Nikon D610 DSLR Camera

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

87% Gold Award
If you're looking for top-notch image quality in a tough weather-sealed body with enough versatility to handle most shooting situations, the D610 is a capable tool to execute your creative vision.”

Read more of the review

Key Features

  • 24.3MP full-frame CMOS sensor
  • 39-point AF system (9 cross-type)
  • ISO 100-6400 expandable up to 25,600
  • 3.2 inch LCD with 921,000 dots
  • 1080/30p, 25p or 24p or 720/60p, 50p or 30p HD video (MPEG-4 AVC/H.264)
  • 6 frames per second continuous shooting
  • 100% viewfinder coverage
  • 2,016-pixel RGB TTL metering sensor
  • Single-axis level in viewfinder, dual-axis level in live view
  • 10.5MP DX-format crop mode
  • Uncompressed video recording via HDMI
  • Dual SD card slots

Product Description

The D610 replaces the D600 as Nikon's more affordable full frame option, an alternative to the 36MP D800. Compared to the D600, major changes include a quiet continuous shooting mode, improved auto white balance and faster continuous shooting (thanks to a redesigned shutter mechanism).

It boasts a 24.3MP full-frame CMOS sensor and offers burst shooting at a top speed of 6 frames per second, an in-camera AF motor and a 39-point AF system. A 10.5MP DX crop mode provides some versatility for those who might be upgrading from Nikon's APS-C format DSLRs. Build quality and ergonomics are close to that of the prosumer Nikon D7100, but in terms of functionality and video features, it has more in common with the D800. With sturdy environmental sealing, the camera body is resistant to dust and water damage

Specs

Body type
Body type Mid-size SLR
Sensor
Max resolution 6016 x 4016
Other resolutions 4512 x 3008, 3936 x 2624, 3008 x 2008, 3008 x 1688, 2944 x 1968
Image ratio w:h 3:2
Effective pixels 24 megapixels
Sensor photo detectors 25 megapixels
Sensor size Full frame (35.9 x 24 mm)
Sensor type CMOS
Processor Expeed 3
Image
ISO 100 - 6400 in 1, 1/2 or 1/3 EV steps (50 - 25600 with boost)
White balance presets 12
Custom white balance Yes (4)
Image stabilization No
Uncompressed format RAW
JPEG quality levels Fine, Normal, Basic
Optics & Focus
Autofocus
  • Contrast Detect (sensor)
  • Phase Detect
  • Multi-area
  • Center
  • Selective single-point
  • Tracking
  • Single
  • Continuous
  • Face Detection
  • Live View
Digital zoom No
Manual focus Yes
Number of focus points 39
Lens mount Nikon F
Focal length multiplier 1×
Screen / viewfinder
Articulated LCD Fixed
Screen size 3.2
Screen dots 921,000
Touch screen No
Screen type TFT LCD monitor
Live view Yes
Viewfinder type Optical (pentaprism)
Viewfinder coverage 100%
Viewfinder magnification 0.7×
Photography features
Minimum shutter speed 30 sec
Maximum shutter speed 1/4000 sec
Aperture priority Yes
Shutter priority Yes
Manual exposure mode Yes
Subject / scene modes Yes
Built-in flash Yes (Pop-up)
Flash range 12.00 m (at ISO 100)
External flash Yes (Hot-shoe, Wireless)
Flash modes Auto, On, Off, Red-eye, Slow sync, Rear curtain
Continuous drive 6.0 fps
Self-timer Yes
Metering modes
  • Multi
  • Center-weighted
  • Average
  • Spot
Exposure compensation ±5 (at 1/3 EV, 1/2 EV, 2/3 EV, 1 EV steps)
AE Bracketing (2, 3 frames at 1/3 EV, 1/2 EV, 2/3 EV, 1 EV, 2 EV steps)
WB Bracketing Yes (2 or 3 frames in steps of 1, 2 or 3 mired)
Videography features
Resolutions 1920 x 1080 (30, 25, 24 fps), 1280 x 720 (60, 50, 30, 25 fps)
Format MPEG-4, H.264
Microphone Mono
Speaker Mono
Storage
Storage types SD/SDHC/SDXC x 2 slots
Connectivity
USB USB 2.0 (480 Mbit/sec)
HDMI Yes (Mini Type C)
Wireless Optional
Wireless notes Wu-1b mobile adapter
Remote control Yes (Optional, wired or wireless )
Physical
Environmentally sealed Yes (Water and dust resistant)
Battery Battery Pack
Battery description Lithium-Ion EN-EL15 rechargeable battery & charger
Battery Life (CIPA) 900
Weight (inc. batteries) 850 g (1.87 lb / 29.98 oz)
Dimensions 141 x 113 x 82 mm (5.55 x 4.45 x 3.23)
Other features
Orientation sensor Yes
Timelapse recording Yes
GPS Optional
GPS notes GP-1

Reviews

DPReview Conclusion

Scoring is relative only to the other cameras in the same category at the time of review.

