Nikon D610 DSLR Camera

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

87% Gold Award
If you're looking for top-notch image quality in a tough weather-sealed body with enough versatility to handle most shooting situations, the D610 is a capable tool to execute your creative vision.”

Read more of the review

Key Features

  • 24.3MP full-frame CMOS sensor
  • 39-point AF system (9 cross-type)
  • ISO 100-6400 expandable up to 25,600
  • 3.2 inch LCD with 921,000 dots
  • 1080/30p, 25p or 24p or 720/60p, 50p or 30p HD video (MPEG-4 AVC/H.264)
  • 6 frames per second continuous shooting
  • 100% viewfinder coverage
  • 2,016-pixel RGB TTL metering sensor
  • Single-axis level in viewfinder, dual-axis level in live view
  • 10.5MP DX-format crop mode
  • Uncompressed video recording via HDMI
  • Dual SD card slots

Product Description

The D610 replaces the D600 as Nikon's more affordable full frame option, an alternative to the 36MP D800. Compared to the D600, major changes include a quiet continuous shooting mode, improved auto white balance and faster continuous shooting (thanks to a redesigned shutter mechanism).

It boasts a 24.3MP full-frame CMOS sensor and offers burst shooting at a top speed of 6 frames per second, an in-camera AF motor and a 39-point AF system. A 10.5MP DX crop mode provides some versatility for those who might be upgrading from Nikon's APS-C format DSLRs. Build quality and ergonomics are close to that of the prosumer Nikon D7100, but in terms of functionality and video features, it has more in common with the D800. With sturdy environmental sealing, the camera body is resistant to dust and water damage

Specs

Body type
Body type Mid-size SLR
Sensor
Max resolution 6016 x 4016
Other resolutions 4512 x 3008, 3936 x 2624, 3008 x 2008, 3008 x 1688, 2944 x 1968
Image ratio w:h 3:2
Effective pixels 24 megapixels
Sensor photo detectors 25 megapixels
Sensor size Full frame (35.9 x 24 mm)
Sensor type CMOS
Processor Expeed 3
Image
ISO 100 - 6400 in 1, 1/2 or 1/3 EV steps (50 - 25600 with boost)
White balance presets 12
Custom white balance Yes (4)
Image stabilization No
Uncompressed format RAW
JPEG quality levels Fine, Normal, Basic
Optics & Focus
Autofocus
  • Contrast Detect (sensor)
  • Phase Detect
  • Multi-area
  • Center
  • Selective single-point
  • Tracking
  • Single
  • Continuous
  • Face Detection
  • Live View
Digital zoom No
Manual focus Yes
Number of focus points 39
Lens mount Nikon F
Focal length multiplier 1×
Screen / viewfinder
Articulated LCD Fixed
Screen size 3.2
Screen dots 921,000
Touch screen No
Screen type TFT LCD monitor
Live view Yes
Viewfinder type Optical (pentaprism)
Viewfinder coverage 100%
Viewfinder magnification 0.7×
Photography features
Minimum shutter speed 30 sec
Maximum shutter speed 1/4000 sec
Aperture priority Yes
Shutter priority Yes
Manual exposure mode Yes
Subject / scene modes Yes
Built-in flash Yes (Pop-up)
Flash range 12.00 m (at ISO 100)
External flash Yes (Hot-shoe, Wireless)
Flash modes Auto, On, Off, Red-eye, Slow sync, Rear curtain
Continuous drive 6 fps
Self-timer Yes
Metering modes
  • Multi
  • Center-weighted
  • Average
  • Spot
Exposure compensation ±5 (at 1/3 EV, 1/2 EV, 2/3 EV, 1 EV steps)
AE Bracketing (2, 3 frames at 1/3 EV, 1/2 EV, 2/3 EV, 1 EV, 2 EV steps)
WB Bracketing Yes (2 or 3 frames in steps of 1, 2 or 3 mired)
Videography features
Resolutions 1920 x 1080 (30, 25, 24 fps), 1280 x 720 (60, 50, 30, 25 fps)
Format MPEG-4, H.264
Microphone Mono
Speaker Mono
Storage
Storage types SD/SDHC/SDXC x 2 slots
Connectivity
USB USB 2.0 (480 Mbit/sec)
HDMI Yes (Mini Type C)
Wireless Optional
Wireless notes Wu-1b mobile adapter
Remote control Yes (Optional, wired or wireless )
Physical
Environmentally sealed Yes (Water and dust resistant)
Battery Battery Pack
Battery description Lithium-Ion EN-EL15 rechargeable battery & charger
Battery Life (CIPA) 900
Weight (inc. batteries) 850 g (1.87 lb / 29.98 oz)
Dimensions 141 x 113 x 82 mm (5.55 x 4.45 x 3.23)
Other features
Orientation sensor Yes
Timelapse recording Yes
GPS Optional
GPS notes GP-1

Reviews

DPReview Conclusion

Scoring is relative only to the other cameras in the same category at the time of review.

