Nikon D610 DSLR Camera

Already own this?

This item is in your gearlist!

87% Gold Award
If you're looking for top-notch image quality in a tough weather-sealed body with enough versatility to handle most shooting situations, the D610 is a capable tool to execute your creative vision.”

Read more of the review

Key Features

  • 24.3MP full-frame CMOS sensor
  • 39-point AF system (9 cross-type)
  • ISO 100-6400 expandable up to 25,600
  • 3.2 inch LCD with 921,000 dots
  • 1080/30p, 25p or 24p or 720/60p, 50p or 30p HD video (MPEG-4 AVC/H.264)
  • 6 frames per second continuous shooting
  • 100% viewfinder coverage
  • 2,016-pixel RGB TTL metering sensor
  • Single-axis level in viewfinder, dual-axis level in live view
  • 10.5MP DX-format crop mode
  • Uncompressed video recording via HDMI
  • Dual SD card slots

Product Description

The D610 replaces the D600 as Nikon's more affordable full frame option, an alternative to the 36MP D800. Compared to the D600, major changes include a quiet continuous shooting mode, improved auto white balance and faster continuous shooting (thanks to a redesigned shutter mechanism).

It boasts a 24.3MP full-frame CMOS sensor and offers burst shooting at a top speed of 6 frames per second, an in-camera AF motor and a 39-point AF system. A 10.5MP DX crop mode provides some versatility for those who might be upgrading from Nikon's APS-C format DSLRs. Build quality and ergonomics are close to that of the prosumer Nikon D7100, but in terms of functionality and video features, it has more in common with the D800. With sturdy environmental sealing, the camera body is resistant to dust and water damage

Specs

Body type
Body type Mid-size SLR
Sensor
Max resolution 6016 x 4016
Other resolutions 4512 x 3008, 3936 x 2624, 3008 x 2008, 3008 x 1688, 2944 x 1968
Image ratio w:h 3:2
Effective pixels 24 megapixels
Sensor photo detectors 25 megapixels
Sensor size Full frame (35.9 x 24 mm)
Sensor type CMOS
Processor Expeed 3
Image
ISO 100 - 6400 in 1, 1/2 or 1/3 EV steps (50 - 25600 with boost)
White balance presets 12
Custom white balance Yes (4)
Image stabilization No
Uncompressed format RAW
JPEG quality levels Fine, Normal, Basic
Optics & Focus
Autofocus
  • Contrast Detect (sensor)
  • Phase Detect
  • Multi-area
  • Center
  • Selective single-point
  • Tracking
  • Single
  • Continuous
  • Face Detection
  • Live View
Digital zoom No
Manual focus Yes
Number of focus points 39
Lens mount Nikon F
Focal length multiplier 1×
Screen / viewfinder
Articulated LCD Fixed
Screen size 3.2
Screen dots 921,000
Touch screen No
Screen type TFT LCD monitor
Live view Yes
Viewfinder type Optical (pentaprism)
Viewfinder coverage 100%
Viewfinder magnification 0.7×
Photography features
Minimum shutter speed 30 sec
Maximum shutter speed 1/4000 sec
Aperture priority Yes
Shutter priority Yes
Manual exposure mode Yes
Subject / scene modes Yes
Built-in flash Yes (Pop-up)
Flash range 12.00 m (at ISO 100)
External flash Yes (Hot-shoe, Wireless)
Flash modes Auto, On, Off, Red-eye, Slow sync, Rear curtain
Continuous drive 6 fps
Self-timer Yes
Metering modes
  • Multi
  • Center-weighted
  • Average
  • Spot
Exposure compensation ±5 (at 1/3 EV, 1/2 EV, 2/3 EV, 1 EV steps)
AE Bracketing (2, 3 frames at 1/3 EV, 1/2 EV, 2/3 EV, 1 EV, 2 EV steps)
WB Bracketing Yes (2 or 3 frames in steps of 1, 2 or 3 mired)
Videography features
Resolutions 1920 x 1080 (30, 25, 24 fps), 1280 x 720 (60, 50, 30, 25 fps)
Format MPEG-4, H.264
Microphone Mono
Speaker Mono
Storage
Storage types SD/SDHC/SDXC x 2 slots
Connectivity
USB USB 2.0 (480 Mbit/sec)
HDMI Yes (Mini Type C)
Wireless Optional
Wireless notes Wu-1b mobile adapter
Remote control Yes (Optional, wired or wireless )
Physical
Environmentally sealed Yes (Water and dust resistant)
Battery Battery Pack
Battery description Lithium-Ion EN-EL15 rechargeable battery & charger
Battery Life (CIPA) 900
Weight (inc. batteries) 850 g (1.87 lb / 29.98 oz)
Dimensions 141 x 113 x 82 mm (5.55 x 4.45 x 3.23)
Other features
Orientation sensor Yes
Timelapse recording Yes
GPS Optional
GPS notes GP-1

Reviews

DPReview Conclusion

Scoring is relative only to the other cameras in the same category at the time of review.