Score Breakdown
Poor Excellent
Build quality
Ergonomics & handling
Features
Metering & focus accuracy
Image quality (raw)
Image quality (jpeg)
Low light / high ISO performance
Viewfinder / screen rating
Performance
Movie / video mode
Value
Gold Award
Gold Award
87 %
Overall Score

The Nikon D610 brings full-frame capabilities to a larger audience while retaining most enthusiast-friendly features. Image quality at high ISO sensitivities is very good, and a wealth of customization options enables quick access to most shooting controls. The slight improvements and fixes over the D600 make it a strong competitor in this part of the market.

Good For

Full frame shooters looking for a smaller, lighter and less expensive alternative to pro-level DSLRs. Enthusiasts who often shoot at high ISOs or want shallow depth-of-field.

Not So Good For

Sports shooters, travel shooters wanting something truly lightweight or anyone who regularly uses far off-center focus points.

User Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
  • jefenniejr, Dec 28, 2013 GMT:
    Really like the IQ and size

    Being an amateur (upgraded from d700 and don't regret it one bit) I shoot mainly landscapes and architectural with an occasional portrait.

    Continue Reading

  • Araldite, Mar 24, 2014 GMT:
    Great Camera

    Been using this camera to take pictures of grandkids, their parents commented on great pictures. Some may feel that the optical low pass filter should have been removed as per the D7100 but this one has a smaller pixel density. Having said that and taken many pictures with it, for the price it's an excellent introduction to full frame and coupled with the 24-85 it really takes great pictures.

    Continue Reading

  • AUP, Apr 7, 2014 GMT:
    From A77 to D610 to nothing...

    I had such high hoped for the Nikon D610 and after many months of sitting idle between cameras and looking at the Canon 6D I took the plunge…and now it’s going back. Why you ask – “spots” – about 15 of them all over my pictures after extensive 2 days of shooting. It took numerous hours of shooting, reading, testing, customizing and fine tuning – after it was all said and done I started to notice spots. This was brand new out of the box; me personally it’s just not something that I am willing ...

    Continue Reading

  • ConanD, Aug 18, 2014 GMT:
    So far, so good

    As an amature photog, I have been living in the Nikon DX world for about 3 years.  I started with the D3100 and then moved to the D7100 about a year later.  The more pictures I took, the more I wanted a full-frame camera.  I did quite a bit of research before taking the plunge and purchasing the D610.  While  I would have loved the D800/810, I could not justify the price, and also did not want to deal with the massive files associated with the 800 series. I've taken about 4 or 5 ...

    Continue Reading

Videos

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

When is enough enough?

I remember when computers first came out and the pace of improvements in processing speed and RAM were amazing. As much as it pains me to admit it, I was buying a new computer just about every year to keep up with the latest in RAM and processor. Now 17 years later, unless you have specific needs like being a gamer, for most people todays computers are plenty fast and have lots of RAM. It got me to thinking about digital cameras, particularly mega-pixels? Do you think there will be a point where "enough is enough"? When I first bought my D80 I remember reading "you never need more than 6 MP". Now, I have a D610 with 24 MP. At some point where does the usefulness of more and more mega pixels just plateau and nobody really cares anymore? I also wonder how long Nikon will continue to carry DX and FX cameras from a manufacturing standpoint, I would have to think that at some point the cost to manufacture DX and FX won't be too terribly different and that eventually there will only be FX.

Jrkahuna asked
3 months ago

ANSWERS

For most people, 12mp is more than good enough.  That can give you a superb 16x24.....a print size that 99% of people will never use. Continue Reading

Dave Luttmann answered
3 months ago

I work whole my life in IT and I can tell you that hardware what we using now is thousands if not millions times faster then 20 years ago. Heck - my laptop is easy thousands time faster than server what I was looking after 20 years ago. Not mentioned storage capacity. However I fail to see that programs actually work faster (office for example) in the past they program in low level languages to squeeze out every bit of performance. Now they do not care and doing it in macro languages and continually suggest us to upgrade. IMHO IT is going wrong direction here - it would be better to stop and refine what we have rather then producing new products every year. For example nothing wrong with Office 2000 and XP - just update it instead of forcing people to use ugly W8 or adopt O2013. It never stops - pixel peepers who never print, but rather study shoots under 200% magnification not going anywhere anytime soon. They will buy and adore 50, 100 and who know how many megapixels cameras, so ... Continue Reading

KSV answered
3 months ago

For me, and I expect quite a few others, printing is not the issue. I bought the D800E for it's ability to crop hard - to get good bird photos. I have some decent shots on my web site as a result of the 800E to crop to 100% and still produce a decent shot for the internet. I would love to have a 72Mpx sensor or even a 144Mpx sensor so I could crop even more than I do now. Quadroupling the sensor size from the current 800E would make a lot more sense than me buying a 1000mm F4 monster (if it ever existed) to replace my current 500mm F4, and doubtless a lot lighter. Continue Reading

Dr Bob answered
3 months ago

QUESTION

NIKON D750..shutter sound ..