Score Breakdown
Poor Excellent
Build quality
Ergonomics & handling
Features
Metering & focus accuracy
Image quality (raw)
Image quality (jpeg)
Low light / high ISO performance
Viewfinder / screen rating
Performance
Movie / video mode
Value
Gold Award
Gold Award
87 %
Overall Score

The Nikon D610 brings full-frame capabilities to a larger audience while retaining most enthusiast-friendly features. Image quality at high ISO sensitivities is very good, and a wealth of customization options enables quick access to most shooting controls. The slight improvements and fixes over the D600 make it a strong competitor in this part of the market.

Good For

Full frame shooters looking for a smaller, lighter and less expensive alternative to pro-level DSLRs. Enthusiasts who often shoot at high ISOs or want shallow depth-of-field.

Not So Good For

Sports shooters, travel shooters wanting something truly lightweight or anyone who regularly uses far off-center focus points.

User Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
  • jefenniejr, Dec 28, 2013 GMT:
    Really like the IQ and size

    Being an amateur (upgraded from d700 and don't regret it one bit) I shoot mainly landscapes and architectural with an occasional portrait.

    Continue Reading

  • Araldite, Mar 24, 2014 GMT:
    Great Camera

    Been using this camera to take pictures of grandkids, their parents commented on great pictures. Some may feel that the optical low pass filter should have been removed as per the D7100 but this one has a smaller pixel density. Having said that and taken many pictures with it, for the price it's an excellent introduction to full frame and coupled with the 24-85 it really takes great pictures.

    Continue Reading

  • AUP, Apr 7, 2014 GMT:
    From A77 to D610 to nothing...

    I had such high hoped for the Nikon D610 and after many months of sitting idle between cameras and looking at the Canon 6D I took the plunge…and now it’s going back. Why you ask – “spots” – about 15 of them all over my pictures after extensive 2 days of shooting. It took numerous hours of shooting, reading, testing, customizing and fine tuning – after it was all said and done I started to notice spots. This was brand new out of the box; me personally it’s just not something that I am willing ...

    Continue Reading

  • ConanD, Aug 18, 2014 GMT:
    So far, so good

    As an amature photog, I have been living in the Nikon DX world for about 3 years.  I started with the D3100 and then moved to the D7100 about a year later.  The more pictures I took, the more I wanted a full-frame camera.  I did quite a bit of research before taking the plunge and purchasing the D610.  While  I would have loved the D800/810, I could not justify the price, and also did not want to deal with the massive files associated with the 800 series. I've taken about 4 or 5 ...

    Continue Reading

Videos

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

Sony A7R vs Fuji XT-1 vs Nikon D610 vs Landscape vs Street Photography

Hi Guys, I've recently come into some money and I would really like to use the opportunity to to gear up properly. I have done a bulk of research but I'm still struggling to settle on a final decision and I was hoping the community could share their experiences to help me out. I have a great love for both Landscape and Street or Travel Photography. From the reviews and research I have done it currently stands as follows: Street or Travel: (1) Fuji XT-1 (2) Fuji x100s (3) Olympus OM-D EM-1 For Landscape: (1) Nikon D800e (too expensive) (2) Nikon D610 (3) Sony A7R IQ is extremely important to me, I come rom a graphics background. I admit I am a bit of a pixel peeper. I like to push the boundaries. Here's my first issue, I love the Nikon and the lenses I can put on that, such as the Sigma 35mm Art, and it's dynamic range is the best only behind the D810 and D800 according to DXOmark. So to my it's almost the ...

18 days ago

ANSWERS

I am not much help, as I am in the exact same camera quandary [replacing an ailing Nikon D90]. I am 100 miles from a camera store so am planning a day trip to a camera store to handle each one. Hopefully that will help me decide. Good luck. Continue Reading

twohourlunch answered
11 days ago

i suppose by 'landscape' you mean lots of detail.  So that means the FF D610 at least.  You also mean "'large,' so put in some weight training to lug it into where you want to be.  I think Sony is too risky; no lenses and they are trying to sell a gimmick for an even more exorbitant price than the Nikons. I supposed by 'street' you mean  "small,"  high speed, grab shot, less obtrusive camera.  I definitely would go with m43, and the smaller the better - Panasonic GX7 or Olympus EPL-5.   More compact and nimble than the Fujis and much, much better selection of high speed primes at costs lower than the Fujis. We can't make the decision for you.  Only you know whiether 'landscape' or 'street' should get priority. Continue Reading

PSCL1 answered
9 days ago

Thanks, let share our findings here? :) Continue Reading

Stefan Olivier answered
11 days ago

QUESTION

When is enough enough?