Score Breakdown
Poor Excellent
Build quality
Ergonomics & handling
Features
Metering & focus accuracy
Image quality (raw)
Image quality (jpeg)
Low light / high ISO performance
Viewfinder / screen rating
Performance
Movie / video mode
Value
Gold Award
Gold Award
87 %
Overall Score

The Nikon D610 brings full frame capabilities to a larger audience, while retaining most enthusiast-friendly features. Image quality at high ISO sensitivities is very good and a wealth of customization options enables quick access to most shooting controls. The slight improvements and fixes over the D600 make it a strong competitor in this part of the market.

Good For

Full frame shooters looking for a smaller, lighter and less expensive alternative to pro-level DSLRs. Enthusiasts who often shoot at high ISOs or want shallow depth-of-field.

Not So Good For

Sports shooters, travel shooters wanting something truly lightweight or anyone who regularly uses far off-center focus points.

User Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
  • jefenniejr, Dec 28, 2013 GMT:
    Really like the IQ and size

    Being an amateur (upgraded from d700 and don't regret it one bit) I shoot mainly landscapes and architectural with an occasional portrait.

    Continue Reading

  • Araldite, Mar 24, 2014 GMT:
    Great Camera

    Been using this camera to take pictures of grandkids, their parents commented on great pictures. Some may feel that the optical low pass filter should have been removed as per the D7100 but this one has a smaller pixel density. Having said that and taken many pictures with it, for the price it's an excellent introduction to full frame and coupled with the 24-85 it really takes great pictures.

    Continue Reading

  • AUP, Apr 7, 2014 GMT:
    From A77 to D610 to nothing...

    I had such high hoped for the Nikon D610 and after many months of sitting idle between cameras and looking at the Canon 6D I took the plunge…and now it’s going back. Why you ask – “spots” – about 15 of them all over my pictures after extensive 2 days of shooting. It took numerous hours of shooting, reading, testing, customizing and fine tuning – after it was all said and done I started to notice spots. This was brand new out of the box; me personally it’s just not something that I am willing ...

    Continue Reading

Videos

Loading the player ...

Questions & Answers

QUESTION

D610 long-exposure noise

Hi all, I've been shooting with a D5000 for several years now, and consider myself relatively competent in terms of photography. I recently upgraded to the D610 and brought it on vacation with me—the dynamic range, resolution, and high-ISO clarity are obviously not even in competition with my old D5000. However, I often do super long-exposure nightscapes, and my first few such images with the D610 seem extremely noisy. Here's an example: A couple closer looks: D610 + Nikkor 28 mm f/1.8 at f/8 and ISO 250 for 170 seconds. Shot RAW+jpeg, no editing done whatsoever. I understand that after 30 seconds, noise will increase incrementally, and much of it can be removed digitally. However, I've never seen such widespread large purple, red, green, etc. plus-sign-shaped artifacts on exposures just a few minutes long. I've done many 15-minute+ exposures with my D5000 that seem appreciably cleaner than my first few D610 exposures between 2 and 5 minutes long. I don't know what to think, other ...

juliancd38 asked
3 months ago

ANSWERS

Long story short: enable Long Exposure Noise Reduction and you'll get rid of the dots! It is there for a reason and this LENR works not the same way normal NR does so you don't have to worry about softer or blurred images or something like that. As I earlier said, LENR maps out the hot pixel noise from the sensor by comparing the exposure with an equal exposure with the shutter closed and substract the hot pixel data out of the final image. The only drawback is that it takes twice as long to get your images. But they are clean. Ruud Continue Reading

Ruud Wilschut answered
3 months ago

The OP is not into astronomical photography, ie, he is not interested in seeing stars streaking across the sky. :) Median stacking works for multi shots taken at high ISO, 25,600 where there are random noise. The OP is taking a long exposure, noise that is mainly due to thermal heat, not from high ISO. Continue Reading

wasserball answered
3 months ago

Make more Photos (32-64) and Stacking them together like an Astronomer. ;-) Regards: Carsten Continue Reading

Carsten Pauer 2 answered
3 months ago

QUESTION

Going FF, can you help me?

Hello, I've been using a 350D for some years and wanted to jump to FF since the 5D, when it was the "only" affordable FF solution. I'm using a Sigma 17-70 with it and I have a Sigma 30 1.4 that I don't use anymore (17-70 is the most convenient). Now, I decided to make the move and I see that there is a great offer on the market today. Maybe too great, I cannot decide what to choose. I don't have any lens (only some speedlite) I could reuse on a FF body, so I don't really care about the brand. I'm not a troll neither, and don't want to go into a brand war. I shoot Canon, HTC smartphone and a Fuji 3D camera. I cannot say I have specific needs in photo. I just take pictures (kids, interesting buildings or landscapes, nothing really complex). And I like to have nice pictures ;) I've read lot of stuff on 6D, D600/D610, 5D3 and D800 and I had the chance to put a hand on the 6D and D610 which are my top 2. Both are incredible cameras and are worth their price. D800 could be an option for ...

