference - 1 stop or less? If no, why ISO 50 is not base ISO? I've never used ISO 100 on my d300 to avoid losing DR. Is d600 different in the way how ISO 50 is achieved then d300? So far I don't see difference in JPEG OOC, but since DxO support is not yet available I haven't yet make comparisons with RAW myself. Alex

Talkontar asked
2 years ago

ANSWERS

That's a good description.  I'd like to be a bit more specific than just "the output values are divided by two."  The data recorded in the RAW file at ISO 100 and ISO 50 (keeping all other settings the same) will be the same. Where the division by two occurs in the camera, is only for the JPEG-file generation.  This keeps the ISO 50 in-camera JPEG from appearing over-exposed.  Of course, the in-camera histogram shows the JPEG-file levels (not the RAW file levels), so the ISO 50 histogram is shifted left one stop from where the ISO 100 histogram will be for the same image at the same settings. Yes, use of ISO 50 will cause the raw converter to perform the same divide-by-two of the RAW data before it renders the image, or outputs it to another format. Now, what about DR?  Speaking of overall DR, i.e., that which DxOmark measured at 14.2 stops, ISO 50 and ISO 100 offer exactly the same.  What changes, is the split of that range between highlight headroom and shadow headroom.  At ISO 50 ... Continue Reading

Marianne Oelund answered
2 years ago

Just curious - did you use Google translate for this post from some non-english language? Continue Reading

Hotphotons answered
2 years ago

Cannot speak for the D600, but I own the Sony A850 (24MP FF), and Sony very clearly states in their manual that using ISOs below the base ISO will result in reduced dynamic range. How much, I have no idea.  But it was sufficient to convience me to never use the reduced ISOs. Continue Reading

GodSpeaks answered
2 years ago

QUESTION

Are Nikons made in Thailand now?

I looked at D600 and D800 at local store and saw Made Thailand. Sells person tried to tell me that they're assembled in Thailand, but it was clearly stated "MADE in THAILAND". Is this a norm for Nikons now. Oh BTW 24mm lens was made in China. Is Nikon going "cheap"?

leerob asked
1 year ago

ANSWERS

You may want to see your eye doctor if you read Made in Thailand from the bottom of a D800, since they are built "Made" in Japan and that is clearly printed on the bottom of mine. Continue Reading

abcdefghijklmnop answered
1 year ago

Your surprise is more than 20 years late!  The Nikon plant in Bankok Thailand began operations in 1991.  For the past several years all of Nikon's DX model DSLR bodies have been assembled in Thailand (and all of the FX bodies have been made in Japan). Continue Reading

apaflo answered
1 year ago

I intentionally omitted the 'Panasonic'. Almost certainly, the Panasonic lenses are a branding arrangement, like the Zeiss for Sony. There is no great skill in designing a great lens these days - things like Zemax make it relatively straightforward. What is more tricky is keeping the production tolerances that allow the higher quality designs to function, and Zeiss markets the QA instrumentation and methodology that goes with Zeiss branded lenses. I'd guess the same is true of the 'leica' lenses on Panasonics, designed and made by Panasonic, tested using Leica instrumentation and branded 'Leica'. Interestingly, most of the mFT lenses are branded 'Lumix', and still seem to be pretty good. Unwarranted. They might have been not as well finished, but they were excellent. I remember once that AP ran a test of every 50/1.4. The winner was the Zeiss (West) Planar, which confused me, because the Zeiss (East) Pancolor beat it on every optical test. The Nikon wasn't really a knockoff of the ... Continue Reading

bobn2 answered
1 year ago

Compatible Products

Warranty Information

"No registration or "warranty" card is included or needed with a Nikon D-SLR or Coolpix camera. Keep your original, dated proof of purchase from the Authorized Nikon Inc. dealer in case warranty service is ever needed. These products do include either a mail-in form or a paper with a web link to our registration page:
https://support.nikonusa.com/app/product_registration
It's advised to register your product with Nikon so that we can send you information about future updates or service issues that may arise.


Nikkor lenses come with a standard one year warranty and Nikon Inc. lenses sold by authorized Nikon Inc. dealers will have a Nikon Inc. Five Year Extension. To register for the five year extension, one copy of the included form must be mailed in as indicated. Keep the Customer copy of the form as well as the original proof of purchase (sales receipt)."


Read the full warranty.

DPReview GearShop is an authorized Nikon dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.