I remember when computers first came out and the pace of improvements in processing speed and RAM were amazing. As much as it pains me to admit it, I was buying a new computer just about every year to keep up with the latest in RAM and processor. Now 17 years later, unless you have specific needs like being a gamer, for most people todays computers are plenty fast and have lots of RAM. It got me to thinking about digital cameras, particularly mega-pixels? Do you think there will be a point where "enough is enough"? When I first bought my D80 I remember reading "you never need more than 6 MP". Now, I have a D610 with 24 MP. At some point where does the usefulness of more and more mega pixels just plateau and nobody really cares anymore? I also wonder how long Nikon will continue to carry DX and FX cameras from a manufacturing standpoint, I would have to think that at some point the cost to manufacture DX and FX won't be too terribly different and that eventually there will only be FX.

Jrkahuna asked
1 month ago

ANSWERS

For most people, 12mp is more than good enough.  That can give you a superb 16x24.....a print size that 99% of people will never use. Continue Reading

Dave Luttmann answered
1 month ago

I work whole my life in IT and I can tell you that hardware what we using now is thousands if not millions times faster then 20 years ago. Heck - my laptop is easy thousands time faster than server what I was looking after 20 years ago. Not mentioned storage capacity. However I fail to see that programs actually work faster (office for example) in the past they program in low level languages to squeeze out every bit of performance. Now they do not care and doing it in macro languages and continually suggest us to upgrade. IMHO IT is going wrong direction here - it would be better to stop and refine what we have rather then producing new products every year. For example nothing wrong with Office 2000 and XP - just update it instead of forcing people to use ugly W8 or adopt O2013. It never stops - pixel peepers who never print, but rather study shoots under 200% magnification not going anywhere anytime soon. They will buy and adore 50, 100 and who know how many megapixels cameras, so ... Continue Reading

KSV answered
1 month ago

For me, and I expect quite a few others, printing is not the issue. I bought the D800E for it's ability to crop hard - to get good bird photos. I have some decent shots on my web site as a result of the 800E to crop to 100% and still produce a decent shot for the internet. I would love to have a 72Mpx sensor or even a 144Mpx sensor so I could crop even more than I do now. Quadroupling the sensor size from the current 800E would make a lot more sense than me buying a 1000mm F4 monster (if it ever existed) to replace my current 500mm F4, and doubtless a lot lighter. Continue Reading

Dr Bob answered
1 month ago

QUESTION

D610 still has Oil Spot issue?

I got my D610 replacement of my old D600 which had serious oil leak issues (changed shutter 2 times) in Apirl. But after 6000+ shots, I found a lot spots on the screen, and some of them big and black, like oil spots. I tried once to use static electricity brush to clean the biggest spot on the middle of sensor, but it did not go and looked very sticky. I send mail to Nikon with an image I took, they asked myself to clean. when I asked them to confirm they are not oil spots before I do clean, they said they can not confirm, and asked me to send camera in. Attached is the image I sent to Nikon, they seem like Oil spots, specially the bigger ones? Thanks, Jen

esprit5188 asked
27 days ago

ANSWERS

That is dust/debris, not oil.  Every DSLR gets that eventually, with lens changes, telescoping zoom lenses, etc. all pulling things into the camera bit by bit.  Just use a rocket blower, and wet clean the sensor if it persists (takes 60 seconds).  Boom, done.  After 6,000 shots that wouldn't be surprising for any camera assuming mixed normal usage. Continue Reading

26 days ago

I don't understand why so many people are so eager to (quite aggressively) affirm that because THEY don't have a problem, or because THEY don't judge something to be important, that that's universally true. I have a D610 that performs flawlessly, but I don't automatically assume that that means OP is lying about/overstating the scope of his/her issue. Continue Reading

LarsLeibgott answered
26 days ago

Looks like dirt/dust not oil. 6000+ shots it should be due for a sensor clean. D600 would develop oil at 500 shots in my experience. Continue Reading

FloEvans answered
26 days ago

Warranty Information

"No registration or "warranty" card is included or needed with a Nikon D-SLR or Coolpix camera. Keep your original, dated proof of purchase from the Authorized Nikon Inc. dealer in case warranty service is ever needed. These products do include either a mail-in form or a paper with a web link to our registration page:
https://support.nikonusa.com/app/product_registration
It's advised to register your product with Nikon so that we can send you information about future updates or service issues that may arise.


Nikkor lenses come with a standard one year warranty and Nikon Inc. lenses sold by authorized Nikon Inc. dealers will have a Nikon Inc. Five Year Extension. To register for the five year extension, one copy of the included form must be mailed in as indicated. Keep the Customer copy of the form as well as the original proof of purchase (sales receipt)."


Read the full warranty.

DPReview GearShop is an authorized Nikon dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.