Ouais asked
3 months ago

ANSWERS

Because if the problem is e.g. expecting a full frame camera to take better pictures than a crop frame one ( or even a P&S ) without knowing how to take good photos, then this isn't a solution at all.  It's just changing body to fix an unidentified issue or issues. We see inexperienced shooters do this all the time and it's just pouring money on a problem that, more often than not, needs to be addressed by using technique. How many people try to solve the shooting-kids-in-low-light problem by buying more and more expensive cameras and lenses, when the best solution is often flash ? How many people want extreme high ISO performance and extremely wide apertures when simply using a long exposure at low ISO would do the job for them ? We see this all the time. Money doesn't always solve the problem. Now the OP needs video, which means a new body, but personally I'd prefer to spend money on flashes, lenses and whatever ( travel ? ) and get just the body I need and not more than I need. Continue Reading

darklamp answered
3 months ago

My local supermarket sells an own brand multi-grain breakfast cereal.  There's a well-known brand name at twice the price.  I've eaten both and they're indistinguishable.  I'd bet money they're made from the same ingredients on the same production line. The expensive one sells better. Why ? I've a friend who is megapixel mad.  He's a model customer for camera companies in that he "upgrades" all the time to whatever has the mega megapixels.  Phone, P&S, he doesn't care.  He'd no idiot, but he's not interested enough to get the model that works best, but gets the one that has bigger numbers. Because people feel validated by buying the more expensive one or the one with bigger numbers.  They equate price with quality, which is, of course, not in any way sensible.  It is, however, a well understood idea in marketing and something they exploit ruthlessly. When the D3200 came out it sucked in a lot of new buyers because it had a huge pixel count.  Before that Canon sucked in a huge number ... Continue Reading

darklamp answered
3 months ago

I just want to say that I always shot Canon -- last one was a 60D.  I wanted to go FF but didn't have any Canon FF lenses so wasn't tied to that brand.  I went to a Sony store and fell in love with the A99.  I've now had it for 1 year and I still love it.  Many people say that they don't have the number of lenses that Canon and Nikon have, but I have the 4 lenses I need.  I don't need 100 lenses to choose from -- they had what I needed so it wasn't an issue for me. Good luck with your decision! Elizabeth Continue Reading

eawhitcomb answered
3 months ago

QUESTION

What extra travel lens aside my 24-85mm on my D610 ?

First of all DPREVIEW is a fantastic site. I learned a lot reading the forum. Thanks to this I bought a D610 + 24-85mm kitlens. Because my back problems, my system should remain lightweight. What I like about the kitlens is that it's relatively light and sharp and that it is very versatile for walkaround picture shooting. I was afraid the kitlens would be mediocre but apparently it is a very good lens. While travelling, I hate switching lenses on the road, I rather switch in my hotelroom and leave the detached lens there. Extra prime ? However, I also would like to shoot with a very good prime lense because of the sharpness and bokeh. I'm going on a trip to Java and Bali, and would like to buy one more lens. This should be a very sharp lens with a very nice bokeh. Focal distance from 35-200. Which one should you buy, and why ? I think about a 85mm 1.8G for portraits and night shots. Extra zoom ? If I would buy an extra zoom the 70-200mm F4 will be too heavy i'm afraid... maybe the ...

rstyling asked
12 hours ago

ANSWERS

I'd prefer the 50mm f/1.8. It's generally easier to get a bit closer (or even crop a bit), but in a tight space, you often can't go further back Definitely not. If weight is important to you, stick with the 24-85 - it will be enough for most occasions, and you can always use the fast prime for low light Continue Reading

11 hours ago

Warranty Information

"No registration or "warranty" card is included or needed with a Nikon D-SLR or Coolpix camera. Keep your original, dated proof of purchase from the Authorized Nikon Inc. dealer in case warranty service is ever needed. These products do include either a mail-in form or a paper with a web link to our registration page:
https://support.nikonusa.com/app/product_registration
It's advised to register your product with Nikon so that we can send you information about future updates or service issues that may arise.


Nikkor lenses come with a standard one year warranty and Nikon Inc. lenses sold by authorized Nikon Inc. dealers will have a Nikon Inc. Five Year Extension. To register for the five year extension, one copy of the included form must be mailed in as indicated. Keep the Customer copy of the form as well as the original proof of purchase (sales receipt)."


Read the full warranty.

DPReview GearShop is an authorized Nikon dealer in the United States.

  • Please enable JavaScript. GearShop is designed to work with JavaScript enabled. You may not be able to use our site properly if it's disabled in your browser's settings.