Canon 5D Mark 3 I love the very quiet  shutter mode .. Hopefully Nikon D750 is able to do the same.. On the D610 it was a joke.  suppose to have QUIET shutter sound..Not really true I always hated the shutter sound from my Nikon d700 ..clank clank .. sounds like a cheap camera toy.. I sure hope D750 HAS A MUCH BETTER SHUTTER SOUND..if it's improved I will buy

tomboy asked
18 days ago

ANSWERS

I prefer the very definite sound of the D3 series, like cocking a AK47. Sounds like it means business. :-) The D2 series shutter sound is too damped and soft -- ladylike, if you don't mind. The D1 series shutter sounds like D3S quiet mode, well damped, long sound where you can hear all the distinct phases of mirror, aperture and shutter. Like a pump action shotgun. But yea, D3 is my favorite so far. Continue Reading

pforsell answered
18 days ago

If you watch this video, this has the sound of the D750, and that doesnt sound as nice at the D810, I own a D810 and its so much quieter https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qiNB2gooCuw   skip to 2:16 Continue Reading

Carerra answered
15 days ago

If it's anything close to the D810, you will love it! Continue Reading

leicaman answered
18 days ago

QUESTION

Any Advantage to Full Frame?

I use a D90 and am considering a D7100 or D5300 or D610. If I understand things correctly, there is no advantage at all, for my use (noise in low light is not a concern to me), of a D610 over the two DX choices. The disadvantages of the D610 include a narrower depth of field (all things being equal), higher cost for camera, higher cost for lenses, more weight and larger size. Surely, I must be overlooking or wrong about something given the increasing popularity of full frame. Where am I wrong in my thinking?

5th street asked
1 month ago

ANSWERS

You may not be wrong at all. Much of the drive toward 'upgrading to full frame' is marketing driven, as if it is an upgrade at all.   It's more a 'sidegrade'.   You give up some things (cost, weight, lighter wide angle lenses) for other things (mainly 1 stop better high ISO). But the ability of a full frame camera to give better results in low light than DX is real.  And that opens up more shooting opportunities. Continue Reading

PHXAZCRAIG answered
1 month ago

The blur disk may be the same size on the sensor but it takes up a larger portion of the image (more pixels) in the smaller format. Smaller format lenses need to be relatively better to make up for their sensor's size penalty. In DX vs FX they typically aren't because they are often the same lens design repackaged (in mFT vs DX they sometime are because mFT designers, aware of the problem, redesigned their lenses from the ground up). And the larger format's pixels are larger, resulting in better noise performance. That's why the larger format will normally be measurably and perceivably better than the smaller one in terms of IQ in most typical situations when viewed at the same output size, as you can easily confirm at DxOmark.com: a quick glance at the top ten lenses on the D610 show an average of 21.3MP while the same top ten on the D7100 average out at 17.4MP, despite its lack of an AA filter (which is a bit of a mixed bag). Similar benefits in noise and DR. Of course this ... Continue Reading

Jack Hogan answered
1 month ago

and as I noted higher up in the thread, they are basically the same as with film. Digital has blurred the lines of comparison for some people, and in some cases. Some have pointed out that you have to look at the blur circles produced by lenses at common apertures to understand why 24MP on one format may not be exactly the same as 24MP on another. There's a good tutorial here http://www.cambridgeincolour.com/tutorials/diffraction-photography.htm Surface area matters because a lens can only focus a point down to a certain diameter for any given aperture. The optical limits of the system come into play.* There is another side to this too. A smaller sensor can use a wider focal length lens to achieve the same field of view, and this will allow it to use a larger aperture to achieve the same depth of field. So, in theory, you could use a 1.3 stop faster aperture on DX, with a lens of equivalent field of view, to get the same depth in a scene while using a lower sensitivity, all else ... Continue Reading

Matsu answered
1 month ago

Warranty Information

"No registration or "warranty" card is included or needed with a Nikon D-SLR or Coolpix camera. Keep your original, dated proof of purchase from the Authorized Nikon Inc. dealer in case warranty service is ever needed. These products do include either a mail-in form or a paper with a web link to our registration page:
https://support.nikonusa.com/app/product_registration
It's advised to register your product with Nikon so that we can send you information about future updates or service issues that may arise.


Nikkor lenses come with a standard one year warranty and Nikon Inc. lenses sold by authorized Nikon Inc. dealers will have a Nikon Inc. Five Year Extension. To register for the five year extension, one copy of the included form must be mailed in as indicated. Keep the Customer copy of the form as well as the original proof of purchase (sales receipt)."


Read the full warranty.

DPReview GearShop is an authorized Nikon dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.